Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerias Suspended Minister Beta Edu Threatens To Sue BBC Over Alleged Defamation

Thursday, April 11, 2024

Nigerias Suspended Minister Beta Edu Threatens To Sue BBC Over Alleged Defamation

Dr Betta Edu, Nigeria's suspended Minister of Humanitarian Affairs and Poverty Alleviation, has expressed her intention to take legal action against the British Broadcasting Corporation over what she claims to be defamatory statements.

She made this known through a letter signed by her legal representative, and addressed to the BBC offices in Abuja and London.
In the letter titled ‘Request for immediate retraction of defamatory article published on BBC website against Dr. Betta Edu’, the lawyer expressed the harm caused to Edu’s reputation, as well as the emotional distress and suffering endured as a result of the publication.
It accused the BBC of failing to uphold journalistic fairness and due process by not giving Edu a chance to respond to the allegations prior to publishing the article.

26 comments:

1. Nigeria! The country that abhors orisirisi nonsense

Imagine a criminal threatening BBC

1. The money that was recovered was siphoned by the former minister, not Betta Edu. The BBC alleges that the money was recovered from her. That is why she is threatening a lawsuit.

The former minister of Humanitarian Affairs embezzled billions of naira.

2. This girl court's controversy.

Haba Betta Chimaobim Eke ...so many battles in just one year.

You be Alaye???

3. My goodness, this woman is something else. I pray that God delivers us from greedy politicians that only think of themselves and not the poor masses. Oh lord deliver our country @@@@Zara๐Ÿ˜ถ๐Ÿ˜ถ๐Ÿ˜ถ๐Ÿ˜ถ

4. Her reputation. Really? ๐Ÿคฃ

1. Don’t mind her. Instead of her to go into hiding, she’s displaying her stupidity. Such a disgrace!!

Sluttychic.

5. What is she waiting for?Msheww๐Ÿ™„

6. I wonder the reputation she's talking about.

7. Every time I see her hands, I wonder. Can a bleacher be trusted as honest?

1. ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ wucked somebori

8. I really need to see that article...

9. If not greed and hunger for money,why would a professional medical doctor be doing in politics

1. Politics needs clean minds regardless of occupation to sanitize it

10. Go ahead ๐Ÿ™„๐Ÿ™„๐Ÿ™„

11. We need to hear her own side of the story too, i am not saying she's innocent.

12. Why is her face yellow and hands black?

1. Obviously wrong shade of powder and foundation. She wants to be "yellow pawpaw"

13. Abeg where our NPOWER money, I get plans for that money o

14. Campaign after election! This woman no get integrity. If you wan bleach do am well. You pocket money wey no be your own dem catch you and you dey sue BBC you dey whine us ni???

15. If your hand are clean pls sue them and maybe you can even recover your money back from BBC maybe from that they will learn lesson

16. The double standards…serves BBC right