Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Etcetera Says ''God Won’t Lsten To Nigerian Songs''

Saturday, July 25, 2015

Etcetera Says ''God Won’t Lsten To Nigerian Songs''

“Shoki hey hey Shoki!” cries a voice from the radio to the beat of a nerve-wracking pandemonium that seems designed to drive you insane.
A quick flick of the dial and “Shakiti bobo” is playing. The worse thing is that the raucous noise emitted by the artiste is no match for the loud, odious din coming from the beat. The lyrics are completely lost – which may not be regrettable to some – but the whole tumult sounds more like bad static than music.

I tuned the dial again. This time it was Olamide screaming “VANESSA VANESSA.”
As the last strains of the song died away, the OAP cheerfully and enthusiastically breaks in, “Yes, that’s for all you listeners out there. That’s the way we do it right here at your cool station. We personalise our playlist to make you feel cool.”

Cool kor, cooler ni…. I felt like telling the OAP that his choice of songs made me feel SICK.
This is simply today’s Nigerian music! Something is terribly WRONG with it! Yet millions around the country – especially the young people – listen to it by the hour. WHY?
What is there about this music that is so gripping? How can something so meaningless hold millions under its spell? Why does it serve as a common denominator – as “the tie that binds” – for so many youths?

Judging from how and what they’re saying and singing, it is easy to conclude that some of these artistes should be taken for mental evaluation! Music mirrors our emotions; it reflects our thoughts; it echoes our activities – it shows us the way we really ARE!

Most Nigerian artistes are confused and bewildered – or they wouldn’t sing songs about not being able to tell right from wrong, or songs which purposely don’t say or mean anything, or which try only to “embody an emotional state that points indirectly to marijuana and crazy sex positions.”

Music – just like other forms of art – is like a social barometer. A strong and healthy society produces dynamic and stimulating music; a diseased and decaying society produces sick and decadent music.
It’s a simple matter of cause and effect!
This is now a SICK SOCIETY and, therefore, it produces SICK MUSIC. It’s just that simple! Both parents and the young people are to blame. My point is, we all don’t have to be a part of this sick society – or its sick music.

Even talking about today’s gospel songs, many are lacking in purpose and quality. The gospel singers are forgetting that God believes in QUALITY. Look at the universe He created! He also believes in human improvement and GROWTH. “Become ye therefore perfect” (Matt. 5:48) and “Grow in grace and knowledge” (II Pet. 3:18), He commands.
God wants His people to grow in the right kind of culture – the right kind of appreciation for the finer things in life. He says that mature Christians are “those who by reason of use have their senses exercised to DISCERN both good and evil” (Heb. 5:14).

God wants us to EXERCISE our five physical senses. He wants us to learn what the true values for the enjoyment of the senses are. One of these senses is hearing. And one of the ways we need to exercise our hearing sense is in the appreciation of quality music. Quality in music involves, first of all, the way it is composed or arranged. Secondly, it involves how the music is performed. And thirdly, the setting (the place and occasion) in which the music is heard.

You attend a concert only to see artistes with a hodgepodge of idiotic noise played from a CD and the audience seated at round tables like they are in a canteen, screaming with mouthful of small chops and ‘samosas’ as every new song is introduced by the performer. What utter nonsense! What is WRONG with us? How did we completely lose our sense of value regarding music? Do we even know the purpose of music?

A mother justifies her daughter who’s listening to an obscene song by saying, “If you listen to the words of that one, it’s pretty rough. But it has a real good beat. My daughter says she doesn’t pay any attention to the words anyway.” Are we really that naïve? What erroneous reasoning! Go along with the crowd – even if the crowd is on the way to suffering, misery, pain, extinction? Do we think that these songs have no part in the tidal wave of promiscuity, venereal disease, illegitimate babies that are all over the country today? If you are one of those who like today’s Naija music, you ought to honestly and truthfully ask yourself WHY.

Punch cullage

After reading this..just before you start asking yourself WHY,please take several seats and try not to cuss out.

*chewing bitter kola*

73 comments:

1. Who bless dem with d talents? Mst everyone be don moen? Abeg make he park well.

1. Nor mind am.
      Etcetera , It's called "entertainment" not song ministration for God's glory

2. Etc na so oh. Its a sad situation.

3. Says extera the failed musician! Its paining you that your music isn't known yea? Sorry

4. Those kinda music is what most Nigerians like, that's why musicians make such music
      Most times I'm not in the mood for those naija music noise unless I'm in the club, then as for the lyrics?...that one na story for another day
      That's why 2face remains my favorite artiste

I no dey use MB download naija music for my phone
      I'm all into Lana del rey,sia,yanni and all of them weird singers

5. He should get out please..!

6. Wow, am shocked, see ETC backing up his piece with scriptures?? Orisirisi.

But when he wrote on men being wired to cheat he forgot about God and scriptures.

Whilst I agree that some of these songs are crap, I imagine what the world will be if we had to listen to Fred Hammond, Timi Dakolo, Cece winans and the likes only, it will be one hell of a boring life.

My mood dictates the kind of music I listen to and as long as the rhythm is good and the song is not lewd am good to go.

Whirlwind

1. wow! It will be sad with dis guy. He cheats, he doesnt listen to Naija hip hop etc damn! I pity his wife. Life will be boring + she will be depressed.

2. Oh and i forgot etc is a failed artist... Probably vexed at how much these guys make with their so called nonsense. lol. Take a chill pill etc!

3. Lol @ 'nerve-wracking pandemonium designed to drive you insane'.
      And what was he singing in his time?

Click my name for all your celebration cakes and cupcakes, cheers

3. Poor man just expressing himself by showing how frustrated he is.
    One day we will hear
    ETC HANGS HIMSELF DUE TO DEPRESSION
    thanks*

1. You will hang yourself poor m-aime

2. Guys is so sick.. no wonder he so failed.. May God help him.

3. Why did you say such a horrible thing?

4. Becoz d guy is a frustrated attention seeker. He should keep his thoughts to himself, dey are not helping. D way he presents his stuffs makes me hate him more.

4. Etcetera
    God pass you
    You talk too much

5. Stella pls stop pulishing his articles.pouring sans sand inside peoples garri

6. *drinking my zobo and listening to MY WOMAN MY EVERYTHING *

7. So true!!...

I don't even allow my children to watch those musical videos too...
    All of them sing nonsense except some few ones...

8. Etc,
    guy take a chill pillon this subject.

No be everything God go smile to but we till do them anyway.

People do all sorts. Baby mamas everywhere, ritualist and kidnappers, hoes all over making money the filthy way...
    U think God is gonna smile to those? But these people still do it anyway.

Now naija songs pump my blood level.
    Olamide, patoranking and phyno's songs gives me bad ass orgasm.
    Came back from d club ds morning, practically f**ked hubby on the dancefloor cos naija beats plus liquour made me crazy.

So dude! Hold it! It's not about sentiments, it's about crazy mad ass fun these songs provide.

1. I already told him to down dere.hehehehehe

2. * sprinkles holy water and annointing oil on you*

Hian

Whirlwind

3. Gbam 1000x Bloglord! Mwuah 4 dat comment . leave d frustrated mofo. Onye owu

9. If u knew soo much about music,u would have bn dere,MAKING it! And not here writing and criticizing everything! Every damn thing!

I Enjoy ur write-ups,Buh dis right here is without content.
    There are different genres of Music.Dere is hip-hop,dere is Gospel,dere is Wazobia,dere is Egwu Ekpeli and so on and so forth...So leave "beer-parlour music" for samosa and buns-eating,beer-drinking men.

Etcetra,Etcetra,u must hv bn a Trouble-maker as a child...Lolz

1. Why always write 'but' as 'buh'? It's not like you are trying to abbreviate, it's the same 3 letters you will still type. Are you retarded?

2. Buhahahahaha @Egwu ekpeli.
      Biko give example!

3. Princess Scheherazade25 July 2015 at 17:22

I agree with him to a very small extent, a lot of Nigerian music nowadays lacks depth, but then it's not just Nigerian music, it's music from all over the world.

Nevertheless, there are still a good number of artistes, in Nigeria and world over, churning out songs with good lyrics, messages and beats.

I don't get the part about God not smiling down at Nigerian music though, does he think God smiles down at marital infidelity, which he so blatantly supported and made pathetic attempts to defend a few days back? All of a sudden, he's become a God pleaser.

By the way, what's with the reference to samosa and small chops, shouldn't people eat at a concert? Or does he not just have anything concrete to say/ write? This write up is quite empty, no weight to it.

Etc, abeg rest. Na pepper eye de worry you.
      Somebody offer this man a profitable day job please.

4. @ Ollie baby,lemme sing one for u:
      Nna mu Eze akwata mu enyi (2ice)
      Nwa Mbe,isi na ikwata onye?
      Asi mu ana Ya kpulu enyi,dulu enyi
      Odi ka asi na akwata mu enyi(2ice)

Okwa enyi ga abu isi oche(2ice)
      Enyi na-aga,na eso mu gi n'azu....

@Princess,dont mind d man o jare.
      I get someone bn critical Buh His own is just way too much! And hé comes off as "deeply offended" Trying to force His opinions down people's throats. And very bitter too.

Chill Etc baby!

5. Buhahahaha......lolz SDK bloggers go kill me oooooo.....chai . thumbs u d general's wife.

10. Once again etc,you've driven home a very good point.
    I think I'm beginning to like you, that's if you don't go rogue again.
    Naija music is crass, I barely have time for it.well,save for phyno and flavour cos they are my boys from tha hood.
    But come oo,etc, you kno u are a failed artist,could this writeup be fuelled by envy?
    Either way,I love this!
    Off to listen to some andrea bocelli and luciano pavarotti.
    Its classical saturday for me.

11. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    I cant read this epistle abeg...

12. He totally got dis one wrong
    This one was both wrong and dry. Couldn't read past a few sentences. If he made sense later, abeg let me know.

1. He did not, don't bother

2. Very very dry.

Guy abeg pick a better struggle.

13. Most of the Nigerian songs re really meaningless its the beats that makes ppl dance to them, that's why they fade away easily, anyway I don't even have time for most of these Nigerian music. Gospel music all the way

14. Its true tho, most nigerian songs r meaningless they just hv exciting beats

15. This wud hv been easier to swallow if ETC isnt a failed NIGERIAN ARTISTE.
    I think he's trying to stay in the limelight

16. Ok lets do rock or countrymusic ... That's why ur name is etc.. yes u r ETC ..retard!

17. I thought he was a musician? He didn't make reference to his songs so that we can understand good music.

18. Am a new blog visitor. *dancing shhoki*

19. Am a new blog visitor *dancing shoki*

20. This One keeps saying trash all the time.....oloshe

21. ETC, ETC, ETC!!! How many times did I call u?

22. @ I felt like telling the OAP that his choice of songs made me feel SICK,why didn't you?

23. Etcetra

{:;'!-i+_*#/:
    ,;_i-o_*#?.
    @$."+_-!
    ?:,!-+.!:--

Dats how u make me feel

Diarrhea of d mouth= ETC

24. OGA ETC
    I smell jealousy, please shut the fuck up.
    Guy you too talk, let our artiste be. Be here whining while them making their billions.

Btw, Nigerian music helps me give my DH a good BJ.

*datrudegirl*

25. To say God won't listen to Nigerian songs is all fallacy. Tope Alabi, Monique, Asa, Nneka, Cobhams and many others churn out good inspiring songs that make God dwell on our praises.

Shakiti Bobo is a reality song laced with a dance groovy vibes and rhythmic beats. Whether you like it or not, that song topped charts across MTV base, Sound City, and other platforms.

Olamide, as we all know, rep street. He is the voice of the street, and when there is an issue he always wants to clear it. He used the song to clear the rumour peddled about his success to stardom.

Music is more appealing when it has good vibes and rhythmic beats. Yes, those songs may be lacking everything in context but can't deny a fact that they are enchanting- songs that make you want to dance and forget your sorrow.

1. Olusoji I dey shakiti bobo with you. His songs are repping the streets, very creative guy. ETC please leave Olumide for me ooo.

26. True talk. Let the hating and cussing begin.

27. Actually, I agree with him to some extent.
    I love anything rap,but you can't see those shakiti bobo and their likes,on my phone.
    Yeah, most of them have good beats,but their contents are either not making sense, or vulgar.
    Not that I don't listen to secular songs,but if they don't make sense, I don't.

Thankfully, I found out about Lecrae and Flame, and that way,i listen to uplifting gospel songs, with hip hop beats in them.
    It's a win win for me.

28. He's absolutely correct. I find myself downloading and playing music of the 1980's like ABBA bc Nigerian artists have nothing to offer. The only Nigerian song that really caught my attention this year is "Aww' by Dija. Others are 'noise''. ETC talks too much but I won't hesitate to commend him when he speaks the truth

29. Abeg make e leave them oh. Na club banger people dey find. Shakitibobo and co. It's to dance away your sorrow. If you no like am, change the channel bro. I guess we should all be listening to your last music of 19kiridim about the thief in the government house. ade sense then, but we could all fall asleep listening to it.

30. Etcetera your artistes / writer genres is boundless. Your write up & sheer command of the English grammar is Mesmerising! I've researched a bit about you, though controversial yet captivating & addictive. I'm a fan. Can't get enough of you.

31. Mind your business etc. it is not your business, we like it like that and they are making money, as music no Favour you again leave the people it favors. Oniranu oshi.

32. When did you become God to know that he wont listen to Nigerian songs?
    So God wont listen to the likes of Lara George,frank Edwards and the rest of them?
    Nawa oooo

33. Most Nigerian songs are crappy lyrics laced with good rhythm and beats.

Your child can't learn much from them cos of the wrong and heavily sexualized or violent messages most times.

Makes me remember my childhood. There was good beats then and the lyrics were wholesome. They had their own groove too.

The few ones we considered vulgar then sound like gospel songs compared to many we hear nowadays.

And you say the world is not coming to an end?

34. Nwunye Korks biko I can't see my comment

35. Presdani mummy26 July 2015 at 01:41

Ect. D drama king

36. Stella jide amu, where are me comments? Me bexing already , like my aboki friend take talk am. Hapi Sunday all

37. Etc, 1) when did God appoint you his mouth piece? 2) if you know so much abt music why are u here writing? 3) with some of your sinful write ups, is God listening to you neither? 4)samosa is a type of small chops, why same smallchops and samosa? Smh.