Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Jonathan Blasts Media For Blowing Security Situation ‘Out Of Proportion’

Saturday, November 22, 2014

Jonathan Blasts Media For Blowing Security Situation ‘Out Of Proportion’

President Goodluck Jonathan on Friday blamed the escalating insurgency in the country on the Nigerian media.
Jonathan, who stated this through his Special Adviser on Media and Publicity, Mr. Reuben Abati noted that the media was blowing the security situation in the north eastern part of the country out of proportion.

The president made this remark at the opening of the meeting of Nigeria’s Honorary International Investment Council.

Jonathan told the international community that the Federal Government of Nigeria was working round the clock to thwart the efforts of Boko Haram sect to capture or hold any Nigerian territory, adding that Armed Forces and security agencies were making fruitful progress in recovering areas recently taken by the sect.

He was quoted by Abati as saying, “We are improving on security.
“For about a week now, there have been no reports of Boko Haram seizing more territory. Rather, we are steadily pushing them back.
“The impression being created by sections of the media that the situation is worsening is not true.

“I can assure you that it will never get worse.”
Jonathan also told members of the council headed by Baroness Lynda Chalker, why he decided to offer himself for re-election in the 2015 general elections.
He said: “As you already know, I have indicated my willingness to carry on for another four years, if I am given the opportunity.
“This will enable us to carry forward some of the reforms we have been talking about.”

He added that “We cannot move the economy forward without good infrastructure. We have been working very hard in that area.
“We have improved our road network significantly. In the next three to four years, we should be able to resurface almost all federal roads in the country and begin new ones.

“We are improving our airport terminals and aviation security.
“Reforms are also ongoing at our ports to drastically reduce the time required for import clearance formalities.

“In the rail sector, we may require private sector funds to quicken the pace of development. Our goal is to link all state capitals by rail.
“It may not be an objective that can be achieved by a single administration, but we want to lay a solid foundation that others can build on.

“We are also promoting the increased of local content in our oil industry because that is the only way in which our people will benefit more from the industry.

“With that they will begin to see themselves as true stakeholders who need to protect and help in the development of our oil and gas resources”. - DAILYPOSTNG.

Dr Reuben Abati you did worse when you were a Journalist...The media is the only thing that keeps all government a little bit sane in every country.Agreed sometimes the headlines are bad but it is what it is!!

33 comments:

1. What about the chibok girls? Story for the gods.

1. Go and ask Shakau. mmuummuu.

2. Anon,u are stupid. If u had a sister among those chibok girls, u wont be here calling someone mumu with that gutter u call mouth.

2. Just a week and you are satisfied????
    GOD BLESS NIGERIA.

3. Mexico is on fire right now because of the abduction of 43 students by drug cartels, hundreds of our girls are still held by Shekau and his gang of infidels, people are being killed almost on a daily basis, the COAS hometown was captured and the president can only blame the media for blowing the reality of his incompetence out of proportion. SMH in disgust! #bbog. #sanmie.

4. Nollywood producers are dulling ooo...
    I'm yet to c a movie titled CHIBOK GIRLS or REUBEN ABATI...

5. Clueless as usual

1. Totally clueless. Maybe if he directly experience the evils of BH he would knw whether it's being blown out of proportion or not. I wonder y BH has not even planted a bomb specially for him. Anufia

6. Can you believe this statement? For a week, as if a week is a year. Just one week and he is making it seem like a lifetime. What of the village where they killed 45 people during the very week he is referring to?
    We only hear of major incidents by these people. The small villages that they overrun are not reported o. It shows how lightly the president is taking this situation.

7. Hian these people o. Na so them go finish una for naija and the president will be saying, it is not that bad. I fear these people.

8. Kk,next gist,stella pls o,aunty mii,our saturday laughs.

9. Jonathan needs intervention on every side. People die daily basically and he's blaming media. Wow wow wow

10. That the media blpe it out of proportion?
    So all the killings been reported by the media is false?
    This man keeps sinking us further
    What road? Please apapa road should be fixed already. The road to the depot is a total mess
    Give you more four years?
    The memes abati has been littering around hasn't shown what you did with the last four years?
    But then Nigerians are ready to die suffering

11. Abati should go and sit down, isn't he part of the media? The knows too well that the media always balance their story...

I comment my reserve...

12. GEJ is full of crap. I am sure those oyinbo people didn't believe his lies anyway. No world leader takes him seriously. Such a joker

13. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Yes, the media is really scaring the shit out of people that are not frm the north... True talk jonah yu make alot of sense....
    *GLO BRING 3G TO KONTAGORA*

1. You're so biased you put the ass in biased

14. "It will never get worse" So? Like the status quo is pleasant. Nonsense! Way to go Mr. Jona..... blame the media. This man never takes responsibility for ANYTHING. Always shifting blames.... Haba! Which kain wahala Nigerians put themselves like this?

1. Flakkie chrish,we are yet to see wahala o. Nigerians go still cry had I known after 2015. Using sentiments,religion and tribe to vote.
      We dey here

2. @Fab mum It's like you read my exact thoughts. If he wins again, life will be so difficult for millions more. You know when you keep begging someone and the person refuses, you'll surely get fed up. That's my current stance with Nigerians in support of this administration. We no beg una again.... time will show everybody where to find their coat.

15. A Government so quick to appropriate blame to others for its own failure. If it is not blaming an unknown cabal for subsidy theft manipulated under its watch, its either blaming the opposition or the US Or South Africa. Now is the turn of the media to share in GEJ's blame bazaar for reporting on the poor welfare of our soldiers or their obsolete weapons meanwhile we budget billions of dollars for security yearly or for reporting the carnage in Yobe where defenseless kids were blown into pieces or the Chibok saga. Such an ineffectual Government filled with morons.

1. True talk. My own question be say if he knows ALL those People and factions are responsible. What is he doing about them. No action

16. Abeg leave Gej jor he is just ranting count down 15 days

17. All of what he mention is in progress
    The man is trying
    People re only seeing the negative

18. Abati please make we hear word. What money can cause....

19. As usual CHASING SHADOW AND LEAVING SUBSTANCE!!!
    COMMANDER IN STEALING AND CORRUPTION.

20. Don't worry dear GEJ, God Almighty will see you through.