Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Policemen Cry ''Nigerians Want Us To Be Their Friends When We Live Like Rats!''

Saturday, August 01, 2015

Policemen Cry ''Nigerians Want Us To Be Their Friends When We Live Like Rats!''

He was drenched with sweat by the time he wriggled himself through the narrow entrance of his room into the passageway. Looking very depressed and drowsy that Thursday afternoon, he dragged himself along the hole-ridden passage and collapsed into the rickety sofa beside the staircase that leads to the upper floors in one of the buildings in the barracks.

With frustration written all over his face, Emma Uden (not real names), a sergeant in the police, kept muttering to himself, but dosed off few minutes later. Apparently disturbed by the music blaring in his neighbourhood, Uden could not but open his eyes feebly and intermittently.

His pain was obvious to anyone who came across him, but the reason for his frustration was largely unknown.

However, as Uden would later tell the Punch correspondents that visited in a conversation he grudgingly consented to, since the apartment allotted to him in the barracks collapsed in June last year, he and his family had been living in the kitchen of one of the dilapidated buildings in Pedro police barracks, Somolu, Lagos. That was his main frustration.

“It was the only alternative we had at that time,” he said, as he unbuttoned his shirt to enjoy some fresh air.

Since he and his family were constrained to live in a room (kitchen), he said life had become one of bitterness and frustration. To escape the intense heat of the day and the constant constraint of space that his family of six could never live comfortably with, Uden had been used to sitting outside anytime he was home.

Hoping that respite could eventually come his way if he opened up to SaturdayPunch, Uden wasted no time in leading the correspondents to his room where he lives with his wife and their four children. He opened the door and lowered his head as he made to enter, to avoid being bruised on the head by the doorframe. As he opened the curtain for the correspondents to enter, the odour, which seemed like a mixture of wet rug and accumulated sweat, that oozed out of the stuffy room was disturbing and could make anybody puke.

The room was like a store reserved for unused household items. The only window in the room appeared dysfunctional while the base of the wall that was visible was seriously dampened, and the ceiling riddled with signs of serious dilapidation. Expectedly, Uden, whose four children had occupied the only bed in the room, appeared discomfited by the state of the place he called home as he continually scratched his head to look for the right words.

Even though he is not alone in such a tortuous situation in the premises, he said he had resorted to coming home just to sleep, unless he was off duty. This, he said, was to avail his family some space in the room and that sometimes he would rather stay in his office or volunteer to go on patrol, all in a bid to stay away from home. They don’t even live alone in the house, occasionally, the family live with big rats that find their way out of the broken septic tank located close to the kitchen into the room.

He said, “When we were still living in the room and parlour before our building collapsed last year, we were managing because of the small space, not to talk of now that we have just one room, which used to be a kitchen. It’s like living in a cave. That is the lot of most of us.

“Can you imagine that? We live in a kitchen, and you want policemen to be your friends while you all live in your comfortable mansions. You expect us to carry rifle and risk our lives to protect people. Haba!”

His passionate expression of grief was second to none, even though he said he had concluded arrangements to leave the barracks for a room and parlour accommodation he secured somewhere in Bariga area of Lagos.

He added, “If nobody takes care of us, we will take care of ourselves, because apart from the space issue, we (residents of this barracks) queue to use toilet and bathroom, because the ones available are not adequate. So we queue to bathe every morning. Here, three-room and parlour flats share one toilet and bathroom. For me and my family who live in an abandoned kitchen, we pair with another flat. So, we join the queue every morning.

“Don’t forget that we are all adults with families. I feel ashamed that I go through this every morning? Tell those people in government what you saw here. Let them know we are suffering. Even when we get to the office, we either sit under the tree or stand in the sun.”

Some other policemen in the barracks who shared Uden’s views, lamented over the poor state of infrastructure in the barracks, saying they had always been living in perpetual fear for their lives, occasioned by the decrepit buildings.

They said the states of the barracks and the way they live makes them cry when they look at their children. It's worse that their kids pray never to be like them. ‘We are ashamed of having visitors’. 'We protect lives but nobody cares about us’

The Punch correspondents observed during the visit that almost all the buildings in the barracks had obvious signs of imminent collapse. In fact, the derelict of the block six that collapsed last year gives an impression that the collapse must have been imminent before it happened. They pleaded that government comes to their aid and upgrade their lives like their counterparts in other climes.

-Punch reportage but re-written here

62 comments:

1. Who cares how they live? Thieves, is that why they rob and kill people and accuse innocent

1. Wow. This ur comment e get as e be, no be small. Smh

bbannesworld.blogspot.com

2. This is pathetic. When in other climes being a member of the force is a thing of joy and luxury. That is why learned people will never want to join the force in Nigeria.
      Simply becos the Nigerian govt portrayed the police force especially.. ( albeit subconsciously)... as tho the people who join are school drop outs, and who as a last resort verged into joining the police to be collecting 20naira. That is why the average Nigerian will disrespect any officer by slamming them with derogatory remarks at every opportunity.

The society will treat and react to the police the same way the power that be present them to us. If u take care of them and u instill prestige into the police force, everyone will treat them with utmost respect. How can I respect an officer who sleeps in a kitchen in a dirty barracks? This is why the majority of those in the barracks engage in sexual shenanigans. Becos they are clustered in a dungeon and it makes it easier.

Blame not the society, dear officers, it is the govt that is making a mockery of ur job..Hence bringing disrepute to the dignity due the average police man in Nigeria.

The army are better off though. Those ones get to live more luxurious lives than the police. They forget that the heart of every country is their defence/ police force... and as such, should be given utmost care. I hope this report gets to the appropriate authority. Thankfully we now have a president who was a member of the force too, so he can relate to the sufferings therein. I'm certain that he'll not turn a blind eye to this if he is informed.

2. Na wa oh. I can't even fault the man. How can u please when you haven't been pleased. Policemen can't even risk their lives for d citizens cos there's no guarantee that their families would be taken care of if they die in their line of duty.

They have every right to protest this but not using innocent civilians to vent their frustrations. They should take their matter to d government.

3. Hmmm....
    FG una dey read this so?

Make something happen

4. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    Nna this is poverty i swear....

5. Too long. The pictures summarise it all. God help nigeria. The rich getting richer and poor getting poorer.

6. They expect not to raise thieves and hoodlums in such places?

7. Oh God. This is bad very bad ! I can see Why thé Nigeria police behaves like mad people cos they ré living like mad people. Oh God.

1. Everything FG,if it was their house will they leave it like this?

8. Oh God. This is bad very bad ! I can see Why thé Nigeria police behaves like mad people cos they ré living like mad people. Oh God.

9. So their reason to kill unarmed citizens?

10. Is that enough justification For the lives they take recklessly? People live in worst conditions please.

11. See almost everyone is struggling in this country to make ends meet because man must wack most of us wake up every morning and go to work to do that job we hate wishing we didn't have to.
    Yes the building is an eyesore and I have been to many barracks to know this type is usually given to recruits or so.
    I pay my taxes every month it is deducted from my salary, isn't it the governments responsibility to use it judiciously? Should I still pay the police out of my pocket. Many people hate their jobs but haven't killed anyone cos of that.
    If you do not like your job and can't endure the hardship it brings why not resign, is that why we have trigger happy policemen all over the place killing innocent citizens many of which are law abiding? Those soldiers in Borno under poor conditions nko what should they say.
    These people forget their oaths to their country once they wear that uniform.
    Anything worth doing is worth well, that building wasn't built that way. They messed it up to this extent.
    That headline is really annoying. So Nigerians should suffer over something that isn't our fault.

12. Dear Lord, people are suffering o. Barracks are always a mess.

13. The nigerian police is a big disgrace no wonder they take their frustration out on innocent civilians , our government should try and upgrade them so that they can protect lives instead of destroying and killing

14. I pray the government listen to their plea.

15. Does the navy and army barracks looks like this? If they do, then there's a problem. But if it doesn't, then these guys are pigs. If the Nigerian Police can't protect people because of where they live then they shouldn't exploit and kill people too. If they can't cope, then they should resign. Some people who aren't police officers live in worse conditions so this person should spare us the stories. Even if you give the some officers a mansion, they will still be scoundrels.
    Do you know that some of these police officers per take in daily contributions of 10-30k? Why do you think they are always so desperate? Not even an ounce of pity will come out of me for these guys. Even when these houses were newly built, they weren't saints. Officer Emma Uden, Look for another excuse please. You live in a hole but see DSTV (recent dish sef) and MySpace dish everywhere.

16. Hian..... the evil that men do lives after them, and in this case with them as well.....

17. It's very obvious that our past leaders have failed it's citizens, but that is not the reason why the NP should slaughter their fellow humans, with impunity.

How is it our fault, that y'all live like chickens?

That is not an excuse for being effing murderers in uniforms.

18. Sigh! Dis is heartbreaking,nd we actually expect someone who isnt stable at home to be normal on duty,i doubt dt

19. Fear this hired killers on black for your own safety.

20. MTCHEWWWWWWWWW!!!! They can die like church rats for all I care. Bastards that go around killing innocent ppl. They should face boko haram. Who send them police work? Idiots.

21. This doesn't justify them killing innocent civilians..

22. I pray this government have what takes to correct every wrong of the past government. If they decides to probe those that caused the pain of this officers some people will be crying witch hunting. No body in this state can give his all, its a shame.

1. I knew a Yoruba man will make such a comment. Yes, Nigeria was like Dubai until GEJ Govt. Smh. Nigerian police Haa been like that for decades

23. Oga police, ndo but the truth is that I don't pity u pple cos of the reckless way u treat ordinary Nigerians and the extra judicial killings which the NPF is well known for. Taking ur frustration out on the masses will only compound ur problem. Besides, nobody forced u to join the force. If u r not okay with ur job, pls quit and look for another meaningful source of livelihood.
    On the other hand, the govt needs to renovate all the barracks in the country cos they are really in a sorry state. I wonder who is in charge of the infracstructures in the barracks. I won't be surprised if money has been released for the repair/renovation and the money ended up in an individual's account.

1. I think that another problem the police have is that they don't see the need to maintain their barracks because they live there for free. Rather, the monies they make, they'll use it to build houses in their villages or would rather use it for something else other than to make themselves comfortable where they live now. Not that it's bad to invest in personal things, but at least make ur living environment conducive because that is where u lay ur head daily, and where u train ur kids. It's selfishness that makes them not look after govt properties, because they think they'll leave there eventually.

2. Ada Mazi n Sisi,thanks for saving me d energy to Type.

24. Whose fault is it.
    Don't they pay them? Abeg he should shut his mouth.
    They even pay police more than they pay most graduates teaching.
    So if they decide to live as slaves it's their cup of coffe. They pay them,dey collect illegal fee 4rm drives and bribe so in order words the police earn more than most people do

I hope i ain't blabbing tho cos truth be told I only read d heading

1. Bitter frigid bitch!

2. Hahaha
      It takes one to know one.

Obviously ur pained...its either you're a policeman/policewoman or your pathetic self is dating one;whichever it is i dnt bloody care

25. Oya Buhari do something NOW.

26. This is a shame on the country and police authority.
    How can a living space look like this?
    Mhen, there are so many things wrong with this country.

Is this how their bosses live? Shame on each one of them.

27. Government abeg oooo, hellllllpppp!!!

28. His own is even better, some live in rat holes built with planks. Nigerian police are really suffering and that's why I pity them cos I know some of them that banks gatemen or coperate house boys are even better than. NPF should be do something with the funds FG is dishing out pls cos Karma still exist oh.

1. If the police can be suffering like this, biko, what about the Yellow fever people? Lastma sef dey enjoy pass police

29. I'm speechless..
    But if cops live in such squalor and are underpaid, why still enrol/enlist?
    Someone explain biko.
    apparently bcos of their frustrations they can't do their jobs well.
    Nigeria is a lawless country that's one thing i know for sure.
    Dunno what to say again, lemme just keep mum.

30. Is it our fault that they are living like church rat?
    They should channel their frustration 2 the government n stop killing poor citizens.
    Even after all the bribe they take!

31. Yeah but most Nigerians too live like that, in poverty and in worse conditions than the police, so who should they take things out on. Policemen should stop taking their frustrations out on ordinary Nigerians. If they can't handle the situation in the police force, they should simply resign and look for something else to do.

32. They should talk to their big ogas looting their money, the ordinary Nigerian is also suffering. Their anger should be directed at their ogas.

33. Hahahaha! Re they not getting salaries. Relocate is the solution

34. Its a pity but the Nigerian police are no saints. The Government is neglecting them yet they have ways of settling themselves abi Egunje don finish for road?

35. No body should live in this kind of condition. I pray the relevant authority will see to their welfare..

36. Before you pity their living condition please try and consider how they are giving brand new vans and in a matter of days they have turned it into a mish marsh of tin. A police man walks in the streets and urinates on any wall. So if you gave these guys brand new mansions they will mess it up. And mr officer you took an oath to protect and serve no matter what, if you want comfort go find a job that gives you one.

37. I have been a victim of police extortion and while I was very angry I still don't blame them. Nigerians are very very ignorant and selfish that's why some ppl hear can so "and so what if they live like that".
    Let me say that the precedent concerning the NP set by the NA is just being followed by the politicians and big oga in the NPF.
    The NA deliberately underfunded the NP just to make them useless and less powerful.
    They are not the pigs that destroyed the buildings.
    For those of you who do not know, there is something called wear and tear. And when monies allocated to maintenance goes to buying a house in dubai for a police oga girlfriend, how do you take out of your minimum wage of N18,000 to repair your living space given u have a family of 4 kids to take care of.
    Someone here is ranting that if you don't like your job quit. It's easy to say when you go to an office that at least gives you a chair to sit.
    Do you know that these police men fuel their patrol vehicles from the monies they extort from you and I just cos someone thinks that allocation is his /her right.
    It's our duty to cry out for them. They can't do that cos daily they are being threatened by their bosses.
    BUHARI should show he 9s really just by looking into their case after all their situation is the brainchild of the Nigerian Army.

1. They fund their patrol van for their personal benefits, cos they'll use it to make more money. They don't fuel the van to go and catch thieves

2. They fund the petrol In their patrol van because it is what they use to make money for themselves, and not because they want to go and catch a thief.

38. Protest against your ogas buying houses in Dubaifor their girlfriends and stop killing innocent Nigerians for the problems caused by your ogas.

39. ........and those who have benefited in billions of dollars (like IBB, Abdulsalam, OBJ, Dangote, Otedola and the rest) from successive Governments and their apparatus cannot step in and donate modern accommodations in different areas as their contribution back to the society and apparatus they reaped from.
    The disenfranchised and ignorant Police and Military men keep taking out their anger and frustration on the disenfranchised common man.

40. They should write to whom it may concern, I guess is Ambode or protest and leave innocent people alon.

41. The Yoruba mans comment is not as stupid as the comment made by GEJ that stealing is not corruption. Your complaints should have been made to him when he was in power drinking local gin with Nigeria's money.

42. I cannot even begin to imagine what living in a building like this does to someone. The article spoke about the stench and I believe it. Queuing to use a toilet and showers, good lord why must life be so wretched for so many on this planet. Nobody should have to live like this, and the police stations are really no better. So all day you are surrounded by ugliness and filth, of course it is going to do something to you mentally. The cement is eaten away from the floor above, it is only a matter of time before it falls apart. How can civil servants be living like this. Some officers here in this country make 100k/yr easily. Minimum for any police officer with a few years under their belt is 60k, that is almost ten million naira. I would not have the will to do my work well if I lived like this, and also had to work in some filthy police station, nope I would not be able to give my all much less my life for anybody else. Would any member of parliament expect to live like this? Why would these conditions be fitting for any civil servants, especially security personnel?

43. Very sorry state indeed, even though d police men are goofers .. Govt shud try and make the living conditions some what better.

44. let dem go on strike and hold d government not d innocent civilians and dere mansion hmmm