Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Ooni Of Ife To Be Buried Today.

Friday, August 14, 2015

Ooni Of Ife To Be Buried Today.

The Ooni of Ife will be laid to rest today.

The date according to his son Adetokunbo Sijuade, is today Friday, August 14, 2015.

Adetokunbo Sijuwade officially announced the burial date and plans on, Wednesday, August 12, 2015.

Will any of his kids replace him or will the throne be given to another family

57 comments:

1. If you ask me....,na who i go ask?
      Rip 2 him

2. May his soul RIP.....
      Twill depend on their ways of choosing a king.

3. Only God knows how many innocent souls that will be burried with him today

4. Nah.. the king makers will consult the Oracle as with tradition, which will help guide in choosing another king. The office of the Ooni is a big deal, as that seat represents the entire Oduwa, hence is not restricted to a particular family. However, there are prominent royal families though...but it revolves around them accordingly.

Very rich culture. PROUD to be associated with the Yorubas...how I wish I was.....

2. Let everyone in that town and its environs stay indoors please

1. My hubby is in Ife right now for an exam scheduled today and tomorrow. May God protect him

3. The throne can't be given to any of his sons bcs there are other royal families in Ife.. So they rotate it

1. Read somewhere that the Abobaku of Ife land Usain BoltED and that stalled the burial plans.......
      Wondering if they found him or got a replacement

2. Did u actually think that they'lld bury the abobaku with the king or something? Lol

1. Are the Ologbenlas next?

2. It is the family of d recently past king dt is referred to as Ologbenla. The next in line family is d Ademiluyi Family of Otutu Royal Compound in Ile Ife

3. You're wrong.......the Giesi house is actually next in line

4. Dear anonymous, if you do not knw anything den dont comment. I wrote that cuz i actually know my facts right and i was also born into Ademiluyi dynasty. Go back and learn history

5. There are 4 rulling houses in Ile Ife and the next in line is the Lafogido Ruling house(Ademiluyi). They produced the Ooni of ife named Oba Ademiluyi(1910-1930), he was addressed as "Ajagun Lawarikan Ooni, Abesin bi oke". It was after him Oba Adesoji Aderemi ruled followed by Oba Okunade Sijuade. If you need more facts, let me know

5. This comment has been removed by the author.

1. RIP Oba... there's great respect for royalty among the Yorubas.
      Meeting this man and his kings men at Leisure Spring in 2013 confirmed it all.
      May the Lord continue to be with the Sijuwades

6. Given to his children ke, I doubt that it works that way. May his soul rest in peace.

7. None of his kids Stella...but a fresh young philanthropist in the Naija real estate industry. ..Choi! Tables do turn around o!

RIP Oba Sijuwade

Welcome New OonI. ..your people love you already!

1. Why is it that way?
      Can anyone explain further please?

Like I thought it was the tradition for the throne to remain in the family......

2. @ Ify, the tradition varies.........

In a place like Asaba, kingship is shuffled. Should the Present King die, it moves to another family in an entirely different village or ogbe...
      In Places like Agbor and Benin,it is hereditary..

3. Hi Iphie,
      the tradition of the throne to remain in the family is the tradition in some places. But there is a different system in Ife and other places like Akure etc
      There are a few royal families and they rotate the throne among themselves. Oba Sijuwade didn't get the throne from his dad...it was his family's turn to rule when the last king passed away.

4. There are four royal families in Ife, so it's rotational

8. Ok. Has his 'Usain bolt' been found? The Ooni's successor will emerge from any of the four ruling houses in Ile Ife.

9. There's gonna be a sacrifice......some peeps are gonna die with him, so sad!!!

Our traditions sucks!!!!!!!

1. @der. Yoruba people tradition. Na waaa.

2. There's gonna be sacrifice or they've already carried out the necessary sacrifices?
      Our tradition sucks and that's the truth.....

3. Just surprising that all these traditions still exist.... If I am even from that community and it's true that they kill ppl with him, they'll never see me in Africa sef.

Bet why?

10. Replies
    1. You are really stupid with that your up nepa face

2. Olodo how is this jamb question? You don't know anything yet you won't ask... #fish

11. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    RIP to his soul.... #NowPlaying feeling you: rima...

12. RIP to others that will follow him. sad tradition.

1. How are we so sure that someone else will follow him?
      Don't blame me for asking. The reality of some life being cut short because an old king died, is just scary.
      May God have mercy on us!

13. Stella, I doubt if the man will be buried today as planned bcos yoruba tradition dictates that the Ooni must be buried with a healthy person. And now the chosen man has taken to his heels yesterday after thinking about everything.
    Yoruba people need to look into this tradition again. This is 21st century.

14. If the throne will not be given to his son, then who will it be given to? Isn't is suppose to be from father to son and like that?

1. It is not to be passed from father to son o.
      Every tradition is different.

15. Eeeeyaaaa! Rest In Peace Ooni, heard his people really loves him.

16. olodo SDK there re ruling houses and it will go to another ruling house. educate yourself.

1. Did you have to call her olodo?

And yes she is educating herself thats why she asked.

I won't cuss you cause if I do you won't eat today.

2. Anno.. and you had to call them ruling houses?

BwahahahhahahhhhA !!! At your iberibe

17. Who won't Usain bolt? Its not easy to die. This tradition should be looked into and changed. Its too barbaric.
    My pity goes to the next person that will travel with the King.

18. Hv d "abobaku(the one who is suPposed t die wt d king)" been found?hmmmm wot a barbaric tradition. *rme* abeg those frm ife shud step forwod n giv us an in depth summary into wot d death n final burial rites of d deceased Oni will entail. We dey learn!