Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Wole Soyinka Writes On 'The Wages Of Impunity' +#BringBackJonathan 2015 And Australian Negotiator.

Sunday, September 14, 2014

Wole Soyinka Writes On 'The Wages Of Impunity' +#BringBackJonathan 2015 And Australian Negotiator.

A MUST READ ...OMG OMG!!

Nobel Laureate Wole Soyinka in a piece posted on SaharaReporters 
says 

...''Regarding General Ihejirika, I have my own theories regarding how he may have come under Stephen Davis’ searchlight in the first place, ending up on his list of the inculpated. All I shall propose at this stage is that an international panel be set up to examine all allegations, irrespective of status or office of any accused....''

The dancing obscenity of Shekau and his gang of psychopaths and child abductors, taunting the world, mocking the BRING BACK OUR GIRLS campaign on internet, finally met its match in Nigeria to inaugurate the week of September 11 – most appropriately. Shekau’s dance macabre was surpassed by the unfurling of a political campaign banner that defiled an entry point into Nigeria’s capital of Abuja. That banner read:  BRING BACK JONATHAN 2015. 

President Jonathan has since disowned all knowledge or complicity in the outrage but, the damage has been done, the rot in a nation’s collective soul bared to the world. The very possibility of such a desecration took the Nigerian nation several notches down in human regard.

It confirmed the very worst of what external observers have concluded and despaired of  - a culture of civic callousness, a coarsening of sensibilities and, a general human disregard. It affirmed the acceptance, even domination of lurid practices where children are often victims of unconscionable abuses including ritual sacrifices, sexual enslavement, and worse.  Spurred by electoral desperation, a bunch of self-seeking morons and sycophants chose to plumb the abyss of self-degradation and drag the nation down to their level.It took us to a hitherto unprecedented low in ethical degeneration. 

The bets were placed on whose turn would it be to take the next potshots at innocent youths in captivity whose society and governance have failed them and blighted their existence? Would the Chibok girls now provide standup comic material for the latest staple of Nigerian escapist diet?  Would we now move to a new export commodity in the entertainment industry named perhaps “Taunt the Victims”?

As if to confirm all the such surmises, an ex-governor, Sheriff, notorious throughout the nation – including within security circles as affirmed in their formal dossiers - as prime suspect in the sponsorship league of the scourge named Boko Haram,  was presented to the world as a presidential traveling companion. And the speculation became: was the culture of impunity finally receiving endorsement as a governance yardstick?  

Again,Goodluck Jonathan swung into a plausible explanation: it was Mr. Sheriff who, as friend of the host President Idris Deby, had traveled ahead to Chad to receive Jonathan as part of President Deby’s welcome entourage.  What, however does this say of any president? How came it that a suspected affiliate of a deadly criminal gang, publicly under such ominous cloud, had the confidence to smuggle himself into the welcoming committee of another nation, and even appear in audience, to all appearance a co-host with the president of that nation? 

Where does the confidence arise in him that Jonathan would not snub him openly or,after the initial shock, pull his counterpart, his official host aside and say to him, “Listen, it’s him, or me.”? So impunity now transcends boundaries, no matter how heinous the alleged offence?

The Nigerian president however appeared totally at ease. What the nation witnessed in the photo-op was an affirmation of a governance principle, the revelation of a decided frame of mind – with precedents galore. Goodluck Jonathan has brought back into limelight more political reprobates - thus attested in criminal courts of law and/or police investigations - than any other Head of State since the nation’s independence. 

It has become a reflex. Those who stuck up the obscene banner in Abuja had accurately read Jonathan right as a Bring-back president. They have deduced perhaps that he sees “bringing back” as a virtue, even an ideology, as the corner stone of governance, irrespective of what is being brought back. No one quarrels about bringing back whatever the nation once had and now sorely needs – for instance, electricity and other elusive items like security, the rule of law etc. etc. The list is interminable.

The nature of what is being brought back is thus what raises the disquieting questions. It is time to ask the question: 

if Ebola were to be eradicated tomorrow, would this government attempt to bring it back? Well, while awaiting the Chibok girls, and in that very connection, there is at least an individual whom the nation needs to bring back, and urgently. His name is Stephen Davis, the erstwhile negotiator in the oft aborted efforts to actually bring back the girls.  Nigeria needs him back – no, not back to the physical nation space itself, but to a Nigerian induced forum, convoked anywhere that will guarantee his safety and can bring others to join him.

I know Stephen Davis, I worked in the background with him during efforts to resolve the insurrection in the Delta region under President Shehu Yar’Adua. I have not been involved in his recent labours for a number of reasons. The most basic is that my threshold for confronting evil across a table is not as high as his -  thanks, perhaps, to his priestly calling. From the very outset, in several lectures and other public statements, I have advocated one response and one response only to the earliest, still putative depredations of Boko Haram and have decried any proceeding that smacked of appeasement. 

There was a time to act – several times when firm, decisive action, was indicated. There are certain steps which, when taken, place an aggressor beyond the pale of humanity, when we must learn to accept that not all who walk on two legs belong to the community of humans – I view Boko Haram in that light. It is no comfort to watch events demonstrate again and again that one is proved to be right.
Thus, it would be inaccurate to say that I have been detached from the Boko Haram affliction – very much the contrary. As I revealed in earlier statements, I have interacted with the late National Security Adviser, General Azazi, on occasion – among others.  I am therefore compelled to warn that anything that Stephen Davis claims to have uncovered cannot be dismissed out of hand.  

It cannot be wished away by foul-mouthed abuse and cheap attempts to impugn his integrity – that is an absolute waste of time and effort. Of the complicity of ex-Governor Sheriff in the parturition of Boko Haram, I have no doubt whatsoever, and I believe that the evidence is overwhelming. Femi Falana can safely assume that he has my full backing – and that of a number of civic organizations - if he is compelled to go ahead and invoke the legal recourses available to him to force Sheriff’s prosecution. 

The evidence in possession of Security Agencies - plus a number of diplomats in Nigeria - is overwhelming, and all that is left is to let the man face criminal persecution. It is certain he will also take many others down with him. 

The unleashing of a viperous cult like Boko Haram on peaceful citizens qualifies as a crime against humanity, and deserves that very dimension in its resolution. If a people must survive, the reign of impunity must end. Truth – in all available detail - is in the interest, not only of Nigeria, the sub-region and the continent, but of the international community whose aid we so belatedly moved to seek. From very early beginnings, we warned against the mouthing of empty pride to stem a tide that was assuredly moving to inundate the nation but were dismissed as alarmists. 

We warned that the nation had moved into a state of war, and that its people must be mobilized accordingly – the warnings were disregarded, even as slaughter surmounted slaughter, entire communities wiped out, and the battle began to strike into the very heart of governance, but all we obtained in return was moaning, whining and hand-wringing up and down the rungs of leadership and governance. But enough of recriminations - at least for now. Later, there must be full accounting.

Finally, Stephen Davis also mentions a Boko Haram financier within the Nigerian Central Bank. Independently we are able to give backing to that claim, even to the extent of naming the individual. In the process of our enquiries, we solicited the help of a foreign embassy whose government, we learnt, was actually on the same trail, thanks to its independent investigation into some money laundering that involved the Central Bank. That name, we confidently learnt, has also been passed on to President Jonathan. When he is ready to abandon his accommodating policy towards the implicated, even the criminalized, an attitude that owes so much to re-election desperation, when he moves from a passive “letting the law to take its course” to galvanizing the law to take its course, we shall gladly supply that name. 

In the meantime however, as we twiddle our thumbs, wondering when and how this nightmare will end, and time rapidly runs out, I have only one admonition for the man to whom so much has been given, but who is now caught in the depressing spiral of diminishing returns: “Bring Back Our Honour.” 

Wole SOYINKA.

Mr Davis was right afterall ?????hmmmmm

Why isnt Mer Soyinka telling us the names?He should also spill please.i so want to know who the idiot behind boko haram is

58 comments:

1. *yawn*..this man is dancing around the bush..
    Oriegwu!!..

1. Did u even read a word from what he wrote? U just ran down here to vomit nonsense from ur gallon mouth. Sick woman!

2. Are u suprised she is a half baked illiterate.... Never has anything intelligent to say but can only contribute to sex stories..... Your IQ must be 0, stupid idiot

3. Exactly, this queen of the coast is truly and ass crack! Tiny brain indeed. Must you always display stupidty @ every turn! Tufiakwaaa! Abeg back to the matter, Wole is soooo correct, infact I couldn't agree less with him. GEJ is really talking from the 2 sides of his mouth. My anger is the innocent citizens that has been cut down in this Boko wahala! God Bless Nigeria with Sensible and true leaders, this I pray, Amen.

4. It is at times like this that I am proud to be Nigerian. When I read from pros whose onions can never be disputed, and who are not only confident in the mastery or use of their pen and paper, but are also very knowledgeable..insightful..profound and are critical thinkers that cannot be disregarded. Wole Soyinka I salute u sir. You have analysed this issue in a way I never thought nor imagined. I was among those who partially criticised Stephen because of the pattern in which he chose to divulge the crucial facts. I however still stand by my words that he could have done it differently. But your point, yet again invokes one to have a rethink. Hmmmm

2. BLOG ANALYSER: This is the first time in my life and the first time in SDK that I have refused to read some thing *sobin* OMG why am I changing?

1. AdaDiUraNma Love HotIce14 September 2014 at 13:49

WOW!!! That last paragraph tho. Someone should copy and send to GEJ. Gosh!!! I cant help but wonder how this people sleep at night.

2. Yea....that last paragraph is quite deep and heavy. Jona needs to see it and give it a thought.

3. Abeg summarise it for me, im preg too long to read ' body dey pepper me

4. Am sorry,but can't these ppl ever write in simple words?I understand everytin he wrote wat abt ppl who r not as enlightened as I Am? Hian

5. I never doubted Davis for a second. Right now I'm beginning to think Jonathan's hands are not clean. What is he to gain from the unrest in the north? We all know!
    Clueless president.
    Wole Soyinka has spoken, and I hope he won't be the last to talk on this matter.

6. What an interesting read.

Revelations upon revelations.

7. Decoy!
    Baseless and not factual enough.
    Lacks reasonable premise.
    Just a mere accusation..that is what it is!
    Prof, spill the neme(s),
    come out with a convincing evidence that is void of sentiment and speculations.
    GOD BLESS NIGERIA!
    Paragon7ven.

1. I won't be shocked u re a boko haram
      What do u mean baseless?
      Shame on u
      U aint a patriot!
      God will fish u all out one by one
      Una oga don enter
      Una go be like ant to crush
      Mumu

2. Goddess of hellfire will shut that beak of yours....parogon 7ven said it all.

8. We know the name already....I like Gej but the way he handles criminal and corruption issues makes me sick....I might just be voting Gen Buhari this time.....but then again his desperation makes me think he might loot more than Abacha this time to reconcile his previous regime looting account....he was still a learner then.....4give me I just trust nobody....but FASHOLA is still okay aside his not too friendly laws

1. Trust me when I say Buhari's had enough ample opportunities to loot but what did he do instead?
      Firstly as head of state,he set Nigeria on the right path by fighting corruption to as near a standstill as we've ever gotten in these paths.
      Secondly,as Petroleum Trust Development Funds boss he brought unprecedented development to the Niger Delta.
      Thirdly corrupt past and present leaders deploy a lot of resources to tarnishing his image via the media because they all fear that if he gets into power,he'll make them account for their stewardship regardless whose ox's gored.Even Ti'ff'nubu's secretly working against his interest out of fear.
      Thank you.

9. Wole Soyinka when will you be tired of writing stupid things as if you are an Angel. We have not forgotten how you started cultism in our country which is ravaging our youths now. I can remember how you chased your first wife and took advantage of my class mate and married her when you were our lecturer at the university of Ife.

1. @Anonymous 9:13,Were ni e,Simple n straight forward.What are we talking about here n what are you saying?

2. Na your parents be were..... What she is saying is Soyinka is not a saint but always criticising.... He is morally inept like most of them..... He raised some important points here though

3. Haaahaaahaaa!! @ anon 1:42pm, I really got a bit confused too! Bikoo we are not discussing Wole's private life, we are talking of this Boko Haram and their Patron(s)

4. Anon 9:13. I am not surprised. While u judge his character, which by the way isn't up for scrutiny nor does it concern the crisis which we are all facing in Nigeria today. Rather.. I would pay attention to his analytical submission and perhaps criticise him based on that. Not for whom he chose to marry or sleep with in the confines of his home.

5. Anon 9:13....yes,Wole Soyinka started cultism,,but was he involved in d kind of attrocities that cultists are involved in today??? Moreover,,must anyone do something just because someone started it? Anyone who is a cultist today joined based on his/her own personal decision and interest not because someone started it years back. Everyone shoukd take responsibility for whatever decision he/she makes.
      Talking about his marriage,,,,have u also been faithful to ur partner all ur life?? His personal life has nothing to do with the issues Nigeria is tackling presently.

10. Wole Soyinka when will you be tired of writing stupid things as if you are an Angel. We have not forgotten how you started cultism in our country which is ravaging our youths now. I can remember how you chased your first wife and took advantage of my class mate and married her when you were our lecturer at the university of Ife.

1. ......................................................................................

11. #Yawning# Who read dis epistle finish? Abeg make i go breastfeed my baby..mtcheeeeeew!

12. prof Wole Soyinka is truly a rare gem! This piece shows dat the height of evil in this country is alarming. I am sort of disappointed wit GEJ for condoning such! how can a man being questioned of his loyalty with his country be seen with d country's president??!!! That is preposterous. GEJ the things you do for peace to reign is funny cos lets face it, OUR COUNTRY LACKS PEACE! GEJ is too docile and its affecting this country. Both pissed n short of words at the level of corruption with impunity!

1. Pls Precious are in any way related to Cythia Chidera Ibik now ( Mrs Ofodile)

13. prof Wole Soyinka is truly a rare gem! This piece shows dat the height of evil in this country is alarming. I am sort of disappointed wit GEJ for condoning such! how can a man being questioned of his loyalty with his country be seen with d country's president??!!! That is preposterous. GEJ the things you do for peace to reign is funny cos lets face it, OUR COUNTRY LACKS PEACE! GEJ is too docile and its affecting this country. Both pissed n short of words at the level of corruption with impunity!

1. Precious Ibik are in any way related to cythia ibik now Ofodile?

14. Whatever......I'm still going to vote for GEJ.

15. Damn! Grammar too much. Na sense I take understand am. But he said it all too many sycophants and morons. Only God can save Nigeria cos d rate of injustice is enough for God to punish us.

16. The elites in this country hides secret a lot when are dey going to stop beating around the bush and spill the truth !hit the hammer on the head....

17. We are waiting....I started reading from down up so I won't get bored. Interesting but loooonnnnggggg.

18. Heheheheee... To call names no be beans ooo, na there wahala wear cover shoe. Na mind ooo....#alinko

19. Wole English Soyinka!ur just too good in dat language!no mistakes!I hail

20. I was waiting for this
    Never knew am not gonna wait long
    I was right afterall
    "Clap!! Clap!!! Clap!!!!!"
    Ali modu sure has skeleton in his box
    Why will anyone unvited to such a sensitive security meeting
    So desperate to be there for no reason?
    Up to sqeezing his way in as entourage of the receiving president?
    What's his interest ?
    If not knowing what is gonna be discussed there so he feed shekau BH of next line of action
    Like is or not, dis is fishy
    More fishy if this pple re not arrested
    The name of the top CBN boss has been given to GEJ
    He must act on dis
    Who ever they re
    For his own good as already he is loosing credibility internationally
    The world is waiting to see
    Believe me if u ignore all this GEJ all in the name of re eletion
    Even if u return for 2nd time no one will take our country serious less ur government
    That is if we won't be slap with all sort of sanction for ur stupidity and greed
    ACT now
    A righteous man fear no evil
    U will be writing ur name GEJ in GOLD
    Wen u do this
    This terorist must be brought to book
    Stand up for ur country mr president
    Ignore all the side talks of mislead
    Make our country proud
    GEJ ACT NOW!!!!!

1. Gbam Gbam Gbam!!! Babe your head dey there! So on point! GEJ #bringbackourhonour#

21. He should spill Stella so he will be assassinated..this BH members are ruthless ooh. Didn't you read the part where he says he doesn't have the courage the negotiator has?? The allegations are there,is left for the Number 1 citizen to do right by us..i pray he does the right thing!

22. I'm too speechless to comment.president Jonathan hands are dirty mingling with terrorist, having no balls to boldly prosecute the boko haram culprits.instead he is focusing on his selfish desires
    Pls president Jonathan brink back the nation's honour. Reuben abati,if I hear anything from you criticising wole soyinka's write up...... know you will be served back.

23. I'm too speechless to comment.president Jonathan hands are dirty mingling with terrorist, having no balls to boldly prosecute the boko haram culprits.instead he is focusing on his selfish desires
    Pls president Jonathan brink back the nation's honour. Reuben abati,if I hear anything from you criticising wole soyinka's write up...... know you will be served back.

24. They will be exposed IJN. Amen! #ILOVEGEJ

25. Thank you sir! The earlier they start investigating any one linked to BH and prosecuting them if found guilty the better for Nigeria. Like he clearly stated, this is a crime against humanity, why the President is lackadaisical about this whole thing bits my imagination.

These blood sucking demons are not spirits, judgement should start here on earth for them before they proceed to hell.

26. Hmmmm....and d plot thickens!
    Abeg at dis stage all of una na suspect...dont know who is who...even u Oga Soyinka.
    Ana emenu...

27. Indeed a must read. Highly sensitive infos were encrypted in this writeup. Sadly only the masses are totally clueless and suffering from all these wahala. Lord, do have mercy on Nigeria

28. Cultist!!! Did you speak these grammar when you were in Road safety? Nigerians are so gullible. Why would anybody applaud a man who is morally bankrupt. Ask any girl that went to university of Ife while he was a lecturer there and they will tell you how he abused his first wife and slept with young girls for marks. He even ended up getting married to one innocent girl whom he is abusing right now. Why don't we see his wife in the pages of our dailies

29. The way everybody is stylishly avoiding calling names, I have a bad feeling that our government knows something.
    And what's with the foot dragging GEJ?
    Why have all the western countries that had wanted to help us all suddenly left us alone?
    What exactly is going on???
    Hmm mm :(

30. The Prof is one of the few people that has integrity. GEJ knows te sponsors of Boko Haram but refuses to do anything about it

31. Names were presented.
    No media template report from Abati.

Suspects were not investigated.
    Suspect flying with GEJ to Chad.

Nothing was done as usual.
    Everything swept under carpet.

~Shhhhhhhhh..... it will go away system~

Just like how Diaziani was untouched after private jetting and extra.

And

Stella Oduah was un Ministired after bullet proofing and extra.

Or

like how $ 700 million Abacha' s returned Swiss loots grew wings with Iweala and co.

Or

how Immigration services collected thousands of Naira from applicants and killed some with Abba Moro.

Or

how the Nigerian youths were on strike for almost a year and nothing happened with Nyesom Wike and Shekaru.

Or

SURE- P getting N237 Billion in 2014's Budget, most Nigerians are still jobless.

And

how Onyebuchi Chukwu wants students to resume school without proper Ebola treatment in place and Doctors are still on strike I believe.

Or

How I wanna Octopus slap some officials.

1. Hahahahaha
      Not funny joor...u are right o jare

2. It's such a lugubrious state of affair. Can't wait to see the change really..smh

3. How NYSC is charging youth corpers 4k as online registration fee? For what? How GEJ is busy campaigning for 2015 when the whole country is so fucked up. How Azazzi was silenced when he mentioned that the government is BH. How the DSS is now a political party instead of gathering information.

32. Pertinent questions Mr Soyinka and succinctly written article. The president must indeed galvanize the law to take its course. Nothing forgetting BRINGBACKOURHONOUR.

33. Janelicious yea. Am ha younger sister.. Hi. #PreciousIbik

34. Dear soyinka don't let this animals kill you I love ur courage to bits but...