Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Ebola: 5 Facts The Media Forgot To Tell You

Sunday, August 03, 2014

Ebola: 5 Facts The Media Forgot To Tell You

''The disease has gotten a lot of attention, rightly so considering the sheer number of people it has killed in its wake, but really should we be that afraid? That paranoid? I wasn't sure so I decided to do some research. You know how it is, the bible says, 'My people perish for lack of knowledge.'

What I found was reassuring to say the least. While the media has done a great job in keeping everyone abreast of the latest Ebola updates, it has done an unbelievably dismal job of reducing the fear and panic that has gripped the average west african.

The following represent the facts about Ebola and its transmission (Beyond what might already be out there):
  •  The virus is often spread through families and friends because they come in close contact with such secretions when caring for infected persons. - Center For Disease Control And Prevention (CDC)            
  • Human to human transmission is only achieved by physical contact with the body fluids of a person who is acutely ill or who has died from Ebola. Transmission among humans is mainly among caregiver family members or health care workers tending to the very ill, or in preparation of the body of a deceased case for burial. - US Embassy (Liberia), July 28th, 2014               

• A person can have the virus without symptoms for 2-21 days, the average being 5 to 8 days before becoming ill.  The person is not contagious until they are acutely ill. (Technically, if the person beside you does not look sick, he/she cannot infect you. Emphasis mine.) US Embassy (Liberia), July 28th, 2014                          
  •                                                 
  •  While all Ebola virus species have displayed the ability to be spread through airborne particles under research conditions, this type of spread has not been documented among humans in a real-world setting, such as a hospital or household. (In other words, the disease is not airborne. Emphasis mine.) - CDC               
  •                                                 
  • Casual contact in public places with people that do not appear to be sick do not transmit Ebola. One cannot contract Ebola virus by handling money, groceries or swimming in a pool. Mosquitoes do not transmit the Ebola virus. - National Center For Disease Control, India
Based on the facts above I'd say breathe easy, sleep better. No need to chew your nails in anxiety. Ebola is most likely not coming for you except if you deliberately expose yourself to unsafe conditions. 

Take simple precautions; keep a hand sanitizer in your bag or pocket and use sparingly. Eat like you normally would but be sure to cook animal products properly. While you are at it, spread hope, not fear.

And have yourself a very swell weekend.''

Sent in by Naomi Lucas

#informtosave

54 comments:

1. Good Morning Aunty Stella, it appears your voice got to one of the telecom giant. Glo just sent out an informative text about Ebola. Keep it up.

2. Thank u Stella, this would def relieve ppl, before Nigerians wud start stigmatizing someone who is coughing wt reckless abandon. Lol.
    You are one blogger who is passionate about people's lives and go extra mile to bring us info, God bless u jare.

1. Infact eh. Thank you o jare, Stella. You have really helped in relieving plenty stress on this ebola. And come to think of it, you are not even in Naija but na you enlighten us pass our own people for here. To be frank, I just eased up on this ebola this last week. Was scared stiff before.

1. Wow! I'm thankful for this information. I've been quite nervous about the virus since I heard it was in Lagos.
      If You've Got It, Flaunt It- click my name to read more.

4. Thanks Naomi and SDK, one canm breathe easily now, the way they broke this Ebola news initially ehn, I was convinced the end has come, i mean they made me believe it was Air borne and it was floating freely in the air, thanks for the info.

5. great news,the issue of hand sanitizer doesnt prevent ebola,washing hand with soap nd water is still the key........i hv missed sdk blog hehehehehehehe

1. Welcome back Naturelle...

The way hand sanitizers disappeared in my office on monday was just classic! Lol...people were literally scrambling for it...meanwhile prior to that day I was trying to create awareness and nobody listened,i guess they eventually heard enough during the weekend.

PS: just watching an episode of "Blacklist" a virus was introduced into a particular area by a white former scientist(disease and control)...it made me remember Ebola virus...scary!

6. Yeah but stella we already know all these. I got d info 4m your blog too( d US embasy too)

7. Thank you Stella for this information biko..
    I have taken a sigh of relief...

8. Am thinking what of those that buy clothes in boutique,cos clothes are tried in and when they don't fit, they are dropped fir the next girl of guy to also try out and buy,so body contacts,sweat,eas just thinking of it, am.not buying clothes so soon again,lol,or I order,life got no duplicate, buying clothes now I don't feel safe with it,cos definitely girls try clothes out before buying ,even guys

1. *Forgive my typos,fast writing*

2. Are u deaf? Would an acutely ill or obviously sick person hv enough energy to mk cloth testing or buying be their priority...pls go back n read the text..be informed!

3. Anon 12:58pm. You really dnt hv to insult him/her. He/she asked a question, This is the problem with u anonymous peeps.

9. Hmmmmmm.... Am still very scared though....

10. Tanx f d info SDK, knowledge is power. Let's spread hope n not fear.

11. Hmmmm!!!! Stella. Prevention dey say is better than cure. This your research get small comma.

12. U did not mention bush meat,do I continue eating my grasscutter I love it.

13. *takes a deep breath* now I can confidently relax and NOT attend TB Joshua's convention.

14. Thank you Naomi. Let's continue to #informtosave.

15. A Sigh of relieve.We still have hope.Please God safe guard your children from this deadly disease called Oburu olaa.

16. thanks for the info stella; you have been doing a great job keeping us up dated. God bless u plenty.
    #honey pie#

17. Still not taking any chances, I have banned my hubby from travelling to Nigeria for a while, at least I can scare him with Ebola..

*am out*

18. Stella you've done a very good job. God bless u! All you wrote here are true. If it had been the way the media had been reporting in the past, the casualty rate would have been higher than that of wars and terrorism. ~ Blunt Truth

19. #informtosave. Thanks Stella for this information. My mind is @ peace now. Cos honestly, my mind skips whenever I see and hear d word "EBOLA"

20. Stella,it's still a hopeless situation
    God is punishing west Africa for their evils and wickedness
    It's over for West Africa
    End time things
    Leviticus 26:16 Says
    Then I will do this to you: I will visit you with panic, with wasting disease and fever that consume the eyes and make the heart ache(Ebola)
    And you shall sow your seed in vain, for your enemies shall eat it.

1. Madam! U are very dull

2. Nigerians amaze me, everything that happens, they link it to the end time, since I was a little girl prolly longer they've been saying the world was about to end, 20+ yrs later and we all are still here, Wtf is wrong with Nigerians, so gullible

21. Thank you.May God provide a cure. EVE E UME

22. What the heck is inside mosquitoes that make them immune to everything. First it was hiv, then Sars, now, ebola....those tiny flying blood sucking insects.... I hate them.....mtcheww.
    #my hatred for mosquitoes #

23. No matter d explanation all in all ebola its one hell of a disease! #EBOLADEADLY

24. Very informative but someone begs to disagree. Says "it was proven in 2012 that #Ebola was airborne. This is new strain with 60% mortality. You can't say it's not airborne". All options are on the table when it comes to taking precautionary measures against Ebola.

25. Thank you so much for this information, yesterday I cooked my goat meat for almost 5 hours and still ate in fear

26. That's a relief, tnx Naomi

Ammy

27. Thanks 4 d info. I went out last night n d place had mostly white folks. All I could think of was ebola.

28. Idi very serious # PoshCandy

29. Thanks stella for this information.

30. STELLA I LIKE UNA JARE. UR HUBBY IS LUCKY! YOU CARE ABOUT YOUR READERS AND NOT JUST LIP SERVICE. CARRY GO WITH YOUR BLOGGING. .

31. So I was at church this morning and when the pastor said "welcome the person sitting next to you, na so I stretch my hand for handshake and the lady sitting beside me just waved hello. People did not even exchange their usual Sunday hugs.

32. That is more like it Stella, kudos, informing and educating people and not bringing unnecessary fear and panic. God bless you.

33. Naomi Lucas sha? I guess that's her blog name sha cos I did see this on "naomi's" alter ego Facebook page and her real name starts with I.

34. Stop hyping yourself Naomi you have said nothing new....I have read this from newspapers and on Telly so nothing new...yes some people are seeing it for the first time here but stop lying that the media has refused to tell us..
    ....mschweeeeeew