Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Obasanjo Releases Gov Fayose's 2012 Apology Letter ......

Sunday, December 07, 2014

Obasanjo Releases Gov Fayose's 2012 Apology Letter ......

Former President Olusegun Obasanjo has asked Ekiti State governor, Ayo Fayose, to stop his verbal attacks on him and seek God’s forgiveness for abusing him barely two years after he begged him in a letter over previous insults.

Governor Fayose had last week in Ile Ife, Osun State, lambasted Obasanjo for what he called Obasanjo’s unnecessary outbursts on President Goodluck Jonathan.

But Obasanjo, through one of his associates, disclosed that Fayose wrote him a letter, begging him two years ago to facilitate his (Fayose) return to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

The Obasanjo’s associate asked Nigerians not to take Fayose serious as he would soon write another letter of apology to the former president.
Fayose’s letter, dated 26th June, 2012, obtained by Saturday Tribune, detailed how he begged Obasanjo for forgiveness, for what he called his actions that had caused embarrassment to the former president. 

The tone of the letter also asked the former president to help him facilitate his return to the PDP.
The former president, in his reply to Fayose’s letter, dated July 18,2012, accepted to forgive the Ekiti State governor but told him that the aspect of facilitating his return to the party needed to be handled at the local, state and the national levels of the party.
Below is the unedited content of the letter Fayose wrote to Obasanjo and the former president’s reply to Fayose’s letter.

Fayose’s Letter:
“Dear Baba,
“There is no denying the fact that my relationship with you has gone sour as a result of my action and inaction which have definitely caused you embarrassment in public and this has marred our very good father-son relationship in the past.
“I take responsibility for my over reaction and disrespect to your person which is most regretted, I am indeed sorry.

“I pray that God will give you the grace to let go of the past knowing fully well that I am human and therefore not infallible especially considering the circumstances surrounding my removal from office.
“To further buttress my willingness to seek peace with you, I could recall that I had made several efforts to this effect by consulting your close allies in the persons of Aare Afe Babalola (SAN), Chief Omilani and Pastor Oyedepo amongst others.
“Lastly, kindly disregard all insinuations or political blackmailing suggestive of my doing or saying anything contradicting my present disposition as contained in this letter.
“My reconciliation with your goodself may not go down well with some of my political opponents, but you remain the father of all.
“My wife sends her love and greetings.
“With high regards.
Signed
Ayo Fayose.

Obasanjo’s reply dated July 18, 2012
“Dear Ayo,
“I write to acknowledge the receipt of your letter dated June 26, 2012 pleading with me to forgive you, as you put it, for your action and inaction which have caused me embarrassment in the public.

“As for the embarrassment and personal insult to me, forgiveness is divine and I will not withhold forgiveness since I believe that God will not withhold forgiveness for my inadequacies.
“However, for me, the personal aspect can be handled by me but the party aspect has to be handled at the local, state and national levels of the Party.
“I wish you all the best and God’s blessing.”
Signed
Olusegun Obasanjo.

Obasanjo’s associate told the newspaper that “One wonders why the same Fayose who wrote that letter is now against the president settling his differences with Obasanjo given the background that he (Fayose) wrote that letter of apology barely two years ago.”

Fayose had on Friday condemned Thursday’s visit of five Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) governors to former President Obasanjo, saying the visit would further encourage disrespect for the office of the president of Nigeria.
Fayose said in a statement made available to newsmen in Ado Ekiti on Friday that “visiting Obasanjo to plead with him to rescind his decision not to participate in the party’s activities was capable of encouraging other members of the party to openly disrespect the office of President and Commander-in-chief of the Armed Forces of Nigeria as being done by Obasanjo.”

Governor Fayose also called for “immediate suspension of the former president from the PDP for anti-party activities,” and contended that “a man who has refused to respect the office of the President of Nigeria that he once occupied does not also deserve respect from anyone.”
He also called on the leadership of the PDP to set a panel to probe Obasanjo’s anti-party activities.

“The PDP as a party must stop condoning indiscipline. Nobody should be treated as being bigger than the party.”
He said: “Obasanjo, who does not appreciate others, deserve no respect,” adding that “no amount of mud-slinging from him will stop President Goodluck Jonathan’s re-election.”

According to him, Obasanjo was “one of the major problems of Nigeria,” and added that “the former president’s open castigation of President Goodluck Jonathan is unbecoming of someone who led the country for 11 years and wasted billions of naira in his attempt to perpetuate himself in office beyond the constitutionally recognised two-terms.”

He said: “Have you ever heard a former president of the United States of America openly abusing a sitting president of the country?
“Does it mean that former US president, Bill Clinton, agreed with all the policies of George W. Bush and the incumbent president, Barack Obama?”
He said: “Obasanjo’s behaviour is unpresidential and he must be told to respect himself.

“General Yakubu Gowon, General Ibrahim Babangida and Alhaji Shehu Shagari have not been doing the same. They don’t openly disparage the office of the president or his person and this is not because they agree with all his policies, but because they know that there is a channel through which they can convey their feelings to the president.”
On why he is the only governor out of the about 18 other PDP governors that did not go to see Chief Obasanjo, Fayose said: “Chief Obasanjo is our own and we are the ones who should correct our own as Yoruba.”
Speaking further, Fayose said Obasanjo was already a member of the All Progressives Congress (APC) and that he was pushing for one of his loyalists to be the party’s vice presidential candidate.
He said; “Obasanjo is a man who can never be pleased. His principle of life is- if it is not his way, it must not be another person’s way.
“Even if President Jonathan gives Obasanjo his blood today, he (Obasanjo) cannot change because he is already neck-deep in the APC agenda, with his eyes on the vice presidential ticket of the party.

“Therefore, no amount of visits by PDP governors can make him change his mind about President Jonathan, whom he hates not because he has not performed, but because he (Jonathan) did not hand over his presidency to him”.

dailypostng cullage.

I am not in support of Fayose insulting Baba but why did Baba release a private letter sent to him?and why is he so involved in politics sef?Sometimes i just feel he is causing so much trouble to remain relevant...my two cents.

65 comments:

1. I don't see anything wrong with what Fayose said because it's thhe truth. We always shy away from the truth in this part of the world. Fayose has his issues, but Obasanjo is one of the problems of this country.

2. D part where he said fayose shouldn't b taken seriously as he would soon write another apology letter cracked d hell outa me...lool

3. Lmaooo! Drama begins. Na dem sabi

2. na wa o but i think Fayose should stop insulting people up and down and face his work jare

3. Why will he release that letter to the public? Ass licking and pretense is very common in politics so Baba shouldn't think he has broken a record by publishing a supposed private letter.
    In fact, everyone will start being careful of the kind of interaction they have with him since they all know baba can publicize their conversation.

4. Yansh opening....lol

Dear Baba indeed....Biko na today people don dey release anything private?abeg leave them to entertain us!!!!

From Fayose's 2012 letter, it's obvious he begged baba cos of the favour he needed from him then...The guy talks too much

5. Everyone knows Baba is behind d scenes in Politricks in Nigeria......
    I dont really know why and in my own opinion,i dont think His involvement abi meddling has translated well.

@ Fayose,hmmmmmm.
    Dats all I Can say o.
    Wish u well o jare...

6. OBJ seem to b throwing tantrums, like baba wants every politician to worship n he always wants to b in the'know'....he feels he can put anyone in any seat n mk dem.. .....he shud rest already. A man dat his own children dnt respect, so wot do we mk out of dat? Shame!

7. ..... And you need to change it to 2012 and not 2002.

8. Stella is better he releases the letter so that people we know who is who.

9. Fayose is omo ale i.e a bastard. Insulting an elderly person is totally against our yoruba Culture.
    Meanwhile, it's good baba released the letter so pple can see how two faced fayose is. He will insult publicly and be begging at the back.
    Baba is first and foremost an elder statesman and a politician. So he has a right to voice out his opinion. Must everybody continue kicking Jonathan's ass?

1. And what do u say to an elderly person who calls another person's child omo ale ' is???

2. Anybody can construct any letter and claim it's anything @Desire. Keep your love for your elderly man to yourself bc if we open who actually is to you, you won't talk.

10. Hehehehehe. Na lie o. See my comment :

Can a leopard change it's spots?

Ayo Fayose is not 6 months old in his second coming and he's already amassed a sizable number of enemies.

Ayo, face the stomach infrastructure governance you've embarked on and stop embarrassing the State. Its bad enough having a tout as governor.

Baba has spoken. When your problems starts, you won't only prostate, you will somersault to Baba. Kontinuuu.

1. Stella, well done! Is this the Stella you promised us?

You are owing me 2 comments and you will pay with interest.

2. People just open their mouths to spill out rubbish, big ass licker like you, licking Stella ass, must everyone be like you. And if you don't know what stomach infrastructure means, then ask someone knowledgeable, stomach infrastructure means social welfarism, including health and social amenities that deals with people welfare. Ass licker go learn.

3. Anon 8.47 AKA Fayose's side chick,

Within 12 hours, I have graduated from Stella's hater to her ass licker? What a leap.

Face Fayose's dick and leave English to those who know. No amount of trying will make people accept rubbish under the guise of an alien stomach nonsense.

You better hurry up and collect your entitlements from him because once his wife climbs her usual prayer mountain, thunder and lightning will start firing your leaky arse.

4. anony which kyn peper body b dis one dis kyn sunday mornin,u just ignorant cos ur definitn of stomach infrastucture is not different 4rm d context on her statent,smh,dats hw u pple fail simple exam

5. Lmaoo. Goldscent don vex o

11. Not again. Another episode of open letters. To what effect is this to the ongoing issues that abound in Nigeria? I like Obasanjo but his excesses is drowning and distracting a lot of things. Like we say, there are no permanent friends or enemies in government. But as an elder states man wisdom is profitable. Leaders are to be seen and not heard at all times. Their impacts are to be felt no matter what their juniors may say or do. There shouldn't be a call for leverage as that would undermine your position and authority as a leader. If the governor sent this 2years ago, the question should be, what has changed?

We can make peace today and disagree tomorrow based on principles. Quite honestly it is only in Nigeria that age brackets is given consideration in governance. It isn't so in other countries, that is why we get sentimental rather than to face the matters arising and tackle them as need be.

Obasanjo I hope that you don't get to a point where your position as a leader becomes rubbished and dragged in the mud because of incessant blathering. Always engaging in a strife and it's no good. Good morning

1. Hey Mrs zulu where av u been m'am? Pls don't run away again o. Lol

12. There is nothing in that letter Ayo wrote. It's an apology letter from a young man to a wronged elder. Btw where did he mention baba helping him back to FDF?. OBJ is just too mischievous.
    Stainless,no mind obj abeg.

13. I support Fayose, he has not said anything wrong, Babe should go and rest, he is close to the grave, Ogun state politics is bigger than him, why can't Nigeria Politics be bigger than him?

14. Greedy people.....all in the name of this coming election! Lord lead our leaders right

15. Sigh, una ndo o, Go to church o. * tying my gele for Living faith chapel*

16. Sterra....that Fayose is a big nuisance. Disgracing him is best, cuz truly he will go back and beg

17. Mr Ayo Fayose, I don't blame you at all i believe this is the main reason they Rig you in power so you can commence on what you doing now by talking to former president of Nigeria the way you wishes , where are you all this years ? No where to be found now that you have back bone you could come out and be saying some Tommy-root Scaliwang

18. Mr Ayo Fayose, I don't blame you at all i believe this is the main reason they Rig you in power so you can commence on what you doing now by talking to former president of Nigeria the way you wishes , where are you all this years ? No where to be found now that you have back bone you could come out and be saying some Tommy-root Scaliwang

19. Mr Ayo Fayose, I don't blame you at all i believe this is the main reason they Rig you in power so you can commence on what you doing now by talking to former president of Nigeria the way you wishes , where are you all this years ? No where to be found now that you have back bone you could come out and be saying some Tommy-root Scaliwang

1. You are so backward, I pity u

2. Eka Joy aka Fayose's side chick. Don't forget to direct him to this page so he can see your feeble attempts at defence and put you on a small allowance instead of banging osho free.

3. You are so backward, I pity u

20. IT'S ONLY IN NIGERIA AN EX PRESIDENT I ALWAYS A PRESIDENT .
    YOU CAN'T TRY THAT IN AMERICA OR EUROUP
    AFTER THE REIGN OF BUSH OR CLINTON , have u ever heard anything about them? Their tenure is over and it's over,
    Naija is different , tinubu is still frolicking around fasola , e t c
    Shameless people
    Ibb still wanna be president , dele momodu no go face him ovation news paper , ya raduah still wan come chop,where are our young people , we don't need babas again , make them try younger ones ,
    My two cent though

1. Bros carry ur two cents go buy history book....yaradua is dead..

21. I can't be bothered abeg.
    Happy Sunday peeps.

22. From what I've read, Fayose didn't insult OBJ. He made a lot of sense. OBJ isn't a god and so they should stop treating him like one

23. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Fayose no fit speak this kind english, na person write am for am....
    *GLO BRING 3G TO KONTAGORA*

1. Ed dreamz, na only ur comment get Kleg, which kind person u be, for me I dey baba side jare, in short in dis comment roll, dont know who to side, if I dare comment on baba, they will say I am baba's love, if I side fayose, they will say I am his side chick, biko make una take am easy, dis politicians are making serious money, una dey here dey fight.... I am in a serious happy mood today. Happy mood activated. Happy Sunday to everybody way dey quarrel and cuss out.

24. Why go back insulting someone bigger older than you whom you begged for forgiveness barely two years ago? It's clear Fayose is not the type to be taken seriously. He's just a political thug in power. My three cents though. Let PDP 'eject' OBJ and the people's General is our next president come 2015.

25. Baba shouldn't av released this letter.
    Not a good way to get bk @ fayose

26. He finished fayose na. Fayose na small boi in the game

27. Stella..I don't agree with u on dis...as a former President of dis country... I believe he has a right to HV a say in d political affairs of dis country.. after all he was d main person DAT brought good luck into d office of d President...
    BT as for DAT fayose...hmmm..a tout will always b a tout..

1. Ur level of backwardness is appalling

2. Ur level of backwardness is appalling

28. Honestly this obasanjo is clueless all his dealings piss me off! This is so childish, is hi -time Nigerians stop taking this shameless man serious .What is the meaning of publishing this rubbish? Is there anything wrong with writing appology letter when you felt you ve wrong someone? Obasanjo is acting less his age, I fully concur with all governor fayose stated above. Since he (Obasanjo) has refused to respect himself we should continue to caution him. “The PDP as a party must stop condoning
    indiscipline. Nobody should be treated as
    being bigger than the party.”
    He said: “Obasanjo, who does not appreciate
    others, deserve no respect,” adding that “no
    amount of mud-slinging from him will stop
    President Goodluck Jonathan’s re-election.” On point! Thank you Ayo fayose you are a brave man and a real nationalist.

1. Uche u know what I think happened between these two since he sent that letter? I think Fayose needed baba to reinstate him into the party without hiccups. Knowing that baba was behind his abrupt removal from ekiti back then.

Then perhaps, after making his entreaties known baba wasn't forth coming. I think that was when Fayose "romanced" APC before leaving them. So now, Jonathan single handedly reinstated Fayose into pdp, and he backed him back to office...of course it became clear to Fayose that he can do without baba in pdp, moreso as he's (baba) losing momentum. I think this may have been what triggered Fayose's annoyance, thus rubbishing baba for everything he did to him. So any move from obj will make him highly irritable. Na Jonathan be him saviour now so he no send. My opinion though

29. He is a politician. He can stay as one for as long as he wants. And also a former ruler. So he is so much needed in government affairs. As for the letter, he needed to refresh Fayose's memory. When he was ass licking to get into power. Such people need to be reminded. Maybe he thought Baba had destroyed or treated the issue as one too many.

30. Let the drama begin.....round 1

31. loool

you're special new post on the blog
    www.udokajane.blogspot.com

32. Only in Nigeria, wat is Obasanjo's business with politics again after his tenure ended? This is why I can't vote in nigeria cos God fathers wud choose who will win

33. So releasing this letter will help him not to age or what? Old man be ridiculing himself all in the name of politics. Isn't it this same old man that wanted to smuggle 3rd term for himself! OBJ,you are old now and you should concentrate more on making peace with you creator for all the evil you have done rather than all these.

34. Nobodi fucks wif BABA cos he will mess u up bigtym.... I jst luv dat man

~@iamjbankz SA to President Jonathan 2015~

35. One word. Senile. Obj is gradually approaching that point

36. Ppl dat think OBJ should still haave a say in d way this country is run despite being one of the most corrupt presidents we have ever had, are all idiots. And those that think Fayose said anything wrong are even bigger idiots. Sorry to say.

37. So this is all Fayose has to offer again- insults, mudslinging and beer parlor politricking. I feel sorry for Ekiti people. Only a fool doesn't learn from his mistakes.

38. No permanent enemy in politics

39. fayose I will not take you serious because its obvious from your write up that you are displaying the known fact;that Nigerian politics is all about personal interest;but you made a very big mistake in choosing who you used in seeking face because instead of seeking GEJ's face;you just brought trouble for yourself.I am not a fan of obj;but the way he behaves is the same standard of behavior that Nigerian politicians have set;so why complain.how ever you guys make your bed so shall you lie on it

40. OBJ, it is enough already. Fayose stop this your fight i beg.

41. Why won't Baba release the letter when Fayose that was begging and crawling at his feet suddenly becomes downright disrespectful becos he's now govnor?smh
    Baba has to let the world know Fayose is not a loyal person!
    Even if he's not happy with baba,there are better ways to state his grievances to him as an elder,afterall he called him Baba,is that how he addresses his father at home when he offends him?Fayose is wrong!
    ...btw Baba Iyabo obviously loves communicating thru letter writing with pen and paper mehn,lol!hes not feeling this our new internet technology.am sure dats why even Fayose wrote him a letter in the first place.seem if u want Baba to listen to u,write him a letter!so Stells,write Baba a letter and state that ur advise u gave above for him to stay out of politics.lmao!
    Smh @Baba Iyabo.com.

42. Baba and his unforgiving spirit.....how on earth can this man make a child like Fayose to belittle him in d sphere of wisdom that baba so claim lord in.?
    Am sure our collective problem is chronicled somewhere in babas unfortunate and unforgiving personal archives.

43. While there is nothing Fayose has said that isn't true about Baba Iyabo & nothing he's doing that Baba hasn't done to others, I'd advise him to watch his back very well. Baba is like a patient black mamba that bids its time before striking its prey.

1. Gbam. But we all forget that what gives a man power above everyone is follower ship. If u dont follow a man he will have no power. What is power? Isn't it the ability to control a mammouth without them questioning his authority, while they carry out his instructions? Am not even referring to baba and Fayose here, but generally speaking. We are more in number than those in politics, yet they control us against our wish. How so? We are actually the power, but reverse seems the case in Nigeria.