Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Drama King Teejay's CORNER

Saturday, December 13, 2025

Drama King Teejay's CORNER

I had embarked on a two weeks visit to the community of Buguma, a relatively peaceful community in the Asari Toru local government area of Rivers state (Less than an hour journey from the city of Port Harcourt) for work purpose.

Great hospitality from the people who were so loving and accommodating.

Walking along the streets in the morning, I'm often been greeted, 'Ibate' which means good morning. I'll respond in the English 'Good morning.' Since I don't know how to respond in the dialect, I began greeting them first 'Ibate' whenever I come across an elder. With the pronunciation, one can still tell I'm not an indigene.

I learnt some of the basic such as 'Imiete' which means thank you. 'Ibote' is welcome and 'bò means come etc.

My first two days in the community I couldn't find a nice restaurant that gives the quality of meal I want. The meal weren't just it for me or what I'm used to. I kept searching and found a nice restaurant with a difference owned by an Igbo woman. I said this might be better and I wasn't disappointed. I discovered there are also many Igbo speaking people with family in the community running businesses.

I ate nice meals at my new found restaurant and fell in love with the native soup. I enjoyed fresh and dried fish almost every day.

Black they say is beautiful. I think I will have to agree on that. Majority of the women here are black in complexion, thick and also beautiful with some of them having this deep masculine voice. 
One of the women I got familiar with, got fond of me and said she wouldn't mind traveling to Port Harcourt with me. I smiled and took that for a joke even though I saw the seriousness she had said that. I was so nice and caring to them, so it was expected.

One noticeable thing I discovered is that, almost every family in the community have a teenage daughter with a child or two. Early motherhood I'll call it. I was shocked seeing a teenage girl of 20 has two kids while still living with the parents. Single Moms in the community are on the high side compare to what I have seen anywhere and it's usually from teenagers.

The burials in the community are usually done on Saturdays and celebrated very well just like the Ikwerre people. The only difference is that, an Ikwerre man can bury any day of the week either in his compound or inside a living room.

The Kalabari man buries at the cemetery irrespective of one's status. Even people from a Royal family aren't left out. When I enquired why the choice of cemetery even for Royal families, I was told burying in one's compound was stopped with a reason if they continue that way, every houses in the community will be a burial ground(cemetery) and I quite agreed with the person for on one single Saturday, I counted up to nine burials taking place.

On my first week in the community, I counted nine coffins carried at different intervals to the cemetery which is few kilometers to where I was working.

Most of the burials are aged men and women that's over 75 and 80yrs. When it comes to longevity, I'll give it to them. Someone said it could the unripe plantain and fresh fish they consume steadily that sustain them that number of years.

Such a lovely experience and my first time been there. A very busy and lively community with night life. Hopefully, I will love to visit again some other time in future.

Teejay don gbensh Buguma women eeeh...

7 comments:

1. Seems like a warm, friendly, and peaceful people. Glad you enjoyed your time there.

If you did have intimate knowledge of any woman there I hope you used the necessary precautions.

2. 😂😂😂😂

Stella, I no understand you ooo. I think you meant allegedly. The women are caring and loving sha. If you hear the name of the man I did job in his residence, you'll scream wow!!!!

By His grace, we're going global.

1. See capping. Shebi na shidren we be here. Oga you run one or two. Make I hear say you go waterside you no sample.

3. 75 is not old for me, I'd say 85 down is fine.

4. Oga Teejay welldone but sir try and learn the difference between been and being. Has and have. Everyday of your life, go to Google use two hours and study been and being, has and have. I feel somehow embarrassed on your behalf sometimes. Is this how you write to your bosses? Pleaseee

5. Nice one Teejay,The day I will visit portharcourt ehh, I will eat alot of fresh fish.