Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Ghana's NPP Calls For Inquiry After London Cocaine Bust,,,

Thursday, November 27, 2014

Ghana's NPP Calls For Inquiry After London Cocaine Bust,,,

Ghana's opposition has called for a parliamentary inquiry into allegations that a suspected cocaine trafficker had access to the presidential lounge at the country's main airport.

The alleged trafficker was arrested in the UK, while three officials have been charged in Ghana.
The case has gripped Ghanaians, as the opposition and governing party trade accusations of drug-dealing.

West Africa is a major transit-point for smuggling cocaine to Europe.
The BBC's Sammy Darko in Accra says the alleged cocaine bust has increasingly assumed a political dimension.

Presidential denial
On Tuesday, Dominic Nitiwul - a senior member of the opposition New Patriotic Party (NPP) - appeared in parliament with three bags of rice, weighing around 13kg (28lbs).
Mr Nitiwul questioned how a similar amount of cocaine could have evaded customs and security officials at Accra's Kotoka International Airport to reach London's Heathrow Airport where the alleged trafficker, Nayele Ametefe, was arrested on 9 November.

The government has denied any involvement in what the local media has dubbed "the cocaine scandal".
President John Mahama has also strongly denied reports that Ms Ametefe was linked to his family.

Three foreign affairs officials have been charged with aiding and abetting Ms Ametefe by allegedly letting her use the airport's "VVIP lounge", a reference to the presidential lounge, our correspondent says.
They have been remanded in custody.
Another nine people, including three Lebanese and an Indian national, were arrested on Tuesday in connection with the case, our reporter says.

Mr Nitiwul kept up pressure on the government on Wednesday by calling for a bipartisan parliamentary committee to investigate the conduct of officials.

"How did it become possible for the [alleged] cocaine lady to use the VVIP lounge of Kotoka International Airport? By what arrangement was she [allegedly] able to get the cocaine into the plane without being detected by all the security operatives at the airport?" Mr Nitiwul said, at a press conference.
West Africa has emerged as a busy route for drugs from Latin America and Asia to Europe, with cartels taking advantage of the region's poverty and weak border controls.

In June 2013, the ex-security chief at the airport, Solomon Adelaquaye, was charged in the US with conspiring to smuggle Afghan heroin to New York.

He was arrested along with two Nigerians and a Colombian following a joint US-Ghanaian investigation, officials said at the time.BBC

36 comments:

1. Sorry to digress
      LHASA PUPPIES FOR SALE IN LAGOS!!
      Contact midas8201@gmail.com

2. Yess..ooh..Stella....dis case has been making headlines in Ghana since last week...she just pled to being guilty in a UK court today#AMA Ghana#

2. Will really be good if the enquiry is set up, but I am sure it will, because the country is not as corrupt as Nigeria.

1. Well said alloy. If it had happened in naija, no other person will be arrested. In fact no committe will be set up to prob the matter cuz in Nigeria it is normal.

2. Alloy...save it.....its de same....Nigeria is even better past Ghana in terms of corruption... hmm all those govt officials are corrupt..the head of our national service program what u guys call youth service was arrested about 3 months ago...he even tried to bribe the police officers.....hmm!!!!#AMA Ghana#

3. God knows why dey go into cocaines..well sum people r so lucky,dey've never been caught b4..

4. Na them sabi,we have our own problem

5. I was hoping the 'Nigeria' won't be mentioned.
    Oh well....**deep sigh**

-HerRoyalSweetness.

6. Na dem sabi, they used to play holy nweje like Nigeria is the worst. Hmmmm ndi Ghana.

1. Shut your stupid mouth with silly comments...how do they claim holy? Am a NIGERIAN who visits both countries and we are the ones who say they are better..... Yes they have corruption and other vices but not on our scale...at least ple have been arrested which will take long in naija..... Calling Ndi Ghana as if you are better

7. so far say na GH no fear, they will be caught and punished.

8. typical government stuff..none of my bizness

9. Typical government stuff..none of my bizness

10. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Na bad economy dem go call this one....
    *GLO BRING 3G TO KONTAGORA*

11. If all these foreign news never mention naija as part of their closing news, dem no go rest. An aggrieved party must have blown this cover on the people involved. This is probably not the first time she was moving such stuff to the UK. Too bad. Everybody don de 'sere okpa' now.

12. Ghanaians and cocaine trade is like nigeria government officials and stealing money.

1. Dnt u guys also deal in cocaine..mctweee!!!#AMA Ghana#

13. I've written all these nor 4 any other reasons but to free my mind. I love my life.

14. There's no smoke without fire.

15. She pleaded guilty abi?
    How the cookies crumbled
    See why I don't envy anyone
    Wear ur designer, make I wear my cut and sew!
    Na my shakara go plenty pas
    Long and short!
    It is what's it is!
    Enjoy xmas in jail bae!!!
    Wow!!!!!!!
    Freedom sweet sha oooh!

16. Thank God am not a Ghananian
    Gud morring y'll

1. ......Nd wat do u mean by that...may God forgive ur useless soul!!!# AMA Ghana#

17. smh. Ghanaians would be forming zero tolerance to corruption. Yinmu.shior.

18. I have been staying in ghana for some years now. Hubby works with oil international. Please don't be deceived they are very corrupt and most of the so called importers are traffickers. They are very discreet about it and they don't show off like a typical Nigerian. Before I came to Ghana I thought they were better but they are wolfs in sheep clothing. The corruption has started eating into their system, power failure and inflation. Any day am proud to be a Nigerian.

19. Stella, please check your mail regarding our discussion.

Thank you.

20. Ghana,hope to be there this season.#www.teenagerta.blogspot.com

21. Stella, see as dey link Nija for their case oooo. Corruption na for west africa devil drop am ooo make he continue to born plenty children. Ghana always form as if they are better than Ninja. Good that somebody is taking up the matter. How i wish it will happen in this country so that yansh go open