Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigeria's House Of Reps Summon KFC Over Discrimination Against EX Gov Gbenga Daniel’s Son

Wednesday, April 03, 2024

Nigeria's House Of Reps Summon KFC Over Discrimination Against EX Gov Gbenga Daniel’s Son

The House of Representatives Committee on Disabilities has taken action by summoning the management of Kentucky Fried Chicken (KFC) in response to allegations of discriminatory treatment against Adebola Daniel, a person living with a disability and the son of former Ogun State Governor, Senator Gbenga Daniel.
Adebola, who uses a wheelchair, was reportedly denied entry to the KFC outlet at the Murtala Muhammed International Airport in Lagos. The manager allegedly stated, “No wheelchair allowed.”
from Vanguard

43 comments:

1. They should close that branch! Cause what???

1. No dear, it's not the best. People will lose their means of livelihood for those working there and earning salary.

They should be punished with fine for psychological damage on the young man. If possible compensate him.

2. The branch was shut down. It was in the news last week and trending.

2. Very insensitive comment, the harshness and callousness

3. Not supporting KFC bad behavior but would this have been the case with a normal citizen that is not influencial?

1. Thank you.

God bless you jare. You echoed my thoughts

2. Exactly my thought all tis noise is for what?

3. So far,such bad behaviour won't repeat itself. For 16 weeks,when I couldn't walk,I know how,I felt,talk less,its forever.

4. Wether na poor man pikin or rich man pikin, the point is what kfc did is bad and they must’ve been doing it to poor people without a voice all these years. Politician pikin don bring awareness una still Dey complain, wetin Nigerians want gan gan?

5. God bless you

6. At least he is using his voice in a way that will benefit of people with disabilities. If those with privileges keep quiet, where’s the hope for the everyday person? It’s not an ideal state of affairs but we can only work with what we have until things change.

4. In as much as I feel sad for the guy and how he was treated,if na unknown person that was treated the same way will house of rep intervene ❓

This is an opportunity for the guy to be an activist and advocate for his kind to get help from the government

1. So true. Even house of rep is getting involved.

2. Don't mind them, na when e touch them them dey no say that thing no good!!

5. It was so wrong for them to have treated him that way. Is he not human? There should be punishment for that so that others will learn. Is he not coming to patronise your business? This is so wrong and apology should be made to the man, if possible compensation as well .

6. SDK I heard it was the lounge area, reserved specially for VIPs that they denied him entry into. They probably thought he was one of those commoners. Let them smash them with a compensation in millions so that others can learn.

1. KFC get lounge area/VIP area?
      To eat bucket chicken again?

2. Yes in lagos. They have.

You flanjor while waiting to board.
      Some concierge services are available too. Like, someone doing the checking in of all your baggage and stuff, artwork, special comfort clothings et all.

Banks and telecomms have too.
      That's what the Platinum Card is for😘

7. It is wrong to discriminate but I wish everyone treated wrongly will make the news influential or not.

8. Not a good thing he was denied. But we got to know about this cause he is known. Ordinary citizens would not get this reaction. Na wa.

9. Not a good thing he was denied. But we got to know about this cause he is known. Ordinary citizens would not get this reaction. Na wa.

10. I wish same response will be given to common man, Nigeria govt and eye service

11. Thank God,his voice was heard,whether prominent or not. People with disabilities are humans. Imagine,if he was a nobody. 😌😌😌

12. What an embarrassment. They should be punished with heavy fine so that the others can learn from FKC mistakes.

13. What happened at KFC is a reflection of the Nigerian society. No intentional and proactive provision to meet the mobility needs of people living with disability. How many government buildings and banks have wheelchair access? House of reps should tackle the issue wholly and not focus on KFC's action.

1. Exactly. This is not a KFC issue, it is a Nigerian issue. Dem no born any KFC in developed countries to say ‘no wheelchair allowed’ to anyone, because they will pay through their noses for that utterance. But in Nigeria there is no structural provisions for people with disabilities, no respect for them, nothing.

2. I already written some of these points up there 👆 before seeing yours.🤝

3. 14:27, exactly. You can’t try this statement outside the country. You can’t even build a business without accessibility for people with disabilities. Here in Nigeria you will see public buildings with only stairs. No ramp no elevator. Roads with no side walks. We must develop this country

14. You guys are looking at it from the wrong perspective. It is a good thing that he is influential, the Disability community need as many influential voices as possible. Regardless of his intent, the victory will benefit all PWD's

1. Anon 11:54! you are super intelligent

2. Thank you. This is my sentiment

15. One thing in Nigeria is that people hardly speak up. The guy or the Dad spoke up to the highest authority. Ordinary citizens should learn to speak up to their own level too which is N100 data and voom to social media

1. Pls who are will to speak up to? Is easy for his or his voice was heard because his dad is a big personality. People like us who don't know any body is very difficult dear.

16. Stop expecting everyone to be treated equally. What matters is whats on ground

17. I wish he can speak up for people like us, the disgrace is too up.

18. Living as a disability in this country is the worst thing. Is like dead mark, may God help us .

19. Chika(hello iya boys,)3 April 2024 at 15:55

Ahhh
    This is bad ooo KFC
    Punishment must be given to them..

20. I like the fact that they are dealing with KFC seriously, whether he's a big personality or not, say no to discrimination, it causes depression.

21. If space was an issue or safety to other customers, why didn’t the manager just ask the client to stay on the outside due to inaccessibility issues and personally serve him. How hard was it to take his order request , put it in the system and serve him directly. He is a person. You make it all the way to manager level and have no emotional intelligence or empathy. Then these types are the ones who wants everyone to remember they are a graduate🙄