Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Acceptance Speech By General Muhammadu Buhari, GCFR, President-Elect of the Federal Republic of Nigeria‏

Wednesday, April 01, 2015

Acceptance Speech By General Muhammadu Buhari, GCFR, President-Elect of the Federal Republic of Nigeria‏

The Die is Cast

Acceptance Statement by General Muhammadu Buhari, GCFR, President-Elect of the Federal Republic of Nigeria
April 1st, 2015

I am immensely grateful to God for this day and for this hour. I feel truly honoured and humbled that the Nigerian people have so clearly chosen me to lead them. The official announcement from INEC was the moment the vast majority of Nigerians had hoped and been waiting for. Today, history has been made,and change has finally come. Your votes have changed our national destiny for the good of all Nigerians .

INEC has announced that I, Muhammadu Buhari, shall be your next president. My team and I shall faithfully serve you. There shall no longer be a ruling party again: APC will be your governing party. We shall faithfully serve you.We shall never rule over the people as if they were subservient to government.

Our long night has passed and the daylight of new democratic governance has broken across the land. This therefore is not a victory for one man or even one party. It is a victory for Nigeria and for all Nigerians. Millions of you have worked for this day. So many have risked life and livelihood; and others have died that we may witness this moment.

And it is with a very heavy heart that I report many deaths and injuries amidst the jubilations yesterday. We send our sincere condolences to the families and friends of those who lost their lives; and wish speedy recovery to those who suffered injuries. I appeal to all our supporters to celebrate this victory with prayers and reflection instead of wild jubilation.

May the souls of those who died rest in peace. Let us take a moment of silence to honour all of those whose sacrifices have brought us to this fine and historic hour. As the results of the election have shown, their labor has not been and will never be in vain. Democracy and the rule of law will be re-established in the land.

Let us put the past, especially the recent past, behind us. We must forget our old battles and past grievances—and learn to forge ahead. I assure you that our government is one that will listen to and embrace all.

I pledge myself and our in-coming administration to just and principled governance. There shall be no bias against or favouritism for any Nigerian based on ethnicity, religion, region, gender or social status. I pledge myself and the government to the rule of law, in which none shall be so above the law that they are not subject to its dictates, and none shall be so below it that they are not availed of its protection.

You shall be able to go to bed knowing that you are safe and that your constitutional rights remain in safe hands. You shall be able to voice your opinion without fear of reprisal or victimisation. My love and concern for this nation and what I desire for it extends to all, even to those who do not like us or our politics. You are all my people and I shall treat everyone of you as my own. I shall work for those who voted for me as well as those who voted against me and even for those who did not vote at all. We all live under one name as one nation: we are all Nigerians.

Some unfortunate issues about my eligibility have been raised during the campaign. I wish to state that through devotion to this nation, everything I have learned and done has been to enable me to make the best possible contribution to public life. If I had judged myself incapable of governing I would never have sought to impose myself on it. I have served in various capacities and have always put in my best.

But despite the rancour of the elections, I extend a hand of friendship and conciliation to President Jonathan and his team.I hereby wish to state that I harbour no ill will against anyone.

Let me state clearly that President Jonathan has nothing to fear from me. Although we may not agree on the methods of governing the nation, he is a great Nigerian and still our president. He deserves our support and permanent respect by virtue of the office he has held. This is how an honourable nation treats its servants and conducts its affairs; and this is how Nigeria should be.

I look forward to meeting with President Jonathan in the days to come to discuss how our teams can make the transition of administrations as efficient as possible.

Here, I want to thank my party for selecting me as its candidate. I thank our party leaders and members for the steadfast contributions they made to bring our dream to fruition. I thank INEC, the police and all other government agencies for performing their tasks in a proper manner and for refusing to be induced to undermine the election and the democratic process.

I also wish to thank religious Leaders, traditional leaders, the media, labor unions, Civil Society organisations, organised private sector, youths and students for their roles in this election.

I give special thanks to President Obama and his timely intervention and support for peaceful and credible elections in Nigeria and for sending Secretary John Kerry and other United States officials. The European Union - especially theUnited Kingdom, France, Germany and other nations that were actively involved in ensuring the success of this election are equally appreciated. My sincere thanks to the United Nations Secretary General Mr Ban-Ki Moon. The Commonwealth,China, India and other Asian and Gulf states are also hereby appreciated. Finally our brothers in the African Union and ECOWAS have truly and clearly shown and demonstrate their commitment to our democratisatioprocess.

Former Presidents John Kuffour, Amos Sawyer, Bakili Muluzi and his team are well appreciated. I must also add my appreciation for the role played by civil societies, national and International observers, other world leaders in ensuring that Nigeria holds free and fair elections.

I assure all foreign governments that Nigeria will become a more forceful and constructive player in the global fight against terrorism and in other matters of collective concern, such as the fight against drugs, climate change,financial fraud, communicable diseases and other issues requiring global response. I want to assure our fellow African nations that Nigeria will now stand as a more constructive partner in advancing the matters of concern to our continent, particularly with regard to economic development and eradication of poverty.

Former head of state and president Chief Olusegun Obasanjo, General Yakubu Gowon, Alh. Shehu Shagari, General Ibrahim Babangida, Chief Ernest Shonekan and General Abdulsalami Abubakar deserve commendations for their statesmanship and words of caution and counsel for peace during the tense moments of this electoral period.

Most of all, I thank the people of Nigeria for reposing their confidence in me at this trying moment. Our nation wrestles many challenges including insecurity, corruption, economic decline. I pledge to give you my best in tackling these problems.

The good people of Nigeria, your obligation does not end with casting your ballot. I seek your voice and input as we tackle these problems. This will not be a government democratic only in form. It will be a government democratic in substance and in how it interacts with its own people.

No doubt, this nation has suffered greatly in the recent past, and its staying power has been tested to its limits by crises, chief among which is insurgency of the Boko Haram. There is no doubt that in tackling the insurgency we have a tough and urgent job to do. But I assure you that Boko Haram will soon know the strength of our collective will and commitment to rid this nation of terror, and bring back peace and normalcy to all the affected areas. We shall spare no effort until we defeat terrorism.

Furthermore, we shall strongly battle another form of evil that is even worse than terrorism—the evil of corruption.Corruption attacks and seeks to destroy our national institutions and character. By misdirecting into selfish hands funds intended for the public purpose, corruption distorts the economy and worsens income inequality. It creates a class of unjustly-enriched people.

Such an illegal yet powerful force soon comes to undermine democracy because its conspirators have amassed so much money that they believe they can buy government. We shall end this threat to our economic development and democratic survival. I repeat that corruption will not be tolerated by this administration; and it shall no longer be allowed to stand as if it is a respected monument in this nation.

I ask you to join me in resolving these and the other challenges we face. Along the way, there will be victories but there may also be setbacks. Mistakes will be made. But we shall never take you for granted; so, be rest assured that our errors will be those of compassion and commitment not of wilful neglect and indifference.

We shall correct that which does not work and improve that which does. We shall not stop, stand or idle. We shall, if necessary crawl, walk and run to do the job you have elected us to do.

I realise that the expectation of our people today is as high as their commitment to change has been strong and their belief in us unshaken. While we pledge to begin doing our best without delay, we would like to appeal to them to appreciate the gravity of our situation, so that we become more realistic in our expectations.

We will govern for you and in your interests. Your vote was not wasted. This is not the first time Nigerians have cast their votes for us, and this is not the first time they have been counted; but this is the first time that the votes have been allowed to count. With the help of God, we pledge to do our utmost to bring forth the Nigeria you seek.

Thank you for your patience and attention.

General Muhammadu Buhari, GCFR
President-Elect,

Federal Republic of Nigeria

The words i highlighted in darker shade made me have a selah moment.This is a powerfully worded speech.Hmmmmmm.....God take control and bring this speech to reality.#Letsgo!

73 comments:

1. Ewu! Which kind sleep be dat?Ewu! Ewu! Ewu!

2. May the good Lord grant you the wisdom of Solomon. Congrats sir.

3. Another dumb and insipid wife.

4. Another dumb and insipid wife.

5. It's funny how its the rats on this blog that hustle recharge card that have mouth to talk nonsense. Eka joy and okija wife that's forming voltron you're two MFs. Buhari has won please kill yourselves. Even ffk and the rest are quiet. You dumbasses should too. Nitwits
      That anon always saying im a mother ahu odikwa yin nma? Are you sure you're sound upstairs? Stop bringing motherhood into this biko. I'm free to express myself however I want to.
      People in the know know what gej has done and if you retards here how much of OUR money he embezzles everyday you'll switch too. Just shutup because you know nothing.
      Lots of nitwits and rats here. Im not surprised tho, most times your comments sound stupid

6. I wouldn't have replied your stupid ass if you didn't call him boko haram. If buhari is really boko haram you should even hate gej more for doing nothing about it afterall he's president, you really think if he was, gej wouldn't have used that to pull him down? God gave you a brain for a reason, USE IT!!! DAMN!

7. In fact I've had enough already. Getting tired of the post election gist. Biko make we f

8. In fact I don tire for the post election gists. Biko make we find something else talk na. I haven't watched the news as much as I've done in the last 5 days in my life. I have decided not to watch any more TV until further notice. E don tire me.

9. Well said my president. Mz Anon, why are you wasting your time educating those who refuse to be educated. You don forget say no be all wey go school dey learn. NNE save your energy and enjoy the moment. Sisi Eko I dey vex for you oooo. Which one you don tire to dey watch TV. Even your updates I no see no let me park you one side o.

10. Mzanon,,,ur useless mother ND imbecile father are mother fuckers!!! Die oloriburuku bitch!!!

11. Lmao lovelace u no go understand. You know say the 3-4days wey we take dey house dey wait, tension don finish person. Mouth don dry as everyone at home kept analysing and projecting the outcome.
      So as the winner emerged the energy had subsided. Lol. Too many posts and too many comments. But I been dey talk o, I follow u bumper to bumper sef. Sai Baba

2. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Speech of change. God bless yu mr president... Congrats BUHARIANS..... Sai Buhari

1. Ewu! Buhari na president- elect of nigeria. Go find your own Jupiter president make we rest. Ewu! Ewu! Ewu!

3. Exactly my tot when I first saw it,he really sounded mean in those highlighted words, His govt won't be a child's play. Like not business as usual 2 all. ##GODWIN##

1. I don't know whether to be scared or happy.
      Well, let's see how events unfold in the coming months/years.
      God, take control please.

2. Be scared o...cos no more freedom for you!!! Gej brought freedom to all...

3. #slapshead@okijascomment!!!

4. Now that's my president! Congrats sir jezz I can't bliv I'm commenting finally!

5. It's all good. Welldone President Goodluck. You are a Hero. Just as it was for Late Aguiyi Ironsi, but you are lucky to be alive. TRUST is and will continue to be a big issue in dis country.I'm just sad that I didn't get to dance d Victory Song SEKEM. Maybe some other time. To all GeJ co-supporters, tomorrow is another day.
    Welcome to GMB. Pls shine ur eyes, and know that Brothers are not Brothers. Until they are brothers.

1. On point dear sist Gej for ever.

2. Ode. Even Cain killed Abel. Ever heard or read the story of the good Samaritan in the Bible? Sometimes its the "foreigners" that save you while your brother kills you.

6. I read it to the end, this man sounds like a strict person. ghost workers ona better go learn work cause no more free salary for you all
    It really gonna be a tough one

7. Too long but I read it all,you know why?because I voted for CHANGE and I wanted to know the reason(s) why, so as to hold him accountable if/when he fails to deliver

8. The general has spoken!! Corruption will not be tolerated!

9. Awwww so touching 😭😭😭😭😭😭 Leggo!! I am with you !

10. I pray for grace to bring this to pass ! I prayed for a peaceful election and it came to pass... Thankful !!!

** Don't give up on God , cause he won't give up on You .... He's Able !! ***

11. Sai Buhari...

May God help you to fulfill all

12. I say Amen to dem if he will do all, may God give him more wisdom to do dem all n many more.

13. Nice one. Well constructed.. May God giv u d strength to carry thru all these. Amen

14. These will be the most important 4 yrs of our Nation's life. I feel confident that we have made the right choice.

1. Taaaaa!!! Na d poor ppl go still suffer am,bet it!!!

2. And I bet the poor were not poor under GEJ.? Okija, so much hatred for one man!

15. God please take control.

16. Sai Buhari....hope this change will be made

17. I love the man call buhari he has done so many much for me ,he has taken away my sorrow from me .I love the man BUHARI - PST chekeleke

18. This is ammy becky's post last year on miss petite blog, this girl can lie for Yugoslavia !!http://www.misspetitenigeriablog.com/2014/12/was-2014-kind-or-cruel-to-you.html

Hmmm dunno where to start from, lemme see;
    2014 despite all the tragedies that came with it, has been nothing but a blessing to my family nd I.
    I joined this wonderful mpn family, i love u guys...
    Our houses in the villa nd town that hubby started building both this year has been completed nd we've already moved in(both duplex).*shines teeth*
    Business has been good...so he says *side eyes*
    And to crown it all, God added another handsome soldier to the two I already have yay, enuf noise nd breaking tinz lol
    Altho he couldn't buy another car this year, am sure next year will be better.
    And yes I won many awoofs on this blog nd other blogs too...which is killing that stupid anon *tongue out*
    Only thing bad about this year is it's official, i'm now a housewife...which means incoming fat *sniffing*
    So all in all I give it 101% lol

(So you had three kids in December and now you have four?) Adonbelivit

19. Lol okAy

So I can travel In peace. Without any Problem
    God Bless Nigeria

20. Congrats Sir but this change should start with those around u. We steady light o. Thank u

1. Am going to miss Diezani 'too pretty to be corrupt' Allison Madueke...dat woman fine no be small

21. Boko haram as president. ........ shame Nigeria

22. Choosing you was a case of choosing between the devil and the deep blue sea......a lot of people just wanted GEJ to go away already....

23. Gosh,i want to know who wrote this speech.
    Beautiful use of words,good syntax.
    Bravo,to the new Wordsmith

24. The peoples President. God bless u as u undertake this onerous task. .Sai Buhari

1. D peoples president

ke??? Taaaa!!!

Speak for yourself o!!!

25. Chinyelo , where r u..Pls respond .We r worried. We know it is a difficult time 4 u.At least Galore has bn humble enuf to accept defeat

26. Now that CHANGE has come, I am so excited that corruption has come to an end, that oil price would be stabilized, that Naira will be equal to dollar, that students would now receive feeding money every day, that people will start receiving social benefits, that unemployment will end, that Chibok girls will return, that Boko Haram will end, that NIGERIA WILL BECOME A REPLICA OF AMERICA...Meanwhile, how can i get a comprehensive list of all the promises oga Buhari made before election? It should be published and issued to every Nigerian to keep as a reminder...CHANGE has come.

1. Hahahhahahahahahhahahahh...
      For ur mind abi???
      I laff in French!!!

27. How much is Buhari paying you for this foolishness? Buharians?# whatever the fuck that means. No be say the buhari send you. Negro please

28. @ Stella, truly powerful and I pray he surrounds his government cum governance with like mine/ hard working people who have good intentions to serve the nation ooo!
    @ GMB, so help U God! Amen...

29. Some pple re really really dump. U re calling him boko haram wow Dats good to knw and it's a shame on GEJ dat he couldn't bring down d issue of boko haram. I wonder if some of u re in nigeria self. If ur sis or bro is one of dose chibok gals and GEJ did Ntn to return dem back to ur family would u still vote such a govt in and he never went to console d family till election time? If ur bro is part of dose students slaughter would u vote in dat govt? Fuel pricing Dats suppose to be 87naira now is abt 100 or 110 or 120. No lite, dia is insecurity in d country. Corruption full everywia. Abeg d list long. I don't ve high expectation for dis incoming govt but I knw 4 sure dat dey will do d best for dis country so let's watch and see. Am glad d pple's voice were held and dia vote counts dis time around. Change has finally come. Sai Buhari. Don't care wat all dose GEJ thinks. Haters will always hate

30. #Inhales #Waiting to Exhales.

31. #Inhales. #Waiting to Exhale.

32. Yes Irene, I agree with you. Beautiful syntax, so literature, i love the sound and cadence of the speech especially the crawl, walk and run. made me recall one Craig David's song like that. I wonder who wrote the speech. All the same, may it be well for us, may baba be a vessel of God afterall it is HE who enthrones kings. And EFE KELVIN, I always love yur comments but is it not somewhat gay to call Buhari Hun? lols

33. Suddenly... it feels good to be a Nigerian again... I saw how Nigerians where hurdled together around the TV all night at if they were watching the Super Eagles of old playing Brazil in Atlanta 96 Olympics. No. It was not a football match but the 2015 Presidential election results announcements and we won. No longer would feel or fear being embarrassed what our president. Now we have a man who has been tested and trusted and respected to handle the affairs of the country. Cheers Nigeria

34. Truth be told, Christians r just too peaceful! If buhari lost d election there would hv been massive killings in d north! GEJ n wife even called to congratulate him somtin buhari will never do! GEJ ur a true hero! I knw wht I faced in d north after d 2011 presidential elections