Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Fire Guts Multi-Billion Naira Market In Port Harcourt

Thursday, December 04, 2014

Fire Guts Multi-Billion Naira Market In Port Harcourt

A multi-billion naira newly reconstructed Town Market (popularly called New Market), by Governor Chibuike Administration was last night partially gutted by fire, consuming goods and property worth millions of naira.

An eyewitness said fire started at about 6:30pm about half an hour after traders closed for the business on Tuesday.

The root cause of the fire could not ascertained but eyewitnesses are claiming that high voltage of electric current from the Port Harcourt Electricity Distribution (PHED) that was just restored light at the time the traders were closing for business could have been responsible.

However, others claimed that fire was caused by the ritualists and some fetish traders who annually set fire in markets as sacrifice to boost their financial base.
About 80 shops mainly makeshift structures were affected. 

The affected areas were illegal structures attached to the government approved plan of the market, which was rebuilt by Governor Chibuike Amaechi’s administration.

The areas include: Blocks 11, 12, 13 and 14 of the market mainly shops of foodstuffs and condiments and textile materials.
Firefighters from the State Fire Service battled hard to put out the fire preventing the fire from spreading to other parts of the new market.

There was no record of death, but some persons were injured while attempting to retrieve their goods from the fire.
Two traders who gave the names as Messrs Mathias Ikem and Chinedu Elechi said they lost all their wares in the inferno.

Commissioner for Special Duties, Mr. Dickson Umunakwe who confirmed the fire incident, expressed sadness and said the state government is interested in getting to the root cause of the fire.

He,however, cautioned against the storage of inflammable materials like petroleum products in shops. He also decried the incessant fire disasters in the various markets in the state and appealed to traders and electricity consumers to always put off their electrical appliances when not in use to avoid sparks when public power is supplied. - PMNews.

*Every Xmas fire!
Lagos own loading......lol

33 comments:

1. Na so.
    Every Xmas, if it's not mile 1 market, it's town market.
    The believers in these markets should begin to hold fasts ahead of time in preparation to spiritually deflect the arrows of these evil perpetrators.
    It's just so unfair.

1. order for hampers in abuja4 December 2014 at 11:22

My sister I tire for this mile 1 market fire every year. ....God help us ooh

2. Nawa o. U can't just escape a day without one disaster in this country.we need prayers

2. Nawa you Stella. Which one be "Lagos own loading"?.we reject it here in lasgidi

1. Yea. Stella thats not nice to say loading for lagos

2. Stella, warn yourself oh. Warn yourself very well. What's the meaning of that statement? I cancel that thought of yours by fire, force and thunder of GOD.

3. Stella please delete that last one you wrote biko. "Lagos one loading". Not nice Abeg. You know what people can make of that before they say u wish lagos evil.

3. What is causing this all these fires ever end of year? God please help your people.

Please click on my name for full and thick bundles of % 100 virgin hair. Treat yourself

4. Nigerians are so destructive!

5. Oh dear! I hope the affected traders deal with the loss the best way they can.

6. The world is full of mystery

7. Replies
    1. What's even causing all dis fire outbreak? And y dis Xmas period!

8. Sad, a loads of goods gone...it is well

9. Haba stella, which kain talk be that, which one be lagos loading

10. Stella did u say Lagos own loading. God forbid. God had averted there plan on d 2nd of last mnth. It wld v been a disaster in Shitta lagos island if not fr d early morning rain dt put off d fire. About 5shops were gutted by fire. it wasnt so open cos few shops were affected. Can u beleve it was exactly one yr great nigeria house was gutted by fire.

11. We reject the lagos own.
    Affliction shall not arise again.

1. Amen! Stella, I feel like pulling your ears real hard. See ya mouth!

12. Eh ya...I feel for those that lost goods in d fire!...every witch and wizard behind these fires shall be caught soon

13. Every year fire!! Tufiakwa!! I pray for Gods' intervention

14. Holy ghost fire! Biko let me call my mumsy asap o and pray her's is safe! Every end of the year,its now a norm! Momsyyyy ooohhh!

15. Aunty stella Abego o, I reject that fire for lagos in jesus name. Amen.

16. Ha Stella, please take that statement back. We shall not experience such in Lagos this xmas and any other part of Naija. These are people's hard-earned monies gone in a twinkle of an eye. Olorun maje.

My heart goes out to the people who lost their goods in the inferno. May the Almighty replenish you in Jesus' name, Amen.

17. Last year was mile 1..na wa for world pple oo!

18. Sister stella hanhan which kain lagos loading?biko we don't want fire anywhere

19. Every year mile1 market must catch fire,even new market in borokiri na wa

20. That Lagos island that can catch fire every year.. Hoping this year would be different.

21. Na wah oooo....Fire fighters wey no wear safety boots lk say na inside him bedroom he wan put out candle light. Hehehehe

22. All you all screaming that i am wishing Lagos bad must have forgotten quickly.now let me remind you.these fire outbreaks are planned at the end of every year in most big market like this..it happens every year and i always report it or take note...All i meant was that Lagos own is probably being planned.