Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Gov Uduaghan Meets With Itsekiri Women On Gas City Project

Thursday, January 09, 2014

Gov Uduaghan Meets With Itsekiri Women On Gas City Project

Delta State Governor, Dr. Emmanuel Uduaghan declared on Wednesday that the $16 billion Gas City Project was on course and could not be stalled by the activities of fifth columnists.

Uduaghan, in a media interaction with journalists in Warri, reiterated that security agencies were not involved in shoot out at Ugborodo, site of the project, as alleged by a section of the media.

The Governor rather noted that the trumped up reports were the handiwork of persons that bent on stalling the take-off of the project, stressing that the Federal and State Governments would not be distracted by such antics.

Uduaghan informed that he has met with the National Security Adviser, the Chief of Naval Staff and the Inspector General of Police, adding "everything is being done to ensure there is adequate security in the area for the project to go on."

The contractor, he said would in the next few days be moving to site to commence work and allayed any fears of the project being relocated from the state.

He informed that parties in the struggle for the leadership of the Ugborodo Community Trust have been summoned to Abuja and appealed to everyone in the area to maintain the peace.

Uduaghan dismissed insinuations of vested interest in the area, explaining that his only interest was to provide a peaceful environment for the project to succeed.

"My interest is to ensure that there is peace in the community and that the project succeeds because this project is beneficial not only to Ugborodo Community, Itsekiri Land, Delta State but Nigeria as a whole.

"I have no personal interest in this matter, all the factions are known and close to me and they have worked with me even before I became governor," Governor Uduaghan said.

In a related development, a group of Itsekiri Women led by Chief Rita Lori-Ogbebor, met with the governor in Warri to understand the issues in Ugborodo.

The governor, commending the Itsekiri Leader for her peaceful effort explained that leadership tussle on who becomes chairman of the Ugborodo Community Trust was at the root of recent unfounded stories in a section of the press.

Uduaghan assured the delegation that the Federal and State Governments were working closely to forestall any breakdown of law and order in the area.

Lori-Ogbebor on her part commended the quick intervention of the governor in dousing tension in the area and pleaded with him to always keep the channel of communication open with the women group.

She explained,"we have come here to ensure that there is peace in Itsekiri land."

24 comments:

1. Hmmm Rita Lori Ogbebor! Gone are the days.........

2. Blah blah blah!!!
    Ok!
    Seen!
    Noted!
    Next pls

3. Proper supervision of projects is key,but i really love what his doing with Delta, kudos sir.

4. Ihekire Tony

I don't read what does not concern me.

5. Naturelle Osasere9 January 2014 at 11:35

This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

6. is alright ,have no comment ,still on watching

7. When is he going to do same for the Urhobos????

8. Sorry to deviate.
    The woman in the picture looks mean n very scary.
    There's just something about her I can't really place.

1. You are not deviating she is actually mean and scary,jazz filled so you better start running

9. Naturelle Osasere9 January 2014 at 13:35

Pls someone should recommend an affordable sunscreen for me biko this abuja sun na die :(

10. Itsekiri man meets Itsekiri women

11. See as Uduaghan be like Mr.Latin

12. Delta iron lady
    Queen of the land
    Madam RiRi
    U mess up
    She clean u up

13. Some governors can resemble tortoise sha

14. Mama Rita Lori
    Rita Lori Hotels - 1 nation 1 madam
    Anonymous get Makari anti uv suncreen

15. don't use makari it will bleach you

16. He's the best governor Delta state has had since my existence on earth, you need to see the primary schools, I saw cavegina primary school, Olodi primary school, I just couldn't agree those are the schools back then when I was still in primary school,there are job opportunities, roads are been fixed, to the best of my knowledge he has tried a lot in the growth of my state(delta state) and he will keep trying...everybody is entitled to his/her opinion.... Proudly Deltan, Proudly Itsekiri and Proudly Waffarian.

1. Tosan I hail o.
      Omere mi....

2. Bloody liar dat's what you simply Α̲̅я̩̥̊ε̲̣̣̣̥, how much were you paid 2 frame up dis fake and untruthfull praise? Delta has never been lucky when it come's to those governing it. My boss and secretary cries out everyday

3. Madam Rita, d strong α̲̅πϑ mighty Rita lori back in d days of olu obasanjo. We hail thee.