Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerians In South Africa Afraid Of The Xenophobic Attacks

Sunday, April 19, 2015

Nigerians In South Africa Afraid Of The Xenophobic Attacks

Nigerians in South Africa have expressed their fear of attacks relating to the current xenophobic attacks on Africans in parts of the country.

In a phone interview with Sunday Punch, some Nigerian migrants revealed that death threats were being circulated on social media.

Itunu Bodunrin, who on Monday had attended his master’s degree graduation ceremony at the University of KwaZulu-Natal, Durban, told Punch correspondent that he was unable to leave the school campus afterwards due to the violence in the town.

Bodunrin forwarded a text message to Punch correspondent which, according to him, had been circulated among South African residents via WhatsApp.

In the message, signed by several groups, including the Patriotic Movement, Pan Local Forum, Unemployed Workers Forum and Anti-Crime Movement, Nigerians and other African foreigners were warned to leave the country.

It read in part, “Dear neighbour from Africa and other parts of the world, we have travelled the world and have not found one country that allows the floods of humans across its borders as South Africa is experiencing. Even in war-torn parts like Syria, Ukraine, Yemen and Somali.

“We were seven million people in Johannesburg city in 2011. Today, we have an estimated 13 million. In Johannesburg alone, you have taken over entire suburbs: Yeoville, Berea, Bez Valley, Turfontein, among many. You have even moved into rural parts of our country that have 80-per-cent unemployment, and there are no visible signs that you have jobs either.

“We want to be proudly part of the geographic construct called Africa, but we are as different from one another as Kenyans are from Nigerians; Ivorians from Chadians, etc.

“We are pleading with you to return to your home countries. Go and build up those countries so that we can all live in economic, social and political prosperity and peace as neighbours. The genocide in this corner of Africa will be far worse than what happened in Rwanda in 1994. Then the entire continent will be condemned to ashes. Is that what you want?

“South Africans not fully employed or who were found guilty of crimes, were recently repatriated from Nigeria and rightly so.

“Our people are preparing for war against all foreigners (from Bulgaria, Pakistan and Bangladesh to Africa, north of the Limpopo) and we are all very scared. Please go home and build Africa. Millions will die if you don’t. This we can guarantee.”

Similarly, Samson Ojako, a master’s degree student studying Mathematics also at the University of KwaZulu-Natal noted that looting had been rampant for over a week.

“Those that opened their shops were attacked by the Zulu. During all of this, those of us on campus were warned by the school management to stay indoors. They said no one should leave the school premises, especially during the weekend.”

Ojako noted that a large number of Zulus often migrated from their villages into town on weekends in order to launch attacks on non-nationals.

He likened the last one week to life in a refugee camp, saying that those living on campus could not go out to shop for food.

“A lot of people are living in fear, especially the ladies. Even for us who are guys, last week, we had to move in groups,” he said.

Olawale Olawepo, another Nigerian studying for a doctorate degree in Industrial Organisation and Labour Studies said the school authorities also warned students against taking public transportation.

Source : Punch

Other African countries like Zimbabwe and Kenya have sent buses and officials to South Africa to repatriate their own citizens home away from the attack.

This is so sad......

57 comments:

1. Those Days when Nigeria gave them 66 Billion Naira to fight Apartheid.
    Those Days when #1 was equal to $1.
    Those Days when Ghana Must Go.
    ToDaY it is Nigeria's turn to Go.
    Which Way Nigeria???
    Signs of Endtime?
    Is Armageddon Near?
    Are we Going to still Laugh Last?
    Baba God. Na Ya Hand we dey ooo

1. Nigeria government should take action! Every supermarkets and company own by south Africans in nigeria should be closed up and mtn should be shut down till further notice! This is inhuman

2. This is sooo sad,that a fellow african country' is doing dis to his brothers',so what will other races think?is d black skinned man also black with evil in d heart?
      Since dats what dey want,i think our govt should make it fast in repatriating our citizens,afterwards all soutth african in nigeria should be extradited too!they should leave with all there biznesses too,afterall theyv been nothing but ripoffs with their fake products.#bastards

3. Stella, this is contrary to the report the Nigerian ambassador to SA gave just yesterday and I quote

After the Nigerian govt called for the ambassador's return, he objected and said that it isn't that serious. That the social media is circulating lies and pictures of disasters that happened in other African countries to scare people. According to him, Nigerians are advised to avoid the areas affected and they'll be fine. He didn't deny the mayhem, he just said that Nigerians are not exclusive to any attacks as is being reported.

Makes me wonder whom to believe if our ambassador can dismiss the fear our government expressed for the Nigerian citizens there. So as it is, he said evacuation isn't necessary for now.

2. See them stealing and they're smiling. Mtcheww!! God punish all of them. Lazy lot!!

3. This is too cruel, I pray they find a lasting solution to this asap

4. God pls send help to ur children,Nigerian Government should pls do something abt ds.

5. I cry for our Nigerian brothers over there...
    Can Nigeria do this to South Africans?

6. Let the peace of God reign in SA. In JESUS Christ NAME AMEN.
    WE. R all immigrants some where. If they do DNA test r u sure it wouldn't trace SA background? The bottom line is that have the courage to migrate have the courage to reach their potential. SA AFRICAN NEED to make a choice to heal from the past. Gordon Brown said when all the expats return from abroad then all the migrants will be asked to return. Go to the park and see why different nationalities are honour ed.l.in UK.

A poverty mentality leads to fear 😱 confusion.

7. Can we storm and loot shoprite and MTN?????plsss pplsss. What ruubbish!!

1. Azzin ehn..
      Let's start our own looting too nah..and d police and army better not interfere oo. What's all this for nah

Foreigners are coming to develop your country you're complaining. If only they all can come home. But I know they won't. It's a shame that we're running away from our home to a place where we are not wanted and being killed msheww

2. I won't subscribe to reprisals because it would make us as equally brain dead as they are. I imagine how Madiba will be shrugging in his grave for these lot. They've just expressed to the world that being enslaved isn't only a physical torture by the white man...as they've continued to enslave themselves in their brains. Otherwise why would u be mad at the success of another person around u, so much that u become violently territorial?

They are slaves to their myopic hindsight and it's a monumental shame. The white man from whom they were freed would be having a laugh. Smh

8. Very sad lazy ass citizens, very ungrateful nation .I wonder what employment they took for them? They can't even work if given the opportunity dumb and unintelligent. The men very lazy their ladies are more hardworking I even wonder what people go and do in south Africa was there for a year , most Nigeria n's there just flood the streets doing nothing they better come home form that useless place I only pity those who has already developed themselves there .gotten married to nationals built businesses and buying properties there that's is my only pity and the death this stuff has caused and the innocent people dying.

1. I tire oooo,wetin dey d country sef,u go leave naija go dere dey receive insult unnecessarily. Abeg make una come bak o

9. North of the Limpopo? I have always hated South Africa, even if u give me visa I no want! Nigerians there should try to find their way home, when there's life there's hope abeg

10. Are you for real kidding me? This is racism in all its wickedness

11. I am in for all Nigerians leaving South Africa and coming back home. They should all find their way back home before they are killed like animals. South Africans are still backward. Imagine the way they think? If Nigerians came to your country and git better jobs, that's because they merited it. Buy you Zulu's are lazy and think like cannibals.

On that note, I also feel all South Africans in Nigeria should return to their place. All business owned by South Africans should be taken back to their place. Now for those who would come and say what about those that would be jobless if these coys return to their base, ask yourself, the business owned by Nigerians in South Africa that Emily's their people have been shut down. Those that have jobs can't work now because of all these so yes all the companies should return to base.

Nigerians come back let us build a better country. This same country we are feeding, like what's dstv without the population of Nigeria? If Nigerians stop using dstv do you no the massive loss they will record? If we boycott mtn do you know the damage they will suffer? They don't make Nada in other countries like they do here because of our population and they are asking foreigners to go back to their country like they have anything for themselves.

I'm so pained by this attacks. I watched some videos and in all honesty, these people aren't human.

1. You ve said it all. I would ve typed it better.

Let Love reign Not war!!!

2. Unfortunately the Dstv and MTN u mentioned were franchised by top Nigerian officials. Thus making it impossible to boycott them. OBJ has a larger percentage share of MTN. So u can imagine how impossible it would be. No competitor because they will frustrate it and in the end you would be left with Dstv... look at how many others have tried but failed. They have sense o

12. THELMA ENEMUWE said...
    Speechless!!!!
    Lord let ur peace sweep the shores of south Africa!
    *faithful BV enemuwe thelma*

13. When they say the heart of man is desperately wicked....we don't understand until we see examples like this.

Nawa.
    And to think Nigeria was at the forefront of fighting against racism in south Africa and now our good is been repaid with bad.

Mandela must be rolling in his grave sha.

14. THELMA ENEMUWE said...
    Speechless!!!!
    Lord let ur peace sweep the shores of south Africa!
    *faithful BV enemuwe thelma*

15. Which kin wahala is this one , even South Africa is hating Nigerians na waaaa ooooh , I cannot stand them ----- South Africans from day one . Once I was seated besides a white one and after our conversation , I just asked him his nationality he said SA , Kia Kia I told him I don't like his people , he was all red , wetin concern me I bone am all through the flight .
    But unna wey no gree stay Niger unna dey see am so , I pray the killings stop and you all manage to escape, aaaabeg unna come home . Nigeria sweet ooooo

1. Stay @ home dem no go gree. Its better u r @ home and hv ur freedom than b in a foreign and b treated lyk d prodigal son, come bak home my people,dere is more hope here. I feel for those who may hv already established demselves,God wld return what u hv lost wen u come back home.

16. Look at them stealing Mtcheeeeeeew,our boys should defend their self with gun...I can't believe they are doing this to their fellow black people

17. It is a shame on the black south africans to be killing innocent fellow africans that their countries helped to end apartheid.

18. It is a shame on the black south africans to be killing innocent fellow africans that their countries helped to end apartheid.

19. See what hunger is causing.,.
    South Africans are very lazy people especially their men...
    The only thing they know is to sleep,drink and fuck...
    Maybe we should start attacking the ones in my church...

20. They should come back home abeg!
    All foreigners at risk in South Africa, come back home!!! Come back home!
    Hian! If the Fed Govt doesn't have a clue how to bring its citizens back, they should ask Eki Igbinedion how she brought our sisters back from the streets of Italy that year.

1. Remembering how your old life from the street offer Italy to Australia. Thanks to the old man.

21. What is wrong with Nigerians sef,come back home.someone doesn't want u,leave na.I called my cousin in SA yesterday pleading with him to come back.he was telling me the attack is not happening in his side.Am like are u waiting till it gets to u.pls Nigerians come back.no place like home.

1. I called a friend too,he said his side is very calm dat no shaking....he said imagine if somtin like dis is happening in lagos ,dat people in ajegunle,mushin etc can be affected but it won't reach ikoyi ,banana island etc cos d people living dia r not illiterates n they r well exposed....I sha told him to be very careful nonetheless

22. If they refuse to stop this rubbish,the federal government shld close down all south African companies in Nigeria too...how wld dey feel if we begin to loot shoprite,spar,mtn,dstv etc?
    #SayNoToXenophobia

1. Shoprite was franchised too. All hail our govt officials. They own the larger share so they won't let it happen, if it does it won't affect the South Africans u intend to leverage cos they've been paid already. C'est fini

23. Ungrateful lazy idiots,hungry creatures,look at them stealing what will choke them from peoples shops. Foreigners there should arm themselves if they do not want to leave. For every foreigners life they take,take 10 of theirs it is that simple.

1. Honestly now,is it deir country,u go wan fight person for imm own house u r living in. It is like fighting with ur landlord when he says he doesn't want u in his house. D simple solution is to pack and leave d house same goes to Nigerians in S.A as dem say dem no want us,leave deir stupidity for dem and come home,u hv surely hv family here so relocate and come bak home. God wld hlp u wen u come back.

24. Just come bak hone y'all
    The grass is not always greener on the other side.
    U may start from the scratch here n it will b hard, but u will mke it with determination.
    Losing ur life to some rascals isnt worth it.

#my thots

25. As in dis is so so sad. Can't believe pple can descend 2 dis level of barbarism. MRA AAY

26. As in dis is so so sad. Can't believe pple can descend 2 dis level of barbarism. MRA AAY

27. They look like dey haven't seen food from supermarket b4!
    Longthroats!
    Ok what if we r related by lobola? Wud u chase us too?

28. Very sad,they should all return home

29. see them lazy thieves looting and reaping from where they did not sow

30. To think I had mad love for S.A n it's citizens maybe because of d Mandela factor. I used to dream of starring in isidingo n generations growing up. Ìts so sad. 😐

31. Nawa ooo, Blacks maltreating Blacks

32. What are their leaders saying ?
    Can't they call their people to order ?

So unfair treatment !
    Soooooo angry for this barbaric act.

33. Make they leave their country with their hiv jare,my only fear be say make they.no carry hiv come home o.the fear of South Africa returnee is the beginning of wisdom

34. This is so sad! The thing is, it's easy for us all to say come bck home, come back home! I know lives matter in this instance but some people have practically lived there for so many years, created a livelihood, family etc and its so hard to just up and leave. If they return, would we the same people shouting come back home, feed them, clothe them, give them jobs and shelter??
    The question is, what is the south African government doing about all this? These ignorant, illiterate people need to understand that we are in a phase in the world where no country is exclusive to only the citizens. There is no country in the world where there are no foreigners.
    They say the foreigners are taking their jobs but what are the south Africans doing wrong that they can't get jobs, why are their women drawn to foreigners? It's like the lazy brits always complaining that immigrants are taking their jobs but these lazy gits sit on their asses everyday watching ratchet tv and claiming benefits whilst the immigrant is out there hustling! No one will hold your hand and give you a job whether you're a citizen of that country or not! You need to work hard for that so the South Africans better check that!

35. It's getting eerily real. If my History is correct, I believe we(Nigeria) dis something similar to Ghana. This is a call for us as a country to sit up and build so that our citizens won't be leaving home for 'greener pastures'.

36. Foreigners they claim are taking their jobs. If there were hard-working enough, why won't they have the jobs themselves. Primitive people. See how they are looting. Hungry people. With this kind of pictures here, who in his or her right senses will want to employ lazybones. Mandela will surely be crying wherever he is. Let them keep bringing down their economy. When it gets so bad, they will start crying out for foreign aids.

37. Shameless people. I wish Nelson Mandela was not a South African.

38. May God take control of the situation.

39. I'm Abumere Carolina from Bahamas (Nassau), I'm giving a testimony about Dr. Oraede, I was diagnosed with HIV, I couldn't bear the shame, i surfed the internet whole day trying to look for a possible cure for HIV until i saw some comments about Dr. Oraede, I was a bit sceptical, I thought within myself, "why is he not on Papers and on TV's?" I collect his email address and contacted him, he guided, I asked for solutions he started the remedies for my health, he sent me the medicine via a courier service and I received it a week after he sent it, I took the medicine as prescribed by him! 14 days after taking the medicine he asked me to go for check-up and I was cured okay!!! Contact him through dr.oraedespellhome@hotmail.com, or call +2349038604218. www.dr-oraede.webs.com...

40. HIV VIRUS is a terrible disease, if not for my Husband and the help of great Dr. Godsent my life would have been a mess! I was diagnosed with HIV VIRUS in 2001, my husband encouraged me, and told me not to lose hope, I manage to give birth to a baby Boy who was free from the disease, and my Husband was always there for me! One day he came to me and told me that he have found a man who can cure me. Base on scientist, they said there is no cure for HIV; he told me that he has seen many testimonies about him on the internet. We decided to contact him, we filled his Herbal home form, and he asked us to buy some items which we did! Three days later he asked me to go for HIV test, faithfully I went to do the Test, Lo and Behold, I was cured, the virus was not found in my Body... My Dear Husband and my Father Dr. Godsent, God will surely bless the both of you, till the end of time, in Jesus name.. He can as well cure diseases like Herpes, Hepa B. Cancer, or any type of diease. kindly contact him with his Email: dryareherbalcurehome@gmail.com or you can reach him on his mobile phone on +2348164653711