Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigeria Woman Afusat Saliu 'To Be Deported On Tuesday Evening' (Yesterday Evening)

Wednesday, June 04, 2014

Nigeria Woman Afusat Saliu 'To Be Deported On Tuesday Evening' (Yesterday Evening)

A woman fighting deportation to Nigeria who claims her daughters could be subjected to female genital mutilation will be removed from the UK on Tuesday evening, her lawyers have said....Meaning she is in Nigeria as you read this.

Afusat Saliu, 31, and her daughters, Bassy, four, and Rashidat, two, from Leeds, were given a reprieve on 29 May.
But lawyer Bhumika Parmar said the family would now be deported "some time after 19:00 BST on Tuesday".
The Home Office said the case had gone through the "proper legal process".
Ms Saliu and her daughters were arrested by UK Border Agency staff on 28 May.
They been due to leave the UK on a Virgin Atlantic flight to Lagos at 22:20 BST last Thursday.
The airline's boss, Sir Richard Branson, subsequently received more than 1,000 tweets calling on him to intervene personally.
Their lawyer, Bhumika Parmar, said that earlier on Tuesday they were still being held at a detention centre near Gatwick airport.
She described their detention and imminent deportation as "an absolute mockery of our British government and protection".
A Home Office spokesperson said: "We consider every claim for asylum on its individual merits and in this case the claimant was not considered to be in need of protection.
"The case has gone through the proper legal process and our decision has been supported by the UK courts on five separate occasions, while the European Court of Human Rights declined an application to halt the removal."
Ms Saliu fled from Nigeria in 2011 claiming her stepmother had threatened to subject Bassy to female genital mutilation.
Ms Saliu, herself a victim of FGM, was heavily pregnant at the time.
She has said she fears both her daughters will be made to undergo the procedure and be forced into marriage should they return to Nigeria.
It is understood the Saliu family were taken into custody and detained at a holding centre in Sheffield before being moved to a family immigration centre in Crawley, West Sussex.
More than 120,000 people have signed a petition calling on the Home Office reconsider the case.bbc

*Bad lie gone wrong...pele oh!

33 comments:

1. The lie no get weight na! Which one be mutilation in Nigeria at this present age! She think say dem be mumu!? I pity the woman sha!

Pepper ose oku

2. They dont grant Asylum to Nigerians over here(I dont think). Eyah make she try togo dem fit help her for there or cameroon. If it was the good old days wey d home office still be "jew" this her story for make small sense. She will cope back home, Nigeria isnt that bad, just avoid Borno.

1. Yes o..all them countries Don wise up...Nigeria isn't dat bad..i love the life abroad but sometimes I miss nigeria madly..May she enjoy her stay in nigeria, start a trade, life goes on

3. Very good!

Lie-lie Madam.

Next time, tell a lie that makes sense.

4. Lol. Aunty stella oh. Na real bad lie gone wrong i feel for her sha. TITI

1. BLOG ANALYSER: abeg make una pity this woman nah! Make them allow am stay. Since that is what she wants. I dey pity her. The British government reads comment here

5. Will her step mum collect her daughters from her forcibly and perform the act?! Some people just say anything to remain in UK. The British got this one right this time!

6. Replies
    1. This patito eh na you de cause why people for this blog de cuss you. See comment lmao

2. Oya bye bye...

7. lolzzzz...hustle continues#DOVE

8. Welcome HOME Afusat!

9. Aunty come home. U for plan your strategy well well, dis one no hold water at all. Make una take am see dey portray Nigeria like one jungle abeg.

If it is true, Nigeria is so big, there are so many places to take your children that your step mum wont have access to. Good luck sha

10. D woman for look for better lie now this lie no get weight at all.

11. Eyaaaaaa I feel a lil sorry for u mam but I told ya u was gonna still be deported cos the home office now how people living in different african countries and getting integrated into our society so thos days of flimsy lies being bought r long gone so next time think smarter and deeper.You for just find one mumu oyibo marry there and go thru d process if u r that desperate to live in England with very cold hearted people as far as am concerned they r so unfriendly and unaccomodating just a place for vacation and shopping finito.I hope God gives u wisdom to hustle well and give ur kids d life they deserve. hasta la vista

12. Nigeria sef!
    A friend of mine that escaped being deported told me when she was in detaintion camp , nationals of countries like Zimbambue , Zambia and some other countries always rejected rejected their citizens that are deported and the country have no other option than to give the intended deportees their papers to live in the Uk. Especially president Mugabe who insists that the British have stolen from us and after colonising us refuse us to stay in their land.
    But Nigeria don't fight for their citizens and it easy to deport them.

13. Lie LIe woman..dem catch am well..welcome back

14. I pity her sha....she really didnt wanna come back home....buh den she should have come up with à better lié.d one she told is ludicrous!

15. Wish her the best in her future endeavours.
    But my people can abuse somethings in obodo oyinbo all in the name of asylum. I know of a few people in Canada that got asylum based on the gay/lesbian thingy only for them to bring in their spouses from Naija once approved. Pretty soon Canada will start catching up on that "ish" and start denying people asylum on grounds of being gay/lesbian. It's all good.

16. She no sabi lie.

17. Madam, u are welcome, hope u had a nice flight. Bitch Mtchewwwwww. Londoner!!!!

18. Yeye woman na God catch you just because u dont want to come back to nigeria you are painting nigeria black.

19. Iya ibeji lati Paris4 June 2014 at 13:23

Uk needs to chill even though na lie, france no fit deport am lialia!

20. Madam kpele. Nobody will touch your children for here eh. You didn't need to lie with that to be granted asylum. Its like saying we all have been 'touched' with the knife naa. Your reason was not strong enough. Come home and learn a trade.
    You no even need to pay for ya tickets. Free things. Hope sey no be cargo plane de take bundle you all come back.

21. My friend come back and continue ur hustle at Idumota .

22. Madam, this is not the end of the world. Go and make use of the best opportunity you have now. God will be there for you. Believe me, there is nowhere like home. They treat us like 3rd class here irrespective of our achievements. In fact, the higher you go, the more jealousy and hatred . I have relatives that refused to travel to obodo oyibo, they are better off today. It is well!

23. Madam, this is not the end of the world. Go and make use of the best opportunity you have now. God will be there for you. Believe me, there is nowhere like home. They treat us like 3rd class here irrespective of our achievements. In fact, the higher you go, the more jealousy and hatred . I have relatives that refused to travel to obodo oyibo, they are better off today. It is well! Rose

24. Bhaahahahahahahahah……..So your lie against Nigeria did not save you????…Bhaahahahahaha….

25. Imagine am considering relocating home to enjoy myself more than the boredom life of Europe and she is struggling with all sort of excuses just to remain without a guarantee papers even. If you need a job to cater for your kids don't hesitate to ask people of God on Stella blog, they are nice and will help you. GB

26. Hilarious! "Bad lie gone wrong"...you've got jokes Stella. I used to work for the UK Border Agency and unfortunately they know every trick in the book concerning FGM and those who are truly at risk.

All it takes is a little bit of research online and information from fellow Nigerians.

1. Hmmmm!!! You work with the home office as what and in what department/unit?

Afusat , my prayers are with you at this time. Next time I hope you would realise that there are certain things you don't involve the whole world in. Yours was such a sad unfortunate case used to set a "specific" precedence. All the best for the future.