Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Job Scam Alert - Please Beware!

Wednesday, February 19, 2014

Job Scam Alert - Please Beware!

Hi Stella,

I received a call from my mum today congratulating me that my sis just got a job, out of excitement I called my dad and we all laughed with joy, called my sis to find out how it went, she said she'll get back to me that's she's still there, waited for her till5pm she wasn't still back, I tried calling and her phone was off, so I chilled till she got back. Thank God she finally arrived and the shocking story of how her phone and laptop was taken from her by a man named Afolabi.
This is the story.

She was home when some1 she knows closely calls her to come to her shop, that a customer just came to eat and said a secretary was needed in a bank (name of bank withheld for now), she ran to shop 2 find a young man that asked her to bring her CV, national I'd card, birth certificate and photocopies of her certificate, conducted the interview there, then took her to a cafe afterwards 2 check her typing skill, the to a branch of the bank at Bariga, after spending time there, he went into a office, brought out a brown envelope and told her congratulations, that everyone was busy and they were looking at her through CCTV in d bank.

He then took her to another branch at Sabo, where he told her to bring her laptop and phone so he can install all the apps on it and also 6k for ID card and tax, all this happened in the banking hall. After a while he eloped, she was at the bank till 5pm waiting for him patiently without suspecting anything, only for her to be reminded by a banker that hope the person she's waiting for is coming. Then she realised she's been waiting for over 2hrs, then she tried calling, all to no avail.

Am sending this  post so people can be aware of the things that are happening, I hope the bank releases his pic to us tomorrow which should have been gotten from their CCTV. Will share when I do. Please help me post this. Thanks.

I wonder what people gain in all of these.

93 comments:

1. Na wa ooo... will all ds scam n shii ever stop?

1. Worst of it all, they now draw up how to use the unimaginable means to scam.low lifes!

2. Smh, you risk ur life in jail cos of how much? These petty thieves are hopeless

1. BLOG ANALYSER: Nawaoooo this one nah new method ooo. Chai!

2. So sry swthrt. Eve E Ume

3. She should have known now, no matter how desperate you are for a job, please try to use your brain. Since when are interviews held via CCTV kwa?

1. My thots exactly.the girl sef dense.what bank conducts interviews like that.abeg jare.

2. The two of u are d ones dat are dense. Pray what u want most is not used to tempt u dem we would know how well ur brain will function. Poor girl,she must have thought she was very lucky.

4. Lol...
    Desperate Wicked souls.
    I wonder how long this would continue.

5. All manner of scam. Na waa ooo.

6. She is a LEARNER!

1. Lmaoooo proper learner. She is either very young, new in the job hunting hustle or new to lagos.

7. Na wa o, may God help us

8. "Everyone in the bank was bz they could not see her"'I guess they were bz watching her on CCTV.
    But come oh, who does interview for bank job in a restaurant and how come she was with a laptop while going for an impromptu interview in a restaurant?my tots.
    Anyway hope they release CCTV footage so this punk can be nabbed

1. Read again. She didn't have her laptop earlier. But he later asked her to get it.

2. He just wanted to make her feel like a special candidate,....a manna from heaven' kinda miracle.lol!
      These pple are getting more sophisticated in their scams!

9. "Everyone in the bank was bz they could not see her"'I guess they were bz watching her on CCTV.
    But come oh, who does interview for bank job in a restaurant and how come she was with a laptop while going for an impromptu interview in a restaurant?my tots.
    Anyway hope they release CCTV footage so this punk can be nabbed

10. Na wah ooo...every one should shine eyes ohhh...guys are not smilling these days

11. The guy has mind. But hope he didnt intelligently avoid all the cameras.

1. Yes and I hope it's also not in conjunction' with a staff of the bank,since he was going in and out of offices.hmmmm we need to know dat bank o,for security purposes.

12. The fact that you are looking 4 a job doesnt meanu shld be gullible.......this Iis stupidity of tje highest order!!!!!!

13. Dem no go see me laye!

1. Hehehehe!
      Dis blog is filled with clowns.

Dis person fit b person wife oo
      A mother for dat mata!
      U don't no wen to be crious #SMH

14. Ur sis must be a learner. Is dat aw job is easy to get. Conduced an interview in a restuarant, mschew. Bank job for dah matter. Nonsense. I dnt pity her

1. Why are u all blaming the girl? See the sequence to it. She was called by a person she said that someone was looking for a bank sec. Nothing wrong with that. If she didn't go, the lady would have called her a lazy girl etc. Infact the middle person is in trouble too becos they were both scammed. I don't blame her at all. If he was genuine she would have gotten a job. Life itself is a risk biko.

15. Some staff in d bank helped him pull this off. We sha hope d CCTV footage will help make e no be say d guy don use juju wipe him face comot n we'll now end up seeing a yam interviewing ya sis instead of d dude.

1. ROTFL!!!!!! LMAO!!!

2. Princess Charming20 February 2014 at 01:55

Hahahahaa LWKMD @Nayata pls stop this pls hahahaaaaa LMAO! Sdkers you guys won't finish me with laugh.

3. Princess Charming20 February 2014 at 01:57

@end up seeing a yam interviewing ya sis instead of d dude. ROTFLMAO!!

16. may it never be well for every scammer in our lives! Al these good for nothing 419ers! It is only God that will judge their stupid lives o! Haba? Collect peoples hard earned money from them via dubious means,chai! God will punish all of you! Barawo kawai!

ANONYMOUS ANONYMITY!!

17. My uncle, told me something like this over the weekend. he said what some of the scamer do now they will enter bus and start making call pretending that the person they are talking to is the owner of a big co-operation or a bank manager like the story above,when he get to the bus stop people will start running to him with their cv's or their relatives'. please just spread the word don't be too desperate.

18. sorry but your sister is dumb

19. Nigerians and crime!!!! ( Some )

20. Na wa o. Thank God she came back alive.

Meanwhile, today is my dad's 80th birthday. I am happy and same time thanking God for his health. Never been hospitalized and no glasses and no walking stick. Join me thank Baba God for His mercies.His is next in ito ogbo.

1. Hbd to ur dad..more of good health &wealth.

BTW y'all shd stop calling d poor girl stupid , she might have been jazzed...
      #blackbarbie

2. Wow thank God f ur dad, God will kip him f u n ur family in abundance of good health, sound mind n body. Cheers t him.

3. Happy Birthday to ur dad n thank God for his life.. I tap into d blessing of long life for my parents too...

4. Are u from Obosi?

5. Happy birthday to ur dad, may my parents and my family members live a long, prosperous and healthy life in Jesus name Amen

21. She called the guy to no avail? I thought she gave the phone and laptop to the guy? And how did she get his number? She wrote it on paper after they met?

Just my curious thoughts.

Hopefully he will be caught

22. She is a complete mumu. What the ...how stupid can a graduate be this foolish? "Without foolish people, there will be no scam" Rev 24:1

1. Exactly, hw culdnt she knw dat she was bin scamd. Hw can a bank ask u to pay moni 4 an I.d card dat shuld b issued to u as a staff. She's just a desperado

2. Princess Charming20 February 2014 at 01:50

Hahahaaha LWKM...@Dr okechukwu may God forgive you oh . Where in the book of Rev did you see that your quote?

23. How can a stupid person be looking for a job? Just one of them educated illiterates. How can you be interviewed in a restaurant and taken to a cyber cafe to be tested for typing skills, are you crazy or plain stupid? Mtcheeeeeew

24. Am sure laptop was one of d tins ur sister was asked 2 go wit, if so y didn't she wonder wat it's 4? If not wat did she go there wit a laptop 4? Another thing is wat is d relationship between the person that called ur sister to her shop and the thief? Is she just meeting him for the 1st time?

1. Very true, d person dat introduced her t dat man shud b arrested f questioning. 1st of all. Thank God she wasn't raped sef.

2. He asked her to bring her laptop so that they can download her job details on it. Well according to what I read up there. I don't think the shop owner will knowingly be a part of the scam, becos she is stationed at a particular place of work, I assume they are neighbours and the woman won't jeopardise her integrity.

25. How do people sleep at night? Taking advantage of someone's desperation to get a job! This country is no more safe.
    That's how I applied for a job online for a particular job title, the name of d company wasn't stated but I got a text that I should come for an interview in a particular address..

I got there and was shocked that it was a palace and an Oba of a community was looking for a PA.. Female for that matter.. They way the people in d palace were behaving was suspicious and I used my 6th sense to leave.. @ first there was a man who said I can't go until the Oba has seen all of us. I told him rudely that I wasn't interested in the job anymore..he just said " you are lucky I don't have your time today" and let me go..
    I don't know what happened there that day but my when spirit doesn't agree with something, I don't do it..
    Not all job advert should be taken seriously becos come pple are out dere to dupe others.

26. Ur sister na real mumu! with all ur gragra (sdk), u better extend all those ur advice and preachments to ur sister, she needs to wisen up...6k before employment, install wetin? secretary for bank?? in this day n age...mehn! she gawked big time

27. Ur sister na real mumu! with all ur gragra (sdk), u better extend all those ur advice and preachments to ur sister, she needs to wisen up...6k before employment, install wetin? secretary for bank?? in this day n age...mehn! she gawked big time

28. if me narrate my own scam Eeh,Una go pity me,
    I just left school then and was going home after finishing my clearance for nysc,enter same bus with this man and from campus to town,to cut the long story short he told me hes an agent they need young graduates for mtn advert dat was y he was in our school, gave me his company card to call him and explain the details of the job,na so I conclude o carry my cv,my passport credentials and all give am, he called me for interviews at mtn shop,later he said the location is kogi state, me wey never leave lagos before na so I carry my bag tell my bro say I dey go koji for mtn marketing job,my bro wish me well,I got to kogi late nite, state i met him he told me it they finish the kogi own that day since I dint come early I av been fixed for the nxt day,and it in another village,I said I'm sowie I don't know.ow the village,so he lodge me into an hotel but,daat it's dir coy hotel,and he greeted those attendant well and even those people treated him well,like one oga o,anyway he gave me the key to the room and I slept alone lock the door incase of rape or anytin one can't say,anyway in the morning he came into my room asked me to get set since am going back to lagos same day,so I went to the bathroom said down all I needed to wear document money,jewelry, only for me to get back in to the room and discover all my tinz gone,it was like a film,I went to the reception to complain and ask for the man, they said he has checked out o,show,how can he go without calling me,anyway dat the lesson of life,I thank God I wasn't rape,killed,my mama head dey for my back,I begged money to lagos back ni o,but the was I was dress one guy at the park belive me,and help me till Beggar,am still friend with the guy till date,and I learnt the lesson of my life,never Eva be too desperate to get anything

1. Hahahahahahahahaha...this is funny...thank God you are alife to tell your stories....you even begged...LMAO

2. Gosh! Go back to school.

3. And u are a graduate? Jesus wept. See your composition...this is a monumental disaster. President Jonathan, pls we need your help with the education sector, how can a Nigerian graduate type this crap? Smh

29. u people insulting her,do u know some people use jazz,and I pray any of u aren't desperate of sometin,it's same hormones dat run. Wen a woman is desperate for child,

30. Poor chic was desperate and the scam artist saw right through her.

31. Hehehehe, dis just reminded of a neighbour back then. After he lost his shop 2 fire, the guy started going 2 banks 2 dupe people. He wld dress nicely like a banker and smart 2. Wat he does is, if there's so much queue, he'll come as a nice guy dat wants 2 help get ur transaction done fast, he's victims were mostly ladies and older women who are either illiterates or semi literate He wld tell em 2 bring their money that he wld help em post it, but not on the front counter and he wld tell em 2 wait dat he wld bring their teller, they'll wait until they realise they've been duped and then raise alarm. That continued until one of the victim recognised him in another bank while he was tryna dupe her again. He was arrested and was later released after some weeks. He didn't stop there o. He continued till he got his last victim pregnant, a teenager dat went 2 pay her school fees in the bank, he duped her, slept with her and got her preggy. He was really dealt with dat period dat he left the town 2 port Harcourt, dunno knw his fate there now. Cos we heard rumours dat he's been killed long ago. Dunno how true!! Long story mehn!!! I hate talking 2 much!

1. Yes.u r a person of few words wth this epistle wey u write.so if u wan talk a lot nko.

32. hehehehee... can't but laff scammers everywhere
    let me share my experience when i was in lasgidi.Tired and hungry, had just concluded my MSC exams in 2011 and was strolling down to the park to get a cab to unilag gate. a red car packed right beside and the guy driving offered me a ride to the gate,i entered thinking of the great relief from having to be on the long queue. On our we got talking, he introduced himself as GTBank HR officer and was like GTB is currently recruiting. I looked at him and said waow! what a lucky day for me and asked him what it will take for me to be recruited (i actually looked at him to stylishly assess him) and to my greatest disappointment the collar of his shirt had seen better days, dirty, torn in short his total outlook befits a jobless, hungry, struggler who wants to play a fast one on me.
    Getting to the gate, he offered to help me secure the GTBank job by conducting an interview for me right there in the car so he drove to that faculty of education side and parked. He asked all the basic interview questions and i answered. To cut the long story short, he shook my hand and congratulated me, stating that i've just gotten myself a customer service job at GTBank.
    meanwhile my antennas were already up after i assessed him,i knew he was a scammer but was flowing with him to see where the whole sh** will land.He asked me to drop my contacts that the bank will contact me after 2 weeks. i gave him my email addy, can't risk dropping my phone number. Still not done,he offered to take me to my destination and i said oya now let's go there. The fool now said i should bring money that he needs to buy fuel i just hissed, got out of the car and banged his door. i wasn't that angry sha cos i already knew he's a scammer.
    He wasted my time but he paid with the free ride he gave me to the gate...lol
    Am sure the idiot would have driven back to catch the next victim that will fall by fuelling his car. HUNGRY BEINGS EVERY WHERE BEWARE!!!

1. You sef that entered car, side-eye to you!

2. @pink sunset, queue for hours or enter innocent free ride which one better? Side eyes to you too *tongueout*. I dint know he's a scammer na...lol. I had a second experience sef after NYSC, I saw an advert in guardian newspaper that a multinatinal co was recruiting, the advert stated that pple shd pay 1500 to UBA, can't remember what for, after which we are to visit their website. I was able to access the website the day I saw the advert o only for me to pay and website started giving error! It never opened till tmrw.

33. Everything happend within a short period of time. Niwaz this was posted so people can be careful and for those that think they can never be a victim, my dear, watch ya back

1. You are right jare! Even the Bible says in 1 Corinthians 10:12 says "So, if you think you are standing firm, be careful that you don't fall!"

Let's all just be careful and always be on our guard

34. All kinda scams man, I just got an email sayn I won a car (Lord knws I need a new car). I got curious and called the no. The dude said to pay 30k for the car to be delivered to me. He sounded dodgy, I just laughed and said I will call bck. Damn folks need to be careful o

35. Its either your sister is sooo desperate that she closed her heart to good reasoning or she was under a spell or best still, your account of the story is not really correct. Whatever it is may it not be well for 419'ers who continue to plunder the needy. In this country we sabi do ourselves strong things. Sorry dear am glad she wasn't kidnapped or used for rituals.

36. Your sister is a mumu raised to power 10!.

37. Is she that dumb? how can she be asked to pay for ID and tax when she is yet to start work? who does that in this generation.

38. She s wit laptop, yet she was taken to a cafe to test her typing skill! Her fone wuz collected along d laptop, she stil tried calling him on fone. Dy met in a restuarant, interviewed, taken to a cafe for typing test then to a bank for a bogus envelope wit only God knows d content and yet to another bank for her gadgets to b collected. Hw did she get d man's no? Dis story doesn't add up joor.

1. Tnx anddi king! D story doesn't add up mehn!

39. She s wit laptop, yet she was taken to a cafe to test her typing skill! Her fone wuz collected along d laptop, she stil tried calling him on fone. Dy met in a restuarant, interviewed, taken to a cafe for typing test then to a bank for a bogus envelope wit only God knows d content and yet to another bank for her gadgets to b collected. Hw did she get d man's no? Dis story doesn't add up joor.

40. Your sister though *smh... Is she a learner????

41. Princess Charming19 February 2014 at 18:17

Your sister is a complete mugu.. Jeeez how can you be interviewed in a resturant then taken to a cyber cafe to test your computer skills? Bank work at that.. Is she a JJC? Is she new in this country to know that such things are done that way? Pls how old is your sister? Tell your sister to wise up... Make she no dey do seme seme. Just Imagine, "He took her laptop and phone so he can install all the apps on it". Banks don't use apps, what they use is "Server" and such things are only restricted to Marketers,Confirmed staff with strict surveillance at that so they won't defraud the bank then the Oga's. Even a contract staff does not have access to it until after 2-3weeks of intensive training, then he or she will be assigned to a system and ID password. So it was in the banking hall the guy did all these transactions with her and zoomed off. Wow!! I wonder if your sister went through the 4-walls of the university or the university passed thu her. I refuse to believe this. But if this is true, then the woman who contacted her; whose shop was used for the interview should be arrested. Shikena!

42. Corporate theives
    Kaydee

43. Bank job interview in a restaurant.......how stupid & desperate can som1 be

44. Naija!! I hail thee..the guy must ve avoided all the cctv cos he must ve observed all d entire environment of the bank in which he pulled his stunt..#things nigerians do for money..soo sad!

45. Its a pity though. But pls sister, never because of desperation for a job throw all caution to the wind. Who employs and conducts interview for another job that does not have biz with the restaurant in same place? Who carries you to a banking hall and gives you one cock n bull story and to top it all, submit your laptop and even your PHONE for installation of gini? Which kin software for which kin job?
    Which door did he pass to go out while you were in the hall waiting? At least I know lagos banks dnt allow customers to pass the back door out when they must have closed to customers. wetin happen really?????
    Let us all be alert to all these fraudsters. No one offering you a job will tell you to pay money for one thing one thing as they used to do then. (Dnt know ifdat line of trick is still working). And pls never ever part with your personal items to strangers you know nothing about. So long as a gun and knife are not used to threaten you. Sorry eh. Take heart. Hope the bastard was not smart enough to turn away from the camera whislt this was going on.

46. Y she go pay moni make company give am IDcard? No b craze b dat?

47. She had a laptop, yet he took her to a cyber cafe to test her 'typing' skills. Please remind me, I thought laptops have keyboard......abi na type writer dem go test? Unless your sister is an SSCE holder, she wasted your parents money cos school dint go thru her.

Too many inconsistencies in the story. Unless she was under a spell, im sorry to say your sister is dumb.

Jen

48. Sounds like ur sister is not a Lagosian!

49. So go back to the bank and ask for cctv footage of the day you and the scammer were there and hand it to the police; how hard is it to catch such people? Nigerian police do your job.

50. This story is so funny at the same time I don't blame the sister she might never have had a terrible experience with scammers or known someone who will enlighten her. She is wiser now. Nuff said. ~Slim Ada

51. Is it dat she don't have friends in d banking industry? Pele.
    Ones beaten, forever shy

52. No be today jobs scam begin for naija. I can't even begin tp recount my experience in 2007 when I first arrived Lagos.
    Kai! Na only God go fit arrest and punish these people.
    Meanwhile we need to always shine our eyes... Naija na wa!

53. All you here runnin your mouth i pity you all.... When scammers use jazz you do stupid things. Some just play on your psyche but those who use juju once you start talking to them you must fall for them...... So u all stop forming wise and shut your traps...... Anyone can be a victim

1. Pls help me tell them, see everybody forming Solomon. Poster pls tell your sister to be more careful, scammers are taking advantage of innocent gullible people this days.

54. People, interviews can be conducted anywhere o! But one has to "wizen" up before aka enwe aburu aka mmadu (before a monkey's hand becomes a human being's hand) I was interviewed for my present job- Mouth watering job- in a mechanic workshop. met the guy in a workshop and we got talking. I told him what I do and he said I was who they have been looking for. That I needed to meet his boss (an English man) who was travelling that same evening so I met the "boss" in his house.....I have the job today and the company is a multinational