Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: How Does A Woman Prove She Was Raped?Read This.

Wednesday, October 09, 2013

How Does A Woman Prove She Was Raped?Read This.

Osogbo – Justice Oyejide Falola of the Osun State High Court sitting in Ikirun on Tuesday discharged and acquitted the Alowa of Ilowa-Ijesa, Oba Adebukola Alli, over a charge of raping an NYSC member.
Delivering judgment, Falola said that the plaintiff, Miss Helen Okpara, failed to tender enough exhibits to convince the court beyond reasonable doubt that she was raped by the monarch.
The judge also held that the plaintiff, who accused the monarch of raping her at his private residence in Osogbo, failed to prove that she was raped.

He said a case of rape could only be established with exhibits such as bed sheet, the victim’s pant and a medical report indicating forceful penetration, adding that the prosecutor failed to tender all these.
Falola said Okpara also failed to show the bruises on her private part as evidence that she was raped.
He further said the prosecutor failed to show to the court the plaintiff’s torn clothes as she had claimed in her submissions before the court.
While stressing that a case of rape must be proved with injuries sustained on the private part as well as other parts of the body, Falola said the court was not convinced that Okpara sustained any injury.
Falola said the court was able to establish the fact that Okpara and the monarch had been having regular sexual relationship before a misunderstanding ensued between them.
He, however, condemned such relationship involving a traditional ruler, saying his action had brought his stool into disrepute as well as disgrace to his family and community.
But Mr Femi Adedokun, the counsel to both Okpara and the state government, said he would seek advice from the Attorney-General and Commissioner for Justice before considering appealing the judgment.
On his part, the defence counsel, Mr Taofeeq Tewogbade, commended the judgment, describing it as “God’s judgment which came at the appointed time.’’
The case had been ongoing for almost three years before Tuesday’s judgment. (NAN)
Culled-Vanguard

*Please how does providing torn pant in court prove rape?how does one even prove one was raped?Within the confines of a relationship ,can rape be committed?

56 comments:

1. Na wah Oº°˚˚˚°ºoº°! A̶̲̥̅♏. Speechless and mad at d same time,, imagine so person wey dem rape Ώo know say dem rape A̶̲̥̅♏ abi???? Small time ȵ✆Щ dem g say make rape victims D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ speak out, speakout Fø̲̣̣я̅ wat!!! Speak out Fø̲̣̣я̅ ƌ̲̣¦Z̲̣̣̣̥ rubbish and be ridiculed again. That Oba shld jes be tankful dt times have changed if nt na sango Fø̲̣̣я̅ kill A̶̲̥̅♏ !!! Rubbish *long hiss*

1. if she claimed her clothes/pants were torn, it is prudent to tender them as exhibits. Also medical report should be gotten asap and if semen is found on her, it should be tested with d accused amongst many other things
      d law protects accused persons as d prosecution has to clear ALL reasonable doubts

2. Pls change ur fonts .hian !

3. Maybe he didn't rape her,he just 'by-forced' her. To by-force(non-violent rape) someone is different from rape.

2. stella rape can be committed within the confinse of a relationship. Husbands do rape their wife's and so do boyfriends. whenever a woman says no and you force your self to penetrate her, that is rape. I weep for my country Nigeria. Rich people can't go free of any crime they commit in Nigeria because of our corrupt system. I believe this Miss Okpara was raped.

Dee

1. That is what women who raise false alarm about being raped bank on. Sympathy for the woman and judgement being passed on the alledged rapist before investigations. How do you know for a fact that Miss Okpara was raped?

2. My friend was raped without her clothes being torn. A guy can show a girl a gun n she will open up so dat she will not be killed n dey will be no torn clothes or pants n wat if d guy lubricstes b4 penetrating how will u get proove of forceful penetration

3. Fost t comment yay. Tnk God

1. Ur very stupid. Just look @ d story and all u can do is thank God dat u r "fost to comment"?

2. bush you. Do u tink ure in linda's blog dts fost 2comment? Dis blog is meant 4matured ppl so get d f..k back 2wer ure comin 4rm

3. Olodo! Go take use am collect money from bank now. You think this Blog is for every tom,dick & harry? Idiot. Back to the matter;If she was in an affair with the Monarch & she claims she was raped then the case get as e be o.Abdul

4. Shameless... Grow up!

4. Now, this is a two way street. Power and poverty. The NYSC member sounds credible though.

1. u heard her? abi u have some info we dnt have?

5. Torn pant doesn't prove rape, and rape happens all the time in relationships. Nigeria is so hostile towards women. Even the fact that the alleged victim's name is being published is a clear indictment on our society.

6. So wat is d judge sayin? Dat she shld show pix of her vj wit bruises so as to convince him? Bloody pervert! 2 my all d ladies out there, nxt tym a guy tries 2 rape u coorperate! Yes coorperate nd wen he is relaxed, GRAB HIS CROUCH ND SQUEEZE IT REAL HARD! dat s y dey kp sayin its a man's world even in d 21st century. Mtchheeww, consentual sex my flat arse!
    #longhiss#
    Haney
    Warning-i no wan find dis comment!

1. ode! she isn't expected to "show" her body in court. she does that thru a medical report

2. Nd u had 2 insult me in order 2 drive home ur point ba? Smh @u
      Haney

7. She just disgraced herself, instead of her to go to a nearby clinic and take care of herself, now which man is going to wife her. A woman should only cry rape, if is more than a man. But one on one, old deal with it.

1. Pealie oloshi,

See this HIV infected ashawo, claiming to be a nurse. You have again commented to the best of your empty head. The tissues that should make up your brain all went to your sagging boobs. I'm sure when you bend over, your nipples buff your toenails.

2. Pealie, u must be very senseless, ur comments are often very stupid as u are. Pls hope this is not how u talk in real sense, if so then u need to grow some set of new brains is obvious d current one is no longer funtional.

3. How I wish brains were lyk teeth! U know, we could av hoped dat dat 'milk' brain in ur skull would fall off n a more matured 1 would grow again But sorry pealie u just av 2 manage ur brain lyk dat cos I don't c traits of u bin responsible! And I tot I heard sm1 call u a nurse! You! A nurse! I pity those patients u attend 2! Well, they would av known hw uncultured u are! Omo Asha!

4. Raining curses and consistently cyber bullying someone who airs her opinions on matters, isn't fair at all. The fact that this young lady decided to represent herself by not hiding under anonymous to comment like most pple do shouldn't give her away as prey or make her a victim of cyber bullying. Pls all, let's learn to be kind and considerate towards one another especially in our WORDS and actions as they could have negative effects. Pple don't always have to agree with one another, she has right and also entitlement to her opinions, the reason we're all created as different individuals. Pls, let's learn to tolerate others irrespective of the way we see their imperfections, God bless all!

8. One question.... How did she get into the monarch's house? Not like I'm judging her o.... But during my service year in KT, lots of these igbo chics were quite daring. Dem no dey fear anything. Corpers were very much aware of what most of the Alhaji's in town do with young girls, so a lot of people were wary of dem. But igbo chics? Naaa. About 4 of dem readily come to mind, that ended up marrying some alhaji's as 3 or 4th wife before we had our POP. It's an unfortunate situation, but only God really knows the truth.

9. Recently in the UK, there has been an upsurge in cases of women lying to have been raped. One even picked a man randomly on Facebook, someone she's never met and claimed he raped her. She inflicted wounds on herself to make the story believable. This was all to get her ex boyfriend's sympathy and make him go back to her. Thank God for the man's alibi, his life would have been ruined.

The court is there to protect everyone. If you put yourself in the shoes of a wrongly accused man, you will appreciate the courts demanding strong evidence to convict anyone of rape. In developed countries, a standard lab test of her body parts might produce the needed evidence.

1. This must be Luca posing as anonymous

2. Your comments nailed it, thanks.

3. Egba mi. Abeg, I no be Luca o

Trust Luca, he would have worked himself into the story somehow and dropped Atiku, Oniru, Aunty Salawa or Obj into the gist.

4. In what Universe does Luca write perfect English?

And no dropping of Big names?

10. pealie said:

She just disgraced herself, instead of her to go to a nearby clinic and take care of herself, now which man is going to wife her. A woman should only cry rape, if is more than a man. But one on one, old deal with it.

madam, i hope one day only one man rapes you. then we'll see if you feel differently. such stupidity from a woman. its people like you that encourage rape cases.

1. May una de tk am izy ooo, u shld try n see tins tru a person's eye.

Wat she meant wz, d gal's full names ar on display n cos of dat most naija men are shallow sh might not find a suitor.

I hope u do understnd wat I min by sayin ; pause a min n see tru som1's eye. Don't b quik to bring som1's view down.

11. Memory lane:6yrs ago, was in ma mummy's shop early in d mrning arranging things inorder 2 make it 2 schl on tym...one man came and requested 4 a bag of water which was insyd, as I was walking insyd 2 get it, dis man followed me, b4 ah could tell him 2 step down...hmmmmmm dis man held me tyt. He pulled me 2 d floor, Fear gripped me eh! Dunno if his intention was to rape me in d shop..dunno wia I got d strength 2 push him away..frightened dat I will raise alarm, he rushed awt.12yr old girl pushing a man of about 27 or dia about. I still consider it a miracle till 2day tho I neva told any1 about it. Am lettn it awt 4 d 1st tym 2day..I just dreaded coming 2 shop early....ignore any error pls

12. Truth of the matter is this; Without concrete proof and conviction, the court cannot convict. If the court just takes the woman's word for it, all every man that quarrels with a woman will be behind bars for rape. The oba probably raped the girl but it has to be proven beyond doubt in court. No sentiments in the law. Painful but true.

1. Well said..it has to be proven beyond reasonable doubt.

13. my dear i thought i was the only one irritated by that stupid comment.... I keep wondering if there is a cash prize for people that are "first to comment"

14. Those re d exact reqmt 2 prove rape evrywia in d world.It is not xclusive 2 Nigeria alone.it is medically n legally expectd that u submit these evidences.Its jst 2 avoid ladies accusing men unnecessarily whenever they hv minor disagreement.

15. Sadly, judgment is delivered in a court of law WITHOUT ANY REASONABLE DOUBT. The court wasn't convinced as substantial evidence that the crime was committed was missing. I know that in some cases, to prove a woman was raped, doctors have to examine the victims virgina to ascertain if there had been forceful penetration. Miss Okpara was intact, according to evidence. It's a sad judgment, but to get justice, the court needs evidence of a crime committed. Failing to provide required evidence discharges and acquits the accused.

16. I find it difficult to believe she was raped, how can an old man like dat rape such a young woman? If na me ehn, I won't kill him o, but I will make sure he will neva 4get d dat day till he dies. Assuming she inflicted injuries on him, pple wuld have believed her. But they should go and appeal d judgement.

17. Pealie, you're such a knucklehead. i genuinely feel sorry for you and your thought process.

#16 is spot on. in a court of law, conviction must be proved beyond reasonable doubt. if the victim can't produce these evidences of recordings of her ordeal afterwards or a credible witness to her story, sadly the rapist would be acquitted. painful but true. but he'll get his comeuppance and soon too.

1. What do u expect 4rm pealie didn't she claim to be a nurse, btw nurses and d police I don't know who is more heartless. I'm sure she is one of those nurses dat ma treats patients in hospitals. Its only a few of them dat are good people.

18. In an much I believe d corp member was raped,evidence is needed in d court of Law.

A teenager was walking along a street in her neigbourhood, she was ascorted and dragged into an uncompleted building and raped by 2 men.

She ran home and informed her mother who immediately rushed her to a missionary hospital nearby and was treated.
    Shortly after,the mother went to make a case at d police station and was asked for a doctors report.

She rushed back to d hospital,wld u guys believe dat d hospital REFUSED to give a report!!!

Alto,d family used jungle justice to get and indict the 2 guys involved in d rape

19. was she expecting the so called oba to be sentence in his own domain?dat can only happen outside this rotten country called nigeria,sisi corper go and sin no more as according to the court you would have remember to bring along the kabiyesi's bedsheet and your raped pant as an evidence ,useless country useless judiciary.

20. afi fost naa. Illiterate.

21. pealie this is the worst and dumbest comment you have made. I'm ashamed to see you are a woman. I guess you have been raped several times over and have said nothing. Registered nurse indeed. You this illegal immigrant.

1. Awww, sorry for your loss. Do you need some painkillers?

22. pealie is the most ignorant fool in the universe

23. I was raped @ 17 by two unkwown men, my panties were all stained with blood. When I went to d hospital I gathered all necessary evidence to convict the criminals, but alas I couldn't even identify dem cos dey attacked me @ night in my hostel room and did d act inside a dark bush. I was advised to continue with my education, and leave d case cos of d shame . Now what I'm trying to say is that, proving rape in cases wia d lady is not a virgin might be difficult especially if she didn't get bruised in d act.

24. how can u say such a thing? maybe when it happens to u u'll understand y she had to cry for help...Oyibo

25. eje and pealie get your ignorance out of here and go and get an education please. illiterates.

26. Yes, I agree with Anon 47. There are different forms of rape in our society and rapists are becoming more intelligent by the day. Sadly we blame our daughters, Sisters, Wife's and future Mothers for being raped. No is No, no matter how she said it; passively, fearfully, or aggressively. Infact today we have a combination of emotional, psychological and subtle rape in relationships. A young girl tells her boyfriend she doesnt want sex yet he would carefully, systematically and subtly brainwash into having sex with him because he wants to enjoy the pleasure.
    We must shift our emphasis from teaching the female folks not to get raped but teaching our Sons, Husbands, Fathers,and Brothers not to Rape. If our Sons are well brought up, we would not entertain fears for our daughters.
    Pls visit: www.kaylachanai.blogspot.com

27. One idiot raped me some years back. His name is Nelson Jack. Son of a bitch, may ur female children be raped too. Thank God he dint give me hiv, the bastard did it raw.

28. @9.40 laughed til tears was comin out of my eyes nawa for u o,

29. If u are a guy and have many ladies/women who adore you might rape u one day.So watch it.

30. Pealie gave u pple pain killer to realeas u pple from d insult and abuse, laff don tear my belle, she is trutly d nurse dat she is. Pls nobody should take offence.