Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Mothers In Law:---Do They Make Or Break.....?

Sunday, August 04, 2013

Mothers In Law:---Do They Make Or Break.....?

Every one who is married has a mother in law and everyone who is dating now,has a potential mother in law.
Some Mothers in law are heaven sent and are so nice they sometimes take the place of a mother in our lives.........Some are not angels and the day you dare to 'step on her toes is the day she begins to plot the end of your union with her child.

Whats your Mother In law (MIL)experience?do you agree that some mothers in law need to start minding their businesses when their children get married?

Some mothers in law even give their daughters in law tough time because they are jealous---your experience and how you tackled the mother in law wahala might help someone else reading this.

118 comments:

1. na only mil u see? jobless sil with no brain n thought for her future nko? empty barrel oshi. i hope my bitchy sil can see this. she taught me that ur inlaws are nt family, they r ur inlaws. im nice n polite to them d few times we see. i dnt look for them or form yeye familiarity with them

1. My mother in law is heavens sent. She's like my real mother. Don't think she can ever be jealous of me

2. Anon.... Your SIL can become your greatest friend if you endure and be prayerful.

fibroid and infertility???

3. ehn, i spoke abt my sil not my mil.my mil is one of d best "tins" that has happened to him. she is one of d reasons i married my husband. but u see that his younger sis, witch of heaven n earth

4. It is beta to pray 4 a wonderful MIL. I wonder y a gurl wud pray dat her future husband abi husband 2 b shud b motherless 4getting dt 1 day she wud b a mother n hv sons. Hw wud u feel to knw dt ur future DIL is smwere praying 4 ur death??? Always remember wat u wish 4 sm1, sm1 smwere wud wish same 4 u... B wise n seek d face of God b4 u marry any1 cos HE has d power n ability to mk even d devil luv u 4 no reason. 1 luv

SENDLESS

5. My mil only speaks ibo and I don't speak ibo,she doesn't call me and I don't call her ( only on Christmas day) so she's happy and so am I lol! As for sil, the never born them to come to my house and talk nonsense.

6. Hey,How I do I get a feeling that you are my SIL?? (1) The things u wrote on here is wat you tell people & when I come to you so we could iron things out,You deny saying anything or having any ish wit me.How come you come on blogs to write the same thing. (2) IDK where you get the idea dt I don't like you. (3) I don't even know you like dt-we live on 2 diff continents. (4) Call me or e-mail me if you have a problem with me,we don't need all these mess.I hv 3 SIL myself and I've never had any issue wit them. (5) No,I'm not a bitch,I'm a passionate Yoruba woman, just like you,I loose my cool onece in a while (6) Get to know me! I applogize whenever I do something wrong.

7. Don't go and start a war with your sil, how are u sure she's the one? So many ppl are having the same problems with their in laws, so she might not be the one. Be careful.

8. Don't mind her, her conscience is pricking her. She must be really mean to her sister-in-law.

9. @ Anon 7:45, Don't get yourself worked up over an anonymous post on a blog.It could be Anybody! I hv a SIL dt her friend comes to FB to find me whenever they fight.They send me all kinds of messages dt my SIL supposedly said about me.I used to get mad like OMG wat hv I done 2 ds girl 2 deserve d bashing.Well,After 2years of d same thing happening over and over again,d story were getting more ridiculous.I then made a path with my SIL dt if she had a Prob wit me,she shuld let me know.2months later,her frnd came wit another outrageous lie dt my SIL supposedly said abt me.I had my SIL's back n told d gurl off.Since then,NOBODY dares sends me any rubish! The thing is,My SIL might or might not say those things but I chose not to hear it or know abt it.It doesn't change d price of gas in my car! Now,my SIL n I hv a gud relationship.

10. Stella na wa o how did you know this?

click click HERE for more gist

2. As a teenager, I played fervently that may I not meet a wicked mother-in-law and if there's one that will make my marriage hell, may she pass away before I even meet my husband.....

Years down the line, I met my hubby motherless. I'll never know if she would have given me hell....but I hear good reports about her though. Been told we both have a striking resemblance also!

1. Be sure you will not live to see any of your daughters in law sha cus like begets like and they have started praying same prayer you were praying years back.

2. Anon.3:59
      Abeg mind ur own.

3. The MIL experience I am typing is not hearsay O! it was alleged she began to behave like girlfriend...apparently she never received love from her own husband...she was one of those slave wives that can't talk back to her hubby..so she found it strange that her son was not beating his mouthy wife.

4. My mother-in-law is the greatest hypocrite of all times, proud, bossy, cocky and lazy....hian!!!! she has like 3 maids and never treats them right.

5. My MIL is wonderful woman.Been married now for 4yrs and we have never had a reason to beef.She doesn't get involved in our marriage.

6. Hmmm, some of them can b very tough o, that they would want to take control of the house, even when they are not there...they give their sons/daughters order of what and what shld and shld not b done at home.

A good mother in-law will always advice her son/daughter rightly no matter what the case may be....

Have seen a mother inlaw, who went as far as fighting her son in-law in his apartment....

My advice to all is that, no matter what the case may be avoid a third party in ur union...the very day u allow ur mother, father, brothers, sisters and friends to come into ur union, is the day u begin to loss it.

Learn to handle ur issues ur self...don't ever listen to anybody, no matter what the matter is, it will matter when it matters most.

May God bless our union!

7. Stella some people have late MIL remember, so its nt every1.

8. Some mothers in law even give their daughters in law tough time because they are jealous......danger. Tied to the apron strings is more spiritual than physical.
    In my church we say special prayers for mothers in law. I'll not name the tribe but if you cross a MIL's path she can kick you out.

1. Thank God for wisdom.God bless you.
      Have you seen where a mil would tell her dil,"I don't know what my son saw in you sef,i will make sure he leaves you and goes back to his other girlfriends because I have the last say over him"
      Which mil will still keep recieving gifts from her son's ex girlfriend even when she knows and was alive o when her son got married!

What type of mil will tell her son in the presence of his wife that there is nothing wrong in a guy having extra marital affairs, after all he will never be the first or last?!

For people who have wonderful mil, please thank your stars, and don't abuse the relationship. Ask people like me who have been to hell and back. I wish I could share my story sef, but people we sabi me dey come here well(thank goodness for gossip moments or chatting) them go decode quick who I be, make kasala no go burst.lol. But then like they say only a patient person can milk a lion. Thank goodness, as at today, who born the mil?! Lol, when you come to my house you abide by my rules, when I come to yours, I will abide by yours. Gone were the days of having the last say o! It's a new dawn now :)

9. Mine was a winch!! Defrauded me and was a greedy cow. No matter how much you gave to her it was never good enough for her sorry ass!! Tried my best yet it was never good enough. All she was after was how soon could i take her son to lie with me in london from nigeria.

She proclaims to be the deaconess,but always was going to a fetish priests and fake prophets!! If it was not my weight she was criticizing openly then it will be my colour........yet every morning she would come and collect money from me for food she would say. For 2 years i worked my ass off and her son never worked. I held the whole marriage together, and never told a soul even my family about this. Whenever i bought anything i lied and said my husband bought it for me just to give him some credibility. But decided to leave the sham of a marriage after i lost my pregnancy and not a single soul in his family found it fit to call and say a simple hello or ask about my welfare....... But they were so quick to collect boxes of presents from me.

I finally had enough as it was choking being the sole bread winner and the man not bothering to find a job even if it was that of a clerk i didnt mind. I kicked off his sorry ass.

Girls learn from me please......fine boy does not put food on the table.......NEVER marry out of pity, make sure he actually has a job GO THERE TO THE LOCATION.....even if your mother inlaw smile with you BE ON YOUR GUARD....some of them will hump their sons if given the chance and hide under the cover of the bible...............NEVER MARRY A LAZY WOMAN'S SON YOU WILL END UP CARRYING THE WHOLE FAMILY ON YOUR HEAD AND NOTHING YOU DO WILL BE GOOD ENOUGH FOR THEM COS THEY WILL ALWAYS WANT MORE!!!!!

1. Menh that was tough. U r a strong lady (thumbs up). However, I pray that I have a wonderful MIL n SIL.

2. So true, i had a similar experience, some families r just full of shit....

10. I have an evil MIL. She is always competing with me. Anytime, me and my son have an agreement on something, she would go and try to change his mind. I feel like I am in a polygamy relationship. We have moved far far away from her so we don't have to deal with her. She is evil but when you see her, she is so innocent looking and soft spoken.

11. I almost married a coward who's mother is so terrible. I didn't even know that it's possible for a person's mother to be manipulative and selfish. It was shocking to put it mildly. Some mother in law's are so terrible and one is better off not marrying into that sort of family.

12. Omg! My boyfriends mum was so jealous, she was the reason we broke up.
    She said I was snatching her son, he dint have time for her,
    She came up with so many stories that my boyfriends dad had to call me to ask what was going on.
    She went to the extent of calling me a witch. Burning the things I bought for my boyfriend with the excuse I put jazz on them.
    She showed me serious pepper. Chai! I pray nobody goes through what I went through abeg.

After that encounter, I was actually praying that my future husband went av a mum so I won't go through that again.

But later, I realized that was a bad prayer. I'm now married. With a mother in law that minds her business. We are cool, we call, we talk.

My advise; if you are not yet married and ur mother-in-law is as crazy as my ex's. Pls leave the relationship. Or your life will be hell.

1. My ex-bf mother was like that. The 1st day I met her, I knelt down to greet her and she literally eyed me frm head to toe. That was when I knew I had a serious problem. It didn't take me time to find my way out of that relationship. My MIL is God sent! She's nice, we call each other on the phone. She's my 2nd mummy. She even once scolded my hubby for raising his voice at me. I thank God for giving me such a wonderful MIL. Then again God doesn't give that which he knows u can't handle.

13. my frnd once said that....she prays her mum inlaw dies bfor she marries her husband......

But...omo,,GOD no answer dt prayer oo....d guy she married,,,d mum inlaw just dey gv her ''wahala'' 2/4/7.....

My own prayer is....my mum inlaw will be good to me...she wud take me as her daugter in jesus name.....

I will hv d best mum inlaw in jesus name....

Bcos i cant wish her death....somone in dont even kno yet

@Spy.

1. Spy quit deceiving yaself!4 August 2013 at 11:23

Which one u dey sef?! Tot you are a chronic lesbian! I pity the man wey go miss road marry you @spy!

2. mumu....wetin concern u wt my life style?

Yes...i am a chronic lesbian...

Go and hug transformer

Better Still.....Go n fuck ur self wt Dildo.

@Spy

14. Stella, you read my mind. I have silently wishing you will discuss this never ending topic(mil's).. Any woman who is fortunate to have a God fearing mother in law(I.e a woman who will treat her dil exacrly how she prays her daughter gets treated)doesn't know how lucky she is.

I hav a story but my husbandwill definately know it's his mother's story if I post anything here.

I will advise dil to simply ignore and pray hard as these 'fake and intolerant and narcisstic women' fail to realise the damage they are doing to their son b y making his wife/home uncomfortable.

They forget their daughters are somewhere or will go somewhere. Some daughters too usually team up with their mothers to give the wife/gf heat, forgetting that karma is a bitch!

Why a mother will plot a wife's downfall beats me! Ironically,these women were like 'fire and water' with their own mil's.

The kind of freehand they want in their son's homes, they never even let their mil's have it.
    A lot of them behaved badly to their own mil's and now that they are 'mils' their consience pricks them so badly and they are on the defensive and think their dil wants to do the same to them, forgetting, karms I sonly dealing with them!
    They want to control their son's every movcement and blame the wife for any misbehaviour on their son's part.
    These narcissitic mils are so manipulative and controlling and will do anything to come between their son(s) and his wife.
    If you claim your own mil made you uncomfortable, shouldn't you now be considerate now that you are an mil and also know that you are sowing a seed as at least one of your daughters will reap your bad acts in future and if you are lucky not to have a daughter, don't worry, karma still has its ways of dealing with everyone.
    These women go about badmouthing their dil and it beats me why you can't deal with your dil the same way you will handle your biolgical dauther/son, would you ploy your child's downfall if they offend you or would you badmouth them to the world?

Some dil became intolerant to their mils because of how the mil has treated them in the past!
    Some just see their dil as a threat' she won't let me enjoy my son and the fruit of my labour' didn't you enjoy his father? Life is turn by turn, if you genuinely trat her nicely, she will see through you. The problem is , mils are quick to judge their dils and take every mistake as deliberate acts. I believe wives are the ones that even ginger men to do stuffs for their families/people as men have the tendency to slow down on things. If you 'pally' your dil, you will enjoy your son more, realise she is a naïve lady, treat her with love, don't be quick to judge, you also upset her with some things you do. She has a different orientation from you, let her handle the kids as she wants, they are hers! Don't interfere in their marriage, don't manipulate your son to suit your purpose! Lastly, she is part of your family, not a housekeeper to your son and grandkids. You were accepted into your husband's family just like her. No need to be fake to her in your son's presence and drantic while he's absent, she will see through you, pls stop!
    Wives, play your part, ignore drama and be good because if you pay eveil for evil, your dil will repay you too in future and you will also be labelled 'bad mil'.

Shout out to all amazing mil's , God bless you, you all rock!

15. I am suprised I never see comment on this topic. Wats up ladies. Make una talk ooo some other ladies and even men can learn from experience on this topic.

16. Not all are the same,we have the good and bad ones.

17. My mother in law is the best I love that woman ehn she nor get time to beef if u offend am she will tell u straight up and it ends there my mother in law aka my gist partner I love her silly she doesn't pokenose in our affairs o rara at all

1. I'm mega happy for you but BE CAREFUL!

2. Its good to gist with ur MIL but remember that anything and everything you say can and will be used against you if need arises! I pray that never happens to you sha. Something similar happened to a friend of mine. She used to be soo close to her MIL and all of a sudden the woman did a 360degree turn against her. All the best sha

3. You are very correct, gist with mil can be used against you...

18. Ive been mRried for abt a year and my mil is yhe best ever.she spoils me rotten and buys super wax n hollandais for me at every excuse. Im.now preggy and she has been all.over me. She comes visiting and eats wit us. Shes just heaven sent. Compared to.my mum who is a mil sent from hell to my brothers wife. I guess im.lucky. Hausa mil are the best.

1. Just 1year??? Wait n see.dts how they all start.

2. You brought it out of my mouth, when you deliver her blood now(babay) you will jam! I hope she continues to be nice..

19. My Mil is a stone hearted woman,wen I was dating her son,she was all pretenious,couldn read her fully,I remembr wen I clld my hubby a pet name,she snappd at me sayn she doesn like d name,dt I shld change it,the moment she saw our reltnshp was leadn to marriage,her claws came out,she stoppd pickn my calls,became cold n nasty wen we see,she did all she could to stop d weddn,her son went to beg her,to ask wat d prblm was,she said nothing dt she just doesn like me,dt 2ndly thr was a day she gav me food and I ate it wiv disdain,dt was her reason o!other family members tried to intervene buh she stuck to her guns,while we still dey plan wedding in top gear n awaitn her approvl,she clld my hubby to say she had ran into one of his ex dt she wuld want him to marry and dt she was cmin to town wiv d geh,evn d foolish geh clld,(lol)my hubby really gav it to her on d phne,finally I took in,my hubby clld to tell her and she said and I quote"hmmm I see,tell her congrats"!OMO d nxt day I strtd bleedn I almost lost d preg,it was God dt kept me tht 9mths,do u knw we vn spokn since then,for 3yrs she hasn clld me or my hubby,she stoppd calln her only Son,till tmr I still dnt get hw a normal human being will do dt,d last thn she told my hubby was dt if anythn shld happen in d future,my hubby shuldn call her,everyday I pray to God to keep d love burning so she doesn laff at any1 of us at d end.my son has clockd 2 expectn d nxt baby in a couple of months,we still vnt spokn,nt evn a "how is my grandchild."So stella dts my story

1. Hmmmnnn, this manipulativewomen! Smh! They always want to hear something has happened! How a woman won't be after child's happinness beats me! Did her mil try this with her? Did her hubby chase her out? Is her wish her daughter gets a similar mil who will treat her just how she is treating you? Don't mind her, she wants to control her husband and control her son, God won't gree for her. Focus on your family and move on! It's her loss! People like that are like nollywood movies, on her deathbed, she starts seeking to see you, her son and your kids to make heaven whilst seriously begging for forgiveness! May God change these women.. The amazing mil, dils who have them, please treat them right o!

Petty mils, smh seriously!

2. Her own MIL is still alive and tried pleadn with her to accept me,her mil loves me and her great gran son to pcs,calls everday!

3. Eyya Sorry o but dat usually happens if u marry an only son especially if his dia source ov income

20. My MIL and SIL don't inform me before coming to my house...they travell from lag to pert without informing me...when they get to my house they will not even talk to me...

21. Abeg make I do go church and pray first ,hmmmm I need it,my ex mil was not only from hell ,she was a vice president there...will brb....the story plenty..have a nice time at service today,a nam a abia nu o!

1. Lmao 'vice president keh' pray fr her then

22. This comment has been removed by the author.

23. Oh yes! Most of them are horrible, that's why I promised myself never to marry a mama's boy. I speak to mine on the phone, and we are countries apart, so its easier, but thus is my kingdom and I rule with my king if any mother in law tries any nonsense with me, I will put poison and cockroaches in her food...#simples#

24. I pray my future mil will be like my mom. My sil is totally enjoying my mum

1. I pray so o...My mum treats her dils like gold, no competition/meddling of any form, but my mil, *not talking smiley*.. She *worry* die!

25. Buth the mystery is that , all of us will soon become someone,s mother inlaw some day , just knw that as u lay ur bed , naso u go lie on am oooooo , that is the basic truth

26. Buth the mystery is that , all of us will soon become someone,s mother inlaw some day , just knw that as u lay ur bed , naso u go lie on am oooooo , that is the basic truth

27. It is true that some mother in laws are bad, but i am warning all those who pray for their future husband's mother to die before they marry , Any of you women who pray such prayers , MAY YOU DIE BEFORE HER, AMEN! I am not yet a mother in law but i know i will love my daughter in law like my own daughter.

1. Your so on point but u shud hav said may god change their prayers to what's best.

2. Abi o. Do you want a future potential DIL be plotting your death before you even know the relationship exists?

3. My cousin had a mother inlaw dat was both nice and diciplined but she didn't realise coz she usually scolds both husband n wife but my cousin sees it as dey don't like her. When the poor woman died all dos hipocrites were calln her n comin to congratulate her but dats wen she saw d real man she married coz no1 to prevent him bad behaviours, she got the beatings of her life when she was 6 months pregnant for him o to the extent dat she fainted n had to be taken to d hospital by neighbors and after dat he gave her two more beatings bfr he divorced her n still anyman she starts a serious relationship with he would call d man n spoil evri thing and he dashed out their last child d third one out to his relatives o

4. Your so on point but u shud hav said may god change their prayers to what's best.

5. My mother saw hell in her mother in laws hands. My grand mum was so evil. Because of what my mum went through, how she even tried to kill me her own grand child, and swore that I will never marry.. but God delivered me after praying and fasting. Only 4 days into a prayer and fasting section, my grand mum died. The day she was buried was the day, my husband walked up to me and told me someone he just met that he wanted to marry me. Because of all those things, I prayed that I don't want to marry a man who has a mum, that is different from saying a mil should die. My husband lost his mother when he was born. But I wish I met her because she would have loved me or so he said.

28. MIL??HMMMM.....d first problem i started having wit dem was d isue of tribe coz dey ar 4rm anambra,okija.(both of dem) nd am 4 osun/ibadan.(mil nd fil)dey are always complainin dat ma huby is d first son nd dont xpect him to marry an outsider.later,it graduated to,anytin i say or do,dey wil shout abormination! In their place,later,i cant cook ibo fud e.t.c. Anytim i visit,one quarel or d oda.she go even dey suport her son(last born)to cus me.bt if i reply na wahala!! D day wey i cum show dem craze,na dat day i decid nt to go there again..sil nko?? Umuada tins.smh!!.....intertribalmariage?? B tink twice o!!yinkus

1. I'm not again intertribal marriages but I always remember the advice my father gave an older cousin of mine. We are yoruba and my cousin wanted to marry an ibo guy. My father said if she wants her marriage to have minor hiccups its best for her to start learning their language.

2. Intertribal marriages r d worst,make babes no try am,am igbo married to a yoruba,my mil is so sweet,infact I really love her but d problem is his sisters,they r all married but would never let me be,my husband is d only son wit 7sisters(so y'all can imagin)I have not had peace from d word go! He stays in uk while am in 9ja,dey made sure he didn't take me wit him rather they want to take my kids wit dem,God help me,cos my husband is under their control.
      Na Baba God go fight my battle: Amen.

3. Lols.
      Ur hubby is a weakling.
      He left u in Naija and ran to the Uk? Coward.
      My dear, struggle anyway u can and go meet ur husband abeg

29. My MIL is the best but I think thats got to do with my hubby playing well. Shes amazing unlike ma friends'.

Ma friend Mrs G lost her hubby 6 years into their marriage and it was hell for her. Her MIL accused her of killing her hubby, Shw seized the car keys, mobile phones et al. Do NOT marry Togonians if ure not from Togo lest ull be done. Togo!!! From their values to norms, its justa crazy...

30. Mother inlaws are only bad to disrespectful daugther inlaws,If you treat your mother inlaw bad,won't you feel bad if your son's wife treat you bad tomorrow,just think about it before calling your mother inlaw names,Visit Angel Maryjane David Blog.

1. Lool. You never jam o.
      I can proudly say in probably the most respectful person in this world. I don't like stress so I'll rather do things right so we can keep moving. Yet my ex boyfriends mum? ???? Shii. She hated me simply because she was jealous. She saw the love between her son and I and she told him the love was too much. That he dint have time for her again bla bla and she took it upon herself to make my life hell.
      Dear Paul, some people are just evil. Trust me, I've been there and I always pray no one ever goes through what I went through.

31. Any ways I am a man my say is be careful cos the principle of sowing n reaping is real.some pray against their MIL in-law to be even if they have not meant with her.or ask ?s about.buh remember u woman 'll be a mother in-law some day.she who have ear let her hear and u stella,some day u 'll be mother in-law.

32. My mil is d best eva;to me n pple around her.i keep praying t God t keep n sustain her. If rapture takes place today,i bet u,dt woman must mk heaven. I cnt jst describe her kind. Shout out t Mrs Grace Onuorah,A woman of substance.a caring mum,a wndrfl wife n a prayer warrior. May God neva allow d devices of d evil one t come upon u. Lv u loads.

33. God deliver us

34. Naija wt wahala. Govt wahala! Water and light wahala! Bad road wahala! No job wahala! Family wahala! Iwannagetmarriednow wahala! Now dis... Mil&Sil sh*t! Can I like breathe!!! One problem afta anoda. Y'all commenting gud and bad I sorry 4 all of u wishing death on ur Ms'il, cuz yur own mother is also a Mil, U sef one day na one day, u too wil be a Mil.... And be "MILling" devilish acts on ur children and so on! E go soon reach all of una. So watch it, it culd be worse or better regardless, depending on which side of d divide u stand. A word is enuf 4 d wise, btw u can ff d 11th commandment wich says... "Suit Yourself!" As 4 me i don't want all dez palava dat na y I run go marry a Beautiful "Slimfitted" Caucasian gal frm Canada, cuz me no want "I said, She said." Lasgidi's loss. So y'all can as well deal wt dat! Am outta hia 4 gud! @SterraDK how u doing? Dey hail dem & give dem badt advises dey go, thanks abunches!!!
    @RudeDude!

1. ... Your comment is as rude as your name.

35. My mum inlaw is God sent, even while I was still dating her son she nicknamed me hot chocolate and still calls me that. Have been married to her son 4 8 years and wl b mad @ me if she doesn't hear from me in a week it wl b lik avnt spoken 2 her in years. I love her so much and wish every1 out there som1 lik her

36. @ paul ur theory is sooo wrng,I never disrespectd my MIL fr 1 day buh she doesn like me,d prblm mst MIL v is dt thy still want to cntrl thr kids,sm dnt knw thr boundries!

37. My mother in law and I are in good terms. I, her and my mum are namesakes. I kno she pretends but I respect her and she respects me too.I don't talk tOo much o! I send my messages tru my actions. Even when she comes to our house she knows her boundaries, but my SIL, d one after my husband , lived with us for 9mnths, almost destroyed my home. I saw her in my dream everyday for d 9months she was wit us.she was trying to take my husband in d dream n we fought all time, I made sure I defeated her in all the fights we had.but physically I neva said a word to her. I looked forward to every night wen she would come to me and tellme if my husband wasn't her brother she wld av married him. To cut long story short , I went to see a deliverance minister ( I attend mfm)and she told me if her hands were clean I wld av to bear wit her but if her hands weren't clean she wld leave my home no matter how important whatever is keepin her is. I prayed for 3 nights. And one day she came back from work and said she wants to resign. She resigned from a 40k job and moved to alagbado and took a job for 20k

38. I have been hearing mother inlaws are this and that before I got married, the stories I heard got me so scared. I'm lucky to have a gentle, loving and God fearing MIL. She doesn't give me trouble at all. She adores her son and she transfered it to me. I'm greatful to God for giving me such a great MIL. God know say I no get strength for wahala. She even gave me a pet name "stainless" lol. God bless and keep you healthy for us mama.

39. I don't have issues with my MIL. She is okay but that is because my husband is man enough to let everyone know he runs his home and no one else not even me. Me I know he is the captain of the ship o. He is loving, caring, firm and steadfast. Ironically, my brothers do same to my mum. They respect her but she knows not to meddle in their homes, she can only advice. I believe you need to earn the respect of your parents even before you start looking for a spouse otherwise they would take advantage of you and this applies to in laws from both sides of the family. Even we as parents would do same to our children when they get married if they allow us.

1. Yes o..it all depends on the man.My MIL is nice but sometimes I think if my hubby wasn't d kind of man that makes it known to all and sundry that he doesn't want any meddlers in his home,she might be different.but for now we are cool,she respects me I respect her..and she hardly come around anyway

40. yes i am a man and i can tell you my mother in law is a witch,an ingrate and a very fraudulent woman milking everybody and playing her children against their husbands and against themselves,i think i will write an email to you soon stella about my mother inlaw for you to share with your readers,you won't believe what i am going through with her.

41. My mother inlaw to be is shy, gentel and reserve just like my husband to be except during *wink*
    I call my mil and she calls me and we keep the convo simple n so do i cuz i dunno wot to say to her. My hubby to be loves his mum to pieces and i guess the saying that if you want to know how a man will treat you check out how he treats his mum. My boo loves me to pieces and treats me even better than his mum. But i dont wana get too familiar with his fam so i am always silent aound them. My sil is cool she is engaged, my bil who is younger than my boo is so cool with me and we talk on a level. My fil is simple and a nice man.

But am learning alot from comments, thanks for this post S to D K

42. My potential mil,I dnt understand er yt..she does like she doesn't snd er son n I..she's friendly bt she seems nt to believe I'm for real anytym I shw er too mch respect d yorubas count.

43. I have a cordial relationship with my MIL, i give her, the due respect as a mother, but i don't love her as a mother, because she sees me as a rival who is enjoying her son's money. [Her son is not a millionaire! He just earns a good salary daz all!]

She was a divorcee who suffered to train my hubby and expected him to train his younger ones and build a house for her before he marries.[This i was told from day one when i met her!] So they were not happy with me when he got married.She was afraid i would turn her son's eyes from them.

So my tale of woes began! His younger siblings were living with us and he was handling all their expenses. We were always broke,some days, we slept without eating and my hubby finds it reluctant to spend or give me money for basic things for home expenses, myself and our children. We quarreled several times before he would drop money.If we buy anything new at home or she sees anything new on me, i can feel the jealousy oozing out of her. I supported with the little i earn to make my home peaceful.

He eventually trained all his younger ones and built a house for her.[we live in a rented apartment].After 13 years of marriage, i am suppose to have peace of mind now and my hubby spending on us right? No! She wants the youngest one to come back and stay with us since he could not find a job after graduating. This i bluntly refused and we are still quarreling on the matter, because he still takes care of him and his mother in their own house, so what does he want to come to mine for?

I have paid my dues to his family, and won't allow anybody to make my life miserable again!

1. Awwww... I feel u plight o madam, a rare gem u truly are!!! Just like my hubby bought his father a car while I was heavily pregnant expecting his first child (a boy) I wud jump bikes and tryciclyes and to think he bought d car secretly without informing me, his younger bruva stays wit us o... The most recent is his younger sista dat is married who wunt let him rest, she's a masters degree holder and recently demanded for money for a professional exam frm my hubby, me I be BSC my hubby na HND o, make una see life??? If I start MIL own ehn ground go full... I alwys pray 4d grace to let go and enjoy my home o

44. Hmm. I married a guy whose mum is late. But unfortunately my sil was devil. She tried all her best to destroy d marriage cos my hubby was their bread winner. Did all she could esp juju wise and guess wat? She succeeded. On a certain day, my hubby came in and told me to pack out for no reason. Like someone being remote controlled. I had to. Painful then but I ve since moved on with my life with absolute no regret!

45. Buh ladies, y do some pple pray dat dia mil shud die b4 they get married to dia hubby? Hav they forgotten dat they ar also potential mil? It's jst nt fair for pple to tink and pray lik dat. My own mama treats her 3 dils D̶̲̥̅̊ way she treats me even dou one of dem is misbehaving by tryin to horde her hubby from D̶̲̥̅̊ family buh ma mama does nt care, she says dat so far she's workin and earnin her own money, no child or dil can do yanga for her. So I pray I get a mil lik her who wud tak me as her dota. My bf's mom is D̶̲̥̅̊ reserved type sha and I bliv she wud tak me as her dota if she turns out to be my mil eventuallyam god bless my mama and my future mil

46. Anon 1,4,20 is a summary of my story.1st 2 years of my marriage i was all nice(i'm still nice)to my mother in law i use to call her 3 times a week she never calls me. so now i ve stopped calling we talk when she comes around which is always unannounced and every other month. I have developed tick skin and couldn't be bothered as long as we are both civil to each other i'm good. the only part i don't like is that anytime she is around she wants things done her way like don't keep shoes at the entrance, change the position of the flower pot. I obey when she leaves i change the position again when she comes next time she looks for new things to complain about, i'm not stupid i just love peace and since my husband seems to love her more than me i don't want trouble i believe one day all these will pass. I ve been married for 6yrs now and those 1st 2yrs all my prayers have been for this woman to love me more than she loves her son(my husband)i just gave up praying that prayer but i know that one day God will turns things around.

47. @MillyGUO..stainless lady pat.r u onwa s dil?

1. Lol, no I'm not. My FIL is not Onwa. I remember someone has asked me about this Onwa. Are you the one? Who is this Onwa pls? Seems like I have a lookalike somewhere, hmmm.

48. There's nothing wrong with inter-tribal marriages especially if you are both from an enlightened genre. If not, OYO.

49. Your Mil is not your mother, neither is she you sister or your friend so be very careful and wise in all your dealings.

50. My MIL is God sent,my husband is her only son with 5 sisters,my mil would do anything to make me n my kids very happy!buy us things,complain to me wenever I or my husband offend her,she would always deffend me but my sils,ha! Na dem be d proper witch,he!!! They would make up eveil stories to turn my mil n hubby against me,infact they ave him right where they want him,marriage is something else wit people like my sil.God bless my mil

51. u actually have to no business with ur sil no matter her character. Its not ur biz. Ur bro loves her so go and die.

52. Uneducated Igbo MILs are hazardous to your marriage!!

53. @9:41,enlighten genre ko! Abeg 4get dat tin joor!! My Mil ir a principal in a govt sch in lag,all her children are graduates wit masters.likewise i too.d litle dey even acepted me is bcos am a graduate.so person won beef go beef......yinkus

54. My MIL is heaven sent! I love her to the moon and back. In fact she is the glue that is still keeping my home together oh. Because me and my husband get hot temper and na she be the calming effect. She spends all her time praying for us. And never takes her son's side against me. I pray God blesses her and continues to keep her for us. Ad may he teach me to be as good a MIL as she is when my time comes. God bless u mummy!

55. SDK abeg open up another post for SIL's. Some of them their "winch" no get part2

56. My MIL is just a pure pretender! She always takes sides wit her son, even when it's very glaring that her son is wrong! It just baffles me, I know it's her son she has to take sides wit him but at least she should try and hide it small. My sil nko? Even the one that says she's a born again christain is just 2 chains! Ndi ara, I don't even have their time because I don't bother familiarizing wit any of them!

1. Gbam! Gbammer!! Gbammest!!!

57. My MIL is the sweetest woman, I pray that God grants her long life. My mother-Inlaw is Yoruba and cannot speak English as I am a foreign woman but we managed to get along so well, although the communication barrier was a problem but we still managed to communicate. I stayed with her for 6 months when I had my first child and my hubby never stayed with us as he worked out of the city and only came home during weekends. She taught me how to cook Yoruba food and treated me like her daughter, always sided with me when we quarrelled with my husband or corrected me by having someone interpret for me or sign language till we understood each other.One advice my mother gave me when my MIL came was I should treat her like I had treated her when she stayed with us. I never had any problem till to date she is in hospital and my prayer is that God heals her.

58. yinkus I'm not on the Government School Principal level, that is your level. Ajangbadi level. Being educated and being enlightened are two different things, inugo? You got it twisted.

59. My MuM is a MIL that wants to control all her married children's home. Thank God she is changing now, but it has been costly to the family. Her divide and rule style has caused entrangement in the family. Just as some Nigerians would support fradulent politicians as long as it favours them or cos they are family members; so you would find family members who pretend to see nothing wrong in how their mum/parents meddle/sow seeds of discord everywhere. Be it ur MIL or your Mum clear boundaries need to be set; otherwise many homes would not last-Tom n Jerry

60. Mine is cool, sweet natured as long as she is having her way, she spoils me silly with designers stuffs when ever she comes home (my marriage is a yr old) or sees anybody coming back to Nigeria to send it through... but she knows her boundaries & does not interfere (but then my hubby & I settle our issues btwn ourselves so wia she wan hear anything) the good thing is that she is in London & she only comes home once a year . Oh My hubby is the only child but since he didn't grow up with her, he is not tied to her apron strings (thank God cos my own for don red be dat coz am not a push over:D) so most times I end up settling disputes between them(so am d good DIL in her eyes)

61. I hope those of u dat claims ur MIL's are 'bad' are not reaping wat ur own mothers hav done to other peoples children. Cos u shall reap wat ur parents sow.

62. I came to spend my ASUU strike wit my elder bro in Lag, thinking, I wuld b able to get som menial jobs , but non is forth coming, I always ignore my SIL's attitudes, not bcos am weak, but bcos its her home, n also bcos I hope to get marry somday, n I believe in d law of seed time n harvest time n also bcos I hav no sister so I c her as a sister I neva had,so I love her 4 her own way even her own family members ar avoiding her, but me I can live wit d devil himself n we wil neva fight. #no shaking#

1. I agree with you. my sil is very nice and we get along very well but at times I do not agree with her actions or attitude. As a general rule I don't voice my opinions, since am not the one married to her what is my own with her attitude. I also do not live with them but sometime last year I stayed a month with then while renovations was going on at my place. The one thing I learned from that stay was to never live with a couple because only them understand their dynamics.

P.s mil just want to feel included, if you treat them with love and respect and not like they are trying to steal your property, MUST of them will reciprocate the feeling.

63. A bad sister will make a bad sister-in law and definitely graduates into a bad mother-in law. I am married with kids and i must confess that having a mother-in law who is exposed,peace-loving and above all has a personal relationship with Christ has been an all-round plus to my marriage.My mother-in law and i have the biblical "Ruth and Naomi"kind of relationship.She is an amazing woman in words and deeds!!! I am also a wonderful Mother-in law in the making!!! Please don't kill me with your wicked wishes.

64. @11:44,u no wel at all! Na craze dey ur brain.which level ur mama dey?smh

65. yinkus as anon August 5, 2013 at 3:55 PM; it's so typical of your responses that you are a hoodrat educated illiterate. Remember, I said being educated and being enlightened are two different things. You are far from enlightened. To bring my Mum into it shows you are bereft of home training. The internet has given low lives like you the platform to exchange words with people who are not on your level. Your level is Ajangbadi. Where the hell is that? Stick to French. You type better than when you try to type in English. You keep showing your ill mannered nature all the time. I hope the Okija people continue dealing with you. No wonder you are so bitter at Igbo people.

66. @MILLY. wow.u so much look lyk onwa s 1st daughter inlaw and ur name GUO is mkin it more confusing. Onwa is Sir GU okeke d ownervof GUO transport. And no,i wasnt d person dt once askd u if u r related t him

67. If I start my own story ground go full but God brought me into a great Christian family both mil nf fil re d best they don't come to our house in months, but they call to pray or send bible passages to read. They re so family oriented and I strive to be a part of their family happiness. U see my step mum dat woman na warrior her first son is going to his 40's but yet every girl he brings isn't good enough she always says whoever wants to marry her son must marry her first. I pity her son. My aunt ( May God bless her soul) she suffered from her inlaws even till her demise. Her husband wasn't financially buoyant o need I say he was a pastor and that was d only source of income. She supported him with her cake nd pastry business. When he died they said she killed their brother they came around to pack his property which he didn't have so they opted for their only only daughter to move in with them which she bluntly refused. On his wake keep she went with my mum nd her friends they bundled them out like apo garri and threw the food nd drinks they brought along with them away. That was where it all began o she was asked to mourn him for a year in d village. She left lagos to mourn him nd was not allowed to go for his burial. My grand dad being a chief ordered guards to escort her to at least pay her last respect. Need I say it was her sil doing all this o. My aunt fasted for months dat same calamity befalls her sis in law omo matter of months d woman husband die nd they tortured her too. Unfortunately with all the stress my aunt died some years after her husband's demise. She left her only child behind. My mum's family loves her so much she is in a private school now writing her senior waec. I love her so much nd can't wait for her to join me in Uk when she is done. Aunt Stella pls bring up a topic about step mums I get story to tell.

68. @ Anon 74, am sure I don't knw u. Maybe our stories might jst sound alike. Me and ma 3 sil ar livin in D̶̲̥̅̊ same city unlik u dat u live in diff continents. From Anon 73

69. i recently had a love spell cast on my partner last week after we both had a misunderstanding that almost lead to divorce and i was about losing my husband so a friend of my Natasha advice me to quickly order for reunite love spell that will make my husband change his mind from divorce which i did contact ekakaspelltemple@yahoo.com after the casting of the spell i receive a call from husband apologizing to me on what happened i can't thank you enough Dr ekaka you are indeed a god gifted spell caster.

70. My boy friend who i had dated for 9 years,already living together suddenly woke up and said to me last January that he does not love me anymore,he is not happy with the relationship,he said he does not want us to live a miserable life together,he said to me that he has already rented a new place and wants to move in with a girl he meet at work,i begged and pleaded with him but all my effort fail,i became desperate and searched for solution,that was how i meet the great spell caster winexbackspell@gmail.com he told me all i needed to do,he cast the WIN EX BACK SPELL for me and after 3 days my lover came back to me living the other lady begin for my forgiveness,i was so surprise if such help still exist,i am so happy winning my heart back again.

71. My boy friend who i had dated for 9 years,already living together suddenly woke up and said to me last January that he does not love me anymore,he is not happy with the relationship,he said he does not want us to live a miserable life together,he said to me that he has already rented a new place and wants to move in with a girl he meet at work,i begged and pleaded with him but all my effort fail,i became desperate and searched for solution,that was how i meet the great spell caster winexbackspell@gmail.com he told me all i needed to do,he cast the WIN EX BACK SPELL for me and after 3 days my lover came back to me living the other lady begin for my forgiveness,i was so surprise if such help still exist,i am so happy winning my heart back again.

72. Now i don’t wanna talk about my life but i have followed most of these craps and got used. Most of these people telling you beware this beware that are bunch of craps and scams. The only man you can actually trust on spell is dr zack balo his email is wiseindividualspell@gmail.com i would have brought him right here in the states if possible. He did a whole lot of things which i won’t really mention here but the most important of what he did for me was getting my husband back. He is great and i met him over the internet just as every other person has testified but he is actually real and a very good spell caster. i’m still very much indebted to dr zack balo for saving my life and my marriage. I want to let you all know that you don’t have to try anybody else except this man. his email address is wiseindividualspell@gmail.com...here is his phone number +2348078927387

73. Now i don’t wanna talk about my life but i have followed most of these craps and got used. Most of these people telling you beware this beware that are bunch of craps and scams. The only man you can actually trust on spell is dr zack balo his email is wiseindividualspell@gmail.com i would have brought him right here in the states if possible. He did a whole lot of things which i won’t really mention here but the most important of what he did for me was getting my husband back. He is great and i met him over the internet just as every other person has testified but he is actually real and a very good spell caster. i’m still very much indebted to dr zack balo for saving my life and my marriage. I want to let you all know that you don’t have to try anybody else except this man. his email address is wiseindividualspell@gmail.com...here is his phone number +2348078927387

74. Now i don’t wanna talk about my life but i have followed most of these craps and got used. Most of these people telling you beware this beware that are bunch of craps and scams. The only man you can actually trust on spell is dr zack balo his email is wiseindividualspell@gmail.com i would have brought him right here in the states if possible. He did a whole lot of things which i won’t really mention here but the most important of what he did for me was getting my husband back. He is great and i met him over the internet just as every other person has testified but he is actually real and a very good spell caster. i’m still very much indebted to dr zack balo for saving my life and my marriage. I want to let you all know that you don’t have to try anybody else except this man. his email address is wiseindividualspell@gmail.com...here is his phone number +2348078927387

75. Thank you Dr kuta my husband is back home and I'm very happy to let the world know that Dr kuta is a real and genuine spiritual man. My husband left home after our divorce and we stayed apart for 2 years but I still love him so I employed Dr kuta to perform a love for us to be back and within a week of the spell I started to see changes, for the first time in two years my husband called me and asked for reconciliation and ever since then we have been living happily together. Contact Dr kuta on Viber Or WhatsApp: +2349015655413 or you email him: drkutaherbalcenter@gmail.com I believe he will put back smile on your face