Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Chronicle Of Blog Visitor Narrative

Monday, April 08, 2024

Chronicle Of Blog Visitor Narrative

Hmmmm....

STAND ALONE NARRATIVE
COMPLICATED WORKPLACE
This month is my one year with the civil service . I met four staff in the unit I was posted. Three months later two went on 6months maternity leave. You know pregnant women.
 Before they left for maternity leave, they hardly come to work. I am suppose to work with them and a DD who oversees other units. The two staff on ground are lovers. 
Heard they have been like that for two years.
 They tacticallly have refused to teach me the work. When issues that I should know comes up. They speak with their language or leave it till weekend. 
They get all the monetary and other incentives that comes to the unit. I don't really care about that but I want to learn the job.

If you enter my office when they are around, You will think I am on industrial training because they are always busy with work while I sit idle. We relate very well on personal issues. 
How do I go about this without causing issues for myself and negative energy at workplace. 
I am a single matured lady so I don't want any bad blood at work as I spend most of my time there. 8-5pm daily. 
Have you been in this situation before. How did you solve it. I intended to speak with the DD  but I found out they are close by religion and share incentives together.

Hmmm this is a very sensitive situation but one year on the job and not knowing the Job is no excuse...You cannot even blame them cos you have not asked them sincenthey decided not to teach....Nah siddon look you dey and nah siddon look dem dey look you...
Why dont you go to them and ask to help anytime they are doing the work? Their reaction will help you further...Or you approach both of time nicely and pretend to cry while asking that they teach you the Job...
I pray that they dont gang up against you......
Why do you spend all your time at work? They may see you as a threat already sef with that.......

20 comments:

1. Don't go and be carrying shoulders for them o auntie, just humble and ask dem to teach you. Also try being nice with them .

1. I don't think she's carrying shoulders, I just think she accepted the practice of knowing little or nothing which is very dangerous, there's no reasonable excuse to be on a job for one year and not be grounded, even regular probation takes six months.

Poster, as they say, the time you wake up is your own morning. I don't know if you guys have regular meetings but if you don't, tell them that you want to have an official meeting with them and start by apologizing for your laxity and if you offended them in any way, then tell them that you need to learn the job from them.

If it's weekends they intend to work, come out and work with them, draw your chair close to their own and observe, If they speak language, ask them what they said. Once you have officially voiced it out , it becomes an intentional act of malice if they refuse to teach you and they could get in trouble for it.

In future, speak out in any situation you aren't comfortable with, don't wait for it to become a norm that you seem like a trainee, even a one year trainee should be seasoned on the job. Lastly, be spiritually alert, it's sad that most Nigerian offices are spiritual battlefields but that the reality, pray for understanding and wisdom in the office.

2. Maybe instead of sitting idle while they work. When they are working, go close and inquire in what way you might be of help.
    Or request for help or input about a specific situation/subject.
    Hey, I can't seem to understand how xyz is done, please could you put me through.
    Try different ways before you go to DD.
    We dey see this clique thing wella for office.
    Good luck

3. " They are always busy while you sit idle"........ poster.

How did you get the job and what is your own duty there?!
    If they do not want to teach you, then be watching how they do it and learn . How come you have stayed almost a year and you have no experience about the job only to sit idle??? It's all about determination if you really want to learn.

4. you need to bring yourself down like a mumu just to learn this work, this is very common with most offices. I cannot tell you that i did not experience this at work but is wisdom, patient, tolerant and acting like a fool till i was able to stand my ground. Just make sure you do not make calls of talking about yourself, showing off your dresses, wearing expensive makeup or shoes as if you are in competition with them. Just stay low while you act nicely each time they are working, ask them what can i assist you to do. Do not sit down while pressing your phone as they are working, just stand behind or beside them to see what they are doing and how you can assist them.

You should not go and make friends in another department that you will gossip or talk bad about them cos they will hear about it and that will cause another wahala for you. You can try and find out if you have another person in another location who can assist you, i learnt most of my job from far colleagues while speaking to them oh phone. Just don't go there robbing shoulders with your colleagues and ogas.

Go on your knees and table the whole matter to God, those people don't like you and they feel you are a threat to them in that office. Remove your eyes and hand from money matter for now till you are strong in the job. When you hear discussion about them or other ogas just mind your business while pretending like you don't know what they are talking about.

1. 👆. Please avoid gossiping about them, or anyone else for that matter, in the office.

5. That is how it is in govt work but are you sure that work is your area of specialisation ?because even if you don't have the experience ,at least a knowledge of it,why not discuss with your DD first and see if you are in the right place in the establishment or you may need transfer to another place in the office where you can use your cert properly

6. Hmmm. This is a tricky situation. I think you could always ask what they’re doing and how you can help. Don’t say “Do you need any help?” This is a yes/no question and they will most likely say “no” if they’re trying to exclude you. You can say “How can I help with…” or “please show me how this is done”. Also try as much as possible to document these request-make person no come say you dey lazy and you don’t want to do anything. Try and be friendly with them, you can bring snacks once in a while and share with them (if you can afford), be humble and respectful. It’s all office politics and we have to be diplomatic. Finally please if you can, volunteer for office-wide activities if any. The plan with this is to show your visibility as much as possible. Don’t report them to the DD oh - I’m not sure what good will come from that. Take it to your Father in heaven-he can turn the heart of man in any direction and will show you what to do. Good luck 👍🏽

7. God will see you through ooo toxic work place is a no no, dont know why people are stingy with sharing information especially if it will benefit the person.

8. Because in 2yrs time you might be due for promotion and interview will be based on your job details

9. Shit like this make me so happy I work from home and don't have to deal with office wahala. How can you be at a place for one year and know nothing? Please upskill yourself and do no waste time if they are not teaching you anything. Improve your computer skills, learn new things on the job, whether you bring your own laptop or use the company computer, make sure you are doing something to improve your skills while you are there. You will have to approach them to start doing your tasks.

If both of these ppl fall sick or japa you will in effect have no clue how to do the job, there is no excuse you will be able to give that will sound logical because you have been there too long. The manager will say why did you not say anything and other staff members will say you are lazy to have sat for a year and make no attempt to learn the work, it is you who will be vilified. There really is no reason to be at a place so long and not even know the bare minimum. Even if you are a shy person, that is not right, you are eating taxpayers dollars and being paid for nothing.

10. First pry about the situation, then you have to be so so humble , and try to be friendly with them. Don't prove you are either more educated or know better than they do in any area. Person we wan catch monkey , go do like monkey.

11. Lol Stella I think your answer na cop answer joh
    You think she hasn’t asked them? They are refusing to teach so as to protect job security na. Some people also think they are helping you by not bothering you with work. Just start learning a skill. Use the time to learn data analysis or cyber security. They will come and look for to work once they see you’re not too eager

12. Please be eager to learn because when promotion comes, if you're not found worthy you won't be going further. Have you asked them to teach you as in approach them one on one?

13. I wonder what's been stopping you from going to humble ask them to teach you the job? Please go to them. As they are teaching you, you can buy them something, even if it's cake and malt for appreciation. They would eager to teach you

14. Pray.
    Be nice to them and
    Explore the opportunity

Mao Akuh