Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Hillary Clinton Declares 2016 Democratic Presidential Bid

Sunday, April 12, 2015

Hillary Clinton Declares 2016 Democratic Presidential Bid

Former US Secretary of State Hillary Clinton has formally entered the 2016 race for the White House in a bid to become the first woman US president.
She launched her campaign website on Sunday, telling Americans she wanted to be their "champion".

Mrs Clinton ran for the Democratic presidential nomination in 2008 but lost to Barack Obama.

The overwhelming Democratic favourite, she had been expected to declare her candidacy for months.
In a video on her website, Mrs Clinton declared: "I am running for president".
"Americans have fought their way back from tough economic times," she said, "but the deck is still stacked in favour of those at the top.

"Everyday Americans need a champion and I want to be that champion," she added.

The video features a number of Americans talking about their hopes and aspirations.
It ends with Mrs Clinton saying: "So I'm hitting the road to earn your vote because it's your time and I hope you'll join me on this journey".
Mrs Clinton's team said would spend the next few weeks building up grassroots support in the early Democratic primary states; she tweeted that she is on her way to Iowa.
She is expected to hold her first rally, officially kicking off her campaign, in mid-May.

Analysis - Anthony Zurcher, BBC North America reporter, Washington DC
This time around, Mrs Clinton's path to the Democratic nomination appears much easier. Unlike 2008 there's no inspirational, once-in-a-generation opponent like Mr Obama waiting in the wings.
But if Mrs Clinton's nomination campaign will be easier, actually winning the presidency could be just as difficult - or more so.
Unlike 2008, the Democratic nominee will be defending eight years of her party's rule, with all the baggage that comes with it, and a Republican Party no longer on its heels.

Mrs Clinton has already had the backing of Mr Obama, who told a news conference at the Summit of the Americas in Panama on Saturday that she would make an "excellent president".
And her successor in the post of secretary of state, John Kerry, called her a "good friend", telling ABC's This Week programme she "did a terrific job of rebuilding alliances that had been shredded over the course of the prior years".
But the attacks from the Republicans have already begun.
Republican presidential contender Rand Paul criticised Mrs Clinton for her handling of a September 2012 attack on a US diplomatic compound in Benghazi, Libya, in which the US ambassador was among those killed.
He also said questions remained about funds received by a charity set up by Mr and Mrs Clinton.
Jeb Bush, former Florida Governor and brother of George W Bush who is also considering whether to stand as a Republican candidate, tweeted: "We must do better than Hillary."

Hillary Clinton - her Washington career so far

• Tried to reform US healthcare during husband Bill's first term as president (1993-1997) but her plan never reached a vote in Congress
  • Stood by her husband when his affair with White House intern Monica Lewinsky was exposed, 1997-98
  • Elected as Democratic senator for New York, 2000
  • Voted in favour of the Iraq war in 2003 but later distanced herself from the war
  • Ran for the Democratic nomination in 2008 but conceded in favour of Barack Obama
  • Served as US secretary of state 2009-2013
  • Embroiled in controversy over the attack on a US consulate in Benghazi, Libya in 2012
  • Investigated by the State Department for her use of a private email server, circumventing legal requirements.
BBC.com

WOW....go Hillary!!!

20 comments:

1. All the best # nothing can crush a determined soul!

2. Oh la la la. Time to go back to America.
      **in Eddie Murphy's voice**

This election go sweet die. Clinton always wanted this. He encouraged her. I just cannot wait.

2. Some ré reporting She's à husband beater. God !

3. Hehehehehheh na so mama peace go show face come 2019 cos anything oyibo people do naija most copy...

4. This woman doesn't give up at all!
    She shouldn't be applauded for standing by her husband when his secret affair became public,she stood by him because of her political ambition.She needed her husband's influence to succeed...intelligent woman!
    Anyway,let's see how it goes...
    Obama is no longer my boo bcos he didn't support my GEJ's government!
    I hope she or someone else takes over from Oby lol.

5. Don't know if she'll win o.
    Wish her good luck, sorry Buhari.

6. I love this. I pray she wins....
    She reminds me of the female president in the movie 24. What a heavy task! Her hair is blonde so no grey will affect it due to stress. Lol. Nice one.

7. Hilary Clinton is a great woman for so many reasons. A power house. A relentless public servant. A shrewd attorney. A very rigid politician. She's so many 1sts as a woman. I admire Clinton but the mood surrounding her is not cool. I mean, the way she's perceived in the forefront of Washington politics won't help her.
    I think Clinton is too strong, too opinionated for her own good. She is a staunch democrat and is known to have an extreme intolerance for republicans. Curses like a horse. A politician who will go all out and all hard.

I admire and so love the fact she is coming out again but if the democrats want to win, they must field a white candidate, middle aged man, as charismatic as Kennedy with the lips for oratory like Lincoln. This man must also be conservative in his public approach and immigration and/or a war monger even...No more 1st black or 1st woman tins. D people won't vote with those sentiments again. All eyes on the economy, the war with ISIS and the Russian-Ukraine-seperatist-nuclearUndertone debacle. The world is changing. America will look for extreme strenght and a strategist of a leader in other to remain world power. Infact, looks to me like the republicans will take this.

NB: the people are fed up with Obama. Fed up with a lot of things(Obama care is even small). Obama played his politics neither blowing hot nor cold. Like a zebra that doesn't know whether to be white or black(all pun fully intended) and the democrats might pay 4 this.

**Bonaparte NN

1. Regardless she stands a chance. Democrat or not. But I however do not think that the Americans are ready for a female president.

I also think that Obama will be the last colored fella to rule the white house for a very very long time to come.

Now, what they cannot wait for is to erase every memory of Obama being president at all. Choosing Hilary would be as good as having Clinton as the president of America again. Would they allow that? Or would they rather have the last of the Kennedy' (bad luck or not) ..or even a Hispanic...become president?
      Nahhhh scratch that. Was dream typing. Lol

2. Sisi Eko dear...Hispanic? Lmao. Thank God you scratched that.
      im not sure they will let any minority take it again. especially not now. Maybe when a staunch white Republican with Right Wing tendencies. Esp zero tolerance for Immigrants and social welfare like Obama Care(where d middle class are made to pay for those living in squalor), after this person has ruled and they see that it's not even the solution for the present problems. Then they may allow minority anything in. Right now, d cry against Obama is high and to blurt him out and forget him is in the mind of all, like you rightly said.
      The democrats must field that kind of candidate or suffer loss. Even the youths have been brainwashed about the kind of guy they need. Look how midterm congress elections went, and the aftermath Republican propaganda with veiled taunts, sarcasm and what not. They will come all out with scathing campaign against the democratic party, no doubt. Unless Obama can carve his face on Mount Rushmore before December. Or move the mountain sef.
      Lol. Let's keep fingers crossed dear. Always fun to follow US politics. I wish Hillary all the best. Naturally, i'm biased in favour of strong women by default gan. Lol

**BonaParte NN

8. Beautiful,

Make una go look thief for@ jacklinjacklin110 instar am,she stole 70k human hair

9. Make una go look thief for@ jacklinjacklin110 instargram,she stole 70k human hair

10. It's your time to shine Madam Clinton. It's your time to be America's first female president. If Brazil, Liberia, Mali, Germany and even Pakistan, at some point, can have female leaders, then Americans can do it. Besides a question of gender, Madam Clinton possesses stellar qualifications and experience for the job.

11. Correction: If Malawi (not Mali) can have Joyce Banda at its helm then Mrs. Clinton can lead the USA. I salute your persistence, tenacity, vision and brilliant mind.

12. That's. America's next president!