Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: PDP Claim That Funds Disbursed To States Came From Jonathan's Savings Is False,Banal And Ludicrous

Wednesday, July 08, 2015

PDP Claim That Funds Disbursed To States Came From Jonathan's Savings Is False,Banal And Ludicrous

STATE HOUSE PRESS RELEASE

PDP CLAIM THAT FUNDS DISBURSED TO STATES CAME FROM JONATHAN'S SAVINGS IS FALSE, BANAL AND LUDICROUS

The Presidency deplores the attempt by the PDP and its agents to create an unnecessary controversy over the well-intentioned effort by President Muhammadu Buhari to give some relief to state governments and long-suffering public sector workers.

We also reject the banal and ludicrous demand by the PDP Spokesman, Olisa Metuh that the PDP Government which was ousted by Nigerians  at the last general elections for running the country aground,  be given some credit for "saving" the funds that were disbursed as part of the intervention package approved by President Buhari.

Mr. Metuh's claim that a significant amount of the funds came from savings accumulated in the Excess Crude Account and handed over to the Buhari Administration is completely false and deliberately intended to mislead the public.
As we clearly stated yesterday, the funds approved by President Buhari for sharing to the three tiers of government on Monday came entirely from dividends and taxes paid to the Federation Account by the Nigerian Liquefied Natural Gas Company (NLNG), not from the Excess Crude Account.

The disbursed NLNG dividends and taxes  were paid into the Federation Account in June this year and confirmed by the Central Bank's Statement to the Federal Government on July 7, 2015. The funds cannot therefore be considered "savings" by the Jonathan Administration which left office in May, 2015, as disingenuously claimed by Mr. Metuh.

Instead of being repeatedly impugned and castigated by the PDP and its agents for honestly telling Nigerians that the nation's treasury  has been immensely depleted and its resources looted or squandered under previous administrations, President Buhari should be commended for the openness, transparency and accountability which he has now brought to the management of national funds.

It was in keeping with that disposition, that the President promptly disclosed the accrual of the NLNG dividends and taxes to the Federation Account at his recent meeting with State Governors and approved the convening of a special session of the FAAC to share it.

As a state governor who was present at the meeting remarked, under past administrations, the states never had the benefit of such disclosures.
Mr. Metuh and others who now ungratefully see Monday's disbursement of the NLNG proceeds as their  "legitimate" earnings  and not a "bailout" from the Federal Government may wish to tell Nigerians if such earnings were ever disclosed by the PDP Federal Government and paid to the states in the past.

The public may also wish to note that the Buhari Administration itself has never referred to the actions which it has taken to ease the current financial difficulties of states as a "bailout".

30 comments:

1. Wat we gon believe now???
    * Julibel Emerald Oliodu * * *

2. Abeg, we no get time for all these House wives' tale. Make una give us d change as promised, no time to waste

3. What does it matter who's administration the money came from ? The point is the money belongs to Nigeria and not Buhari or Jonathan! I'm getting tired of this game of charades between APC and PDP. They should both go mute so we can focus on more important issues. In reality , PDP has been squandering the dividends and taxes from NLNG for years but APC should not claim that the money came from their administration either. Taxes are paid at the end of a tax year and if those funds were accrued as the report above has stated, then the money accrued during Jonathan's administration. Therefore it came from Jonathan's administration. Now that we've establish that fact can we move on and focus on making Nigeria a better place ? Nigeria's money neither belongs to PDP or APC so they should both stop acting like they're doing the people a favour by paying them their salaries from taxes paid by the same people! These politicians take us for granted in this country . Arrrghh ! I can't deal !

4. The look on Buhari's face sha...Lol

5. Dis Buhari face no be here o!

6. PDP shld know dat daily issuing of statements castigating the present administration will not get them to aso rock in 2019. There are more tactical and intelligent ways of playing opposition.

7. Na today abeg make will hear something better.dis una old mallam president make una pray make he last for dis 4 years

8. We need action and get the money not all this abeg

9. Baba go slow i beg face front and start working for Nigerians.!!! Your excuses don dey too much!!!

10. Nonsense and ingredients

11. Accusations and counter accusations.

12. APC do your work and leave PDP alone with their opposition. It's normal for them to oppose. Just work and they'll stop. Haba!!! APC and clueless

1. So they should allow them to keep telling lies shey? Igbo people are many on this blog because they only go where awoof abound so I'm not surprised at the many retarded comments on this post. Inability to use the brain effectively and not reasoning beyond tribal bias has always been the case with igbo's.
      If this money was there, why didn't Jonathan use it to settle the salaries? Especially with the amount of suffering people were going through.

13. OK. Such a huge amount of money was realized by the Buhari govt within one month, So we should expect them to always make that same amount every month.
    We are patiently waiting. He will surely have more than enough money to spend more than any other government before him.

14. This change has got to be real!since I grew up to know what governance means,i have never heard any serving president declare money they got.infact they make us believe pple don't pay taxes,nothing comes to d govt but expenses!and like they are just suffering to take care of d citizens with the widow's mite they claim to have,so we should be grateful for d half way fulfilled promises and incomplete projects,unto them sef don try as money no dey.smh.
    Now this is just part of d money,we already have almost half a billion,not to talk of other money generating units like customs,FIRS,ports authority,lands,revenues from excess crude.etc etc!Baba is beginning to let us see this country is blessed enuf to cater for everyone.no wonder these mofos kept stealing and d money never got finished.
    God of mercy!nigeria go better.
    #God bless the federal republic of naija#
    #God bless the regime of d pple's general #

15. The APC govt. should say whatever makes them sleep well at night. There is nothing new.
    OK. Let me address this :
    @Precious Ibik, today exactly at 10:04 am, in the post about ACTOR Toyin Aimakun celebrating her 2nd wedding anniversary.
    U said u saw my comment in "Rant" begging for money.
    Please,what is the date of the Rant? And what was the time of my comment?
    Are you mentally ok? How do you expect a money maker to ask the masses for money?
    Please, don't spoil my hard earned reputation. Thank you .

16. Smh....just start working cz we all know it came from Jonathans savings

17. What reputation are you talkiing about @money maker. am sure you are one of the people that hussle for recharge cards.

Reputation on fat women.

18. All na our money. All I know is there are more cash to be spent.

19. All na our money. All I know is there are more cash to be spent.

20. All na our money. All I know is there are more cash to be spent.