Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: DSTV Is Exploiting Nigerians And Something Has To Be Done AboutI It

Tuesday, August 11, 2015

DSTV Is Exploiting Nigerians And Something Has To Be Done AboutI It

Please if you work at DSTV or know anyone who does,show them this post.They are free to respond if they feel that this is a wrong report

''Hi Stella,

I would very much like for you to post this on your blog and for my fellow Nigerians who like myself, feel like we have had enough of dstv using their autonomy (still wondering how a foreign company got this much power) to bully us. 

They (dstv) first and foremost increased the subscription rates and violated court injunction to revert the charges pending a court hearing. After which they tendered an explanation for the reason for this increment, sighting the new TV rights deal signed by Skysports and BT sports for viewing the English premier league. I and many other premier league lovers accepted this and accepted to pay the new rates with due diligence thinking that when the new season started we would be treated our EPL as usual. I paid the new rate of N9,800 (previously N7,850) in preparation for the new season.

Fast forward august 8, at 12:30 I put on my generator, cracked my fingers, crossed my legs and was expecting to watch Manchester united's  first game of the season only to be dealt a sucker punch, supersports3 who usually shows such games were viewing a football league game and supersports5 were the ones showing the united game. I was devastated and ranted for a bit. But I thought to myself that this was only a mistake and would be rectified by the time Chelsea was to play at 5:30. Needless to say that the same happened and my worst fears had been confirmed.

I called the dstv customer care and the agent told me that the rules had been changed and that in his words 'SS5 would now show the high profile games'. He said further that to view these games I would have to upgrade to the premium bouquet. You needed to see me shouting at the poor guy.

DSTV without informing anyone duped unsuspecting customers into firstly paying the new rates and secondly, switching the important games to a new channel that is unavailable on the contact plus plan (after paying N9,800).
My people after paying N9,800 you cannot get to watch anything. Are we going to keep fold our arms and allow these people do to us what they cannot do in their country. It is high time we did something about these bullies who want to use their monopoly to bring us to our knees. 

This is something we have to do ourselves because the government officials are too busy stealing money to notice the injustices we suffer at the hands of the likes of DSTV. 

I suggest that those who were defrauded should go to the various places where they made payments and seek refunds, as we are not getting value for our hard earned money. I and many other Nigerians are still open to any better suggestions on how to tackle this bully called DSTV''.

Sent in by....
Angry Blog visitor Gregory

Whats your take on this people?

163 comments:

1. This report is very true. Everyone complains even on twitter an handle @boycottDStV has been opened. Gotv is not differnt too. Nothing exciting anymore. Even African Magic is full of annoying, tummy churning movies. What can we do? Darsat, hitv and even Star times are not better. Consat may be better but I guess it will take time.

2. My brother my hubby (die hard Arsenal fan)was reduced to tears last Saturday after suffering in Lag ibadan traffic just to get home and watch d match. I felt for Him. It's such a shame that nothing will be done. The customer care agent he called told him to pay #6000 extra to watch matches for four weekends! 13980k for just a month! Can you imagine. I hope dey do something quickly about ds before something do them. Man United fan forever

3. Most time i wonder wat happened to our own HiTv......
      i remember vividly the competition that almost erupted amongst "em before the went into extinction. ....

with their useless and annoying scanning decoder....
      ...abi dem use jass on us ?

Ihe nkea gwukwara m ike hoooohaaaaa

4. I use star times n am pretty ok with it.
      Dstv guys are thieves

5. Greg you write really well...
      it's been long I read a well written piece like this.
      as for Dstv, they're bunch of a crazy lot.

6. Wow.that's to say my SIL is the bomb.we have both gotv n dstv all bought by her n d monthly subscription paid fully by her with out missing dates.she does same for all family members including their own.I still look out for what to pay her back with .she's very kind.one in a million.n she does same for my brother cos according to her,he.s an only son and had to marry early.n we all has married off leaving him behind.hmmmm Pple r suffering oh.dstv easy of.but Stella pls I can't go to her with this make she no change mind.I no fit shout

7. The solution is to stop patronizing them. If you and all those complaining stop renewing any of the bouquets( even the cheapest package) for 6 months, dstv will be the one begging you to pay 4k for all the channels.

2. Greg i feel your pain. My elder brother has complained about same situation. D lovers of football are going cray for this wickedness. I thought it was only us that noticed sef. Is there really something they can do about it?

1. You won't believe in their country is pay as u use service, meaning if u subscribe and don't use it it wil still be there, but here if u subscribe and travel when u come back ur subscription would have finished and u wil pay again despite the fact that u didn't even use it. Mtcheeew I blame the fact no Nigerian has been able to come out and compete with this thieves if not they won't sit up.

2. Dstv are smart criminals. They're really annoying me that I decided not to pay for almost a month now and when one of their agents called my line last week, immediately he said "my name is... From Multichoice", I just cut him short and said sorry the owner of the fone is unavailable. I hate them now so much cos despite the new rate, it's all trash. Why should I waste my money on trash? Abeg make dem shift bo

3. Lmao@Delta Iyabo..but na u go suffer am, that's the annoying bit.. cos if u don't pay, na to watch ceiling sure pass. Serious boredom. But that's why they take advantage of us. I'm not a TV person. All I watch is the news.. if I have channels tv, CNN, reality TV, and of course, African magic.. Ehn I'm good to go. Na my oga dey watch sports so.. I no send them.

3. Dstv is really getting annoying some many channels now have 1&2, why did they separate the channels? Bet used to be just 1 channel now its bet 1&2.why??? They cut you off 2 days before your subscription expires. We need a worthy competitor

1. Hahaha I feel ur pain

Well...4most of us that get to do d premium package regardless were happy wv d change cos despite the extortion,u have a sense of fulfillment that ur money didn't go down d drain entirely.

I wonder y people bother wv compact plus anyway,if u can cough out more dan 9k,y not just pay for d premium package.

I watched d match and was surprise to see my neighbour and his friends asking to come watch d match in my room dt his wasn't showing it

2. That's a very arrogant and proud statement to make ma'am.

3. They av a competitor o. It's active decoder. To me it's a lot better dan dstv.

4. Idiot. Swear it's not access u pay for.

5. Yea that bet 1 and 2 got me bad! I immediately stopped subscribing!!! Still looking out for a better alternative. Aint upgrading shit!

4. Stella, it is true o. Even my football freak brothers are complaining about it.

*Nonny*

5. Abeg, let's hit the streets. Gotv increased our subscription too without any change in their services.

Yes, anonys, I'm poor. Its gotv I can afford. Any other thing u want to say?

1. You are not poor. I also view gotv.

2. My dear Gotv sister. Na telemundo and Sony entertainment sure pass o. Hehehe.

3. Lol...pls hit the street alone on our behalf.

4. Am not a soccer fan. I watch Z-World, Sony Ent and BET. If I no see better thing watch, I put in my DAD player.

Na GOTV I dey use abeg!

5. Am not a soccer fan. I watch Sony Ent, Z-World and BET channels.
      Na GOTV I dey use abeg. I don't mind the protest though!

6. That's y my brothers at alaba boycotted them and people now buy Q-sat for 13k and u choose d line more strong in ur area eg MTN and just recharge 200 and u will be able to view all the d DSTVNG channels.

Is just that most times it hangs Bcos of network ish.

6. He is very right. DSTV does not give its customers value for their money. They are very unprofessional!!

7. Its beginning to seem like DSTV is being backed by political powers, hence the silence from government.
    Its a sad situation but the saddest part of it all is that, we do not work in one accord in this country.
    If some Nigerians decide to boycott DSTV, barricade their offices and shut them down completely, some other people would start asking what would become of Nigerians that work there, whether they should now die of hunger or nah...
    Drastic change demands drastic actions, until then, we would continue to suffer extortion from all these firms and their tricks.

8. DSTV, e don do lah.

Everyone is complaining about the fleecing of Nigerians,but they don't give a f**k.

Abi because they feel there's no competition?

Well, it's just a matter of time, before this nonsense ends.

Same goes for Glo.

Serving shitty network signal and not doing anything about it. Seeing a decent H is a miracle.

Y'all should chill.

Very soon,it'll be only the employees and ambassadors, that'll be using Glo.

*hiss*

1. Emmmm my glo fast oooo...I mean I open any site faster Dan wen I use mtn...only Etisalat is better dan glo if u ask me..bt maybe it's Ur location

2. Hmmmm

Not only my location o

I know of two people from other locations.

If location is the problem, they should do something about it, or cease providing to those places lah.

Life no dey that hard....lol

3. Same with me. My glo network has been disappointing. Even my friends and hubby are all complaining about theirs.

9. When they first increased the rate, some people complained while others said it's poverty that is worrying dem. Now see the outcome

10. Dis south Africans are very wicked. Dat is what M.T.N did until GLO came to our rescue with their per second billing. NDI OBIAKPO. We have suffered ib Naija

1. I'm not interested in their frigging per second billing.

They should just give people good network signal.

11. Is it that no body can check these people? Or the government is involved? I doubt if DSTV can single handedly make law and implement it without check.
    Uthman Saheed's blog

12. My dear Gregory,ur not alone the very something happened to me too,i was just so sorry for myself,i felt duped and at the same time helpless,finally I had to go out to watch the Chelsea game..They have moved the Epl studio from Ss3 to Ss5 which only on the premium package,i jst manage endure this 1month I paid and later downgrade back2 3600 package,they are all thieves..I hope Baba Go Slow will visit their matter..

1. Even the #3,600 package is pathetic, those guys are thieves. If only Nigerians will boycott them, I don sell my own tey tey.

13. Will be happy if something could be done about it.....
    If they still increase 2moro, people will still pay....thats the issue!

14. I dnt watch DSTV...my laptop is my TV for now!!!
    I buy alota movies,burn dem in dia n watch!!
    Byeeeeee!!

1. Now we know u have a laptop. Back to the issue,what's your take on this cos this is a general issue that affects all...when u have kids or visitors,will they all assemble to watch your lappie?

15. Eiyyaa!! I feel the guys pain;cos this kinda "wayo" touches the heart especially for soccer lovers...

Me sha cant remember the last time i switched on A television as we no get Dstv for house and perhaps im not A football lover..
    #all breaking news are gotten online cos na so so bookmarks full my browser...

XTREME MIXTAPE VOL.2;CLICK TO LISTEN/DOWNLOAD

@MARTINS ABOY

16. Dats true.pls influential pple on dis blog shd take dis matter up abeg!!!!

1. For where, u won't believe people sued them to court and the court ordered them not to increase their tariff bit they still went ahead to do it and nothing was done about it, I am ashamed of this country Honestly how can outsiders treat us like fools and they can't dare it in their own country, they use pay as u go in SA but because Nigerians are foolish we pay even when we are not using. And were are all this Nigerian millionaire business men, why can't they come out with their own Mtcheeew wish I had the money

2. Exactly what d season opener...still missed my teams match. Highly pathetic, wish we had a cool option to boycott em bastards. God pinish DSTV!...greedy & insensitive idiots. Buhari pls step on2 dis mata...revoke dia license to operate here. I dont see y premium can not cost max N7000 monthly.

17. Something should be ďone fast!!

18. Hnmm they are just using monopoly power on us. Who will look into this matter? I wish they'll have strong competitors to curb their excesses. This was how Mtn was behaving before their wings got clipped.

19. Duara Dullard come and probe DSTV no be only Jona government you go probe or you want to tell me na NTA you dey watch for Aso Rock.

1. Stupid fool, i hope ur a ghanian or togolese cos nah dat dullard go be ur president for d next 4years, and that makes u a big dullard too, dat statement shows how good u were brought up, and yes am not scared of you, getting a blog id soon, she-diot watch out for me

2. Na real mumu you be. Your president be dullard so wetin you come be - monkey abi?

20. Sai Baba this a time to act.Nigeria should not continue to be a dumping ground and a country where any Capitalist will behave the way he likes.

Chinwe Uba

21. Nah today? Nigerians allow foreigners exploit them. It is so sad.

22. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    My neighbor is showing the full match bcos he gat the money so my nigga na money yu go get ok... Instead do like me, wait after the matches have been played then browse the scores......

1. Lmho!

Thank God I'm not a football person at all.

I for pain me o.

2. This comment has been removed by the author.

3. Gifted Hands,what has Ed said here now warrant dis tirade???

SMH....

4. Omasiri's first date12 August 2015 at 05:08

Browsing in Jupiter or Mars? Please take Gifted hands with you.

23. Well said Greg, seconded by slim shady. Those in favour of d above call out t dstv say "ayes', those not I favour say "nay'....

1. Ayes. The step should have been taken when they increased the subscription rates. The next thing I heard was that they won the case in court. Next thing they will say only Africa magic yoruba and Hausa will be on Family bouquet(N3600). Imagine even CNN is not on the N1800 Acess bouquet

24. Dstv is really ripping Nigerians off. And something has to be done about it! The rates are just ridiculously high! We pay for the premium bouquet and @the end of the day, you don't get your money's worth. The only thing we get to watch is football cos of hubby.

25. Everyone should stop watching Epl,don't renew your subscription when it expires. Lolz

26. SOMETHNG HAS TO BE DONE....TOMJERRYSWIT

27. NBC is washing their hands off DSTV, saying we are the ones that went to pay for it. Imagine the useless talk...

I think we Nigerians should invest in these our local ones so that they can have enough money to get license to these other "needed" stations and send DSTV packing that way.

28. Stella,it's a very serious issue o.They are really exploiting us in our own country.This was what we were all complaining about yesterday in the offce.All my colleagues are looking for other options since DSTV has decided to pursue all their customers with their price.Namsense!!

29. we started complaining a long time abt Dstv, the funny thing is even when they increase their subscription to #20,000 ppl wld still pay. very sad

30. Known of my business tho... I watch Startimes N600 a month.. Lmao

1. Lol

Good for you.

I think we should start patronising our own providers,and run DSTV out of town.

31. If not because I love watching food network and crime investigation I for nor dey bother pay for subscription at all.

1. Go for actv, they have crime investigation and food shows under fine living channel. It's very cheap and they are running a promo. It's HD PVR too. For just 9900. .. free sub for 3months. .. that's what I use.

2. Oma pls what's their website add? Let me check them out.

3. actv.... They are on fb. ... If you are in enugu, their office is at Barcelos by new haven junction along bisala road. That was were I got mine.

32. Sincerely speaking, I got so upset also last weekend when I couldn't watch the opening match.DSTV is really exploiting us and the people in Government are not doing anything about it.It's quite unfortunate but I know our amiable president will do something if he gets wind of it.

33. My take is life is not a do or die affair. I simply stopped subscribing when the contents of what I was paying for was too poor. Signal was not strong, repeating programs and all the annoying things you can think of. I called their customer care several times and complained but when I didn't see improvement I just decided to downgrade from #11650 to 3000 and later I just stopped. I am not a TV freak so I can manage, my kids sleep early so no big deal. If only Nigerians would be more action and less talk it will be good. If all of us bycot their services then they won't have a choice than to have a rethink.
    The network providers are not left out too, charging exorbitantly for Data connections and all. The corruption in Nigeria has really eaten deep into every aspect of the country.

1. Chop knuckle Monmie Jay

2. O the network providers are WICKED! I just don't know where to start with them. If I tell you the crime AIRTEL performed on my phone nobody will believe me. Me sef I dey doubt my own story.

34. They are thieves naa. And to think that premium is 13,980.

35. I don vex tire come jejely go viewing centre. Which isnt too safe considering the current security situation. I know some people who have since abandoned dstv not because they got any alternative but due to sheer frustration. Its about time we act. I was also told that in S.A the rates arent high.

36. Poster Gregory Akabogu, please stop spreading wicked lies. DSTV has no monopoly in the nigerian market. Try other providers if you can't afford it. No one is forcing you to use DSTV.
    Thank you.

1. Read again. He is mostly pained because of premiership matches. But if you know a cheaper alternative broadcasting EPL matches abeg tell us "sharperly".

2. Anu ofia money maker

3. Kai money maker all I can say is u have fish brain. Dazz alll

4. Rotflmao @ Gregory Akabogu.

Money Maker,abeg no kee me with laughter this morning.

5. Shut ur stupid mouth if u ve got nothing to say.. they are enjoying monopoly if u understand d word. Stupid foolish noise maker

6. Big fool, if Gregory replies you sef he's the mega fool.

7. That's true but then the government should do something about it. The exploitation is just too much. They should be kicked out of naija n let's see how they make their money.

8. Of all the comments so far, yours stink! Stop ridiculing yourself! Nkemdiche wu ajo afa

9. ROTFLMAO @ pencil jeans!

37. And we still get to watch a particular show or film one million and one times. And God forbid it rains.

1. Kikikikiki

Kwakwakwakwa

No be small one million and one times.

You'll be forced to know them,word for word and speak along.

2. My name sake,na that one dey pain me pass. Reshoing same shows million times,SET,nickelodeon,African Magic,na dem be d leader.

3. Lol! Exactly @ego, I wonder why dey can't even make it pay as u watch as is obtained in sa

38. Stella have been waiting for you to post this o, the rate at which the increase their price is so alarming.
    Notice that its is usually increased every year and yet our govt seems to to care about the whole thing.
    Tot that there should be a regulatory body checkmating this kind of issue?
    If only there is a naija owned cable that beats theirs, they won't be doing dis shit.

39. It's soo true...dstv keeps exploiting us..and making no difference..last year I read somewhere that there was going to be a reduction on sub cos of competition but surprisingly, it was an increase. .I just decided to pay for d family bouquet yesterday after my premium expired cos I realised paying almost 14k is just a waste of money. .There is nothing of interest to watch. .
    I think their plan now is to push people to get explora...
    but obviously our government are not interested in issues like these where d masses are being exploited maybe cos there have a percentage from it..who knows?

40. DSTV is just treating us However it pleases them. They do 'pay as u wath' in SA but here its fixed.
    Is 9800 too small 2 watch EPL?
    I don't know why they gave them so much power to bully us.
    I blame our corrupt leaders who can't even use the money they stole to open companies in Nigeria but rather deposit it in swiss bank.
    Am soo pissed with our system

41. DSTV and other foreign companies

Know those they liase with in authority are Mostly-
    CORRUPT
    UNPATRIOTIC
    WEAK
    TECHNICALLY INCOMPETENT
    GREEDY
    SELFISH

42. I paid 3months sometime ago and it was disconnected at the end of one month, I had to call and call till it was reconnected, the most annoying part is its not free to call their costumer care

43. How much is the full package now?including all EPL games ?

44. there is nothing we; Nigerians; can do about it! their service is NOT an essential commodity! you can switch to another pay TV! what do you make of PHCN that charges high and performs low! we are in a society where consumer right do not count, so we MUST cope with it!

45. When there was an increment in the subscription rates, initially people were demanding a boycott. But did it pull through?No. Why is that? Because majority can afford to pay the new exorbitant rate without qualms.
    Dstv knows they've got a big market in nigeria.even if premium bouquet gets to be 25k monthly,a lot of people will still pay for a year without complaining.

My grouse with dstv now is that when they were swapping old decoders for new months back, I was never informed.prior to the swap they would always call whenever I default in paying monthly to find out why.
    When they were swapping they didn't call nor send me any sms.I went to subscribe for their 2k bouquet when I was told I can't use my dstv again that it is the old version.
    I was gobsmacked.
    My mouth hung wide open, if I had been hit at the head with a baseball @ that moment I wouldn't have felt a thing.
    The only words I could mutter was how? Why?
    And they went on..bla bla bla..about how they've been sending sms for months and pple have swapped theirs.
    And I was like, so for payments you guys call,but for something as important as swapping, you claim to have been sending sms which I never got?
    How grand is that?
    My mouth was still hung open when I left the office.
    That is how my romance with dstv came to an abrupt end..
    Till I can cough out 18k to buy a new dstv,it is adios.
    No..scratch that..till I can conviniently afford to buy dstv,It is adios.

1. I always love reading from u.
      U write sooo well...
      So intelligently....

How are u darling?

2. Babe,they actually sent e-mails,called too.
      And anytime they call to remind you of your subscription,,,they end with asking if you have swapped your decoder.
      Even when you call for issues to be resolved,they also ask.

I know this because they "disturbed" hubby until he verified and we were told ours was not in the range of those being swapped.

Sorry about your ordeal.

46. once i lay my hands on that cheat decoder here in abj
    DSTV will be a goner
    simple!!!

1. Ask any of ur relatives in lagos to help u buy frm alaba.

47. Lovers of football why die on top dstv when you can subscribe to CTL watch all the matches on beinSports for less than 5000 naira subscription monthly with badass movie channels and of course Channel E and others ...Dstv are thieves .. In my family house they got the news of no big brother for 2015 nd the payment for dstv sub stopped till further notice ...No complains cos Ctl is a consolation....Everybody is complaining ..Its a Wow!!

48. My take on this:
    Its not compulsory we patronise dem,let's fling our DSTV decoders to the dustbins,they will loose.
    Its not by force to watch dstv.
    They have been stealing from us from day 1.

49. I remember when Etcetera wrote on this issue, saying he was insulted is an understatement, now you're complaining. I wish you luck in your struggles, better still write to Etcetera for more coverage on the issue.

50. i believe its either we start another HITV or convince the dangote, adenugas and otedolas of Nigeria to invest in an alternative. Only competition can make them behave responsibly. Its true, there is no competition. Is any other network or pay TV showing the english premier league?

51. @ mommie Jay, I think am on the same page with you. Patronize the local ones or rather stop subscribing. When they see the margin of customers they have lost, they will quickly retrace their steps.

52. I remember when ETC wrote on ds, everyone insulted him calling him a failed musician dats why he cldnt pay for subscription. Well now I guess dier wickedness is hitting home bcos of d EPL's. Personally I can't remember d last time I paid for subscription(more dan 3 yrs). I honestly pray good meaning Nigerians n top lawyers sue dese useless pple n bring dem to order.#saynotodstvexploit

53. This is a serious mater oh stells! This dstv ppl are sooo annoying! No be dia fault sha. They need a serious competitor.

54. Na dem sabi. I pay 3600 since dey increase compact plus from 7850 to 9800. See some of my frnds dat use Qsat dey enjoy all dstv channels wit just 4h Airtime. Me I ve decided to just go and buy star times. I luv football a lot but since dstv decide to increase dia tariff anyhow I simply browse d scores or follow d live update online instead of giving myself HBP. I pray dey look into dis issue soon. If only dey ve serious competitors in nigeria dey won't be doing anyhow. I pay 3600 and d channels I watch no pass zeeworld, telemundo or soundcity and trace tv cos I dey ofis from 7:30 to 5pm so I dnt even get to enjoy wat am paying for. And dose saying it's cos pple re poor and can't afford to pay for d dstv tariff sorry for such stupid comment u dat ve d money keep wasting it as u like. Monthly contribution wey u no go ever pack. Mtcheew .

55. The senators have started scrambling to head committees again yet do not see anything wrong in what DSTV is doing becos they collect bribes from DSTV and telecommunication companies. How Multichoice Nigeria is a ble to have a monopoly is simply magic. No same country allows that. The Epl had to split the rights between skysports and BT sport. so why cant the Nigerian government insist on that to happen in Nigeria???????The only need to tell the EPl that it is not possible for ne company to show all their matches in Nigeria.
    And what happened to HItv? we are an enemy unto ourselves. The evil men in the banks made sure they could not come up with the funding.

1. May God bless u my brother! I never wanted to comment , but ur comment made me to, coz u hit d nail on d head. All our senators and house of rep members are been settled wit d complete package, 4 free in d past administrations . Dis thiefry has been on 4 yrs. Nobi today e start. My prayer is dat this complains gets to Buhari's desk. He's d only one dat can give dem condition. Bcoz, he says no to corruption. D whole settings are so annoying. And I and DH can't stop paying coz of our kids. Their teenage shows on nickelodeon, Disney , bomarang and d rest has really helped in their upbringing . So, pending till dis matter gets resolved....make God continue to dey help us all to dey c money to keep ourselves and family hapi. Gudmorning peeps

56. DSTV, useless people na to dey repeat programme every day.....it's bcus there is no competitor's

57. *mschew* DSTV its only a matter of time

Ur Customer base is gonna drop drastically.... Nigerians are nt ppl u toil wt n get away wt ur actions. In split seconds dey cut u off d very day ur subscription expires but wen u recharge, it takes hours t renew ur subscription. As for GOTV dt one na anoda catastrophe.

We use dstv @ home n we dint recharge for close t 2months(reasons best known t us) n wot do I get.... A phone call frm dia head office in Abuja, asking me wots d matter. Why we hv not bn recharging. That pls we shud try n recharge.. That if we dnt hv money we can make do wt d #1800 package... Kikikikikikikikikik(in Blog Lord"s voice).... Una neva jam!

58. I think the govt have a stake in DSTV because no one is doing anything about it.
    Rates are high, programmes are rubbish and on a rainy day u will say let u stay indoors and enjoy with TV....the signal will get scrambled and stay so till the rain has stopped!

59. Colonialism all over again, just that now we are ruled by south Africans.we have not seen anything yet they would continue to increase it.when we don't invest in our own wot do u expect. Its either u pay or u don't. no one is willing to fight, na just to talk talk talk we sabi

60. Honestly the way they are treating us is very unfair, my husband was so angry when he learnt of this, he loves football like mad. And I wonder why no other group has been able to come out because if there's competition they won't misbehave like this, compare MTN after the coming of GLO

61. Stella, this is so true and annoying, when they increased price, I decided to start paying for the 3600, just as the EPL was abt to start, hubby said to pay for compact plus(9820) so I paid just for my DH to realise that SS3 isn't showing the 'high profiled' matches, it was so painful ehn. I am going back to 3600.rubbish

62. Finally, a blog that's people friendly! Making money from ads isn't bad, but when the product or service exploits people, shouldn't there be a line!?

DSTV are wicked. They bribe govt officials with free all year viewing & cash, so they turn deaf ears to our cries.

Boycott is the way to go. Lets patronise local cable stations, so they can develop or buy quality content.

63. Stop lamenting and change to another cable TV bloke Actv. Their reach is everywhere in 9ja and their subscription is very cheap. Just for 9900 you get their decoder, dish and premium bouquet for three months free! Their channels are amazing ... decoder is HD PVR ... yes!! You can record and do amazing things with it.... goggle them.... that's what I use o!! I've said bye bye to dstv ...

1. Do they have all the channels on dstv?

2. Checking it out on google now.
      Hope they don't go down under after few years of operating ooh.

3. @anno... They have channels that cater for every body.... BBC world, sky new, telenovela, more than 5 indian movie channels, about 5 free to air stations including CHANNELS, NTAI AND Galaxy TV. ...enolly for English nollywood movies, then rana for hausa, ibile for yoruba and oji for ibo amongst other interesting channels. If you are in enugu and environ... go to Barcelos along bisala road by new haven junction for it.... They are running a promo now .

64. Dear writer and fellow nigerians, please quit whining and complaining like a frustrated housewife. Dstv isnt forcing anyone to patronise them, if u want to enjoy enjoy their services u have to churn out big cash to do so. We have Ctl, startimes, trendstv(I think), Gotv u can patronise them. I personally love Ctl and I watch it cos I cant afford dstv full bouquet(I no dey mad) plus its an easy way to learn arabic. Cut ur coat according to ur cloth, dstv has their premium subscribers and even if they increase their subscription 100% some nigerians will still pay. We are not united so forget about boycotting them

1. Enigma what is the definition of big cash to you? Barely 20k a month? Mtcheeww!
      We are hammering on exploitation and here you are reasoning like this!!

It is not all about the money,it is the fact that we feel raped!!!
      You do not have emotional intelligence!!!!

65. If your so pained buy gotv or better still startimes. There is always and options. Like me I use Abg and I can view all the channels on dstv premium.

66. The government should do something about it biko. If they are not ready to change...they should be kicked out of Naija n let's see how they make their money. Say no to oppression...CHANGE era is here

67. Dstv wahala,l jst pack am 1 corner buy strong.i no fit shout,its even 850 nw sef.

68. Organize a protest!!!

69. Oma I googled actv I no see am oh

70. Dstv Dstv Dstv una doooooo, cus I almost faint too that Saturday when I couldn't watch the opening match, it's so annoying, but to me I think my so called people in Government has more to this issue if not what happened to the court case on Dstv, Niaja my beloved country what ah Gwan?

71. Dstv Dstv Dstv una doooooo, cus I almost faint too that Saturday when I couldn't watch the opening match, it's so annoying, but to me I think my so called people in Government has more to this issue if not what happened to the court case on Dstv, Niaja my beloved country what ah Gwan?

72. To make matters worse they have now added 2 Spanish soaps on Mcity!!! Haba telemundo and Eva never do??? They have jst spoilt my Mcity enjoyment.

73. I don't have a TV, not to talk of a decoder! Na viewing centre sure pass for me o.

#Sleek

74. I have stopped paying for subscription. for 2 months now. my hubby and i went to chatter dvd videos. work barely gave us time to watch the dstv sef.

75. I earn 300k a month so I am far from broke but I left Dstv tey tey last year. They hv been calling but I'm not interested. I visited home during Christmas last year and my brother sold off his own. Dstv is total crap! If u still pay for Dstv you are in an abusive relationship without realising it. I am far from broke but never will I let even groundnut seller exploit me. Dstv are thieves. Never! Not when I have ctl and metro cables that show football and bad arse movies. Dstv be steady repeating movies and I hear they now charge 300 naira on extra view. Laughing at the mumu nigerians still paying for dstv

1. 3k!!!!!! Yes you heard right!!
      Imagine paying for their Premium package and then paying for extra view too.. We are indeed in an abusive relationship!
      They have two BET channels.. more than 5 Afmag channels....who re they fooling?
      This dstv issue gives me heartache!
      If only we can find an alternative...I know hubby will port!

76. Even if DSTV's subscription is N500, I won't waste that N500- mbanu.
    That was how my in law was paying almost N100k for a year then and they never gave us any bonus month.I was like, so South Africans pay this much too only for it to be revealed that they pay nothing.
    The appropriate authority pls DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS.

77. Ah Thank God i read this post. I was just about to pay the former 7850 bouquet i paid last in may. Break this down proper, it takes about 1gb to watch a live match and a gig on swift is about N500, four matches online a month is 2k, the download youtube videos for kids and plenty mexican soaps on dvd for madam. Thank You oh DSTV for teaching me to save.

78. I totally agree with you the worst part is that their movies are repetitive all the shows are wack, I wish they could bring sky to Nigeria or virgin media

79. They are pure criminals and I really wish I cud fuck them up

80. Please go get yourselves a QTV Decoder. With 4K monthly, I mean just 4K you can watch EPL, Ligue 1, Budisliga, La Liga and many more. Be wise people.

81. Solution@Gregory,am totally in support of putting a stop to this exploitation by DSTV.i suggest we form National association of DSTV subscribers.Open accounts in all relevant social media platform to address any of such issues.The platform will be used to elect the national & various state officers.where decisions on how to deal with exploitative actions will be taken eg promote mass boycott subscriptions, share ideas on the most considerate cable TV station for mass migration, monitor with the view to identify the horror most subscriber face on daily,weekly or monthly,encourage a volunteer services for free legal services from the legal practitioners among us. plead for the cooperation of all.you could be on your way to becoming a hero. Don't give up.Appeal to Stella and other Blog owners to help promote the course. It not that we don't have the capacity to frustrate DSTV but our unconcerned attitude has been our bane.pls let's cooperate with Gregory and use DSTV as the scape goat to others.my humble advise

82. Just a whiny bunch. They are business men and they are only exploiting the monoploy they enjoy fully. NCC is meant to regulate and create a fair operating field, but they have all been bribed or just plain incompetent. If you dont like it, don't pay your subscription fee.

NTA even to digitalise their transmissions they can't, in 2015! imagine. I always wondered why each state has an NTA station. It doesn't make sense at all!

83. @Teewhy, Anonymous@12.30 and Anonymous @12.47, It's a shame there's no HiTV no more but HiTV's dying is no fault of the banks or even Nigerian not supporting their own. Their head honcho was be alleged to busying himself popping pricey bottles of sparkling shepe with much of the funding he got so tey they had to pull the plug when they assessed the risk following his failure to re-clinch the major factor the platform was a better alternative (especially for viewing centre businesses) given that more engaging content was practically non-existent on HiTV... no be talk am, na so I hear

84. Please don't use the word rape lightly. It does not apply to DSTV ripping people off.

85. DSTV is a business and will only price their product/services (however shabby and incompetent) according to market forces. If the price is at 14k and stays there, it is because people are still paying.
    So this is a matter of supply and demand and they have positioned themselves as the only supplier of the services they offer.
    what can be done is for NCC to make the industry more favorable for competitors and for the competitors not to screw up like HiTV. E.g. NCC can make a provision that a monopoly of screening matches cannot exist on Nigerian airspace. DSTV will blackmail by not showing the matches at all and Nigerians will complain but if NCC sticks to its guns, the EPL will have to renegotiate its exclusive terms with DSTV because do also do want and need access to the Nigerian market. YOu have to understand how these things really work. A little sacrifice but I think it can be done. If they jack their prices up to 50,000 naira sef, as long as you can afford or think its worth it then pay, if not seek alternatives.
    U can provide regulation but you cannot tell a business man what price to sell his goods or services. DSTV is not a government body neither is it a charity.
    NB - So far the only thing I can see they have done wrong is disobey a court order, therefore the same court that issued the injunction can order their premises sealed for contempt. then maybe they will have Nigerians attention. that's also another way to go about it.

86. Don't even get me started with them. As 4 me I don return d dish n decoder bak I dash dem d money. If small puking sneeze channel go scramble.

87. I just bought a walka 7 waiting eagerly for the commencement of the epl kick off only for dstv to shatter my high expectations. I think the solution to this nonsense is to find a way of forwarding this whole page showinng our collective resolve to say enough is enough to this dastardly act of dstv to one or more of our national legislature to help us take this case up from here.Lets look people like dino melaye and the rest of them up on Facebook, WhatsApp,twitter and other social Media sites and appeal to them to come to our rescue.The voice of the good people will forever remains the voice of God.