Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Marketers Make N148.5bn illegal Profit On Kerosene

Tuesday, October 07, 2014

Marketers Make N148.5bn illegal Profit On Kerosene

Between January and September this year, oil marketers in the country made not less than N148.5bn illegal profit on Dual Purpose Kerosene sold to Nigerians.Officially, the DPK is meant to be sold at N50 per litre, but this has not been the case as consumers have continued to buy the product at N100 and above per litre.

Daily supply of kerosene to the market is put at 11 million litres by the Petroleum Products Marketing Company, which implies that over N550m illegitimate profit is made by oil marketers daily on the product at a retail price of N100 per litre.

By implication, over N16.5bn abnormal profit is made every month, meaning that between January and September this year, a total of N148.5bn would have been dubiously made by marketers across the country.

This development informed the directive of the Department of Petroleum Resources last week that all marketers should revert to the regulated price of N50 per litre or be prepared to be sanctioned.

The Director, DPR, Mr. George Osahon, had said that, henceforth, marketers selling kerosene above N50 would be sanctioned.
He described the situation as disturbing and warned the marketers to desist from such an act, adding that DPR would from now on sanction any retail outlet caught selling kerosene above the approved price.

Sources in the downstream subsector of the petroleum industry, reveal in separate interviews on Monday, however, said it was impracticable to sell kerosene at N50 per litre.

A marketer, who would not want to be quoted because of the sensitivity of the issue, revealed on Monday that the process had been compromised from the beginning.

He said from the Pipelines and Products Marketing Company’s template, the cost price of kerosene per litre is N40.90, with a five per cent refundable deposit, which had never been refunded, putting the figure at N42.95.
The source added, “A marketer will also need to hire a vessel to convey the product to the depot and this cost about N3 per litre. Aside this, another N3 will have to be paid as depot charge by the marketer. All these will amount to about N48.95 and the product hasn’t left the marketer’s tank.

“You still have to transport the product from the tank to petrol stations for about N1 per litre. Already, the marketer has incurred a cost of N49.95 before the product gets to the consumer.”
Another marketer reveals that officially, N4.60 was the approved margin on kerosene per litre, noting that the addition of the margin to the cost incurred by marketers would take the price above N50 per litre.
The marketer also said that oftentimes, the product was never bought atN42.95 by his colleagues.

According to him, marketers are meant to pay some additional costs in form of bribe to get the product, which automatically shoots up the price.
The Managing Director, PPMC, Mr. Haruna Momoh, had blamed the price anomaly in the kerosene market to sharp practices of some middlemen in the industry.

He said, “It is the wish of the government to make kerosene available, but our research from when we came in is a totally different picture to compare with the good intention of the government. The product is diverted to neighbouring countries and also used for production and construction.”

Momoh said though his organisation was a bulk supplier of kerosene, “the job of ensuring that it reaches Nigerians at the official price of N50 is outside my purview.”Expressing surprise that the product was often not available to Nigerians, Momoh said 11 million litres of kerosene were being supplied on daily basis at the cost of N40.90, stressing that the supply was coming from two major sources, importation and local production by Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation...culled

*This is small compared to 20BILLION DOLLARS ANNUALLY X 3 for only two people.

25 comments:

1. Some figures would make u dizzy.

1. Greedy people

Please where can I buy corset in onitsha or Asaba
      Please help

2. Ha Nigerians are wicked!!! ( some )

3. i weep for nigeria my country,in my next world if am born in nigeria ,i will make sure i die from day one.the most useless country i have ever seen.

1. So y are you still alive?

2. Ur pessimism baffles me , u use urown mouth to curse ursef ....drink poison Ά̲̣̥πϑ die Ά̲̣̥πϑ probably u would wake up in d USA or Pakistan ..
      Anumanu
      #im not used to calling people out lik dis but ur own pinched me for nyash

4. Are u minding them?its on kerosene issue they have power!will a marketer do bizness without profit?infact dis analysis is lenient,they spend more than that before it reaches its final destination giving bribes and making way for one thing or d oda in order not to waste unnecessary time with the tankers etc cos time is money in dis line of bizness,not also forgetting the inflation rate on things lately.after all these input,they too have to survive!its so sad dou dat this is happening even with kerosene of which three quarter of the users are d poor and low income earners.it is what it is,a fall back of how squalid our society is!
    Ehen Madam Diezianne,where is d 20bill dollars wey u chop?#rme#kerosene is now ur problem.mtceew!

5. And u pple ll still vote GEJ. una never see anything.

6. Ripoff the synonym for Nigerian gov't and their cahoots. Poor masses.
    Stella hope you're better today.

7. These pple shuld fear God with all this kind of amount they calling..

Visit my blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

8. I just bought kerosene at 140 naira per litters at Nyanya. come and see line.

1. GEJ is d best thing dat ever happened to naija. Lol.
      Dumb pple. So they are just waking up. No pity for d poor and down trodden in dis country.

9. If wishes were horses!

10. Kerosene almost gave my aunt HBP,the suppliers have to bribe their way through for product to be given to them, by the time the kerosene finally gets to her na N115-120/ltr, so she would sell at 125/130...Its crazy then the tanker man that brings the product would want you to bribe him, the marketer sef wants his own cut...Last last what's your gain?

11. Y all dis plenty noise eh madam,since u kw wat action v u taken on dem?act nd stop d noise cos u de dstrub ma #DrinkingStar

~@iamjbankz SA to President Jonathan 2015~

12. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Thank God i no follow any body celebrate independence day.... Wack nation....

13. Honestly this people are not sincere. The md of ppmc have his cartel , the depot managers all have their own cartels too. Before kerosine is given you have to bribe them with about 500,000 that is if you are even lucky to know about how to go about getting their cartels to deal with , because the md and depot managers will always claim that there is none.
    They are all crooks and God will judge them all

14. Why won't kerosene be expensive when the md of ppmc and his cartels are the ones sharing it among themselves

15. Some people go blame GEJ, like say no be this country some people dey when kerosene hard gaan, and people begin use sawdust. D rot in this nation is more than 3years.

16. ***HEALING-RAIN***

@bootylicious diva becareful what you wish for cos you might get it. Maybe am superstitious. Asking God to send you to a country where the wealth would reach you would have been more appriopriate.

17. You forgot to say that the money been paid for bribe is not 500,000 Naira but 500k dollars.

18. They just call figures as if its not money. Oh God my help in ages past. This people are sucking this country to the level of nothing.