Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Memo To Nigerian Artistes - By Michael Tubes.

Monday, October 20, 2014

Memo To Nigerian Artistes - By Michael Tubes.

Nigerian Artists stop spoiling your Brand with mediocre London promoters

''I am beginning to feel uncomfortable with Nigerian Artists who spoil their brand with mediocre promoters in the name of performing in London. How much pounds sterling are they being  offered that they would even consider jeopardising their career? Nigerian artists please do your basic home work on promoters that come to you to promote you in the UK, some of these promoters can't even sell out their living room. 

MICHEAL TUBES.

The main job of a music promoter is to publicise your concert and make sure things go off without a hitch but this is not the case usually in London.

I have photographed every single show that has occurred in London in the past 3 years but I can count how many shows that was sold out or half full. Recently one of Nigeria's musical legends came to sing in an almost empty  2661 capacity venue. If I have to release the images of that show that will be bad publicity for this legendary artist.

It's not the fault of the artist but artists you are also guilty by association. Please stop this assumption that they have paid you your money if the show is not sold out it's none of your business. Yes you are right it's not your business but please sit back and think what an empty venue does to your brand. Your brand is your vision of who you are and what you do for your audiences. It encompasses a message. 
What kind of message do u want to send out to your fans or potential clients and corporate company/ bodies who might want to use your brand to promote their brand that you can't sell out a show. Please think about the consequences of jumping in bed with some of these cowboy promoters in the name of performing in London who are not looking out for your best interest or your brand as an artist but what to get out of your brand. 

Why am I speaking out now? I love to promote our artists in a good light and enhance their profile but it's seems they are not doing themselves any favours by working with these unprofessional promoters. Astrid, a coaching and training company, said one of the most important tools for advancing a career in the creative world is the use of a personal brand. 

Please do your home work on these promoters, research their work, have a knowledge of their track record. Recently a female artist almost refused to perform on stage because the promoter didn't pay her in full but a huge respect to this female artist she gave her fans a performance that is value for money. A performance in line with Beyoncé of Africa but I ask myself one question why did she associate her brand with such promoter.

Afrobeats has gone beyond Nigeria and  Africa, it's now an international genre and all stakeholders must begin to take it serious. Artists if you find the right promoter to work with in UK, please kindly give your fans a performance that is value for money. Do not just come two days or a day to your  event and make noise on the stage and call it a performance. 

Recently I photographed Asa's concert. She was very professional and her show was nothing short of epic.

In our community we don't take criticism very well, we can't continue to sugar coat awful performances. Recently Lauryn Hill was criticised for her awful performance at her show at the Brixton Academy in London. As a photojournalist both in our community and in mainstream media  I want to see Afrobeats grow to a very high standard, from strength to strength both locally and internationally.''

Written by Michael Tubes

-- 
Michael Tubes
Photojournalist 
Manager | Michael Tubes Creations

A Member of National Union of Journalist 

20 comments:

1. How does spoiling their brand affect the economy of Nigeria?

1. BLOG ANAySER: good business man promoting his business and skills

2. nice...he really said it as it is

visit my blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

3. Well said@ Micheal. ..though I'm too posh to go to naija shows .

1. U are too posh to go to naija shows,abeg go n hide inside dustbin......mgbeke mgborie

4. Will they ever listen, provided its a white man's land they will even do it for free ontop of a trash bin afterall America must know. Inferiority complex at its peak.

5. Well said micheal.the truth is always bitter pls keep on telling them the truth biko

6. The answer lies in ur write up Mike,the artists are as guilty as the producers,its all bout the hype of :'oh so so so musician is on a london tour',already that has boosted his CV within the nigerian fan base,afterall they ain't going to attend the show to know if he performed in an almost empty hall or performed for ghosts.its all abt media hype.So chill Oga,they know what dey are doing!lol

7. Where's the proof? If you mention their names with the pictures of the empty halls, then please stay quiet. Everybody is looking for ways to stay relevant."As a photo journalist both in our community and in our main stream media"ko!

8. I see no sense in the article, as long as the artist has been paid in full; who cares? After all is he/she not in the industry for the money? Biko swerve! *Mama D*

9. And who is this one again?
    Who asked you?
    Everyone seems to have an opinion about everything.
    Mscchewww.

10. Toh,he who has ears should hear

11. He who has ears let him hear.

12. Mtcheewwwwwww
    GOD BLESS NIGERIA.

13. There's nothing wrong in giving tithes and alms.

14. Waiting concerns mio?? Abeg pack well

15. The truth though but nobody would want to listen, to the artists its the hustle spirit in them that matters.