Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Age Controversy trails Actress UCHE JOMBOS the-future-awards nomination....

Monday, December 27, 2010

Age Controversy trails Actress UCHE JOMBOS the-future-awards nomination....

Uche Jombo and Genevieve Nnaji.

The future awards recently nominated actress uche jombo in the best actress
award category and all hell has broken loose.the reason is that the future awards
does not nominate anyone over 32yrs of age and some people have petitioned the awards
committee that uche jombo is not 31yrs old as published by the future awards but 42yrs
old.!!!
The outcry by the supposed people who know was pouring in so much that i contacted
the awards committe and this is what they had to say through the creative director chude jideonwo.
''.“We certainly have had more than a few complaints about the ages of one or two nominees.
We sincerely appreciate those reactions and the fact that people feel so strongly about this
awards process confirms to us that people believe in what we are doing Over the years we have had to withdraw the nominations of a few nominees who have been unable to prove their actual ages; indeed The Future Awards is one of  the very few processes that actually demands proof of nominees’ claims.“However, it is to be noted that nominees have submitted legal documents that corroborate the ages they have given. And unless complainants are able to direct us to documents and evidence that disprove them, we have no choice but to respect legally admissible proofs''.

The next move was contacting the actress and I asked her the follwoing questions

-How old are you

-What year were you born?

-How old is your older and younger sibling?

-What proof did you present to the future awards committee?

Her reponse?read further

''My age is my business and no one else',that i dont talk about my age is because its not important.
over the years i have heard all sorts of number attributed to me but i have kept quiet because those who
matter know how old i am.The future awards always verifies age before they accept nomination, people
should leave me alone and face their lives and work because i face my work and mind my business.
if i am 42,what does that make my mum?my mum is 52yrs old so will that mean she was twelve years
old when she had me her third child?
I was born on december 28,1979.my immediate older sibling was born in 1977 and my immediate younger
sibling was born in 1981.i presented enough facts to show my real age so i dont see why people are
petitioning the awards committee.are they the ones who gave birth to me?i dont really respond to some
certain things but this time it seems silence isnt golden.this is the fact,i am 31yrs old on my next birthday:
those spreading the wrong number should get their mathematics right.i have said enough on this issue,now
let me get back to work,i am on location right now,this is so annoying but i just refuse to get angry,instead
i say merry christmas to all my fans''.

I even went a step further by calling mama uche jombo to make it a wrap and the mother said in no minced
words
''all these reporters please get your facts right,i had uche in 1979,december 28th.;the people who are
saying shes older,were they there with me on this day when i was in labour?''.

Due to the brouhaha,the future awards had to specially Verify uches age two times and they stand on their
ground with the facts presented to them and the actress is up for the best actress awards category!

So heres my advice... if you still think otherwise,please present a copy of her birthday certificate stating she is 42yrs of age and a picture of yourself standing near the mother during childbirth!!!..lol

12 comments:

1. nawa ooooo uche you look 40 and up though. true talk sha. sorry my dear jombo. sometimes it hurt to hear the fact but is no body fault. but you deserve to win you are doing good in nollywood and we naija fans we like you. goodluk

2. The 42years claim is absolutely ridiculous. There is nothing about that lady that says she is that old.

3. This is so unfair for a hard working lady...this is purely the handwork of her detractors and enemies of progress. well this is one of the prices these celebrities have to pay and thanks to those spreading the "false age rumor" they are kinda making Uche Jumbo more popular.

4. but 5 yrs ago she had dated norbert young for 10 years..means she started at 15...wow!

5. i don't believe uche jombo is 31, she is older.

6. haaaaaaaaaaaa, chineke nna. wen did uche graduate dat she is claiming to be born in 1979?? it is well with nollywood. tomorrow ini edo wld claim 1992!! dat day is coming!!

7. uche 31!abeg.....leave matter...how old was she when she dated nobert young

8. LOL THIS BLOG COMMENTS ARE FUNNY,some 1 said uche dated norbert for 10years thats a big laugh, because started in nolly started 10yrs ago, uche has always been on the fast lane from word go, i should know that, i was in abayi girls with her, she was 1 of my best friends (took me 3years to know i was older she was our girlsrock leader,d type your mother warn u about) chidinma ndukwe is my name, you can ask her about me, i have been to like 5 blogs today cos i wanted to see pictures from her bday i just wonder why she will start telln you pple now when she nv talks about her age and you pple aready put her on the age you want, she shouldnt have bothered,is this future with money? will this award get her more roles? is this her first award? uche is who she is with or without this award. some1 said uche looks 40? really? check ur eyes please and stella you shouldnt have started this silly write up, i am upset with ucheobi for giving you access to lolo in the first place, pple will believe what they will believe why bother.

9. She does look older than 31. If she is indeed 31, then she needs to do something about her old looks. Maybe slim down more or use some younger-looking skin cream?

10. forget mother verifications uche jombo is 40 this year what are we expecting from her before? That she will tell us her daughter lied for award nominations.uche jombo got into nollywood over 15year ago when she dated nobert young and she had graduted then she was serving with at opa williams office i attended her25th birthday then.
    so why is she lieing anyway it will catch up with her someday. you are doing good with your career but pls stop pretending and wishing 31 pleaaaaase.