Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Prosecutors Drop Murder Charges Against 15-year-old Child-Bride

Wednesday, May 20, 2015

Prosecutors Drop Murder Charges Against 15-year-old Child-Bride

Prosecutors in Kano on Wednesday withdrew charges of murder brought against a 15-year-old girl accused of using rat poison to kill a 35-year-old man she was married to.

The lead Prosecutor, Lamido Abba Soron-Dinki requested the state the High Court in Gezawa, Kano State, to terminate the case of culpable homicide against Wasila Tasi’u”, who was 14 when she was married to Umar Sani.
“With a heavy heart, I apply that the accused be discharged,” he added

AFP reports that legal sources in Kano had confided in it that Nigeria has been facing pressure to drop the case which has angered rights activists.

Dailypost reportage.

Good news but i hope other Child brides will not follow suit hoping for same.

48 comments:

1. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    Wow... Congrats....

1. Yiiiiiiipeeee! I'm happy for her.

2. Fantastic. She's just a lucky child. If they had followed suit she wouldn't have been left off without a lesser charge at least, even if she wasn't charged with first degree murder. She should thank her stars

2. I'm happy for her, but she should be punished no matter how light the sentence, even kids are trained to know hitting another kid or stabbing another with pencil is bad.
    She was 13 agreed, but at 13 she could tell between good and bad, she did what she did purposely, for that she should be given some punishment. My take.
    It's even for her own good, this man was someone's father, husband, he might be a beast to some but what he did was acceptable where's he's from, they are bound to be people with grievances, settling out of court or dropping charges doesn't make her Safe too.

1. I'm sure she was pushed by the circumstances surrounding her. I dunno how she fared in his home but I agree with you on letting her be punished.

2. @anonymous, ur mother bitch I guess????

Olofo oloriburuku !!!

3. I'm not one to insult on social media but darling Nuvi, common sense eludes you!

4. Mrs D I understand how she could have felt but killing the man was too extreme, she should have killed her greedy Parents that married her off instead. I'm just happy she's missed capital Punishment sha.

5. Nuvi, how could she have killed her parents? She wasn't living with them anymore. If she did, do you think she would have been pardoned? Everybody including you would be saying something completely different now. Plus, her mother probably doesn't know any better as she's probably a child and possibly still a child herself. The men are the ones who engage in this dastardly acts/culture against females. And you saying "what he did was acceptable where he's from" infuriates me. I can't belive another human being would say such. Those children are being forced to engage in sexual acts that their bodies are not ready for. Do you know how painful that is? Both physically and emotionally. Can you imagine that kind of pain? Now imagine you have to endure it for years to come, until you're actually old enough for it but then the man would move on to another under-aged girl. And there's no one to help you out of the daily physical and emotional turture. Everybody's body is built differently, some adults find sex painful even though they're developed enough for it, now imagine a child who isn't. Outside the torturous bedroom, now imagine the mean treatment she would be getting from the jealous older ex-child bride wives (who are probably also victims, Themselves. There must have been no escape for the poor girl.... Don't make daft and insensitive comments unless you've walked a mile in people's shoes. The least you can do is just imagine their plight.

3. Thank God
    I hope other child wives will follow in her footstep and end their abuse and molestation.

4. Thank God, let's just hope others don't follow suit like those trekkers

5. Thank God, let's just hope others don't follow suit like those trekkers

6. Common sense prevailed at last!

7. Good news!! A 35yr old man marrying a 14yr old?? For what na?? Only God knows the kind of torture she must have gone thru to make her murder him.. Make the man to tell baba God why of all the plenty matured girls looking for husbands, he chose a 14yr old who obviously doesn't want him.

8. Good news!! A 35yr old man marrying a 14yr old?? For what na?? Only God knows the kind of torture she must have gone thru to make her murder him.. Make the man to tell baba God why of all the plenty matured girls looking for husbands, he chose a 14yr old who obviously doesn't want him.

9. Oh thank God!! This is good news.

10. Thanking God for her, it's child abuse joor! He deserves to die abeg

11. The poor lady got married against her will at age 14, I hail her courage sef.

1. Lady ke? She is a child. A 14yr old kid is no lady just yet.

12. But other north men will marry women who are ready for marriage not child bride

13. It's better joor, dey should keep marrying children

14. These child brides have to take their destiny in their own hands.These randy old men will never allow them to grow up b4 wifing them.Thank God rat poison is very cheap.

15. I hope so. anyway good for her. hope she will be taking to counselling and made to live with her parents.

spoiling young girls future with marraige, hausa people.

16. Such a relief! I hope she doesn't do this ever again.

17. I'm happy for her but her life will be in danger now. I really do hope the human right organization has a plan for her and not abandon her to roam the street

1. That's true o,so that some aggrieved persons dnt kill her

2. My thoughts exactly. She should be relocated. I trust we'll hear the U.S has given her refuge soon. They'll make a book of her story as well.

18. I am so happy to hear this! Thank you Lord and to all the activists. Please, the girl should be protected.

19. She's a child bride. 14yrs married to a 35yrs. 21yrs age difference. That's called child abuse.
    What will one call the marriage of e.g Dabota Lawson, Caro Danjuma and the newest Mrs Comrade? Ancestor's Bride. Its also called Child abuse

1. Nne those ones are not child abuse. At least the ladies u mentioned above are all above 18 and are consenting adults. I just see this girl's case as a case of a woman who killed a man that raped her.

2. These people you mentioned are adults.

3. Its not the age difference, its the fact that she is just 14 years old. If she was 18, then it wouldn't have been an issue.

4. How can u call that of Caro nd Dabota child abuse? They are above 18 years

5. @Adaelue, u are so funny. Dabota, Caro and Lara are grown ups.

20. Thank God she is free now but hope she won't think its OK o. Its all good sha.

21. She should be rehabilitated and taken far away from her state. Poor child

22. Really happy for d little gal

23. This is good news. Let the girl go home and get a proper childhood please. Jesus! Marrying a 14 years old child to an uncircumcised man of 35 years, the pain! What does she know about marriage or sex or having a baby or keeping a home or loving your husband. Even at that age I wasn't allowed to have a boyfriend much less being married off to someone. Some of these guys should be fucked the ass with no lubrication to understand the gravity of the pain both mental, physical and emotional this poor little child went through. I do sincerely hope provisions for her safety and opportunities for a better life is made available to her. Such dastardly act by very stupid animals, and her parents should be flogged too. Next time, stop promising your daughter to someone or dashing her out like a cheap gift. This whole thing makes me sick to my stomach.