Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Chronicle Of Blog Visitor Narrative..

Saturday, May 11, 2024

Chronicle Of Blog Visitor Narrative..

Hmmmmm..

STAND ALONE NARRATIVE
TRADITIONAL WEDDING  STATE
My dad is late, my elder brother that stands as my dad is in Abuja. Our mum has been with us too in Abuja since we lost our dad. 
My guy and his family are planning to come do everything including traditional marriage, I told him I will prefer everything to be done here in Abuja than travelling home. 
Cost of movement for both families, plus I was once married but things didn't work out, though bride price has been returned.
Is there anything wrong to do everything here in Abuja than travelling home for it?. Besides, I have sisters, my elder brother in Abuja while i have two sisters and a brother in kaduna. My guy is from fugar.

The Brides family have a right to decide where the traditional wedding will hold and there is nothing wrong with that....That trend of travelling to the village to hold the Marriage is not really happening anymore.
Some traditional weddings hold in Lagos as well, however some families seriously object to this new trend and i dont know why...I mean what is the difference where the traditional wedding holds as long the brides family is present and are the ones who suggested where it should hold....
Good luck.......

23 comments:

1. Do everything for Abuja, you're not even supposed to let most of your village people know about it since we've been married before

1. Please is fugar in Nigeria?
      Because I've not heard of it before

2. @Nk, Fugar is in Edo state.

3. I am a proud Fugarian , welcome to the family my in-law to be. Please do your traditional where you dey with your family. Anybody wey deserve portion of goat wey no fit come Abuja go receive am by post..no stress yourself!!

2. Abeg do it in Abuja. Congrats to you.

1. It depends on you but doing it in the village is a way for the inlaws to get to know themselves. It is also good to celebrate with the extended family. I don't want to say somethings so I dont come across as negative. Doing it in Abuja will also mean only few people from your side will attend except they are all based in Abuja. But it all depends on you, your culture and your people in the long run. God Bless your marriage

3. Do it in Abuja. I will do mine too in Abuja as well.

4. If there is an economic benefit to doing it where you are then by all means save as much as you can. We all need to be watchful about our spending. A new marriage should not start off with the stress of debt. I support anyone who is thinking long term. I see so many ppl nowadays who are well to do opting for intimate gatherings and not spending on the grand weddings of the past. Congrats and a joyous union to you both💕

1. Dear Poster, it is advisable you do it in Abuja and let safety be your watchword rather than travelling long distances, the money, time and stress involved plus security issues, this is your second marriage village people might be good at helping you spread the word to the new family which is not a good idea for distant in-laws to hear. I pray you have a blessed home and all will go well in this new marriage. In Jesus name, amen. Don't be tempted to make it Loud

5. All should be done in Abuja
    People don't travel long distance for ceremonies anymore
    All the best to you

1. Dnt make a sweeping statement, say some people dont travel for trad. Many people still believe in travelling to do it because they believe that would be an opportunity to know the bride's people and village for those whose partner is not from the same place.

6. Money no dey
    Transport money too high
    Just do everything for here and face front
    No go stress yourself
    Make una do everything for abuja
    Make you and your husband use that money for Transport, take arrange una life
    Life dey after traditional marriage
    Una congratulations 🎊 👏 💐

7. I think it's your choice to make in it's entirety but I can't help wondering why this question is coming up?

8. Do it in Abuja if there is any requirements for the kindred just send money to them

9. That tradition of going to the village for traditional weddings doesn't extend to Yoruba land.
    We do our weddings wherever the bride's parent are located, even if they are located in Timbuktu.
    Do your wedding in Abuja and call it a day.

1. As in. We ijaws too hardly do the travelling home for wedding thing. We do it wherever our parents are. Mine and my three sisters were done in port Harcourt. We just send the family and village people money and things to them. Chikena.

2. Poster, make sure you send your village people the dowry money to buy those things and share within your kindred of birth . Tell them you people can't come to the village because of security issues. Your lives are more important than traveling to see them face to face. Nigeria is not a safe place anymore.

Besides, those of you saying she shouldn't let them know that she's marrying for the second time, when did it because a taboo to marry a second time. First marriage didn't work out so it is expected that she will find love again and now she has found love. I believe that it is no secret to her husband-to-be that she was once married.

10. Ask your family members or kindred how it is done. I have heard few that said that they did their traditional wedding in the city.

11. I see no point travelling all the way down oh. Do it in Abuja
    Congratulations

12. Finally abuja seems safe after all.

13. You can say because of security reasons, it's best to do it in Abuja. Is a valid reason