Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Buhari To Move Against Pension For Ex-governors

Wednesday, April 15, 2015

Buhari To Move Against Pension For Ex-governors

President-elect, General Muhammadu Buhari (retd), is to lead a campaign to repeal the pension laws for governors enacted by many states of the federation, Vanguard has learnt.

The proposal by the incoming president is based on what sources close to him affirm as the incongruity of the laws under the country’s socio-economic environment and also, as a way of demonstrating moral leadership from the top.

Majority of the nation’s 36 state Houses of Assembly have enacted generous pension entitlements for governors that in many cases provide 100 per cent pay for the incumbent governors buildings, generous medical allowances for them and their family members and annual holiday provisions, all of which are to last for life. Provisions in the pension allowances are also made for staff, security and vehicles that are renewable every three or four years.

Buhari’s inclination towards a review of the pension for former governors was first publicly declared few days to the presidential election at the All Progressives Congress, APC, retreat in Owerri, Imo State.
It’s scandalous

A source conversant with the development disclosed that Buhari told the governors that there was no way Nigeria could survive under the financial weight of the pensions that had been earmarked for governors. He was said to have described the pension laws as enacted by states controlled by APC and PDP governors as scandalous.

According to the source, “he was very blunt about it and said that it was something that was going to be done immediately, especially because it is not something that can be sustained.

“The feeling was that not only was it wrong and morally unconscionable, but that it was not something that should be encouraged, and he was appealing to them that it should be changed.” - Vanguard

Wow!!!....wahala dey!

69 comments:

1. But After 4 years what would happen? Another president comes in and change it all.wahala rily dey

1. This is Good

2. The next person will be better than Buhari by the special grace of God!
      Nigeria is getting better
      No time for nonsense
      I'm glad my vote counted
      Spirit of Corruption must leave Nigeria by fire by force!
      After all they looted they still want pension,lol,U lie!
      Somebody sai Baba!

3. Ghen ghen, this is what I call leadership by example. After all GMB refused his own pension of the said amount even before he knew he would run or win the election after trying 4x.
      So suffice it to say that this rule of his is genuine. Now let the work begin. Sai Baba

2. E go better. 23m pension for an ex president is crazy.

1. The problem with these ppl is that they talk too much. Why not enter first then do all these things. I can't count d number of promises he's made since he was elected and he's yet to resume office. I'm watching u in 3D

2. U r still talking of 23m for president? What of the governor that got the house of assembly to sign salary of 100m monthly for him after he leaves office. Abeg Buhari shldn't waste time on this. He shld cancel it immediately.

3. Buhari has never collected the #23million naira presidential pension saying it's outrageous especially as he also collects his army pension.

4. @ Eka Joy. To be forewarned is to be forearmed. So all the governors and other political leaders that are killing themselves on top government work will know they are there to work and not loot . After seeing the allowance accrued to Akwaibom governor which I read here, who will not want to die on top power? We keep saying that millions of Nigerians live in abject poverty but we are the highest spenders too.

3. This man go strict o.
    See laws and enactment...
    I hope it's for the better.

1. Hmmm... IF he can do this, and reduce what these thieves get as senators, house of Rep members, ministers, etc. he'll earn my respect for life.

How can he fight this without their cooperation? Hmmm.....

#sitdowndeylook

4. I will know he is real by cutting down the huge amount of money a senator earn in this country...
    Gawd!!...that money is ridiculous...
    No wonder most of them wants to die...

Let's see how he will fulfill all these promises...

1. Dis move is very encouraging...

2. Linda Eze,i am happy u are beginning to have a lil faith in d pple's General,just relax he will beat ur expectation!lol
      That pension for retired governors was a rape to our economy and wicked too.cos these pple after clearing the accts in their various states,leaving the masses with nothing,they still want to be pensioners on a political appointment.smh!that was so unfair!
      They should totally abolish d rubbish law,so that coming to govt office will not be dat desirable,then only pple with genuine interest of d masses will come out for positions.
      #nigeriawillbegreatagain#

3. Thats a good one, unless he wants to change pension rate to the original contribution 7.5% employer and same for employee making total of 15%. but new act says 10% and rmployers are already frowning at it. The change will affect us all no be only them o.

4. Thats a good one, unless he wants to change pension rate to the original contribution 7.5% employer and same for employee making total of 15%. but new act says 10% and rmployers are already frowning at it. The change will affect us all no be only them o.

5. What a noble idea only if he can pull it through Bcos he doesn't have control of the various state assemblies who enacted the orbnotious pension laws..what about the one for past presidents nko,he should touch it too.

1. He has over the years been returning a large chunk of his pension he termed "excessive" to governments purse.
      This is a good move. These people steal while in office, and still get paid in full when they leave. Those monies can be used for projects that benefit all.

6. It is really better. Lagos State especially has a robust pension even with all the money they have made while in office.

the poor keeps getting poorer.

As you are fighting against the governors, fight against it too for the past presidents.

all of them are billionniares. Governors and Presidents

1. Now we have a president without a godfather. Eheh

7. I truly hope GMB will do it. We have read of states like Kwara, Akwa Ibom, Rivers among others where the governors allocated jumbo pension packages for themselves through the instrumentality of their state Houses of Assembly. Whereas, these same states can't pay their Pensioners, some of whom are old enough to be the state governors grand fathers

1. Add lagos to that list. It was codedly done there.

8. Slash d pension....yea
    but the one biting me is the allowances of senators....slash that one, then we r talking.
    Reduce their convoys too!! Akpabio's convoy will keep u in one spot for 20mins, exotic cars!!!
    May God use u to clean up this system....in one tenure(side eye)

9. for the very first time I will say this man called buhari has good intention for Nigerians he should scrap it immediately abeg

#GODWIN

10. I think I'm loving this man already... he should make sure he sees to it. also the allowances of the present REPS and SENATORS should be drastically slashed

11. Its a Good ideal, He should also work on the lawmakers pension as well(Senate president, Deputy, Speaker and deputy) Also on our president too they should slash their pension.
    unnecessary Allowance they earn.
    Can you imagine they have what is called Hardship Allowance sef. I have accepted the wing of Change I pray the people around him will let the Change come to pass.

1. Good geh Chinyelu, i admire ur spirit
      Sherry's Daughter

2. Chinyelu, I love you already! Change starts with us. The min we are opened to the endless possibilities and we pray to baba God to see us through this new era of change, and cooperate, I think the sky is just our starting point.

Who says Naija cannot be as good as Yankee Biko? Dem lie!

Once again, I love you darling

12. after leaving office you still get pension that covers your health cars building and others how are we going to grow as a country

#GODWIN

13. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Omg..is this man awesome or what??

14. Buhari when you assume office and succeed in reversing it, we want to hear about it. There are many wrong policies in this country and we are tired of talking about them. We want solutions and to be carried along. May God give you strength and determination to turn things around. And now that most Governors in Nigeria are in APC, I hope they don't pressure you to change your mind.

1. Exactly my sentiments.I hope the new Apc governors would not pressure him to change his mind.

15. Crious Gobe aunty Stella Kork!

16. Nice
    The one they stole should be enough.

17. Buhari should slow down with the threats,he isn't the president.. yet.
    Let me sit down and watch how he intends to;
    1)Release the Chibok girls he hid in his farm.lol
    2)Destroy BH that he created.
    3)Make Naira equal in value to dollar.
    4)Fight kwarraption starting from Tinubu,Obj and Ameachi Aka the Judas of Ubima.
    5)Create jobs for 5million youths.
    6)Stop Edo girls from flying to Italy!
    May God keep us alive!

1. Hahahahahahahahahahaha. Pinklady u just cracked me up

2. I thought you were smart..... Obviously mistaken

3. Actually it isn't a dumb comment. He should stop talking like a dictator and remember that he can't get anything done without the legislative approving it. All in all, he needs the support of others in government and the prayers of every Nigerian.

18. No wahala for any where ooo.Except person way won give himself or herself wahala.There so many anomalies in this country, that need to be corrected.If he can do some,i think it will be a gud start for this country.And besides,u can't compare his regime to the president who said stealing is not corruption.There are men and there are men.May God help this country.

19. This man should not come and rule us like abacha o,it's a good idea though...

20. Yes o let's wait and see. Bc I av learnt dt Nigerians tend to make promises of things when dey haven't start gaining from it. If he cancels d governorship pension, will he also cancel d presidents own? Am strongly behind u if u re really pursuing dis bc it's a perfect decision n d best manifesto I av heard so far. May God give u wisdom to lead us Amen!

21. yes dats a good move sir,by makin political position less attractive it wil reduce d rate of do or die politics in Nigeria

22. He should stop it and also look into the Pension scheme generally.

23. What I really want Buhari to effect is to slash the ridiculous 'armed robbery' salaries and allowances of our legislators by 80% at least.

Only then will I go to bed at night with two eyes closed.

1. Gbam!
      These people are the real thieves.

Sadly, he can't do much
      Cos of separation of power.
      Besides, we don't really need bicameralism just that Nigerians believe in representation. Even if we have two seats of legislature, let their salaries be very unattractive.

But, trust the legislators will frustrate this effort. They make laws, approve things that enrich them. Then they pass non-laws like gay marriage laws to assuage the people's morality lust leaving the real issues. They are united in greed oh

**BonaParte NN

24. These people are thieves and mean

How can you stay in office, steal public funds and you are still entitled to such huge amount? Where are they taking this money to?

But for the old retirees, they suffer before they even get their entitlement....

Let's see how this works though. They just keep mismanaging funds

25. Na sidon look I dey o.

Rent novels for FREE, visit
    Cynthiakalubookclub.blogspot.com

26. Akpabio and co... How market????? If this is good this man would be saving Nigerians billions of money that will be channeled into other key areas that needs developing. #PrayThisWorks

27. Let's wait and see how this proposal will play out, the drama is just starting. Buhari will soon be called to order by the big guns

1. There's no gun bigger than him in Nigeria right now

2. Mumu buhair has no big guns and no godfather. Even thise in APC dont know his agenda and they're all praying he'll favor them

28. Buhari d noise maker!!! Abeg make we hear word jare....with with jagabans of gorillas by ur side, Na play u dey!!!

29. Its well oooo! Sai Buhari!!

30. This is trying to step on Tinubu's toes considering the pension benefit earmarked for former governors and their deputies in Lagos. Watching how this will be with the likes of Theifnubu, Fashola & Ameachi

31. If and when this is actualized would be a much needed change. More grease to your elbows and best of luck.

32. This is the kind of President we need, not afraid to point out the various economic cancers eating our country up. May God/Allah grant him the grace to succeed.

33. Almighty God,
    Thank you for Buhari.
    May you protect and Guide him.
    As he ascend the Throne.
    Give him all the wisdom of Solomon and more.
    Let him be able to pilot Nigeria and Nigerians out of Corruption and backwardness.
    Amen.