Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: South African Media Confirms Legitimacy Of Nigeria's $9.3m Arms Deal

Tuesday, October 07, 2014

South African Media Confirms Legitimacy Of Nigeria's $9.3m Arms Deal

The South African media have published documents confirming the legitimacy of the $9.3million botched arms deals between Nigeria and the former apartheid enclave.
Reports by Rapport and City Press affirmed federal government’s official position that the transactions were legitimate.

The media houses said contrary to insinuations, end user certificates and a ‘shopping’ list accompanied the transactions as well as a note from Nigerian government authorizing the deals.

According to the reports, documents showed that the earlier consignment was approved by the Nigerian government  through the Office of National Security Adviser (ONSA), which is officially mandated to issue the end-user certificate for such transactions involving the nation’s security agencies.
An entire “shopping list” was also said to have been supplied with the certificate, which included everything from helicopters to unmanned aircraft, rockets and ammunition.

A top security source in the intelligence service disclosed that“In issuing end-user certificate, the ONSA ensures that it carries all relevant agencies and stakeholders along. Therefore, such a responsibility is not a unilateral development.
“For security reasons, the chains leading to the issuance of end-user certificate cannot be put in the public domain.

“The recent interest in arms purchase was informed by the challenges of insurgency which our nation had been grappling with in the last few years. This is why the understanding of all Nigerians is necessary.

“Nigeria is desperate to counter activities of terrorists no matter what it takes even when some of our friends are not being fair to us.
“The government appeals to the media and all Nigerians, especially the opposition, to consider the overall national interest on security issues. They should not read negative meaning to every good intention of government in tackling insecurity in the country”.
Continuing, the source said“The federal government and some top intelligence officers are concerned about how some officials of South Africa decided to frustrate the efforts of Nigeria at containing the activities of terrorists operating in the North-Eastern axis.”

DailyPost gathered that there are concerns that despite the leeway given to South African companies to thrive in Nigeria, there are still officials of the country who are determined to frustrate Nigeria, which in April this year overtook South Africa as Africa’s largest economy.
Government loyalists insist that the botched deal is being used by some prominent persons for political reasons.
They also accused“vested interests”of wishing the war against insurgency was not won.

On the latest story of seizure of over $5million by South Africa, those in security circles say it may just be a refreshment of the old story with a new angle.

.......Dailypost cullage

*Melecine after kaput..lol

32 comments:

1. Very good indeed! Jes like I expected..

*lips sealed and watching*

2. I wish some of these news can be kept under wraps..how do we expect to fight terrorism when the enemies know our every move..they know new arms are coming into the country and might even steal them if we don't shut our mouths! I think every blogger/journalist out there should choose what to publish especially about this our present nemesis! Of course it took the govt a long time to come out and talk because this was supposed to be on the down low in the first place...when they didn't have arms and all...individuals and groups ranted and raved! now they are trying to buy and people are still not happy? I give up!

Btw,south Africans,what is the ish with you people and Nigerians again?

3. @"Iphie dearie"

Your analysis, assertions and recommendations are objective and without an iota of prejudice...... Nigeria would be better of if 0.5% of us would reason like you in this regard!

4. Am telling you, its suppose 2 be secret. Even SA messed up, wit der big mouth.

2. After tarnishing our govt's image, they should sue the South african govt jor

3. Abeg where dem dey since? Na real melecine after death

4. Real *Melecine after kaput..lol

5. Ope. Na today?????

6. The greatest enemy to our Progress as a national is from within; vested interest, personal gains, tribalism etc. I may not the Facts but something tells me Jonathan is saying the truth about this Problem. Nigeria will never Progress as a Nation with our present corrupt mindset of the whole Nation as a whole. Nigerians are just so hating on one another without reason and they don´t even know it. Not wanting to put down any tribe. I am bini and the Kind of comments I read on this blog about bini peolpe you really wonder eh? why so much talking down on a tribe you know nothing about? I pray God will everyone of us from within and really make us love People irrespective of where they are from. Then and only then can we as a Nation be respected and appreciated and accorded any respect whatsoever. SA and other nations will continue to undermine, ridicule and toiled with us when continue judging People based on tribe because a house divided against itself can never stand

7. Something doesn't seems right
    Why is it takin both government this long to find out it was legit
    Make all of una dey deceive una self
    E no concern me
    Eish!!

1. I agree with u.the treath on mtn, dstv etc in action

8. Why did it take so long? Well as always this film don end here, we need to start watching another one please. Thank you.

Pekeyim 09

9. My "forst" time here...sdk is vely jovial...PS I'm not Flom anambla. Evely countly buy arms...I don't understand the fiasco surrounding this naija arms deal. Abi no be govt dey buy d arms?

10. They for no return the money. thieving south africa govt. the country makes large chunk of money from our country due to large investments, all they do is to rubbish our image at will.

11. for three whole weeks nigeria was agog with this news,they suddenly decided to announce it was legit now?didnt they know before,or what was d seizure all about?so even SA has been roped into d APC/PDP power tussle or what,cant even make anything out of dis insignificant broadcast!its truly medicine after death,smh.#i pledge to nigeria my country...forever,Amen!smh

12. Story story! Stoooooory. Well, the same South African government (weaponry and ammunition sales arms) denied existence of documentary sale permit when the money was seized so what is the twist now? Has Ghana must go bags exchanged hands of those handling the situation? Despite the 'genuiness' of the transaction, why did the carriers of the money not declare it at the airport? Why did wire transfer not used in the deal? So many questions to ask. This is indeed medicine after death, as said by Stella. Naija, we don dey used to deception, corruption, illegality. Na today? Make God punish all these idiots whe dey make our people suffer.

1. Now this further reiterates that this government is involved in Boko haram 100%

2. Now this further reiterates that this government is involved in Boko haram 100%

13. Better, misinformation, mal-information, nor half information can be deadly & causes severe damage(s), The press should always get detailed & both side stories bcs I can see dat investigative journalism is gradually elapsing while copy & paste journalism in place.

14. Aunty stella don't say that! This issue has offended me for days because I knew the arms were bought by the government to combat arms but the medis spun it to make it seem it was an illegal deal to arm boko haram!

15. Shey u see Na after people will be running their mouth about what they don't know, finally the south African govt has shown that what GEJ did was legitimate, in the international politics buying arms from the black market is very acceptable and you buy with raw cash so they should stop frustrating GEJ's effort and Nigerians in general. Anyways Oga Jona carry go jare any which way Na way as far as we tackle terrorism!

1. I don't blame u @ all. Since u blv dz, u can blv anythg.

SMH

2. you are really dumb eesah. please keep your hands from typing shit you dont know. also chain that your top dawg before e bite person with wrong assumption. money transfer ko wire transfer ni.

16. This comment has been removed by the author.

17. Funny set of responses - those who think the media were quick into spinning the tale that it was an arms deal gone wrong & those who think there was actually an illegal arms deal and a conspiracy to make the story disappear. Either ways, one fact that cannot be ignored is in its initial fire brigade response, the FG seemed to panic due to public outrage. In the process, no one mentioned all the requisite paper works were available. No one. If that were the case, this matter should've 'died' in the Nigerian press especially. What we saw instead, was the justification that all over the world, govts, based on the exigencies, engage in clandestine acquisition of military hardware & carry around huge sums of money for that purpose. Rather than come out with the facts they had, the FG chose to rather justify why $9.3m cash, was ferried from Abuja to Johannesburg in clear violation of its own & another country's financial laws/regulations. Besides, if the necessary paperwork was there, why did the South Africans act the way they did viz-a-viz seizing the money, impounding the aircraft & making a media feast out of an otherwise 'legitimate' arms deal? Too many questions abeg.

18. Enemies within were busy tarnishing our image just because of the forth coming elections. Uncle Jonathan, God is with you. Rose

19. MAKE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT CONTINUE THIS THEIR "THE MORE YOU LOOK, THE LESS YOU SEE", WEY UNA DEY DO TO NIGERIANS...

UNA CUPS GO SOOOOON FULL HOOHA!