Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Right Of Reply---Producer Of Movie 'The Benjamins' Replies Vanguard Columnist.

Sunday, August 11, 2013

Right Of Reply---Producer Of Movie 'The Benjamins' Replies Vanguard Columnist.

19yr Old Movie Producer Temple Chinedum.

The Benjamins got a mention in the Vanguard Newspaper and the producer of the movie feels his movie was called out and decides to reply and state what he thinks his movie is.
The Vanguard write up addresses the issue of ''Nollywood at the mercy of porn'' and goes on to highlight the fact that Nollywood movies have lost it.

Excerpt from Vanguard:

''.... Some of the soft-porn movies that have flooded the Nigerian and African markets in the past few years includes; “The Benjamins, Greedy Sex, Room 027, Another Game of Men, Bold 5 Babes, Bedroom Assassins , All My Ladies, My Pretty Angel, Take My Wife(Pretty Wild Things), Pool Party and I slept with My Bosses Wife. Shortly after the noise about Afrocandy and the lewd scenes, another soft-porn movie ,
“The “Benjamins” surfaced with its trailer. The movie produced by Charles Smooth X Edegbe
and directed by Temple Chinedum is a high class campus movie based on rap music and
love. According to some critics, the movie isn’t worth releasing because, it was a sheer display
of obscenity and mediocrity''......READ THE FULL WRITEUP HERE

Temple Chinedum's Response

''
I was just reading the Vanguard news today and came across this write up about my yet to be released film The Benjamins and how its was categorised as soft Porn.
The only thing that comes to my mind is Hypocrisy and the Nigerian state!
Character assassination and product defamatory!
My name and product name was mentioned; a crude writer if I must say!
Its only in the mind of a Nigerian writer that a scene in a movie makes it porn!
Oh I can't even remember the meaning of pornography.
As far as am concerned The Benjamins Movie is a SATIRE  that only those with creative imagination will compliment #fact
Calling me out on a widely read news paper in this country with such defamatory terms is thought provoking to me and my crew!
The Benjamins movie can never be categorised as soft porn or porn as aforesaid.
Maybe its high time I make some cool money starting with the Vanguard and the bitch ass columnist trying to make headlines with my sweat. ''

*Which sweat?I agree with the Vanguard Columnist abeggy!..The Benjamins is soft porn!

Blog visitor whats your take after reading and watching The Benjamins trailer?

39 comments:

1. But we have to move forward na! As long as d movie has a good story line! Pretenders like us! Mean while na we do pass.

2. Chinedum oloshi.
    Calm down.
    Your 'waste of time and money' is soft porn.
    You replying is just another avenue for people who know you to open your ass.
    LWKM.
    Farabale joor.

3. I haven't seen it so I dnt knw wat to say. Michgirl

4. The Nigerian movie industry has gone through many phases.Soft porn is the new (desperate) chapter producers ve opened to make money!Whatever happened to the all~ powerful censors Board?Are these movies being released into the market illegally? I Saw a trailer of one with tony umez Squeezing the hell outta one babe's boobs!Another with Afrocandy having sex without a stitch on!This Phase is not going to go away quickly!What will happen is that seasoned producers will adopt this trend and make it tasteful and less tacky!Their aim is to make money.However, their excuse will be that they ve to catch up with Hollywood standard!Why not? Globally,Nollywood is number 3!If Halle berry can be naked in the name of art, so can Genny?God help us! There is a regulatory Agency in place!Someone is looking the other way when there's work to be done!Signed:wide eyed!

5. this stella na fool of life ,,,i hope u post this today mofo

1. You are the bigger fool, may Amadioha strike u down what is wrong with some people in Nigeria supporting soft porn,truly the end is near

6. this stella na fool of life ,,,i hope u post this today mofo

7. this stella na fool of life ,,,i hope u post this today mofo

8. Why is it dat we watch foreign soft porn and dnt criticize them but can't wach indigenous soft porn

9. Stella i swear u re a big fool,as if u dnt watch porn movies,yes it's his sweat u cn go to hell

1. Gbam!!!! You have said it well!!!

2. Am sure the producer of the Movie the Benjamins is here insulting people, shameless idiots am not a saint but I don't support soft porn

10. Gbam..ask dem o

11. Stella, thank you for bringing this matter up. Whether the neophyte director likes it or not, if there is a nudist scene in his movie, then it's a porn movie.

The problem is that some producers/directors have lost creativity and the anything-goes syndrome reigns supreme. I'M MARRIED TO MY OPINION, GIVING A FUCK TO YOURS IS ADULTERY'. We have seen your opinion and all it represents-PORN. That's the best you can offer.

Stella, unfortunately this is my industry. Prostitutes have invaded us and people like Chinedu do not see any thing wrong with it. Africans are wonderful story tellers and we have a lot we can showcase to the world about us. Unfortunately, we want to copy the western world and we are doing it so repulsively. What we show are prostitutes, loose debased girls, former spare parts hawkers and mechanics who have no business in our industry and who cannot read the script or act but who can pay whatever price to be stars. Chinedu calls the nudity HIS SWEAT. Is that all your SWEAT can offer to Nigerians? Prostitutes some of who because of fame and stardom appear for free? They come to your audition and tell you that they are prepared to "do anything". So when you have a "housegirl" role for them, instead of dressing like one, they put on a mini skirt and expose their cleavage because they want to "sell their product".

Stella, i don tire abeg. We need more of this expose.

CMD.

1. CMD after this your long story...you said rubbish...smh..so if there is a nude scene in a movie,its therefore porn..haaa *runs to the bookshop to get oxford dictionary* olodo proper...keep walking on your brains o

2. Thank you CMD for this nice post

12. Hello Chinedu,

I like your expressions although some of them are foul.

However there are a few corrections on the use of English Language. "I can't even remember what is pornography" is wrong.

You say "i do not recall or recollect" or you say "I do not remember" not I can;t remember.

Again you say "It's high time i made some cool money" not "it's high time i make some cool money". Please take the correction in good faith. Mr. Benjamin

1. Y display such fooly? Correct urself and thank me later

2. Correct yourself too.
      It's folly not fooly.

13. Call a spade a spade. Porn is Porn; Soft Porn is Soft Porn. If a columnist says your movie is Soft Porn, acknowledge it. "...Character assassination and product defamatory!...Oh I can't even remember the meaning of pornography...As far as am concerned The Benjamins Movie is a
    SATIRE that only those with creative imagination will compliment..." Chinedum, your movie is a Soft Porn. No long thing.

14. Stella pls learn to mind your business a little. your aproko theses days no dey make sense

1. Slim maggot ridden brain,why not drop your senseless comment n take a walk.

15. Stella pls learn to mind your business a little. your aproko theses days no dey make sense

16. Girls that act in such movies are just runs girls that they pick from night clubs, no real and decent actress will act in such SHIT!

17. Bia stella who is this small boy biko,Soft porn is porn as far as i am concern,Scoop Visit Angel Maryjane David Blog.

18. Porn movies or soft porn should be completely stoped,come to think of it i don't understand what point they are trying to make adding porn scenes,for sales? a good movie will sell without any pono scene,Scoop In Angel Maryjane David Blog.

19. Beautiful Black Skin11 August 2013 at 20:38

Advice to Chinedum.

I haven't seen your movie,but I commend the fact that @ 19 years you are doing something very productive with your life.

That being said, I and my friends after leaving outside Nigeria for so long, we had this thing we said "if there is a country more religious than Nigeria then I am yet to go there.

But now we've realized that this is NIGERIA. It's our way. It's our culture. We don't mean to be hypocrites or judgmental, we just are by default because we REFUSE to accept this very "controversial" western life. It's strange to us.

Africans are the most beautiful story tellers, our greatest stories are about our culture, our traditions, our values, our lives. And these stories have been recognized internationally. I am not saying others have not done well. But I think you should be more artistic, use what we are already good @ and modernize it. I understand that pop-culture and youth culture are the main source of the media and entertainment industry, but my brother don't u see how Rap music deep down we know it's not ours. It's foreign to us. So doing a movie on that? I don't know mehn! Don't get me wrong I love Rap! And S|O to all Nigeria's Rap artist. God bless ur hustle.

Please be more creative Temple Chinedum. Don't play it safe with cliché theme's for your career if you want Longevity.

I hope and pray that this was not your debut as a producer, because my brother Nigeria's don't forget. It will really affect your career.

I know that if you have the heart to be a producer @ your age you can be very great! I've been were you are Temple, Caught in Society that criticize and are judgemental and are hypocrital. However, I've come to know that this our way, and we revolt when someone tries to change that. Brother, we are Nigeria's and it's the only thing we know how to be.

Note: we are not backward,We just Love our way of life without interference from the Western world.

Good luck in your future endevours. Thank you.

Beautiful Black Skin.

1. Brilliance at its peak. These are the sorts of constructive and explicit comments I love to read. When people disagree with a thing, they should be able to articulate their position without aggression or the use of profanity. Well done. Well said.

#my name is my name#

20. Thanks beautiful black skin
    Oh Africa,my motherland!where is thy glory?
    Gone are the days of white bedspread on the 1st night together.the days when its a taboo to have a child out of wedlock.today 'babymama'is a norm.
    "You can't go out wearing that clothe,its revealing!"GrandMother said to mother.today mother says to me"don't you see your mates?change to a short clothe!civilisation has robbed us of our morals!!
    Chinua Achebe,wole soyinka and our beautiful Chimamanda Adichie won awards because their stories depicts our rich african heritage.our problem dates back to colonization I always say to myself.
    Bollywood is leading in the movie world,but I haven't seen an erotic indian movie,it still sells right?why??
    You problems ends when you start seeing wrong in WRONG.
    Call me a hypocrite,I have conveyed my msage..bbc u can correct me..lol
    OPRAHRUTHIE

1. U havnt seen an indian erotic movie doesn't mean dere aren't.

2. But our greatgrandmas tied only wrappers. Wrappers on their chest. Modern day tube. Is it bad because its prettier now? Look, we live in a dynamic and ever changing world. You cannot live in the past all in the name of culture and heritage bla bla. For starters, here you are, on the internet (which is a product of the modern world) dishing out your opinion. Back in the day, you would have been in the kitchen pounding yam as a woman should only be seen and not heard. You cannot pick out the benefits of civilisation and throw away what you percieve as the demerits. Live and let live.

21. Why is dis an issue?? If u dnt watch porn, others do. Its life, everyone cnt be a saint. The vanguard has told u d benjamins is soft porn, fine, dnt go n see it simply bcause u wanna hav trash to say abt Chinedum. Yes its his sweat, and if dats wat he wants to produce, let him be!!

22. I love blue films dat it is a porn is an disadvantage to me. bt I must see it to know.

23. CMD said Nollywood is his/her industry and on that authority as an industry guru he/she has ruled that a movie is porn if there is a "nudist" scene in it. Wao! That means universally acclaimed pictures like Fatal Attraction, Original Sin, Basic Instinct and Body of Evidence are all porn movies? OMG!.
    CMD also wrote that a prostitute could "to sell her product" wear miniskirt and expose cleavage to play the role of "housegirl" in a nollywood movie. Choi, haven't you heard of costume directors whose job it is to decide who wears what for what role?. Please CMD go and learn more about your "industry".

1. Thanks for this Piece of advice!

24. CMD said Nollywood is his/her industry and on that authority as an industry guru he/she has ruled that a movie is porn if there is a "nudist" scene in it. Wao! That means universally acclaimed pictures like Fatal Attraction, Original Sin, Basic Instinct and Body of Evidence are all porn movies? OMG!.
    CMD also wrote that a prostitute could "to sell her product" wear miniskirt and expose cleavage to play the role of "housegirl" in a nollywood movie. Choi, haven't you heard of costume directors whose job it is to decide who wears what for what role?. Please CMD go and learn more about your "industry"

1. Beautiful Black Skin12 August 2013 at 16:10

Are these Nigerian Movies?