Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Omotola And Genevieve Get Public Apology From Producer Obi Emeloye Who Was Quoted To Have Called Them Jobless.

Thursday, February 06, 2014

Omotola And Genevieve Get Public Apology From Producer Obi Emeloye Who Was Quoted To Have Called Them Jobless.

Reports recently surfaced online that Nollywood producer Obi Emelonye gave the reasons why Genevieve who starred in his “Mirror Boy” and Omotola in “Last Flight to Abuja” are currently jobless.he was quoted to have said;
“Genevieve and Omotola are the two biggest actresses we have in Nollywood. They cannot afford to charge less than their status and that is where the problem comes in. Their charges are probably above what the industry can afford. Their charges are like half of the entire production budget of a movie, so which producer can afford that?

What they can do now, as it is with other big stars all over the world, is that they should begin to fund their own productions and act in them. They can act whatever role(s) will enhance their brands. They need to start a production company now and push themselves because they need to remain relevant and must not be seen as jobless. If corporate bodies perceive them as jobless, they won’t want to do business with them and might even price them cheap.”

Well that was an Ooops and Obi has called up both Omotola and Genevieve to personally apologise has also tendered a public apology through his publicist Theodore Ibekwe.

It reads...

''I woke up over the weekend to a barrage of online reports of irreverent and disrespectful headlines about Genevieve and Omotola that were attributed to me.
Without delving into too much details, my private conversations in my house with a friend; talking about what Tom Cruise did when he stopped accepting lousy film projects from the big hollywood studios; has been misquoted, misconstrued, taken out of context and blown out of proportions.
 I want to state firstly that I hold these two titans of our industry in complete veneration. (Even the misquotes could not hide that fact). I am also grateful for their unique contributions to the great success of my collaborative projects with them.
Secondly, let it be known that in the time I have known Genevieve and Omotola and in all the dealings that I have had with them, I have never for once said a misplaced word about them, privately or publicly. I have neither betrayed the confidence of their friendship nor tried to gain cheap PR fodder from confidential information I may hold.
The initiator of this cruel stunt has coined stupid headlines to attract attention to themselves. I guess they have succeeded. However, I am not going to give them further relevance by naming them to the world. So I have decided to take full responsibility for my naivete in being so indiscreet; something I am not known for.
I have already personally apologised to Omotola and Genevieve for my part in this silliness. It is with their permission and without intending to stoke the fire of this publicity stunt, that I am writing to clarify the situation and also to personally and publicly apologise to the millions of fans and supporters loyal to Genevieve and Omotola who have been scandalised by this perversion. 
I have had a rewarding professional relationship with these two icons of our time; based on mutual respect and it is my wish to preserve that. I sincerely hope that this wholehearted and public show of contrition would be enough for Omotola and Genevieve (and their fans) to rise above their legitimate anger about this and forgive a friend who values them more than words can say.
We learn everyday. Mia culpa! Mia maxima culpa!
God bless you all.''

*Obi,it is well,now you have learnt your lessons.go and ''face your work'' and churn out more worthy movies..I remain your friend and greatest fan!

37 comments:

1. Naturelle Osasere6 February 2014 at 09:28

Don't like men without balls,what he said ws the truth nah,they are bothh jobless especially genevieve no foundation,no known investment nothing

1. all the houses she built for herself and mother and father are what now. haters oshi.

2. See dt Retard wey neva even fit count 100k dey condemn someone dt has made sumtin meaningful wiv her life. She has series of houses, u say no investments. Pls jst google to chk er net assets. Den u wil realise u need to step up your game.

3. Did you hear about the 100 million naira endorsement she got recently? Stay pressed hater!

4. But did he lie?

2. Apology or not, its the simple truth. I love them but i can't help but agree with Obi..at least to an extent.

3. He must be a Catholic for him to say "mia culp, mia maxima culp".

Obi apology accepted tho I see nothing wrong in what he said.

4. Na them sabi!

Thatisokochic!

5. Squada30@gmail.com6 February 2014 at 09:48

With Nigerian journalists around you? You gotta recite your speech like a hundred times in your heart before you let them out, because somehow, they must definitely find a way to twist your ideas to make it thirsty the general public.

I hope you've learned your lessons, and this time, you'll face your work lol

6. Please what did he say wrong? "not to be seen as jobless" isn't the same as saying they are jobless. Divas sha! And Obi, what's with this groveling apology?

7. Truth be told what Obi said about them being Jobless is so so true,Nobody calls these two to be in their movies again,no one,so he was right

8. Truth be told what Obi said about them being Jobless is so so true,Nobody calls these two to be in their movies again,no one,so he was right

9. Ok, seen. Apology accepted on behalf of the two reputable titans.
    I read "Misquotes" as "Mosquitoes" at 1st,lol

10. Every word spoken in the statement is the truth. In my opinion, Rukky Sanda and Yvonne Nelson are busier than these ladies. I'm a big fan of Omotola who I actually share facial resemblance with; and Genevieve but they need to get busy and follow Obi's advice. Apology not necessary.... Let's call a spade a spade!

1. Yimu** @facial resemblance

11. Jobless or not, it is never ur business. It is better to shut up rather speak frm d both side of ur mouth.

12. OBI EMELOYE GROW SOME BALLS.............. THEY ARE ONLY ACTRESSES............... WHAT WILL YOU SAY IF THEY WHERE POLITICIANS..........
    WHAT YOU SAID OR DID NOT SAY IS CORRECT.... EVERYBODY KNOWS THEY ARE JOBLESS. ITS SIMPLY THE TRUTH WITH GOOD ADVISE GIVEN.

13. A man like Obi can't just open his mouth and talk trash, our media is such a mess 'misquotes' people are everywhere looking for cheap blackmail to sell. Na fact you talk Mr OBI. They shld start producing theirs and likewise harness young talents. me sef dey wait for their call to act.

14. The fact they dnt accept every silly script that comes their way makes them jobless? Their brand doesn't deserve quantity now but quality! The guy who acted in Lincoln hardly acts in years but anytime he acts,he gets an oscar!
    The same goes to those saying mercy is the best cos she acts all movies *winks*

15. Truth is always bitter, you gave both sound advice maybe your apology is because you did not say it directly to them as friend. If both want to remain relevant they need to open a production company and featuring in their movies. No Nigerian producer can afford to pay huge amount on a movie they re not sure of making money with piracy problems facing producers.

16. Aunty STerra abeg post'am nau.
    A man like Obi can't just open his mouth and talk trash, our media is such a mess 'misquotes' people are everywhere looking for cheap blackmail to sell. Na fact you talk Mr OBI. They shld start producing theirs and likewise harness young talents. me sef dey wait for their call to act.

17. The man has spoken the truth! when was the last time omotola and genny were seen in a movie? as someone said above, yvonne nelson, rukky sanda, funke akindele , even tonto dike are all busy! omotola and genny have to come down from that high horse jor! they need to start making money! dont they have families to feed?

18. Truth be told, these two actresses shld allow others to reign too. Haba! Habatically let them be jobless jare, at least OmoT will face her marriage n renovate her husband's huse which is old and Gene will focus on D'banj to see if it will work or not. Thumps up Obi, u r d man. Yes, u have apologised bt we have picked the truth. Shikena

19. Well, I think it gives more joy and respect when you keep away from other people life especially their private life. My dear nobody is perfect and more so a man for the matter

20. Obi you are a real man. apology does not remove anything from anybody rather it adds. a big lesson for all those who find it very difficult to apologize to people especially when it involves a woman. You have shown maturity that should be emulated by all. Genny is my girl anytime any day cod her acting prowess is not contested any where. i read this piece first on naija gist and let me repeat what i wrote there cos stella have more followers, and this is because i want to be watching Genny always. Get mercy johnson to drop her fees first and then Genny and Omotola will follow suit. They are humans and have got millions of fans and with the heat this have generated, they will sure have a second though but and only if mercy johnson comes down from her fees.

21. Am a fan of genny,bt I think omoT is busier than genny,she jst released som songs,has a wishy washy reality show,biz wit her husband too.bt genny is jst stagnant,if nt for half of a yellow sun,she hasn't done anytin else.well,let dem stepdown let oda faces reign too.

1. Even half of a yellow sun isit nt a brief role...

22. The truth!!..those 2 have been too busy promoting themselves..Uche Jombo..YNelson..Rukky..Ini Edo...have all had productions...and pretty good too... It's also about taking your destiny in your own hands..truth hurts

23. Jobless genny in quote just clinched a 100m deal with etisalat! They are making their money so pls take several seats

1. 9jas are so enamoured by money...so what if she got a 100 Mill endorsement!!...what has that got to do with productivity??...after all no one works for anything in 9ja anymore...just cutting deals here and there...forming big boy big girl...lazy bunch!!

24. It's obvious people cannot read. He did not say they are Jobless. He said they should try and appear in more movies or fund, produce and act in their own movies to make them relevant ans in the public eyes so their fans won't miss seeing them in the screens and on tv and think they are jobless

25. you are really a just right webmaster. The site loading speed is incredible.
    It sort of feels that you are doing any distinctive trick.
    Moreover, The contents are masterwork. you have done a magnificent process on this matter!

Also visit my web site; kritika chaos unleashed hack android