Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Baby Factories Where Teenagers Deliver Unwanted Pregnancies

Saturday, March 29, 2014

Baby Factories Where Teenagers Deliver Unwanted Pregnancies

For quite some time now, a new wave of making money through selling of new born babies and child trafficking is currently sweeping across parts of the country. The racket of keeping young girls and boys to produce children and then sell to desperate buyers is fast gaining prominence not only in the South-East but also in South West.

Operators of the homes and their syndicates usually scout for females with unwanted pregnancies and lure teenagers  to their herbal clinic for delivery. Some keep young girls (teenagers) and allow their male syndicates to impregnate them and hold them in hostage throughtout the gestation period. 

Thereafter, the owner of the home settles them with cash and administers the babies to desperate childless women who patronise her herbal clinic to seek for fruits of the womb at higher costs.

investigations revealed that the patrons of these homes are high-heeled and well-to-do couples who visited mostly at night in sleek automobiles.

Recently, a London based couple travelled to Nigeria where the woman received fertility treatment at a maternity home. She returned to the clinic months later and she was sedated. When she regained consciousness, she was handed a baby and told she had given birth.
On her return to London, the authorities raised concerns. The child was taken into care and a DNA test proved the child was not related to the couple. The London police then launched legal proceedings to get custody of the baby arguing that the couple’s story was a ‘charade.’
After weeks of litigation, the court ruled that the couple were victims of the ‘most appalling scam’.

The couple was said to have been deeply bothered about their predicament so much that the judge was impressed by their sense of humanity. They were recently awarded the custody of the child. The police authority also agreed to return the baby to them within seven days.

This is not an isolated case. A recent report also showed that Mr Adenuga Shoyibo, a Nigerian based in America was arrested and charged for alleged child trafficking.  The couple claimed the babies were theirs, disclosing that the twins were born at a traditional home in Port Harcourt 15  years after they got married and after they paid N1.8million.

In another development, two suspected Cameroonian ladies, Ngala Nungu and Mrs. Mende Cecilia were arrested by men of the Nigeria Immigration Service at the Calabar Seaport for allegedly stealing a five-day old baby girl recently. Nungu claimed she delivered the baby at Okitipupa in Ondo State through the help of a lady who specialised in herbal medicine.

In Port Harcourt, Aba, Osisioma, Okigwe, Imo in Umuaka, Owerri, the activities thrive and despite various clampdowns by the security agents on some of these homes, the business thrives with the clintele visiting the homes from various parts of the country and outside even at night and odd hours in sleek cars to get babies.

Recently, one James Ezuma who claimed to be a medical doctor was nabbed by the police in Owerri, Imo State, for operating baby factories. Not less than 16 innocent girls were set free by the police with many of them at various stages of pregnancy.  

The  rich businessman was said to have no fewer than 10 exotic cars – a Jaguar, two Chrysler cars, a Lincoln Navigator, a Honda Jeep, a Nissan Quest, a Pathfinder Sports Utility Vehicle and three unidentified others.
According to reports, conservative estimates indicate that Ezuma’s land in Owerri valued at hundreds of millions of naira, with different structures at different stages of completion worth over N20 million.

An18-count charge has been slammed against him in court. His medical licence may have been seized by the Nigerian Medical Association, NMA, for improper conduct.

Apart from billionaire Ezuma, other operators of these baby factories are smiling to their banks satisfying their clintele from different parts of the country for different purposes. In Umuaka, Njaba Local Government area of Imo state, there are orphanages said to be involved in the alleged baby-making business. In recent past, men of the State Security Agencies, SSS, uncovered  child-manufacturing factory at both Umuaka and Umuguma, Owerri West of the state.

However, some believed that the increase in the trade could have been because those arrested in the past have not been appropriately punished but probably left off the hook after some time.
Some individuals who spoke to Saturday Vanguard maintained that they don’t deserve to be punished since they help to satisfy someone’s need.

The security operatives have also raided quite a number of baby factories in the oil city of Port Harcourt and arrested proprietors of the homes setting free over 100 of pregnant girls.
Recently, no fewer than eight pregnant girls were rescued by the Ogun State Police Command as it uncovered a baby-making factory in Akute in Ifo Local Government Area of the state. In January, another 24 suspects were arrested in Ilu-Titun in Okitipupa council area of Ondo State by the state command of the Nigeria Immigration Service.

Why the business is thriving
Mrs Oshotimehin, who works in a charity home in Lagos stated that the development is caused by young girls who ran away from their homes to avoid the stigma of early and unplanned pregnancies. “Young girls run to such homes to avoid the stigma attached to pregnancies outside marriage. So, they stay away from home for some time, delivered the babies and then returned home with pittance,” she said.

She also rationalised that the problem of infertility in women was a major cause of the desperate move for seeking babies from such homes. “You know after long years of marriage, if there is no child, the woman will be so desperate especially to keep her marriage and also to avoid societal stigma.”
The 55-year old woman advised that desperate couples should rather take the option of adoption in order not to run foul of the child-trafficking law.

Adoption Process
Relaying the process of adoption in most states of the federation, she stated that the prospective couples will pay  prescribed fees upon successful interview with the Director of Social Welfare after the application is considered. “After the interview and if the director is satisfied, you must show evidence of procuring the requirements for the baby or babies depending on the age of adoption.Then there will be administative processing and screening which will be followed by a mandatory pre-counselling session, post counselling on parenting, collection of child from registered orphanages and legalization at the family court after three months,” she sated.-Vanguard 

32 comments:

1. Nawo o!!!

2. Fear God,and keep his commandments,for this is the whole Duty of man,unfortunately this generation is hell bent on making Satan the lord of their lives.when he says jump,they ask how high?if he says 3ft ,they go 5ft high.before u come here to condemn this evil act,ask urself this question,Is ur name in the book of life?little foxes and secrets faults will spring suprises on each man's day of Judgement,in whatever u do,just remember, Only the pure in heart will see Jesus,those whose garments flow in purity.in a generation that's perfected Evil,let's Go the extra mile for Jesus.I pray God will bless the heart of everyone who reads this and give them a turn around blessing that would make them serve Him in truth and in Spirit.

3. Na wa oh! This one is beyond shocking sha oh! Another nollywood actress in trouble

4. Wen will teenagers learn t zip up? Sex is f matured adult! Abeg mothers shud educate dier kids as soon as dey can tell d diff between a male n female, all dese unwanted pregnancies no dey sweet belle @ all.

1. My dear, even with the sex education, some still bow to peer pressure or just do it out of curiosity. I know a very small girl from a good home who just gave birth last week. She nearly died during labour, an emergency CS had to be carried out on her. The worst is that she doesn't even know the address or the full name of the boy who impregnated her. All she knows is that the boy is in the university and that she can recogise him if she sees him.
      SMH

2. All mothers educate their kids on the dangers of pre marital and teenage sex but they can't break the kids head and put a microchip of instructions inside.
      So its those who want to listen and behave that will abide.

5. This menace thrives because of corruption and wack adoption process in the country. Corruption on the part of the citizens and officials who as usual want to cut corners.

We the people need to change. We keep blaming the government meanwhile we also in our own little way live corrupt.

Poverty persists in the land because of a lot of spiritual jingoism. Everything is spiritual. And some fools question my medical degree because I do not subscribe to that sort of nonsense.

1. Plenty likes to your first paragraph.
      Mama V

6. Hmmmm! Such innocence taken at a younger age. It's well wiv my country and desperate individuals

7. Hian! Stories like this makes me speechless.

CeeCee

8. this baby factory of a thing is becoming too much in 9ja o

9. Imo in umuaka,owerri?seriosly? Plzz umuaka is in imo state,in Njaba localgovt....Is just like me saying Lagos in Ikeja,seriosly?all these half baked bloggers with shallow geograpic knowledge and low urge for research before writing.....

1. Sir/Ma, the story was not written by Stella or any other blogger but culled from Vanguard.

10. I heard two women discussing. And one said to the other " hmmm, Mrs ...... Has delivered port Harcourt baby o" she came back two days ago. When do we pay her a visit?"

Immediately I knew they were about to arrange a 'gossip/sniff-nose-visit'

Port Harcourt baby = Bought baby.

1. Lol,so it even has a name officially now?dis is quite interesting but disheartening!
      My only concern goes to the kidnapped teenagers being forced into this,theirs is quite sad!but for the already pregnant ones,they should even be tankful to the home owners' and even contribute for upkeep since they can't zip up at such young age.

11. Stella my dear, it is very common in PH, dey even ve a nick name 4 it ''Dubai'' l heard women who are in need of children, see sm doctors, who inject them with sm hormonal drugs, tommy is pulp 2 make them look pregnant whlist arragement is make with these baby factor after abt 9Month, baby is given tommy deflated n news spread Sister don born after 10 or15yrs of waiting. Sorry for any typo ve to rush off 2 d market enoug gossip 4 now

12. Dem plenty oh for port harcourt......there is one even planning dedication in the month of April in LFC........I guess people know but they are just pretending alongside with her.....baby wonder things'.

13. Thank God I got too impatient with the herbals I was collecting from that ayoola woman in okitipupa , even dat whinch woman ian igbaraoke , na so dem for carry bastard pipkin Dash me and my hubby!!! In shock!! And the funny part is they will tell you , u are pregnant, and you too will have all the symptoms!! May God save us from this women o!

1. My dear, that is the part I don't understand oh, my sil almost fell victim of this. Herbal home at Elele where she went to massage her womb and for 2 good yrs was busy telling everybody she was pregnant untill hubby sat her down and told her the truth cos I insisted. Is hypnosis part of the deal or they just brain wash them. She finally did ivf instead. Phgurl!

14. There is no shame in adoption. I wonder why they don't adopt legally instead of 'buy'. All these society ph women 'buying' babies should be shamed publicly,until then this business just started uphill.

15. Infertility is not a crime, Adoption is not a crime, infact it is a humanitarian act and should be applauded for kindness and bravely but the way people go about it is what is wrong and a crime. Boycotting due process and cutting corners is makes it so wrong, our adoption laws is what created ways for all of this, our adoption law is not friendly, the above interview piece made it look like a piece of cake but it's not true, adoption process is tougher, more strenuous, emotionally and psychologically draining than winning a local govt election. The delay is wats even worse, I know because my sister went thru one, dumped it mid way when she realised she was pregnant and God blessed her wit a baby girl who is her identical copy (for those of u that would think she took the easy way out..baby factory). She wanted to adopt 2 toddlers legally and rightly but the frustrations she met was untold, she didn't want to own a child she stole, she wanted to do what's right and still pushed on despite the obstacles, even after she has had a baby girl, she still says she will continue the process to the end and get those babies. I honestly do not know why our govt have such tight laws and snail pace adoption process when they know these children are better off in homes where they will be loved and provided for, it is not even as if our govt have any provisions for these children, they survive solely on charity. Make adoption law more flexible, exculde the frustration in adoption process and baby factories will die a natural death. (2) secondly, our society should know that nobody opts for infertility or barreness and should drop the stigimization on these women. A woman is still valid without a child for God sakes. Most of these women buy babies not for their fulfilment but for the fulfilment of the society, to shut the society up and drop pointing fingers. If we love each other well enough like we ought to, we would know that these women go thru lot of pains themselves in their own quite time, they don't need more bitterness from insensitive people. #nextbestthing#

16. The worst thing is that some of these girls have given birth so many times that it has become a way of life to them.

17. The type of things that happen these days only point to one thing;

The end is near

Come soon Lord Jesus

18. Childlessness is a painful state I don't even wish my enemy............if you adopt a baby,the world no go let the Pikin get peace of mind...they would always remind the child of how he or she came.....this world is wicked.

19. Really sad.
    Let's talk about sex-Early sex education for children, yay or nay? Share your thoughts on omalichaspeaks.blogspot.com

20. Married to an impotent man. Our only option was to use a sperm donor. We've a child that is mine biologically.

21. Rose thank GOD you didn't abort. Keep believing in GOD he will do it for both of you sooner than you expected.
    I think teenage girls will continue getting pregnant as long as sex is still alive. Hmmm...... I feel sex education should be introduced into secondary school curriculum & each state should create an environment where these girls can have their babies & move on with their lives while the babies are put up for adoption. Pls everyone should remember that not all pregnant teens are promiscuous. Some of them were raped by people the trusted.

Breezy

22. I swear ibo people are to blame for this shit......always want to put up a front about ibo girls not having kids out of wedlock, this has made a lot of this young girls run from home......Yorubas are more acceptable to pregnancy out of marriage so you hardly find them involved in this.....if the girls don't make this kids available there won't be babies to sell.....this is not about encouraging teenage pregnancy, if you talk and they don't here when they get pregnant the deed has already been done....accept the pregnancies and let them have their kids and then go back to school.......any idiot can curse me don't give a rat arse cos your insults will go back to you and your unborn children......am neither ibo nor Yoruba but work with an NGO and am talking from statistics....