Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Man Explains How Digital Footprints Messed Up A Job Applicant

Tuesday, April 23, 2024

Man Explains How Digital Footprints Messed Up A Job Applicant

Read this very well....

He wrote;"I'm checking the digital footprints of applicants for a job we posted, and I noticed that one of the applicants, who will be invited for an interview, referred to me as an 'animal' in response to a seemingly harmless comment I made on something posted by Instablog.
You will come and explain yourself o
So, dude came for interview. He was the last person to be interviewed. The interview panel consisted of me and three other people. When he came in, I told him to sit down. I shared a printout of his exchange with me on Twitter with him and the other interviewers. I looked at his face; he looked confused. His hands started shaking. I told him I am the one he insulted. He started apologizing with his lips quivering. I told him to keep his apologies cos frankly, I don't need them.
 I told him he has a terrible digital footprint. He's caustic. The interview was later conducted, but it was awkward, the most awkward ever.
When he was leaving, I gave him ₦5k for t fare.
He won't get the job. He wasn't suppose to be invited in the first place. I just wanted to see his face.
Am I petty? Yes, of course, and I'm proudly petty.
In case you see this, no hard feelings bro. I hope you learnt that you don't have to insult someone online because you disagree with their point of view."

30 comments:

1. "You don't have to insult someone online because you disagree with their point of view."

Make we de mind our utterances, e get why.

1. Some people just know how to push those buttons like they were sent on earth to do it. In such occasion, it is difficult to ignore. Sometimes, you go low.

2. Hmmm❗no the writer is not petty,alot of people need to tone down how they relate with others online..if I don't agree with your opinion,why insult the person? Be careful who you troll, insult online,it can be used against you any time❗I'm very careful what I say on that X app especially, if you still have plans to japa, be careful online cos this interviewers do ask of your SM handles to see how you reason and relate to others

1. How about people who have no SM accounts and handles? are they automatically disqualified?

2. Anon 15:13, No, you don't get disqualified, you just let them know that you are not on SM. SM is a choice, not mandatory.

3. So basically all those people online been a nuisance are jobless unemployed frustrated human being. Stop engaging with them, they are looking for who to bring down to their pathetic level.

4. Chika(hello iya boys)23 April 2024 at 15:03

Such is life ooo

If he minded his business
    He could have gotten the Job
    See what his bad mouth has done to him

5. Wetin go happen now? I am only on social media to insult people.

6. Abeg, I give him a high 5. You insult people without knowing who they are. Pass your message across with no insults.

7. Internet Trolls are just plain Evil

8. Na so! We should be mindful of our words on this Internet

9. If you are a combatant online then do not put your full name out there. I don't get why folks put themselves out there like that. Even some ppl's LinkedIn is messed up, you can see what they are liking and giving attention to. And never get comfortable with social media because you have certain privacy settings, anything can fail. Never trust it 100%

10. you did well
    Next time he will never insult anyone but online and offline.

11. A lot of adult on the net space don't know how to disagree or engage in a proper discussions without becoming disrespectful or utterly defensive. It is actually a major issue. Reason at times, I don't drop comments on some post here or go under some people's comment to counter their opinion, reason is to avoid unreasonable back and forth. Many lack proper communication skills and bandwidth with expressing themselves without hostility or disrespect. I want to believe its lack of emotional intelligence.

The writer didn't do anything wrong. I would have been more petttier than him. No one has the monopoly to madness.

I hope the thread serves as deterrent to people who troll others online.

12. People should learn to disagree without insult.Love & light to all of them.

13. So he lost the job because he bullied unknown he didn't know he will later meet for a job.
    Too late to say ' I'm sorry'.
    How did she find out that he is the one behind the ' troll'??

Shey I said it that all these internet trolls are idle miserable minds. Unemployment rate is high.
    The more you reply them , the more you behave like them. They are everywhere.

14. Very good..
    This is how many will miss life changing opportunities because of insults.

15. But the employers of this poster will also be concerned about him using his position to get back at a member of the public. Striking him off the list for the interview is the right thing, but summoning him to the office to get back at him is risky. What if the guy comes back with a weapon or begins to stalk staff who he met etc?

16. Deserve the applicant right when he's online he will mind his utterance
    Oga interviewal you are not petty.

17. After he have finished doing his rubbish with the applicant his own time to collect rubbish will come.as for those that will say "that's not how life works" I say to you all,una lie,life works exactly that way,your own turn to be rubbished will surely come.

1. Exactly. For him to go that far, l see him as vindictive and I doubt such a person is clean or blameless. His own time of reckoning will come.

18. That's reminds me.
    My working place is temporary structured.
    So ' I too know ' humans will see me there and be trolling," you are like this , you are like that '.
    When one of them have realized, he is like wanna get close.
    I have sent him several warnings to remind him not to get close. Same person you are humiliating and trolling in public, what do you want if she is such a trash like you described??

He never ' baff' finish come dey make noise.
    Online ' trolls ' are not mentally okay.

19. This is a big lesson. You don't know who you are talking to, yet you insult them because you are hiding behind your keypad.
    I hope they learn.

20. Wow this's very interesting but l keep wondering why some people talk anyhow on social media, even those that are role models and motivational speakers. Nawaoo.

Licious babe

21. Even on SDK blog. Someone was insulting me and my husband who doesn’t even visit this blog calling him a “simp”, “emasculated” because I dared voice my opinion on the musician whose ego was bruised into a public humiliation of a woman for what she posted on her birthday. I hire and conduct background checks, and I check all the boxes for a comprehensive one. You can have a limited one that rules felony and other serious issues out but I make sure like many that a comprehensive one is conducted. Such a guy won’t find a job in many corporations in the west. Calling someone’s husband “emasculated”, “simp”, asking them to “stay in that abroad” for voicing their opinion on a public humiliation of a woman. Something women’s rights advocate (not the same as Naija feminists) will frown at.

There is no complete anonymity at least in the US. The US folks that join in the Naija toxicity on Twitter are not in corporate 🇺🇸, have no corporate careers, are self employed or employed under the table or are tenured professors like the Carnegie prof as you cannot fire a tenured professor unless he or she does something egregious or commits felony. Most of the others have no serious careers in the corporate world here. Those who do post but are never toxic. Try a little kindness and enrich the quality of public discourse. I don’t own any personal SM but even under anonymity I would never be a part of bullying or toxicity but you see folks who get so angry with complete strangers online and literally curse them! Why? Transferred aggression? Go meet your corrupt politicians. I for one don’t know why Kogi citizens among others are not camping outside all the government houses. Seven years of not paying salary? Channel all that SM display correctly to make an impact like the civil rights activists did that allows people get 5- year visas now! Without them, it would nit have happened.

22. It was payback time for me. Sieving through the numerous packs of cv, that surname caught my attention. I invited her for interview and when I confirmed she was related to my former boss, I hit her hard with questions. She was a top banker who lost her job but needed somewhere to perch pending when she gets another high paying job. Pure waste of my HR resources.

Later she came back to me asking what the uncle did to me. Did I explain to her? No. That was a company I literally built with her uncle but when the storm came, I became the sacrificial lamb. I knew she wouldn't ask the uncle because their families were not in speaking terms. You call me petty? He took food out of my mouth, at that time.

Do not get me wrong. Till today I still speak with my boss because I need his connections. It is what it is. I don't burn bridges I build them.