Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Germany Marks Anniversary Of Fall Of Berlin Wall

Sunday, November 09, 2014

Germany Marks Anniversary Of Fall Of Berlin Wall

Celebrations are being held in Germany to mark the 25th anniversary of the fall of the Berlin Wall.
Concerts and exhibitions are being staged in the city and Chancellor Angela Merkel will later attend a huge open-air party at the Brandenburg Gate.
White balloons marking a stretch of the wall will be released to symbolise its disappearance.
Illuminated white balloons, seen here near the Brandenburg Gate,
 mark the route of the Berlin Wall

Crowds have flocked to the remaining stretches of the Berlin Wall

The Berlin Wall was built in 1961 to stop people fleeing from Communist East Germany to the West.
Its fall in November 9,1989 became a powerful symbol of the end of the Cold War.

Chancellor Merkel will be joined for the festivities by former Polish trade union leader Lech Walesa and Mikhail Gorbachev, the last Soviet leader.
The wall stretched for 155km (96 miles) through Berlin but today only about three kilometres of it still stands.

Within a year of its collapse, Germany - divided after its defeat in World War Two - was reunited.....BBC reportage.......

*Happy Anniversary Leute.#Proud2beGerman

Ich bin sehr Stolz eine Deustcher zu sein! *rme*

18 comments:

1. Lol aunty stella of life...good for d germans...happy celebration

2. gud for u stella(proud2 be german)as för mi waka pass

3. Hahahahah Stella u just ve to rub it on our faces *rme*. Happy celebration jare.

4. Happy anniversary to u SDK. *rme with u*

5. Happy fall of Berlin wall Stella. Una have fun

6. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Stella ur love for Germany is out of this world......

7. Happy anniversary to the germans.

8. Good for them.

9. Already 25 years?

Wow!

Congratulations to Y'all!

10. Aunty Stella sorry bt Germans are so unfriendly.had stop over in Frankfurt on my way to USA they were too cold even their airport personnel were unwilling to give simple directions

11. Berlin conference...November 1984 to February 1985.na my comment be that !

12. Happy Anniversary to East and West Germans