Speaking on Arise TV Prime Time programme, the minister said AI has enabled the expansion of the national social register.
He added that the register, which initially targeted only the rural poor, has grown from 13 million to 19.7 million people.
“To help someone, you must first know them. You can’t support people you can’t identify. That’s why we started by validating the social register,” Yilwatda said.
“The president ordered that we include the urban poor as well. We used satellite imagery to locate urban slums, then base stations and telecoms data to identify phone numbers in those locations.
“AI helped us generate a list of urban poor individuals by verifying those numbers, their access to financial services, and other indicators.
“So now, the updated social register covers both rural and urban communities, making it more inclusive and reliable.”
The minister said the federal government is targeting 15 million households — about 75 million individuals — with its anti-poverty programmes.
Yilwatda said the federal government has also introduced a range of structural measures to tackle poverty and food insecurity.
“The cost of food this year has stabilised, and food inflation has reduced. The government has introduced several measures to address this,” he said
“For example, student scholarships have been offered to ensure that those who have fallen below the poverty line can still access education.
“The government has also made N1.5 trillion available through the aggregate bank for farmers. This will allow them to access loan schemes, boost agricultural production, and enhance food security.”
The minister said past efforts focused mainly on humanitarian aid, but the current administration is pivoting towards long-term poverty eradication.
Hehehehe
ReplyDeleteFor this country?? π€£π
OMG ππ€£
DeleteNot to generate a skill, improve productivity, or anything else but identifying poor people...I honestly don't know which kind of loud FG dey smoke
ReplyDeleteπ€£π€£π€£π€£π€£. For real?
ReplyDeleteSomeone said they want to use "further maths" to solve simple arithmetic. So funnyπ€£π€£π€£
ReplyDeleteHmmm...Nigeria my country.
You must be joking π
ReplyDeleteAi ke?There was a country.....
ReplyDeleteI fear for this country, country that don't know the exact number of people living in their country . They are telling us they are using Ai to identify the poor. This is mtscheew, lie lie.
ReplyDeleteLeave them, na dem go still drink their cold zobo...
DeleteIdentifying those they will use to rig elections.
ReplyDeleteNo wonder,I saw one AI in my area yesterday, going about checking for the poor ,so na government send am? Issokay
ReplyDeleteWhat is this ππππππ
DeleteImagine π€£π€£
ReplyDeleteWTF π¬
ReplyDeleteWhat a clueless country
ReplyDeleteThose wey still get hope for this country, I salute una! See as yeye people dey use hammer to kpai ordinary fly.