Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Lagos Guber Ambode And The Logical Case For Continuity

Wednesday, April 08, 2015

Lagos Guber Ambode And The Logical Case For Continuity

If he wins, as he is being projected, after this Saturday’s keen contest in the Lagos governorship election, Akinwunmi Ambode’s story is bound to impress and inspire. 

His trajectory is similar to that of an average Nigerian who desires and strives for greatness from a humble background. 

He is the son of a school teacher; reached the peak of his career in the civil service and now desires to govern a state that is acknowledged as the economic nerve-centre of Nigeria.

If he proves pundits right on Saturday that his victory is somewhat assured as the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), the role of the cane from his disciplinarian father, Festus,should not be obliterated from his success story. 

The elderly Ambode was a notable school teacher at St. Jude’s Primary School in Ebutte Metta where the son also had his formative years. 
It was the chairman of Ikeja District Society of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Nigeria (ICAN), Mr. Seyi Ogunjobi that succinctly described how ‘Baba Teacher’, as the late Ambode was fondly called, never spared the rod. 

If other students could still recall how they endured the regular lashes of cane, Ogunjobi said last Friday when Ambode was endorsed by ICAN at the Sheraton hotel in Lagos, he could only imagine how many lashes the teacher’s son himself would have endured from his strict but loving father. What is not in doubt, according to Ogunjobi, is the fact that Ambode’s father’s cane has produced great men. 

One of such people is the former President of ICAN, Mr. Doyin Owolabi, who also attended St. Jude’s Primary School. The cane at that famous school, which recently got a facelift courtesy of Akinwunmi Ambode’s La Roache Leadership Foundation, is about to make a great man greater.

It is about to produce a governor for Lagos State who would have scored a couple of firsts: the first alumnus of St. Jude’s school and the University of Lagos as well as the first career civil servant to govern Lagos State.

Yet, the qualities that stand Ambode out, giving him an edge over his competitors are indeed the factors that would most likely determine the outcome of Saturday’s election in his favour.

His bio-data reads like an ideal manual for successful career path. Secondary education was at Government College, Warri after which he earned the second-best result in the whole of West Africa for his Higher School Certificate. At 21, he had already graduated from the University of Lagos as an Accountant and by age 24, he has completed his Master’s degree and qualified as a Chartered Accountant. 
He became a Fulbright Scholar, with emphasis on leadership and Public Finance by age 35.

Hitting the ground running, certainly, won’t be an issue for a governor like Ambode.

But his experience even counts for more. 

As the Accountant General, he was the brain-box in the financial engine room when the allocation for Local Governments in Lagos State was seized by the Federal Government. If he could function as the nucleus that grew the finances of the state from N600m to more than N20bn a month at that time, he deserves respect now in stepping forward with assurance that he is best qualified to lead Lagos State at this period when revenue from the federal purse is drying up as a result of dwindling global oil prices.

Still, there is a unique compliment in the choice of his running mate. Dr. (Mrs.) Oluranti Adebule, who brings to the table the discipline of being a tested academic and valuable experience as the erstwhile Secretary to the State Government, sure compliments Ambode. A former Accountant General and SSG symbolize a winning team for continuity. When analysts then say that the Ambode-Adebule combination is not just intellectually fortified, but also understands governance in practical terms, they are in effect submitting that it will be a costly gamble to hand over the affairs of such an important state to any other candidate without the requisite experience and working knowledge of government in Lagos State.

Thankfully, Ambode is not entering Saturday’s contest with any popularity deficit. His effective communications strategy has proven that he could beat his main opponent, Jimi Agbaje, of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) at the game he (Agbaje) made a relative success of when he first ran in 2007. With more opinion polls and endorsements affirming his superior visibility, Ambode’s consistent edge over his opponent, in terms of followership on every social media platform in the past six months, has also established that not only does this Epe-born technocrat have better acceptance but that the contest might not be as close as some people imagine.

62 comments:

1. SPONSORED POST!! APC All The Way...
    .NOTE: Raise Your Words, Not Your Voice. It Is Rain That Grows Flowers, Not Thunder..

2. Let's God's will be done dis Saturday!

3. we know he will win because Jagaban no go allow lagos go free.

anyway let the best man win.

4. Ok ...tell your oba to apologise to NDIGBO.

5. All we need is jimi agbaje for lagos state

1. Yes oooooooooo!!!

AMBODE CLEAR ROAD FOR JIMI AGBAJE THE NEXT GOVERNOR OF LAGOS STATE

2. Who are you?
      You better go back to your land locked states to vote.

6. Hope you Well paid for this!!!
    No free lunch o! Get your money Stella!

7. Am not even leaving my house on Saturday...will be at home eating and gbenshing...

Why should I vote when they will end up rigging...
    Warrever mehnnnn...

1. We no ur type,na village u they live. 80% noise maker for d blog no no get PVC

2. Sweetie,I can see you want to use me to gain fame on this blog....
      All these new comers using known BV's to get popular...
      Guess what,I won't give you that shine...
      RIP sweetie!!!..I will never reply you again...

8. Stella Pls stop forcing APC on us. Enough already.

9. @D J Stelch - LOL @Sponsored post....

10. APC OOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Never listen to people who project their negativity and try to stop you from achieving your goals, their beliefs don't define your ability.....

@Mosi_Tash_Jazzy

11. We don hear abeg!boring story! NEXT!!!

12. Have you seen his campaign posters and billboards? He occurs to me as a show man and a happy go lucky dude that has been favoured by the jagaban himself.
    Was more impressed with Agbaje's responses when I watched their debate.
    Plus, was he really fired by the lagos state government for fraud? If the answer is positive then why should we vote him in? *sigh* it is well with Nigeria.
    The most qualified hardly wins in Nigeria except by a divine intervention.

13. That is why I'll vote for him. Also jk sef said while campaigning that Lagos must align with the centre to get even better( of course then he thought that GEJ would win)

14. Ambo o, Ambo. The most popular man in Nigeria right now. Lol I'll be voting for him

15. He is lucky I already liked him before the Oba's drama. He seems very humble and caring

16. #AMBO2015 Gbabe!

17. #AMBO2015 Gbabe!

18. #AMBO2015 Gbabe!

19. #AMBO2015 Gbabe!

20. Lagos has done well under APC so I'll stick with them

21. seen. But just know that the Oba murdered you already with his words

Jimi Agbaje all the way

22. Stella sponsored posts are not supposed to be too long. I don't have the patience to read all this crap jor.

23. These are they types of articles I want to be seeing. This tells me he is a serious man with a good plan for Lagos

24. CRAP !!! LOOSER !!! PDP ALL THE WAY WE WANT A CHANGE

25. Well written, perfectly delivered.

I was at the Sheraton Conference and was glad he had such a father.

Ambode will perform. He has the requisite experience.

26. Amala news.
    Didn't even read .

27. Noted.
    Love the write-up, may the best man win.

28. We know its advert.

meanwhile obi anyi di na Jiminwa Agbajeze.
    #lifejackettinz #sundayswimming

#CARROT

29. how much were you paid? if you like, write heaven and earth about Ambode, it is JIMI AGBAJE WE ARE VOTING FOR. QED. Did u intentionally leave out Ambode's misconduct while serving as the accountant general of Lagos State, the missing/misaproprated funds? or you never heard or read about it? I beg I beg I beg. JK IS OK

1. Thank you for dis!!!!

JIMI AGBAJE FOR GOVERNOR

2. Lol I are so funny u believe that it's only easterners that vote in lagos?...will you allow Yorubas vote in imo state ...funny people

30. how much were you paid? if you like, write heaven and earth about Ambode, it is JIMI AGBAJE WE ARE VOTING FOR. QED. Did u intentionally leave out Ambode's misconduct while serving as the accountant general of Lagos State, the missing/misaproprated funds? or you never heard or read about it? I beg I beg I beg. JK IS OK

1. Who are the we? , pls speak for yourself cos you only have one vote, or are you one of those that do multiple thumbprinting on stolen ballot papers. Get a life. I, my family, my neighbourhood are voting for Ambode. Lagos has progressed under APC, so they deserve another term

2. Taaaaa @14:47.......carry u nd ur ebola families comot here!!!

31. Ambode will surely win

32. His win is sure by God's Grace

33. Why so many anonymous campaigning for a candidate.Shuo, make people choose wisely. Justice for Kim Kay is all I know. No puppet governors, enough is enough.

34. If you become Gov Ambo, you must settle Tinubu n others o, don't cry morrow.

35. Most of the people shouting here don't even have PVCs, you see Ambode will win on Saturday

36. Ambode is the continuity of Fashola, he is surely having my vote.

37. Mtcheeeeew I don't have time for this nonsense

38. Ninety nine percent of response I get everywhere I go is dat JK is d best man for d job and that he has there vote. But I must say dat JK will only rule Lagos if TINUBU is dead or incapacitated.Even if Ambode has one vote he will be d Governor..I can bet anything on dis election.Pls QUOTE me

39. Rubbish humble begining. Now he is a billionaire dat served under civil service and dis did not tell u who he is.

40. Continuity or no continuity, Ambode is better than Agbaje, coz of his vast experience in both private and public sector,.
    Agbaje is a good chap but only good as commissioner of House of Assembly member

41. Abegggi.........no be this man help Tinubu cook up the massive tax scheme for lagos?????? draining the masses salary even more.
    APC ppl are just a bunch of liars and deceitful ppl.whitewash!!!

whatever happens anyway