Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Port Harcourt City - A Blog Visitor Narrative.

Monday, April 07, 2014

Port Harcourt City - A Blog Visitor Narrative.

Hello Stellastica.

Am your blog visitor. I stumbled into a place in Port Harcourt yesterday Sunday April 6,2014 and was shocked that such a place existed in the heart of the city.

The attached pictures were taken yesterday at elijiji area in Port Harcourt. Elijiji is few metres to woji and rumuibekwe in obio! Akpor lga. The bridge  afar off in one of the pix is woji - slaughter bridge which was allegedly couple of years back to be deteriorating. 

This river is stagnant and half of its bank is occupied with refuse and garbage. The whole environment stinks and the residents complained that sometimes at night it gets out of hand and looks as if its a plague. 

I wonder what plans our big bros have in this case.

*vomits*

84 comments:

1. Portharcourt is so overrated....nothing dey there so am not surprised....the worst is that they don't build good houses....you will see a rich man living in a 2bedroom flat...mtcheew

1. U guys take t easy abeg..... Most cities in Nigeria v refuse dumped all over d place jst dat I dunt tink de r usually near water.

Elsie

2. Madam i too know, d so called rich man living in a 2 bedroom is living there becos he chose to or becos he is so irresponsible that he couldn't build a house even when he has d money. Am sure u don't know PH well for u to say dey don't build good houses! Ur type will go to oyigbo and tell pple that ukve bin to PH. Mtchew!

3. @Linda Eze, you're so right.

4. Even if this place is cleared, its gonna get like dis again. Ppl shuld learn to care for their environment cos govt won't do everytin. Re they not the ones that littered the whole place. Ppl shuld start treating their environment like their own home.

5. Don't say what u know nothing of madam

6. True! I went there for the first time, recently and I was like - "Is this the Port Harcourt ? "
      D place is messed up, starting from the airport.

7. Linda,its simply because the house rent is extremely much in most areas at ph..if them call price for u,u go reason say u go use that same Money stay for complete bungalow for V.I lag..but at the end wetin come dey PH kwan?? *vomits with stella*

8. Am sure you dunno how much a standard two bedroom flat cost in ph that's why are sayin this..

9. Yuck! I hate that place called PH. Bad roads everywhere, beginning from welcome to Rivers state, into Aba road. Terrible raods- not to talk of all those Rumo-whatever. Mtcheeeeeew.
      Going to PH from Uyo or Eket, is sheer bliss till you get to port harcourt
      I detest the place.

10. Which city in Nigeria does nt av dis kind of place?? Hypocrites!
      Y is d blog visitor sending mumu things. Fool

11. Linda eze is so right, I went to PH last year n was baffled at what I saw mehhh dt city is so over rated. Dirty razz looking state.

12. First of all whoever took dat pic is a bloody liar bcos I av lived in Woji for 5yrs now n Deres no way u can see slaughter bridge from elijiji or rumuibekwe cos dey r av different routes inshort dey r two world's apart and the so called slaughter bridge was constructed n commmisioned lyk 7yrs back so it's till standing n very ok.n as am writing dis the project for the expansion of elenlenwo road to slaughter bridge is on stella tell dat person who sent in dose pics to confirm b4 posting rubbish online n for dose of u dat av nt bin to ph in a while pls its 2014 try to visit sumtym n c d changes n for dose of u dat r talking abt dirts pls check ur behind its found evrywhr its proper management n disposal dat matters n Deres no place lyk dat in elijiji wit dat amount of dirt as for d polluted river I can agree cos dis is rivers state pple Whr d oil is n has bin polluted cos of oil spillage n for d rich man living in a two bedroom, d two bedroom was Probably built by him wen he culd afford just dat,pls visit rivers state n enter d town well o dnt go to choba n oyigbo n say u visited phc Pls go to GRA,PeterOdili road,Stadium road, old gra etc n c d beautiful structures dere

2. Yuck!!! Don't they have a form of refuse disposal in d city??

3. Sweetest Pussy7 April 2014 at 11:25

The people are complaining,yet they are still dumping refuse there? Mtchwww... Nigerians are the problems of Nigeria. is this the handwork of the governor or the people living around that environment? Mtchwww... next pls!
    No one should cuss me out,cos body dey pepper me this morning. Not happy at all

1. Wetin body dey pepper you for your second name do turn to pepper? Oloshi girl, onye owu!calling pepper brokeass! I sure say even one naira no dey that your account.if you cuss me, pepper go pepper u.

Pepper the hottest!

2. Sweetest Pussy7 April 2014 at 21:20

Eleribu ni ómó alata bearing pepper. Won ti sé epe fu e.
      Olobo ata rodo

4. This is sad.
    Which way Naija?

5. Governor Amaechi what is happening at your back yard? Please wake up. This is unacceptable...Mrs J

6. No where is clean in nigeria maybe just few cities like calabar I think,even here in abj there are some places you go you wonder if you are still in abj cos it is so dirty eh and same with lag, ph, kano and the rest.my point on this is that we should stop waiting for the govt,people should learn to clean their environment,I'm sure there are adult in that place they should clean that place,pack the dirt and burn,people should learn to dispose their dirt properly because when there is an epidemy,they will be the ones to suffer it,some people can't just see an empty space without turning the place to a refuse dump smh.

7. Before you rant,have you visited ABA ?
    This is child's play compared to what u might be faced with

1. Thank You. Aba is Sooooooooooooo dirty.

2. U're so correct M-amie aba is sooo dirty God forbid. Linda Eze u like to open ur mouth and vomit rubbish and i'm pretty sure u're from aba, u com dey form nonsense here. If d rich men live in 2 bedroom na ur money them use pay d rent? Mtcheeeew

3. Lol. No place beats Aba in dirt o. Now da its raining- am begining to see d beauty of Aba #sacarsm# . I was actually n PH ova d weekend, the place is kind of overrated sha, ma main problem wif dem was d traffic jam.

8. I keep saying it; things naija needs firsta and foremost are: contant water, electricity, proper drainage and waste disposal system. Forget all those bridges and structures they keep putting up. How disgusting! Smh

*click my name for your chance to win our easter cake, cheers*

9. D last tym I was in that city was 2007 nd it was so bad dat d highways r filled with refuse.bt I tot evritin is in d past now cos I learnt d govt has set up a sanitation commitee nd I evn saw them at work on d t.v.Gosh ds sight s irritating.hope d govt sees ds post nd do something abt it

10. Port harcourt is a dead city... I pity pple who think Amaechi is working, his just playing on our intelligence.

1. You are sooo right!

2. Dnt say that. I came to ph 2006 n d town ws so filthy. Ameachi is trying. Jst that we Nigerians ve a very poor mentality about our environment. Ikwerre landlords spoilt d town by blocking all d drainage to build

11. No be people troway the dirty there?

12. We can't blame govt for everything is it the govt dumping all the refuse there for GOd's sake the people who leave around there dumped all that to the detriment of their own health,we all know what is right lets just do it in our own lil ways.

13. Portharcout is such a dirty n old looking state,wt Al dia oil moni,still is very much under developed.u wl b suprised n amazed @ d kind of structures dey hv dia,vry dirty old looking things.mscheeewwwww

1. Mumu dey worry u @ junior baby. If ph is old what will u say abt Benin? Abi cos u all are living in lag u think that's ur state. Tell use d state ur from let's tell u how dirty and old it looks. Ewu gambia

14. Are u sure this is not the official refuse dump of the state?@poster,cos it's seems so,else the state govt is not trying.

15. Before y'll come here nd start saying trash about PHC ..In all states there re places like this..So shut up!! Ph is cool wth lots of nice places so try "Mr observer" try nd visit someone that stays in a good environment in ph nd tell ur friend in that part of woji to try nd relocate...

1. Abeg, stop being seentimental. The person has said the truth about Port Harcourt. Garden city my big foot!!!

16. N.Dr. Agwoturumbe7 April 2014 at 13:03

I am sure that the fashionable Governor Amaechi will do something about this. It is good that you brought it to his notice. Governors are not spirits and most time their sycophants of assistants tell them "all correct sir". This is what democracy is about. We are all In this together. Its our country, lets point out misnomer and demand that it be corrected instead complaining like Israelites in the wilderness.

17. Na wa o. C how irritatinq it lukz. I even dey imaqine d smell already. Choi.

18. Linda Eze, your level of ignorance is scary for the century we live in. Tell me, what does a person need more than a two bedroom flat for ideally? He cant sleep in more than a room at a time, plus the cost of maintaining a huge house is cumbersome. Nigerians need to learn to be less materialistic and wowed by such things and start to invest in the things that really matter. Cheers.

19. Lol..this isn't the "garden city" we know o...
    Naija has waste management issues.

20. Whatever I write will be misread. So,Dr Adeolu,move your boys to the aforementioned area pls.

1. Lol.irene can't talk again oooooo. U n this Amechi eh,tell us how far.

2. How ironical that it is a "dirty" yoruba man(Dr Adeolu) that will help clean the city of the so called neat people.

3. How ironical that it is a "dirty" yoruba man(Dr Adeolu) that will help clean the city of the so called neat people.

21. I am not surprised. I hate that city.

22. For real???? Naija we hail thee.

23. @linda who tell u say notin de port harcourt abi na story u de find.chibaby

1. Chibaby, there is definitely nothing spectacular about Port Harcourt, I've been there so am talking from experience, makeuna dey talk true small.

Pepper ose oku talk am.

24. D infamous PH. EVE E UME

25. Hon Chibuike Amaechi7 April 2014 at 14:15

Thanks for bringing this to my notice. I will see to it ASAP.

1. Hon chibuike Ameachi i greet u sir! #INYOURdreamssss.

26. Who dump refuse there?the pple of ph period so don't put the blame on the government.

27. for the first time i agree with the usually stupid linda eze.......overrated portHarcourt, just noise but no substance....hate the traffic, bad roads, hate how most of the houses are built.....unnecessary expensive town......before my first visit there was expecting to see a truly garden city but nothing......overrated much, empty vessels make the loudest noise

28. Please does anyone here have Gov Amaechi's direct phone number? I have a proposal on how to get rid of this.

29. Wait a minute!..Is that a lake or a small river i am seeing? Ha! the black man!…This place can easily be turned to a beautiful water front, build beautiful houses around that and enjoy a beatify view. What a waste!

30. Blog visitor that send these visuals God bless you.The tribalistic bigots on all blogs will be calling yorubas dirty people.How dirty can a city get and it is an overated city,was shocked to discover that.What about onitsha and aba,close to a pigsty.As old and ancient as Ibadan is,you will be amazed that it is far cleaner than these mentioned cities.We will continue to discover how posh you people that so much despise yorubas are.

1. Oh shut up, you idiot! Everyone knows Yorubas pple eat, bath & sleep in dirt. Filthy people!
      For your info, PH isn't in d East. Goat!

2. Blind bat that can't read,didnt you see where I wrote about aba and onitsha.Go to abeokuta,ijebu ode,akure,osogbo,ado ekiti and even ibadan.If you can get any place as dirty as this scene from ph or aba and onitsha in picture.I will apologise to you.Btw it is bathe not "bath".Even your M-amie admitted that Aba is the dirtiest city in Nigeria.You can knock your head against the wall if you disagree.

3. This place is mainly inhabited by Yoruba butchers n Calabar guys. So thanks for bringing their dirty habitts to our conciousness once more.

31. i wonder where this poster got these damnable pics from. Port-harcourt is not a dirty city. My family house is there. The city/state might still be inder construction but to say she is dirty is a big fat lie! Amaechi is working very hard and doing an extremely good job in that place. Seen the progress in my neighbourhood and will stand by his administration anytime. He is one governor who knows his onions. Those in choba/mgbuoba road can boast of good road network. I was stunned the last time i was there. Very good road network straight from the airport that i kept screaming. Those days when that road was horrible and muddied, amaechi will always come to work first thing in the morning on his power bike, wearing sjorts and he will be on site with the construction workers. Na una no dey let this man be. Abeg, leave my governor alone make im do im work wen dem vote am for! I take God beg wuna

1. Gbam ph is in no way a dirty city and the governor is really making an effort I was born and bred in ph and still live there u can't form an opinion about a city based on a 10 hour visit or more

32. Port harcourt city, all they knw is lesbianism and how 2 litter thr environment. #pigs

1. Coco Noir, were u dumped by your PH lesbian lover? Get the fuck outta here.

2. And all you know is how to utter rubbish. #FOOL#

3. Mumu anon 7:28pm and 7:31pm, I see d bitter truth is getting 2 u both... Show ur real identity if u're bold enough. Born fools.

33. Rivers of possibility..

34. Port harcourt has some of the finest structures u have ever sen so shut ur mouth dat looks like dat shit u posted to aunty stella..next time visit good places.. am sure ur friend stays in Bundu waterside or diobu he is lying dat it's woji..aunty stella Biko no use my comment drink garri

1. Efi awusa... the lofwtiin was mentioned in de post. Read well next tym

35. Naa only bungalow dem sabi build,,, d person asking what a rich man will do with more than 2 bedroom flat rilli??? Ar u serious.... A rich man need his room,to cool his brain,,his wifes room,,d kids room(2 for boys nd grls),,d maids room,,houseboys room if he is a bizman,,den guest room,,total of 6rooms,,,,,my dear 4 rooms is also kk but 2 rooms for rich man?? No way dats rubbish,,,wen will he enjoy his wealth???

36. Neva knew ph gat this much haters. Anyway we remain de oil city if u like go hug transformer.

37. Every city has it's filthy parts. People should know these dirts are dropped by humans that live near there. The present chairman of Rivers State Environmental Sanitation Authority is a Yoruba man. He is working very very hard 2wards ridding PH of dirts. They are desginated areas we are supposed to dispose of our dirts but ppl do not do this. Anyways,this report has gotten to his notice. Watch out,that area will wear a new look soon.
    Thanks to the blog visitor that sent in these pix.

1. Irene 900k,na u biko. U sabi ooo.

2. Can you see your level of buffoomery tribalist?one of the yorubas that you've tagged as being dirty is helping to clean up your city.I can recommend so many others to help you clean Aba,onitsha and your glorified village state capital of Awka too.

38. THE problem with Nigeria are Nigerians.Why are people saying portharcourt is not dirty.very dirty place the highways are littered with dirt.i live there and hv bn since the 70's.it was once the garden city but the dirt city now.and people will cm and say amaechi is trying.it will be difficult for Nigerian to move forward with this Nigerian mentality. the whole country si dirty.is t that Nigerins dont travel?i was shocked when i wwent to Lagos for the first time almighty Lagos. as forBenin i was surprised cos they said oshoms is working.smh.Abuja just a part of it.Aba no go area. that's why am always surprised at Uzor Kalu. he still has the guts to talk.governors are doing nothing but stealing.the whole country is a mess.God will judge.no laws in PH apart from sanitation.people throw things anayhw,drive anyhow,paste posters everywhere.with all the revenues frm companies.we dnt even need allocaton to mk d place look decent.lagos is like 1980.old dirty buildings. nigeria itself is still a village. i wonder if all the moni they steal , thy'll die with it.what happened to having a good nme.calabar dat donald did,its getting old.poor maintenance .no maintenance culturein the country.everywhere dirty and old.nobody should praise anystate.talk let this governors and politiians hear,instead of praising dem for nothin and giving awards. i wentto warri and was still looking for the town.village. so underdeveloped.its so so sad.what do dey do with the funds given to dem?dnt they travel out and see things ?why is nobody talking.it is well

39. I am sure there can be no drain or lake as dirty as this in my Lagos, that I'm sure of

40. I live in Ph and i have no doubt this picture was taken in one of the swamps.The city is so over rated and sanitation is very low but i must tell you that it got a lil better compared to Odili's time.Most places in Ph become unassessable once it rains cos drainages are blocked.Amechi has tried to dualize some roads and improve the drainage system.Just hope he does more.Port Harcourt needs a face lift.

41. Ph;a very corrupt and dense town.prostitution is the highest employer of labor.all them Sabi na wash

1. So how many prostitutes have you patronised? Fool!

42. This is not true. I live in woji and can say there is no such riverside in Elijiji
    Probably somewhere else but not Elijiji