Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: PISTORIUS Jailed For Five Years.

Tuesday, October 21, 2014

PISTORIUS Jailed For Five Years.

South African athlete Oscar Pistorius has been jailed for five years for killing his girlfriend Reeva Steenkamp.
Judge Thokozile Masipa, issuing the ruling in court in Pretoria, also gave Pistorius a three-year suspended sentence for a firearms charge. Pistorius has been taken to the cells.
The prosecution had called for a minimum 10-year sentence; the defence for community service and house arrest.

Pistorius was convicted of culpable homicide but cleared of murder.
Judge Masipa began reading the sentence by saying that, although she had been aided by assessors, the decision was hers and hers alone.
She said: "Sentencing is about achieving the right balance. Sentencing is not a perfect exercise."

She said there must be a balance between retribution, deterrence and rehabilitation.
The judge then summarised the evidence brought before the trial.
She described the evidence of defence witness and social worker Annette Vergeer as "slapdash and disappointing".
Ms Vergeer had argued Pistorius would be "a lot more vulnerable than the normal man" in jail.
But Judge Masipa said she was sure prisons were equipped to cater for the requirements of a special needs inmate.

Judge Masipa has ruled in a trial that has captured public attention in South Africa and beyond
She also said she had a "feeling of unease" at what she called an overemphasis on the athlete's vulnerability.
However, she said Pistorius had made an "enormous contribution to society", in his charity work and in changing the public perception of disability.
The judge then read out a quote from previous legal opinion, saying that if sentences were too lenient, the administration of justice may fall into disrepute.
She said she found the suggestions of sentences made by defence witnesses "not appropriate".

Pistorius, 27, an amputee sprinter who became the first athlete to compete in the Olympic and Paralympic Games, killed Ms Steenkamp on Valentine's Day last year.
He says he shot her by mistake, fearing there was an intruder in his house in the capital, Pretoria.
Ms Steenkamp, a 29-year-old model, reality TV star and law graduate, was hit three times by bullets fired by Pistorius through a toilet door.

Oscar Pistorius shot dead Reeva Steenkamp on Valentine's Day last year
Last month, Judge Masipa cleared Pistorius of murder, but convicted him of culpable homicide, saying he had been negligent.
The high-profile, seven-month trial has captured public attention in South Africa and beyond.

There was no legal limit on the length of a jail term, but experts say the typical maximum sentence for culpable homicide is around 15 years.
However, despite the sentencing being announced, the case may not be over.

Both the prosecution and the defence have the right to appeal against the sentence.....BBC NEWS

*Five years?...Is this supposed to run concurrently with anything else?

What do you think?he deserves more or less?

81 comments:

1. Hummmm atlist he will do d years unlike my naija they will bribe dia way out. ..common man for naija hardly go to jail talkless of a known face.....

1. I agree with u, atleast there's was trial and sentence which he will serve but I think he deserves more but then again like d judge said he has contributed to his society.

Only God is d best of judges.

2. People laugh when I tell them that whenever you are found in a life threatening situation choose life!!!
      For instance someone points a gun at you and you boldly say shoot me? Rather beg for your life...!
      What a loss of life for just 5 years Imprisonment. Well only God is the true Judge!
      Rejoice not Oscar you still got one more Judgement coming...on the last day!
      To all please it's better to be safe than sorry!
      If you are in an abusive relationship walk out alive!!! Joy to the wise...
      *wipes tears*

¤Peace Ambassador

2. 5 what? That's too small na, for a murder case, No na, he shld be der for life abeg. Such cold hearted human being is nt suppose to be released soon

3. He was lucky not to have gotten more years, like 20 or 30yrs.

1. He's going to spend 10 months in jail n d rest on house arrest...he'l walk free after like 3 years

2. Very true bitchplis...and then he would write a book about the murder and his time in prison and blah blah blah then the book will be a bestseller bringing him loads of cash. His career may even continue, maybe maybe not. my heart goes to Reeva's family. Oscar and his crazy temper!

3. This news is rather disturbing to me however, I know he'll do it again and he won't be so smart. Oj Simpson dodged the bullet once but couldn't the next time. Only time will tell!

4. Morreeeeee
    Han han just 5 yrs for killing odindin eyan
    Na wa

5. They have used ima mmadu for his sentence. Just 5yrs? Hian tho I pity him sha. But, wot was he tinkin wen he shopt his babe. He stays in a very secured environ so his story abt d intruder doesn't rily hold water for me.

6. What is so special about this oscar sef.abeg make dem allow person see road jare.finally his sentence has be pronounce,i thought it was only nigeria that knows brutality never knew white people are into the game too.shame to oscar.

1. So south africans r white pple?get educated babe

7. He deserves more for taking away a life

8. 5 years is too small biko..
    He deserves life imprisonment cos he would come out and commit another murder..

9. He might just serve 1/6th of that sentence.

1. My thoughts exactly...serve some months then get discharged for 'good behaviour',do some community service then house arrest...too bad,he deserves a heavier sentence!

10. Ihekire Tony

South African judicial system is corrupt and unstable. Just 5years for a case as grievious as this, is a way of saying, "boy well done".

1. Don't mind them,5 years is ridiculous and justice was definitely not served in this case.

11. What is 5 years?
    No bird hin kill?
    They are not serious!

12. Fair play.

5 years okay since he was cleared of murder.

I'd rather a guilty man walks than an innocent man looked up for a crime he didnt commit. We will never know for certain that he shot the poor girl intentionally.

13. So he got away with murder .i pray they kill him in prison ,I like an eye for an eye . Where's the justice for her family ??

14. Only..., he deserves life imprisonment.Unfair judgement **hiss**

15. ANGELRAY SAID
    5 yrs is too small na, 70 yrs imprisonment should have been better.

16. ANGELRAY SAID
    5 yrs is too small na, 70 yrs imprisonment should have been better.

17. 5 years only???
    Mtchewww!
    Nigga knew she was in the bathroom and not an intruder.
    whoreva mehnn...

1. God bless you! Nothing they'll say will change my mind that he killed her in cold blood. The first bullet hit her in a way she would have been able to scream, yet he claims the sound of the shot was ringing in his ears so he couldn't hear.
      I wonder how his depraved supporters will feel if Reeva was their sister. Reeva's poor dad even suffered a stroke as a result of this.
      5 years with just 10 months actual term is an insult to the memory of that poor girl.
      Now every disabled person with evil motive can kill someone and claim "Oh poor me, I was vulnerable and I thought it was an intruder" and will have to be considered same as Oscar. Stupid judge has started something she won't be around to finish.
      I still dey vex baaaaad over this issue.

18. We are even lucky it's not in Nigeria, he would have gone away with it.

Mr Lyca

19. He took a life, is his more important? I'm so pissed on the family's behalf. 15 to 20years would have been fine. He competed with normal people and won, so why is his disability coming into play here? Mega mtcheeeeeeeeeeeew.

1. Don't mind d yeye people
      **strolls out**

2. He's been bribing the family lately with monies and favours so their mouth is shut somehow.hes a good player!

20. Only 5 years?
    It's too small na.
    By the time he is 32 he will be out and life goes on for him. 30 years or more would've been ok.
    I'm so pained!
    No matter the name they give his crime, we all know he murdered that lady in cold blood. It was premeditated.
    Didn't follow the trials that much but from what I gathered, he comes off as insecure, possessive and hot tempered.
    Oh well, lucky him. He should thank his lawyer.
    RI P to the dead.
    I pray her loved ones get closure.

21. only 5 years?????
    its because hes white and is a star.....mtcheww

22. He deserves more. "He who kills by d sword shld also die by d sword ". Loolz no b me talk am o. Afterall he shot her not once even if he claims he thogt it's intruder.

23. Dis guy na legend ooooo.... Choi..... His case is one case that has taken planet earth. I know law students and even practicing lawyers have learnt alot from dis case cos everyone is always glued to their tv, magazines just to follow up. I hope someone will not wake up and publish a novel on this and sure a movie to spice it up...lol...#alinko

24. WTF! WTF!! WTF!!! For me they just let him go free after killing that young lady! SMH. I hope the family of the late lady will appeal.

25. He deserves more, atleast ten years wld v been kk.

26. He deserved more biko. The only people I feel for is Reeva's family, the mental anguish they must have gone through is unimaginable.
    I hope his fellow inmates point out the error of his ways to him before he leaves

27. Still in shock after watching d News
    5 years??!
    Dis is a big joke
    Some peeps were saying d judge was bought
    Didn't believe it
    Buh now I do

Poor Reeva and her parents
    Wonder how sad and betrayed they must feel right now

How will u live wit urself Oscar?

1. Oh dear feel Same for them. Another sad part is when he has fully served his term, he will move on with a new girlfriend who will be feeling like the most lucky woman on earth by his side...life happens!
      Let us all be wise that's all.

28. He deserves more.
    But he has a very GOOD lawyer. so he is lucky.

29. Personally, I felt he should've been found guilty & convicted of murder. But the law doesn't give judgment based on sentiments but hard, incontrovertible facts, which apparently, the prosecution didn't have or couldn't prove. Throughout his trial & like the judge rightly mentioned, all I saw was a man who tried to pin his actions on the fact that he's a double amputee, thus has some insecurities. Is five years enough sentence, which I read might just be 8months of actual prison term & then he's released to go home under strict conditions, to complete the sentence, isn't fair enough punishment. He should've been handed the maximum sentence for culpable homicide but then, he gets a slap on the wrist. My concern is if Oscar Pistorius were to be 'black' & he murdered Reeva Steenkamp in the same circumstance, would he have gotten similar sentence? Kudos though to the South African justice system for ensuring a speedy conclusion of the trial; Nigeria can learn from them in that regards.

30. Am happy Oscar pistorius is going to jail
    Though to me 5yrs is too light a sentence
    Either way he will be in JAIL and that to me is d koko
    He deserve to be there
    He belong there
    Am glad he will learn his lesson the hard way!
    No one should get away with murder
    RIP Reeva!!

31. I think it's OK seeing as he is disabled. He may not stay d whole five years anyway cos he may get out in half that for good behavior

32. Deserves more oh....with socio rehabilitation, house arrest n arms charges! 5yrs means 2and half real servectime whc is also far from far but like I read there is a right to appeal!

33. All the crocodile tears and throwing up really worked wonders...nd money too
    Dis guy deserves 21yrs or more but na God go judge d final one! Cheaters..

34. Oh poor Oscar, you destroyed your life,five years is okay as Oscar is a disabled man,Oh anger see what you have gone to this man,the prison is not safe cos gangster leaders promised to kill him or castrate him in prison,i pray the both families heal up..Rest in peace Reeva..

35. I guess its still better than death sentence. It will pass. May d dead RIP

36. There is no justice in the world....the street is military

37. Many ladies are really cussing me out now on bb for supporting Oscar...but d lady was taking advantage of him cos of his disability.ao can u be with ur boyfriend n still be textin anoda guy?..I know ppl cheat,but @least do it wen he's away,don't disrespect him by doin it under his nose...disabled ppl mostly have uncontrollable temper...don't get me wrong,I don't support killing her o. Make God send all girlfriends from d pit of hell away from us. Dear future wife,pls buy me a baseball bat as a wedding present...so I can use it to crack ur cranium if u ever cheat on me

1. In a civilized country you will be taken for questioning for this statement and had a psychiatric/psychology assessment.

Just out of curiosity where u abused as a child either directly or did u watch ur mother being abused?

YOU ARE A VIOLENT MAN AND THE TRAITS OF MURDERER IS IN U.

A concerned dr.

2. And when you cheat what should she do? Poison you???

3. Bitchplis, you many ladies are cussing you out for "supporting" Oscar and you also said you don't support him killing her.
      Pray tell, what do you then mean when you said you support Oscar?
      You got me really confused...
      It's either you support him killing her or you don't.

4. Well said concerned doctor!!!
      Bitchplis????
      Hmmmmmm

5. A concerned idiotic dr...I was raised by d best parents in d world. As a matter of fact,it feels strange to me wen I hear/read different stories about ppl from disfunctional families...am a peace loving youngman n I just feel for d guy dat's all
      @Genny baby,'support' in d sense dat many ppl werearguing dat he shld get heavier sentence n I had a different opinion
      @anti bukky,don't mind me jare

6. Bitch plis ke kwanu? *Long stare*
      Life happens!

7. @freda love,odimma...abi no be so dem dey answer?

38. In my opinion, more years.

39. I knew he was going to get a ridiculous sentence when he was found not guilty of murder. May reeva RIP

Click my name for all your celebration cakes and cupcakes, cheers

40. This guy just fooled the whole world!
    Trust me...we have not heard the last of him...I watch crime tv a lot and I know trigger happy psychos like him!
    I do not agree with the sentencing Stella! He should have got life without parole! He is as guilty as ****!

41. The trial was a theatrical yet gruelling exercise. Underneath were claims and counter-claims and other additives. The aftermath didnt represent what the public wanted the judiciary to achieve. 5yrs?!

Fortunedexcel.

42. Even though the judgement is too lenient, it's better than walking free. I still hold my belief that he shot her in the heat of argument.
    That judge made some contradictory statement in closing of the case. Well wetin I know, it's just my own lay man view sha.
    Let's God be the final judge!

Lolashow

43. it's ok
    If u think its to small go get a gun and shot him so we can hear word. may her soul rest in peace

44. No matter how small he would still serve time and would be called an ex convict for life. Idiot.

45. Just five years?this is really outrageous. A murderer kills and gets just five years to pay for his crime? am so shocked.

46. ***HEALING-RAIN***

5yrs in the poker?
    For swatting a fly?
    What happened to 25yrs imprisonment?
    Judge Masipa,l hope your sentence is torpedoed in an appeal court. You failed the justice system by refusing to give justice to the Steenkamp family.
    When Oscar boasted in a club some months back that Jacob Zuma is in his family's pocket and that they owned S.A, thought he was kidding now l see the hand of Zuma in this.
    I hope you get your effing prosthetic leg shoved down your ass in the cell you imp and get beaten to a pulp. You temperamental,slimy,heartless son of a gun.

47. Goodnews!
    NIGERIAN NAVY RECRUITMENT 2014
    visit my blog for full info.
    http://goodnewsonlymg.blogspot.com

48. Chyqueen...

Stella i disagree, did he kill a ram? jeez ...it means pple shuld go ahead and commit murder ...its alrite ooo

49. The five years is grossly insufficient for a crime of dis magnitude... anyway, judgement has been passed.

50. Oscar!Oscar!the highly manipulative convict of 2014....he finally got his way and ended up with a light sentence for murder,well good for him cos he's suffering would have been immeasurable if he was given a life sentence,does bad guys would have shown him hell cos he will totally be. Helpless without his artificial legs... unfortunately the dead Reeva will soon be forgotten,but see how easy theyv made for Oscar cos he's a star,first of all before being a disable!#life is so unfair!

51. Just read that he could spend as little as 10 months! How sad

52. Rubbish, SA una fall hand o, d judges should've allowed him to go rest rather than wasting his time n others. longest hiss
    Had it been that Oscar was a black guy, it would've been life imprisonment.

53. Bitchpliz..Bitchpliz ah ahn! if that was his pain, why didn't he call off the relationship. killing her was gross! relationship is not by force o!

54. God bles #Masipa judgement-masterful&balanced. All can look at her approach, take, learn from & be inspired by it.