Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: World AIDS Day Is Today.....RIP Bigi!

Monday, December 01, 2014

World AIDS Day Is Today.....RIP Bigi!

World AIDS Day is held on 1 December each year and is an opportunity for people worldwide to unite in the fight against HIV, show their support for people living with HIV and to commemorate people who have died. World AIDS Day was the first ever global health day and the first one was held in 1988.

Why is World AIDS Day important?
Around 100,000 are currently living with HIV in the UK and globally an estimated 34 million people have HIV. More than 35 million people have died from the virus, making it one of the most destructive pandemics in history.
Today, many scientific advances have been made in HIV treatment, there are laws to protect people living with HIV and we understand so much more about the condition. But despite this, people do not know the facts about how to protect themselves and others from HIV, and stigma and discrimination remain a reality for many people living with HIV. World AIDS Day is important as it reminds the public and Government that HIV has not gone away – there is still a vital need to raise money, increase awareness, fight prejudice and improve education.

What should I do on World AIDS Day?
World AIDS Day is an opportunity for you to learn the facts about HIV and put your knowledge into action. Find out how much you know by taking this online quiz: Are you HIV aware? Test your knowledge and awareness by taking the quiz and act aware by passing the quiz on and sharing it with your friends on Twitter and Facebook.

If you understand how HIV is transmitted, how it can be prevented, and the reality of living with HIV today - you can use this knowledge to take care of your own health and the health of others, and ensure you treat everyone living with HIV fairly, and with respect and understanding. Click here to find out the facts.
You can also show your support for people living with HIV on World AIDS Day by wearing a red ribbon, the international symbol of HIV awareness and support.

But what about after World AIDS Day?
Although World AIDS Day is a great opportunity to get the public talking about HIV and fundraise, we need to remember the importance of raising awareness of HIV all year round.  culled

Bigi was my immediate elder brother,he was everybody's best friend,he died from the complications of HIV/AIDS and the next year was my elder sister....*sigh'*

My world fell apart even before they died,it was an eye opener because I had thought AIDS didnt exist.
Since then I have been preaching awareness,It cannot bring back my older siblings  but at least I am spreading the gospel and making people aware.

You got any HIV/AIDS story?

65 comments:

1. so sorry Stella, that's sad.

2. Hmmmm....
      My elder sister died 10yrs ago from HIV complications too, leaving behind two wonderful children. The doctor in the first hospital she went never told her she was positive. It was too late when we found out she had HIV. We were very close, we shared everything including sharp object i.e blades, nail cutters. It's a miracle that I didn't get infected. Her children are grown now, sometimes I'm tempted to tell them how their mother died so they can be more careful. Take heart Stella, I know exactly how U feel.
      De-babe

2. Oh dear, what a loss, may they continue to rest on

3. I lost my dad to HIV too. It's such a heartbreaking thing. I miss him everyday. I try as much as possible to be careful. and also do hiv tests regularly.

4. Aids is real! Sorry for the loss Stella!

5. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    this disease will never knw me ijn amen..
    *GLO BRING 3G TO KONTAGORA*

6. Evveryone should get tested. Know their status and if positive, it is not the end of the world. Take your medication and you can live a good and full life. Please inform any sexual partners if you are positive. It will be your own effort in the world to end the epidemic. To those who are spreading it out of vengenance. It will not change your status, and you will end up dying an unfulfilled and miserable life. Sometimes life gives us challenges to make us better. Everyone is dealing with their own challenge, so please be your brother or sister's keeper and watch blessings come your way.

1. Thank you Dear! God bless you. You sounded extremely reasonable.

2. Well written.

7. May their souls continue to RIP stella.

8. RIP!!
    Please this memo is to LARA PEPERENPE and the agbotikuyos that want 2 hook up with her boyfriend
    1. D poster of memo 1 and other aspiring memo writers, dont try it cos this love story is so awesome u'ld definitely be cheated on.
    2. Lara plsssss, dont give up yet, take BVs advice, go for multiple tests maybe just maybe, a BV recommended a lab in Abuja, please take these extra steps....
    I wish you God's blessing, and His will be done in your life(and mine 2). I love happy endings *sighs*

1. God bless this person. Lara should give up @ all, she should go for the test n not give up her love to anyone. #sigh I love happy endings too. All the best lara God is with you I hope you see this.

9. It's not easy but am grateful to God.. its almost three years now I found out been on my medication, am Married to a man that loves me even after I told him. We are expecting our First child!

1. I wish you all the best dear. Congrats in advance.

2. Dont worry, all will be well in the end.

3. Wow. ..Congrats dear....I pray you live a full and happy life. ..

10. my younger brother was diagnosed this year of HIV. our world fell apart cos we thought such could never come to us. we almost lost him but God had mercy on us and revived him. he is on drugs now and perfectly okay. To God be the glory. HIV AIDS is realllllll. protect yourself by being faithful to your partner.

11. People also have the misconception that you cannot get HIV through oral sex. Please you can o. Make una sofry sofry. Let us in love be careful and focus on ending the epidemic and stop the stigma.

12. Serusly pple nid to b aware about HIV/AIDS, I worked in an NGO where we tested people for free do u no dat many rained curses on us, some ran away,some will say na on get HIV...with dat experience. I really felt bad dat in dis century many pple are not enlightened about HIV/AIDS.Government Shud organise campaigns to enlightened pple so it can help reduce d rate of HIV/AIDS and d Stigmatisation dat dose who have HIV/AIDS suffer.

1. Sometimes a positive test may not be HIV. The tests are actually different on different continents. In Africa the test result mirror that of malaria and typhoid. So technically you can test positive in Africa but negative in the US. There's more to it than meets the eye.

13. Awwwww
    So sad.
    I'm so sorry SDK.
    May your siblings souls continue to rest in peace, Amen.

14. Tk heart madam stella,May God continue2rest their soul,&give u more strenght. Only if we can turn bck d hands of time. Aids is real&there re still pipo who donot believe.

15. Aaawww stellahipsy. So sorry for ur loss.
    Loosing 2 sibs to dis deadly virus is surely a tough one. U r indeed a strong woman.
    May God continue to keep u & urs safe.
    *e-bearhugs*

16. I lost 2 relatives to HIV in 2001 and 2006

Aids is real

May their souls rest in peace, amen

17. So sorry for your loss Mrs Sdk..

18. am hiv positive stella..have been living wit for seven years now. it wasn't easy @ d beginning but God has been faithful...I can't say hw nd were I got infected.tank God for my husband who is negative nd supportive. being hiv postive isn't d end of d word.i will advice ppl to go for screening...I live a healthy life nd on medication! am more healthy nd fresh dan ppl who are negative!! ppl wit hiv can live a normal life d only difference is dey wil be on medication for d rest of their live...spread d message nd not d virus. play safe always. one love.

19. I'm so sorry abt ur loss,u re such a strong woman o nd I respect u for dat.May God kip u nd d rest of ur siblings still alive

20. Take heart stella,,pls on dat recharge cards pls I wud suggest u mke a post saying the 1st -20 pipo dat coment wud get d recharge or so,many pipo have not been lucky with dis includin me,while some wud greedily load all,atleast dat way it can be Evenly distributed,am just suggesting sha

21. So sorry for your loss Stella.

22. It is well dear. May their gentle souls continue to rest in peace.

23. May their souls RIP. God bless you for creating awareness.

24. Lost my aunt to HIV.may her soul RIP*Amen*

25. I lost my immediate elder brother on March 23rd this year which was also on his. Birthday to AIDS and Hepatitis B. God it was heartbreaking. Since we found out, my family gets tested regularly and also took the Hepatitis B vaccine. I advise everyone to get tested and if you are positive, if you find out early you can manage it better. I also advise everyone that is yet to take the hepatitis B vaccine to do so.

26. My mum contracted it through blood untested blood transfusion in 2002 and my elder sister ignorantly got itfrom her fiance in 2000.They are both very fine and going about their daily businesses without any qualms. My elder sister is today a proud mother of 3 healthy children from the same guy who is now her husband. No one even considers them sick in my family. HIV/AIDS is real folks, but the fear of it and the stigma from society kills more than the disease itself. Show some love to infected people around you and you will be surprised how long and how well they will live with the disease.

27. The Beloved One:

WOW! sorry about your loss Stella. May God continue to comfort you all.

I have a sister with this dreaded disease, but God has been faithful and merciful. You see, she is married, had a baby and was diagnosed shortly after. We almost lost her, but for God's mercies. Today, she has had 3 more kids for the same husband, she is on medication and doing quite well.She has been married for the past 16yrs and her first son is 15yrs old. No one in her family has tested positive. They are all fine.

28. My late died of this deadly disease 2years ago.
    My Dad has not gotten over the shock cos they were the only 2 surviving children of my granma.
    I still miss him alot too.

29. Please they should create such day for sickle cell patients
    Sickle cell disease kills faster than HIV/AIDS and very predominant in Africa.
    I have lost more closed ones due to SS complications.
    We need more awareness about this disease in Nigeria/worldwide

Lara peperenpe my heart goes out to you..you will be fine.
    #teamknowyourbloodgroupbeforedating.

30. Hi Stella... I'm so glad I stumbled on ur blog! It's so interesting and can totally relate. This is my first time ever commenting, I hope u c this. Sorry about ur siblings too. You're amazing and been dying to see ur profile. Something personal about u.

1. But I have seen a comment before from this name,it's neither you are the same person or you are using someone's blog id

31. Everybody should be careful.. HIV / AIDS is real... Play safe , there is no fun on having multiple sexual partners' be faithful and live a good life... Ladies when going to the saloon to fix weaves pls always go with your own set of needles ...

32. @edDreams, its more than invoking d name of Jesus or any deity .Play safe & avoid contact wit blood or items dt can draw blood in any way.
    I av been periodically going for HIV test since 2008 though I don't fool around or av multiple sex partners.

33. So sorry Stella...very sad. God is your strength

34. Take heart Stella, R.I.P to the dead.

35. My Mum tested positive but refused to go for her medications.she was going to churches dat claim dey can heal her taking concoctions we almost lost her cox she was wondering how she got d virus cox dad is negative.she was a hair stylist before all dis but thank God she is fine today cox she is taking her drugs.stella post my comment

36. I lost my uncle n his wife to this virus n they had three kids,non of them tested positive. Also lost another uncle and my cousin sister. May the souls of the faithful departed rest in perfect peace,Amen.

37. I lost an uncle and his wife almost same time. Dude lived in SA, got infected unknowingly came back to Naija to infect wife. Twaz a devastating experience,they left behind two little kids who grew up with their granny. This happened some years back,those little kids should be grown now.

38. I lost a loved one to HIV 2wks ago (God rest his soul), he was at the peak of his life. His two girlfriends tested positive too, sadly one has vowed to go on a revenge mission, sharing it like Christmas hampers.
    HIV/AIDS is so REAL and it's out there, get tested and protect yourself.
    Don't stigmatize the victims, they need your love and support.

39. Am positive and healthy, with 2 kids who are negative and a HIV negative husband. I found out on time .check your status ooo

40. A BIG THANK YOU FOR D OPPORTUNITY TO SHARE STORIES....I FEEL FOR U ALL AND MAY UR SIBLINGS SOUL REST.IN.PEACE......
    Here's my story
    ....Decided to run d test for d very first time and I got d result was positive,my mind was shatter and couldnt help but tell d attendant to re-run d test again and it was same ....he den adviced me dat I shld commence treatment immediately and dat was it ....didnt knl where to start from ,cant tell my parent ,siblings or frnds ....i keep on praying to God to show me d way ,after sevral news on google ,i contacted smeone who was also positive who rendered to help anyone dat couldnt come out of deir closet,i contacted him , we became frnds and he put me tru d procedures ,now am fine , am on drugs and doing good ....
    But still I cant open up to my family members or frnds ,i sort of trust myself alone ,cuz I dnt want to be abandoned ...i feel bad wen dt dey do not kno ,and @ d same tym ,i really cant say it out ,cause I dnt kno ow I contacted d virus....i hoping on God ...and i'm happy for dis platform ...tho it a long story ,briefly written ...am down ,weak and I feel sad all d tym cuz my peepz do not kno...

1. Please tell your family, they can never abandon you. They would help you get through this. How would you feel if you unknowingly infect someone in the house? Pls open up to your mum, she can never abandon you. I pray God Almighty gives you the strength. You would be fine IJN. Amen.

41. So sorry for your loss Stella....The fear of hiv is the beginning of wisdom. I took the test recently and I am negative....I pray a cure is found soon, may God comfort all those that have lost loved ones to this....

1. Yarns, did you see my response to you on your "silverscent kpanda" comment?

Lovely shoes and legs.

42. Don't cuss me out please. I had unprotected sex a few months ago with some man. I didn't set out to do "without" O! The mofo "adjusted" his condom of course I screamed and stopped d sex when I realized but I haven't stopped thinking he's got to be sharing something for always trying to go raw or claim him no get condom.
    I'm even called it off esp as He won't agree to get tested.
    I live in guilt and fear, waiting to get tested this month and in another 6months. All because of what?!
    I've never been afraid to test b4 o
    Rant over. I'll get tested again. Fingers crossed

43. Hi Stella of life,hw is u n d family...am really so happy for d beautiful work u r doing in dis our blog LOL....i v too many questions. to ask n want to Knw a lot of things too but can't seem to relate wit u.i have condom allergy n I don't Knw wat to do n that make me go raw most times.r dey thngs I can use to hlp me.'dat ibibio gal'

44. Please accept my sympathy on the demise of your love ones. I feel your pain sis cos i also lost someone very close to me to the dreaded disease.

45. So sad. Please accept my condolence stella

46. I have cousin who has been positive for about 12 yrs now. She found out during testing before marriage n d church just enforced it then. Her husband was negative but she tested positive n seemed to ve gotten it from a blood transfusion she had while serving in ekiti state. But the God is ever amazing. Her hubby still married her, didn't even postpone the wedding. Everyone in my family don't even treat her differently, she can wear my clothes n I wear hers. We all love her n she knows. She's very careful around use. She Wld walk U out if she has a cut, she's a good person n don't want to infect anyone so she's careful enough n that makes me love her more. God is amazing. Tell ur family. They will never leave u.

47. Please accept my sympathy stella. Losing a loved one is so so painful

48. Such a huge loss! Accept my sympathy, Stella. I wish people would take this seriously. HIV/AIDS is a pandemic but people still choose to live in denial, it can't happen to me kind of thing. All because of ephemeral pleasures.
    God help this generation!

49. Aunyy Stelz am so sorry. May their souls RIP. AMEN.