Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Abacha’s Arraignment Over Alleged N444.6bn Theft Stalled By Illness.

Wednesday, April 30, 2014

Abacha’s Arraignment Over Alleged N444.6bn Theft Stalled By Illness.

The planned arraignment of Alhaji Mohammed Abacha, the scion of the late head of state, General Sani Abacha, by the Federal Government for unlawfully receiving about N446.3billion allegedly stolen from government’s coffers between 1995 and 1998, was yesterday, stalled due to ill health.

In a fresh charge of nine counts filed against him, the Federal Government accused Mohammed of, “dishonestly receiving stolen property” and, “voluntarily assisted in concealing money.”
The charge replaced the earlier one of 121 counts in which Mohammed was charged with Atiku Bagudu. The government  excluded Bagudu from the fresh charge.
Mohammed Abacha was absent when the matter first came up on April 10, 2014 forcing the court to adjourn till yesterday.

His lawyer, Abdullahi Haruna, who was in court, on that date had explained that his client’s absence was because he was not aware of the new charge. He then urged the court to adjourn the case to a further date to enable his client attend court.
Before then, he undertook to accept service on behalf of his client.
But for the second time, Mohammed did not show up in court for his arraignment. Instead, he was represented  by another lawyer, Mr. R.O Atabo, who attributed his absence to ill health.

He tendered a medical report to support his claim. The report which was read by the prosecution counsel, Daniel Enwelum, a private practitioner, said Mohammed was suffering from blood pressure, severe back pains and headache and needed two weeks bed rest.
Consequently, Mohammed’s lawyer, Atabo, sought for an adjournment to enable his client recuperate and take his plea.

His words: “We acknowledged the fact that the accused has been served in accordance with the undertaking of Abdullahi Haruna. However, we wish to inform the court that about four days ago, the accused person took ill and has to be rushed to hospital.
“So, the absence of the accused person today is neither deliberate nor an attempt to frustrate his trial. I have confided with the prosecution counsel and in support of my application, we have a medical report to attest to the medical fitness of the accused person. In the light of this, we seek the indulgence of the court to grant us an adjournment to a favourable date when the accused can come for his arraignment.”

While not objecting to the application for adjournment, the prosecution counsel, Enwelum said since it was a medical case, he would reluctantly not oppose the application but told the court that since the medical report mentioned two weeks bed rest, the court should help to ensure that the defence counsel produce him in court for trial.

In his ruling, Justice Mamman Kolo said he was reluctant to grant an adjournment, but being a medical situation, he would allow time for the accused person to recover and face his trial. He thereafter, adjourned the matter till June 18, 2014.
In count one, Mohammed was alleged to have between August and December 1995 at Abuja, dishonestly receiving $36,480,000.00 made up of cash and travellers cheques property of the Federal Government, believed to have been stolen.

Count two alleged that Mohammed, between August and December 1995 at Abuja, voluntarily assisted in concealing $57,960,000.00 believed to have been stolen from the Federal Government. Count three alleged that he, between October and December 1996 at Abuja, dishonestly received $26,913,500.00 believed to have been stolen from the federal Government.
The prosecution alleged in count four that Mohammed, within the same time, voluntarily assisted in concealing $26,913,500.00 allegedly stolen from the Federal Government. Count five alleged that he, sometime in June 1997 at Abuja dishonestly received $10,000,000.00 believed to have been stolen from the Federal Government.

He was, in count six, said to have, between February and December 1997 dishonestly received $87,000,000 and 41,143,000 pounds sterling believed to have been stolen from the Federal government. Count seven accused him of voluntarily assisting in concealing the amounts mentioned in count six.

In count eight, Mohammed was accused of dishonestly receiving, between January and August 1998 receiving $167,000,000 and 99,957,000 pound sterling, believed to have been stolen from the Federal Government. Count nine accused him of voluntarily assisting in concealing the amount mention in count eight.
The alleged offences are said to be punishable under sections 317 and 319 of the Penal Code...culled

25 comments:

1. If only I could get hold of a government position....
    Looting will be my surname.
    I'm beginning to enjoy this embezzlement stories.

1. Werey olomo, go and look after ur albino lizard and leave thieving things alone

2. U no see say e dey for ya eye? Them even stamp am put for ya forehead! As you dey enter there, na some all the monies go grow leg run! U no go even see one takeOcha toor
      toor!

Pepper the hottest heading to DH!

3. Reasoning with both sides of your shallow brain mamie. Small time now u say u hate naija claiming Britico and quoting bible. Fish brain. I hope u learn some day

2. That's how they will keep delaying the case until all the parties involve are dead! Mtcheeeew!!!

1. Partyz involvedz arez deadz? Abi untilz thez moniesz inz questionz isz finishedz!

Pepperz osez okuz!

2. Hahahahh pepperistic pepper you don craze oh. Abegz leavez diamondblingz alonez ohz

CeeCeez

3. Lmaoz...crazyz peoplez plentyz forz diz blogz

3. The General's Wife30 April 2014 at 08:48

Suffering from headache n back pain?! Ha! Dese r now chronic illnesses Abi? Meanwhile,do me A favour Sterra,desist from mentioning d amount of money dis guy stole! Can't believe anyone is capable of stealing such amount n maybe more sef! What does he wanna do wit all dat money? Go to his grAve wIt it?! Cos certainly,he Cant finish dat money while on planet earth.I am already having migraines thinking about "dat money" again.* sighs*

1. What are saying? The amount mentioned is underestimated seff! If it were M-amie, in there position, Nigeria will not even have one naira to account for! Go and check how much they still have in swiss bank! The amount is really underestimated trust me!

Pepper ose oku!

2. Ask Deziani.

3. Such monies can even tempt a priest present in that investigative panel!and I bet half of the pple on that panel will only be looking forward to being bribed'hehe!
      No be naija again#

4. did any1 notice dat none of these amounts wia written in Naira?
    But wait o,al dese figures r supposed 2 b our moni?
    Jeez! Dese pple r big thieves o!

Blue Ivy

5. did any1 notice dat none of these amounts wia written in Naira?
    But wait o,al dese figures r supposed 2 b our moni?
    Jeez! Dese pple r big thieves o!

Blue Ivy

6. Chaii! Sorry for you! All these counts on one person? This one he fell sick, hope he did not eat another forbidden apple?

Pepper ose oku just asking o! Na so e dey take start!

7. Chai.... See d kain money wey one person tiff....dis one na real barawo banza.

8. No wonder hausa men wants to die der with bokoharam.ndi ori na only una get nigeria

9. Many people suffered because of your father.
    Many killed
    Many ran away from home
    Ha Abacha, hope devil is serving u what u deserve
    Thief!!!
    Omo baba ole"son of a thief"
    Hope you buried your father with some money on his corpse,so he can bride devil to give him a special place in hell.

1. You this small witch aka. Little bitch! Has it not occured to you that a son shall not suffer for the sin of his father neither shall a father suffer for the sin of his sons! Onome! Better go and answer Don jazzy's call.

Pepper ose oku aka Egyptian neck!

2. Hey pepper! You little smelly bitch!
      Why do u love stalking my comment bitch?
      Do u want sango to strike and dislocate that your toto?
      You think every one here is your mate or what?
      Bitch do you want Amadioha to wither your fingers?
      Pls take your soured brain outta my sight bitch!
      Bitch,be very careful with me and stay outta my comment if you don't want me to strike you like a thunder!

3. Oloriburuku lepa shandy! I you appear from no where come tell pepper say her comments dey block your head! I siddon jeje na u carry your dry body wey dey like bonga fish look for trouble! No allowme make I invoke ochanganini for you! Cos if I do, your left ynash go shift base! Awon oloshi! Gbebourun!

Pepper hot!

10. Abbegi! Make we hear word...we always hear d beginning but neva d end...if they like, they shud charge him with a 1million count charge, he'll still get away with it...wen they catch one nobody dat embezzled only a million naira now they'll start acting like they r NYPD and FBI...stop deceivn us already, we r tired!

11. Stellastica;abeg how all these money dey sound u for mouth when u dey pronounce them...cos am lost ooo!! Can a human being finish that kinda money irregardless of his extravagance expenses..gosh!! This people eehhh..*and its now he would ve back pain abi* *criminals*

12. Vanity upon vanity. They loot their nations dry and in the end die and leave it all!..Human beans!