Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Women Should Get Paid Menstrual Leave Every Month.

Thursday, December 11, 2014

Women Should Get Paid Menstrual Leave Every Month.

Menstrual leave is already a legal in countries such as Japan and Indonesia
Also being discussed in Canada but was thrown out of Russian parliament 

Women who suffer from period pains and feel under the weather each month should get paid leave, a leading doctor has suggested. 

Gedis Grudzinskas, professor of obstetrics and gynaecology, believes 'menstrual leave' would boost women's motivation and productivity when they are in the workplace.
He even goes as far as to question if a woman were to accidentally become pregnant, should her employer pay for the termination - although concedes that 'society is unlikely to be ready for that'.

Mr Grudzinskas, formerly of St Bartholomew's Hospital in London - and who now practices in Harley Street - is a leading international figure in the field of Reproductive Medicine, Surgery and Obstetrics.
Explaining his reasoning, he told MailOnline: 'Some women feel really grotty when menstruating. Coming into work is a struggle and they feel lousy.

'When you feel like that, it's harder to take pride in your work or perform as well. This is about employers being sensible and aware.'
Like maternity leave, he proposes the menstrual leave should not interfere with career progression or structure.
'It would be one to three days each month, separate to sick leave entitlement – it is not sickness, after all.'
Menstrual leave is already recognised in some countries in Asia, such as Japan and Indonesia.
The concept is believed to have started in Japan in the early 20th century. 

Writing in the journal Health Care for Women International, Alice J. Dan, of the University of Illinois, explains that menstruation leave first emerged as an issue in the 1920s and 1930s when employed women were mostly young, and working conditions for them were difficult. 
'The lack of adequate sanitary facilities and materials made management of menstruation especially difficult for factory and transportation workers,' she said.
As a result, it was bus conductors and textile workers who were among the first workers to request menstruation leave.

Since the majority of women workers were under 21 and unmarried, menstruation leave had a broader appeal than maternity leave,' she adds.  
In Japan, legislation passed in 1947 permitted leave for any woman who 'suffered heavily' with menstruation or the work was 'injurious to her body during menstruation'.

However it does not specify the number of days or whether the leave is to be paid.
There was also a belief that taking leave while menstruating prevented problems during pregnancy and childbirth, such as miscarriage and premature labour.

However the number of women taking up menstrual leave over the years declined. 
Ms Dan said reasons for this include the average age of women workers increasing - with older women having less need for the leave - and ambitious, career-minded women becoming increasingly concerned that taking it could harm their career prospects.

Taiwan's current menstrual leave legislation guarantees female workers three days of menstrual leave a year, in addition to the 30 days of half-paid sick leave allotted to all workers.
Indonesian women are entitled to take two days a month of menstrual leave, though many companies simply ignore the law, and others have even been accused of forcing women to 'prove' their need for time off, some reports have claimed.

The concept is also being discussed in Canada.
However when the issue was debated last year in the Russian Parliament, it caused uproar and was thrown out.
Women's rights activists in the country reacted with anger to proposals by Mikhail Degtyaryov, a member of the nationalist LDPR party, who proposed the draft law to increase the protection of women at the workplace.

COUNTRIES WHERE WOMEN ARE ALREADY ENTITLED TO THE LEAVE
In Japan, legislation passed in 1947 permitted leave for any woman who 'suffered heavily' with menstruation or the work was 'injurious to her body during menstruation'. 
Taiwan's current menstrual leave legislation guarantees female workers three days of menstrual leave a year, in addition to the 30 days of half-paid sick leave allotted to all workers.

Indonesian women are entitled to take two days a month of menstrual leave, though many companies simply ignore the law, and others have even been accused of forcing women to 'prove' their need for time off, some reports have claimed.

The concept is also being discussed in Canada.
However when the issue was debated last year in the Russian Parliament, it caused uproar and was thrown out.

'During that period, most women experience psychological and physiological discomfort,' said Mr Degtyaryov, 32, who is married with two sons.
'The pain for the fair sex is often so intense that it is necessary to call an ambulance.'

But human rights campaigners dismissed Mr Degtyaryov's idea as sexist. 

The matter reared its head recently at the Festival of Ideas in Cambridge.
Mr Grudzinskas, who was on the panel, said: 'We heard from one man in the audience that women in a particular work-place in Indonesia were all absent on the same days. 
'Was this menstrual synchrony - where the women experience their menstrual cycle at the same time?
'No one knows, but the wife of the employer stumbled upon these ladies shopping together in the local mall.

'He devised a plan where women were offered a bonus payment if they worked while menstruating - effectively a menstrual bonus.
'This resulted in full attendance in this workplace - I think it's brilliant - this boss is a smart cookie.'

Mr Grudzinskas told MailOnline: 'The issue goes back 100 years when sanitary and hygiene facilities were different, when opportunities for women to look after themselves while menstruating were simply not there.
'Today, the issue is about enlightenment - that is what interests me. 
'Menstrual leave will make people feel more happy and comfortable in the workplace, which is a positive thing.'
He cites further examples of 'enlightenment' as Google, Facebook and Apple proposing egg freezing for female employees who are worried about their biological clocks. 

OR COULD WOMEN BE PAID EXTRA FOR COMING TO WORK WHILE MENSTRUATING?  
The idea of menstrual leave matter reared its head recently at the Festival of Ideas in Cambridge.
Mr Grudzinskas, who was on the panel, said: 'We heard from one man in the audience that women in a particular work-place in Indonesia were all absent on the same days. 
'Was this menstrual synchrony - where the women experience their menstrual cycle at the same time?
'No one knows, but the wife of the employer stumbled upon these ladies shopping together in the local mall.
'He devised a plan where women were offered a bonus payment if they worked while menstruating - effectively a menstrual bonus.
'This resulted in full attendance in this workplace - I think it's brilliant - this boss is a smart cookie.'

'These employers are being sensible and looking after the wishes of modern women in the workplace,' he said.
'And what many people forget is - women make up half the workforce. If they feel supported, they will be a happy and productive workforce. Maternity leave is just part of the deal.'
So how would menstrual leave work, exactly? Would a woman have to prove she was menstruating?
'I don't think women should be shy about it,' said Mr Grudzinskas. 'There should be no proof needed - employers should take it on good faith.'
He added: 'It's not a case of policing, it's about taking it on face value. Over time, records will show is there is a pattern of cycles, and so on.'

And what of the critics who argue some women would abuse the system?
'I see it as an indication of how employers can be sensible to women in the workplace – and keep them there,' he told MailOnline.
'I am not suggesting the UK advocates it - but we could work out how to do it.
'If you want to keep everyone happy in the workplace, don't do Big Brother stuff, like CCTV in the toilets, just be fair and respect people and use your judgement.' 
And what about men, who will question why women should get up to 36 days of paid leave a year?
'Because,' he said. 
'Do you want a cup of tea when you get home in the evening? 
'Do you want your wife to be in pain?'
'It's not men who have to get pregnant, go through IVF and childbirth.
'Men will just have to understand.'
He also praises recent egg freezing initiatives proposed by Apple and Google for female staff.

He said: 'Apple and Google have done nothing more than acknowledge that women can and should manage their reproductive health and well being as they see fit, whether it is the contraceptive pill, having a termination of pregnancy for social reasons or exploiting IVF technology.
'Google should be applauded for its initiative. 

'Will we soon hear about employers offering to pay for termination of pregnancy if unwittingly conceived in the workplace? 
'Or is this a step too far for the nerds of Silicon Valley?'
He added that all the changes in women's fertility and reproduction that came in the second half of the 20th century brought about considerable change and also caused a great deal of comment.
'The launch of the contraceptive Pill in 1961 has been described as the most significant medical advance of the 20th century and it was followed by the Abortion Act of 1967,' he said.
'These changes were all hotly debated at the time of their introduction but they have made an enormous change to women's ability to follow a career. 'dailymail

Abeg i should staying at home....sitting on a monthly flow is not easy and then having to go to work with it? Women will understand better the need not to engage in stressful activity at this point.
Some people even become psychiatric cases when their are flowing....

105 comments:

1. In Nigeria?
    Imagine you Call your employer telling him you are menstruating so u won't be at for five days...
    Na sack be that Na
    Not to talk been paid on menstrual leave
    Origwu.
    They will try give you maternity leave.

1. I'm telling you @mrs Fine face. Better sack hahahahaha

2. u will told dat u shld be happy u have a job sef.abi no be naija again.

3. Nigeria should forget about menstruating leave and fight for 6 months paid maternity leave. Don't they see what happens in developed countries?

4. What i think needs to be reviewed ASAP in Naija is the 3 months maternity leave.I think it should be increased to 6 months, 3 months is just ridiculous.

As for the monthly period, pad up and use pain killers and you are good to go.Though i know 2 ladies who have severe menstrual pains and one of them even rolls on the floor.

5. Exactly @Bianca.
      My friend in the UK, st Bartholomew hospital London, was given 6 months with pay, 3 with half pay, and optional 3 without pay........
      Let naija start from 3with and 3 without...... Kai.

6. @ Mrs D that will happen in 2030. Lets kip praying for nigeria

1. I pray say dem give us
      Lol with heavy menstrual pain a femal boss will still tell u "re u the only one menstruating dont I menstruate my frnd get back to work" lool the day I heard dat I sit tight

3. Lol, Nigerian men will be the last country to support this cos, they don't ve respect for women.

1. Your female boss will not agree too. They will fight it even more. Hope you noticed it was mainly men advocating in other countries. Women are usually women's worst enemies.

4. YES TO ML.YES TO MENSTRUAL LEAVE.
    Hope men don't ask for EL.

EJACULATION LEAVE

1. Hahahahaha.
      Irene Bernards has started again.
      But seriously, this thing no go work in naija, naija men don't respect women at all.

Shout out to Alobam, you are a good friend.

2. LAMO @Ejaculation leave.
      That one no go easy oh as some men ejaculate more than 10 times in a day.
      Buhahahaha!

3. Loool @ ejaculation leave. Hehehe

Click my name for all your celebration cakes and cupcakes, cheers

4. Lmaoooo@ Ejaculation leave. Irene ooo! If women be granted ML, of course the men shouldn't be denied EL. What is good for the goose is good for the gander. Abi no be so?

5. Chino nigeria bosses will not agree, just to give women leave when they are pregnant is war

6. Great idea cos ui know some people that get hospitalized whenever they are having their menstruation.

7. Na me be dis oooo....i need allowance leave and massage join during my monthly flow. You just need to see me, and some women just do the flow still laughing jumping and all what. Chain, it is well.

8. This is funny kindof...but maks a lot of sense,but d truth is even if d entire world adopts dis law...Nigeria will neva agree 2 adopt it...so let's knw wher we com 4rm.....OG

9. Menstrual leave? I like the sound of that.

10. That should be considered in naija too fah. Every time of month when the pain come no be here oo

11. So d leave is only for ladys

12. Ok. Read.
    Thank God I don't have pains but I won't mind the leave or bonus.

13. Replies
    1. Sweetim, where you de vanish enter to reappear?

2. My sister odiro easy oo....My babies no dey allow me comment oo.....Bwahahahaha......

14. Why not? Women make less than men for the same amount of hours and kind of work, so they may as well get the paid time off monthly since the employers paying them less than their male counterparts.

15. Long story thou..... can't wait for it to be passed as law in Nigeria as well

16. Nigerian men will never accept this. Oriegwu.

17. Menstruation is as annoying as it sounds!
    The leave is a beautiful idea,i jst hope its not xploited by women with no conscience.
    Adopting dis law in Nigeria? That is a faithless prayer waiting to be answered.

18. Hmmmmmm
    Some girls that can take postinor2 like water and menstruate 5times a month nko?
    What will happen to their careers?

#AbstainOrPracticeSafeSex#

1. Well, i think they give a blanket 5-day allowance for each woman/ month. So those 'menstruating' 5 times a month will have to make do, i guess.

2. So girls menstruating 5 tickets a month like seriously

3. @ quicksliver dats a joke right? Adonbilivit

19. "No one knows, but the wife of the employer stumbled upon these ladies shopping together in the local mall" exactly what came to mind wen I first saw d headline....
    Though it wd av been nice cos some pains r nasty

20. Like seriously?!! Menstration is no longer a highly secretive thing? Hhmm wonderful!! Wat evidence wld u give @ work dat ur on? More reasonS for some capitalist, to refuse employing women.

21. I really wish this can be implemented. But unfortunately, this na naija!

22. Lol. Aye aye!
    No be for Naija o.

23. Hmm for 9ja.it can't fit happen cuz all dis men no go gree

24. Great idea. Someone will be ON and rolling on the floor like there is no tomorrow,tired much abeg.

25. Adopted by 2 countries nd u think Nigeria would make d third, we ve #Girlbride nd others to tackle. @ SDK I officially joined d SDK family on Tuesday nd I so much appreciate ur work in here. The IHN, Chronicles nd ur shoki hour got me
    cracking . God bless u joor

26. Hehheehheeh!this can never happen in nigeria sha.forgerrit!

Bolateethole.bllogspot.com

27. Imagine oh!
    Aint this people humans like us?
    Or are they angels?
    So caring of them
    For naija? Whossai!

28. U will 1st ask if we have got d jobs b4 we discuss pms leave...Our stories must change...

29. I like the sound of dat...we need it oo

30. Bring it to Nigeria and it wil be highly abused

31. Kehinde Ake,Bitchplis,HRH,et al
    Pls say something about this.

1. Ewwww! I no dey talk about menstruation again o...abeg!...d days of helping girls dispose pads have passed

2. Lol@ bitchlips...you cant b serious....dispose pads? You for kukuma use am do juju. I cant neva give my man pad(s) to help dispose, dats a silly thing to do. The heart of man is wicked.

32. It won't work in Nigeria. Nobody respects any law and the women will abuse the law too if passed. You will people with flow twice a month. Lmao

33. Not a bad idea @all

34. This is a very silly idea, ladies need to really take one side, it is either you want to be equal with men or you want to be treated as a weaker vessel. Please pick a struggle. You guys will be the same saying everybody is created equal and the way guys treat us must stop,blah blah feminist blah and now y'all want PMS break, how come you don't take PMS break during exams *no lady here can say her PMS has not fallen on an exam day*. IF WE LADIES WANT TO BE TREATED WITH RESPECT, WE HAVE TO EARN IT. PMS break my foot.

AN ANGRY FEMINIST.

35. Comments please..shiloh is hoting

36. Lolzzz. That means my menstrual days will officially increase from 3 to 7 days..... If brought to Naija eh, some women will see their 'periods' twice a month: 5-7days each..

37. Thank God I no longer have to prove that I am not a robot. What ever happened to google-plus IDs?

38. i pray it happens in naija....

39. For what?? I think only those that have been diagnosed with PMS, endometriosis and so on should get.Knowing human beings everybody would start abusing it. Men would now have one more reason to add to their list of reasons in support of their ever on going argument that women are naturally unreliable and inefficient especially in positions of power because of their biological make up.I don't think its a good idea.If there's no medical proof of extreme discomfort and pain, then everybody should go to work whether they have their period or not.

40. It will never happen in a million yrz to come in Nigeria

~@iamjbankz SA to President Jonathan 2015~

41. Yes it's a welcome development if Nigeria govt will adopt it cos it not really easy for women. But in Najia? I doubt it o at least for now.

42. Na me need this menstrual leave pass, coz the pain I go through no b small

1. Infact ehn...the kind of pain I'm going through now. I wish I can just go home & sleep.

43. Nansense what happened to gender equality and woman emancipation.make I hear word abeg.

44. ..and everybody will know its your time of the month???
    lmao. issokay!

45. It should definitely be adopted. The monthly pain no be here ooo... it virtually turns to sickness for me. I wonder how how pregnancy will be

46. Lol I think I like that, expecially the payment part.

47. now I love this......omo....if it's legalized in naija I swear that my period will be for 10 days...hahahah.... don't be surprised when all those pot belly Male MDs start going on menstrual leave....they will be like "I saw blood flowing beneath me" hahahaha

48. yessssssssssssssss

i concur.....

49. Replies
    1. TGW, you're one person I respect & admire on SDK. No worry, I be woman o.

50. Menstrual leave , it's a nice idea but won't work in my dear country naija... The pain some ladies go tru during deir flow is not a small something o

51. I like buff I love it, just make it ten days instead...

52. Not in support of dis cos some of us will abuse it and will give men more reason to see us as weaker cell.

53. Hahahhahaha! Not in naija abeg...mayb wen the issue of increasing the politicians allowance comes up, they will do somethin

54. No be only menstrual leave..i had 6wks leave wen i gav birth..was still working den but jst had to quit.imagine putting a 6wk baby in a crech and nt closing on time.dis naija employers can work people lik slaves.

55. This will never had in Nigeria

56. Yes ooooo.......they should make it legal here too biko! #LynxxGal#

57. i doubt the possibility of this happening in Nigeria.at last i got a google account.anonymous mode dis-activated

58. i doubt the possibility of this happening in Nigeria.at last i got a google account.anonymous mode dis-activated

59. Mrs Oreo you are truly very stupid indeed.....how dare you vomit rubbish? What has respect got to do with anything? Have you seen women who go thru serious menstrual pains? Have u ever heard of the word endometriosis? Have u seen women with fibroids have periods? It's only stupid people like you who don't read like most commenting here who think it's for every woman......they are emphasizing on people who have painful periods.....there are women who already do not go to work in this Nigeria when on their periods cos it's bad like that....next time when u make comments think before you type rubbish....