Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Femi Fani Kayode Discharged And Acquitted Over N100m money Laundering Case

Monday, November 17, 2014

Femi Fani Kayode Discharged And Acquitted Over N100m money Laundering Case

A Federal High Court, sitting in Lagos, has discharged and acquitted former Aviation Minister, Mr. Femi Fani Kayode of 38 out of the 40 count charge in the N100 million money laundry case brought against him by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC.

Justice Rita Ofili-Ajumogobia, who presided over the case, ordered the defendant to enter his defence

In her ruling, the presiding judge, said certain questions has to be answered in considering the no case submission as filed by the defence counsel and certain laid down principles considered. 

She said such questions include:

Has the prosecution led any evidence to link the accused person to the commission of the offense? 

Is the evidence adduced by the prosecution so credible to sway the court to compel the accused person to enter his defence and is the evidence so adduced make meaning and sense to any discerning minds?

In appraising the submissions of both the prosecution and the defence, Justice Ajumogobia, said the prosecution has failed woefully to prove beyond reasonable doubt the offense in thirty-eight counts and accordingly, discharged and acquitted the former minister.

She however ordered Fani-Kayode to enter his defence in counts twenty-five and twenty-six, noting that the prosecution has led evidence to show the ingredient of the offense.

The case was subsequently adjourned to the 8th of December for continuation after Dr. Abiodun Layonu asked for a short adjournment. Fani-Kayode is expected to open his defence on the two counts on that day.- dailypost reportage.

*Hmmm he will soon get an appointment again,i see it going that way.
Anyways,please Lawyers in the house,what does it mean to 'enter ones defence' and 'open ones defence?

33 comments:

1. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    They should set up another EFCC to arrest this current once bcos this once are so damn corrupt abeg....

1. Ah ah ah see his face. Festus Keyamo dealt with him like crazy. Appointment u say, Stella? Long thing, it ain't happening.

To 'enter ones defense' is self explanatory. Simply means you take the stand to defend yourself.

2. Dividends of decamping to PDP.... Long hisss yeye dey smell. Thieves and rogues robbing the nation and its citizens in broad day light.

3. Stella is a big Otondo when it comes to law, lawyers and law cases........ defense is when you enter the stand to defend yourself and tell the court what happened. To enter defense is to agree to do so.... lol

4. Aha!!! After joining PDP and frequenting Aso Rock, WHY NOT?

Abeg make I hear.

NEXT!!!

5. Thank goodness! I finally got an ID

6. Ihekire Tony

Yes, he has been discharged and acquitted, which means he is a free man. Thank God for vindicating this good man.

7. That's his reward for going to PDP

8. GEJ government rewards corrupt officials

9. FFK has suddenly gone deaf and dumb on d current massacre plaguing the north. And even when he is writing on issues dat concerns Jonathan he skirts around it without really saying much. Corrupt retard!

1. Are u minding him? I have said it severally that to know a man's true character, wait till when he is hungry...cos by then he'll compromise his integrity just for bread crumbs. This Fani that can like to change mouth like chameleon. You become less of a man when your integrity staggers at the slightest provocation. Cowardice!!!
      He knew what he was doing when he visited Mr President unsolicited.
      FFK ndo o...let's hear your rants now that you've been absolved of the issue. *rme*

10. That's what happens when you connected to the powers that be

Nigeria my country.
    I am sure some people are still in jail for stealing 5k
    Oh well,what do I know.
    I am not a lawyer

11. He join back PDP as a welcomed package they free him of all corruption,that's to show how the poor go to jail and rich plead innocent. Our country name should be changed from Nigeria to Nigerruption

12. Stella abeg check your mail. It's important.

Krystal

13. This man looks too sexy and hot to be a thief! Well, most of them re in such clothing called d sheep clothing

14. Y am i not surprised? That's the dividend of decamping to PDP. The thunder wey go fire all these corrupt politicians still dey do press up. By the time the thunder go finish d press up, there will be no hiding place for them.

15. At least all your shouting like a cat for PDP paid off. When you were shouting for APC, PDP was trying to jail you. Lmao.

16. No wonder he has being quiet for a while now. I miss his ranting days.

17. We all know it will come to this.
    Mr President keeps acquitting corrupt officials.
    He's now free to be appointed.
    If you can't beat them, you join them.

18. Hahahahahahhahahahahahhahahahaha! Kiss n tel FFK! Y wnt d chajis be dropped? Afta he has gone 2 bootlick d president! Oshisco! Al dese corrupt heediots! God hlp al of u sha!
    Wnt b shockd if hez given a political appointment sef.
    Mtcheeew!

19. Jonathan is synonymous to
    corruption. Since he has discharged
    Almustapha and pardoned Alamesigha,
    am not disappointed abt FFK's
    case.PDP, corruption!!!

20. PDP POWER TO THE PEOPLE. Dividends of OTIMKPUISM.

21. Him mouth go deh pour water now.

22. He has done his own part of the bargain (agreement), deflect to PDP and demonise APC, then we will cleanse your name from EFCC register. Enjoy your freedom from GEJ's court but not from court of Lord and posterity.

23. Stella pls chk your mail and if you won't publish my story,let me know

24. Olufemi Isaac, am not sure you know much about law your self. To enter defence means to file a statement of defence since one was not filed earlier as he had pleaded and relied on a no case submission. To open your defence means to commence giving evidence in court in support or proof of your defence. Femi isnt a free man yet he still has to defend himself on 2 counts.

25. and i think the headline for this post is wrong, it gives the impression that Femi was discharged and acquitted of all charges which is not true