Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Doctor Kills Himself As John Hopkins Hospital Pays Out $190m Over Recordings Of Patients

Wednesday, July 23, 2014

Doctor Kills Himself As John Hopkins Hospital Pays Out $190m Over Recordings Of Patients

Dr Nikita Levy

Johns Hopkins Hospital in the US state of Maryland has agreed to pay $190m (£111m) after some 8,000 women joined a legal case claiming a gynaecologist had secretly recorded them.
Dr Nikita Levy, who killed himself last year,reportedly used cameras in pens and key fobs to tape patients.

Lawyer Jonathan Schochor said all of the women had been "brutalised" and described it as a "betrayal".

The settlement is believed to be the largest of its kind in US history.
The hospital said in a statement that one individual "does not define Johns Hopkins".

"It is our hope that this settlement, and findings by law enforcement that images were not shared, helps those affected achieve a measure of closure," the statement said.
Levy's misconduct was first brought to light by a colleague, who saw a pen camera around his neck.

Authorities later discovered more than 1,200 images and videos clips of patients on hard drives in Levy's home.
The women also alleged that Levy ordered an "excessive number" of invasive exams and engaged in inappropriate physical contact.
An investigation later determined Levy participated in the misconduct on his own and did not record underage patients.

Levy was fired by the hospital on 8 February 2013 after the allegations came to light and was found dead 10 days later.

*I wonder how the whistleblower feels now...sad thing to have happened but the truth is that we have doctors like this all over the world but the law works in most countries (except in Nigeria) and prosecutes them once caught.

66 comments:

1. Hope it serves as a lesson to others

2. Na wah o. Smh. Rip to de dead.

3. Is it the whistle blower's fault that the doctor was a pervert? The whistle blower would sleep easy knowing he helped expose a criminal.

1. Madam stella, what do you mean by you wonder how the whistle blower feels? How is he/she supposed to feel? Hian! Do you know how much fear he must have put those no of women in when they found out they were beign recorded? Ah nawa oh. May his sould Rip sha. God gives, God takes..

2. I tire. Stella I don't understand what you mean by wondering how the whistleblower feels? Should the person have kept quiet? Perverts everywhere and men and women alike are vulnerable. God help us.

3. The thing tire me? "I wonder how the whistleblower would feel"...what a crass an insensitive question...what has any of this got to do with the whistleblower?

4. Docs are d randiest of d male spp n dey do it shamelessly.
    Followed by bankers.
    My sincere prayer is neva to end up wit 1.
    Too bad, It feels like in d end, d nkita guy was remorseful.

1. I concur with you on this, I have this friend-male doctor, a to say it nicely he's a harlot
      😷

5. Bloody pervert...Na true you yearn oooh Aunty Stella, for Naija d women will rather be charged and fined for slander and defamation of character...Dis Naija tire me!

Meanwhile any kind hearted BV who is looking for someone to do menial jobs for him or her should please contact me...I am a University graduate but the economic situation in the country has made me resort to driving okada for a living...Right now my okada is faulty and I have just been diagnosed of stomach ulcer...Learnt how to make liquid detergent at NYSC camp, so I am thinking of delving into that, but as usual d dream has been hampered by lack of funds...I will love to wash plates, do laundry work and anything to raise capital...Anybody who wanna give me a menial job should hit me up!

1. How much do you need to start your business.

2. God bless you for showing concern....All I need to start is less than a 100k. That way I will not only be empowering myself but others 2 along the line...Help me to make a big difference!

3. Pls let me have your account details and I will pay my widow's mite into the account. I wish you all the best in life.

4. May God perfect all that concerns you...

Account name: Raheem Oluwaseun

Account number: 0019570403

Bank: Sterling bank.

5. @ Anon did you send money to him, just asking so i know how much to add for him so he can start his biz...I really feel for the young man...Unfortunately that is what Nigeria has turned into.

6. He's better resting in perfect peace that's if he's not hovering around this blog....lol
    Fetish beings!

7. Reminds me of our family doc who takes pleasure in harrassing patients. So annoyin dat he once gave me his d*ck t massage d nyt I was out of an operatin room. Cld barely hold it cos I was still dizzy n in pain. Told my parents bt my mum said he's knwn for dat.

1. You even tried to hold it? Lmao

2. Was that all ur mom cld say?smh for d woman.

3. U don't hv t shake ur head 4 my mum. In a situation whr he's my dad's friend,d only good doc arnd n d doc dat had nurtured us 4d past 25yrs,wot do u expect her t say? We aint his only patients n every family knows him t get crazy on patients bt d fact dt he's 100% good mks him ok for every1.

8. Stella you are very stupid for blaming the whistleblower. How will you feel if someone recorded your privates without your consent? If you like don't post. ...Atleast you read it

1. Don't mind Stella o sometimes I just wonder where she put her brain

2. It's mistaken kindness, Fifi.

3. You have to understand Stella's statement in English context setting aside grieviances. I also begin to wonder how the whistleblower feels now because he never would have imagined this will lead to suicide. He must av anticipated just jail terms as well as termination of the doctor's employment plus withdrawal of licence. Nobody is ever happy abt suicide cos it doesn't give room for repentance nor change. if the whistleblower knew it will end like this I bet you he wouldn't open his mouth. That I think is the reason for Stella's statement. Trust me, suicide is way worse than anything else. Mind you I seriously condemn the doctor's actions.

9. His name speaks for itself. Nkita (forget d correct spelling. Na wetin I see I spell) Nkita for my language means dog. Na mad dog. He could have gotten himself any woman he wanted. He was accomplished. Why act depraved. This shows that doctors need doctors to cure them. 'Physician heal thyself'. Na wao. Wetin he go tell him Chi when he reach yonder. Say to look woman yansh put am for trouble. Ejikwam oguh o.

10. Wonders will never end

11. May his soul RIP. But pay day to the women. Cha Ching.

12. Excuse me, Stella, I don't get it when you say "I wonder how the whistleblower feels now?" Are you, by any chance, laying blame on him? And if so, blame for what? The death of the doctor, or the payout by the hospital? Please clarify, because your opinions sometimes beggar belief!

13. Things are really happening. Now I'll be suspicious of these doctors

14. Ehya, so sad. But then, suicide shudnt hav been d best option. You wud hav gone back to your country home(I knw America isn't) or relocated. Well, you'r already dead.
    And so Stella swallowed my comment yest or rather made stew with it. Lol. But then, it's really appalling that after taking time to write and publish, it doesn't go beyond approval stage. What's in d comment kwanu? Nothing bad oo, just seeking advice frm fellow blog visitors. And not a silly one. It's ok, afterall it's your blog.

15. Wish he hadn't been black. So had for ppl to be righteous and practice within the limit of their profession.

1. Exactly! You know when a black man does something bad it is the whole race that gets blamed!

16. Stella do u even think before u comment? What do u mean u wonder how the wistleblower feels? How do u want him to feel but happy he has done the right thing? This is not naija where people get away with so much.....

1. Trust me he is going to hate himself for opening his mouth. We talking abt suicide not jail terms.

2. Hate himself cos of a coward who could not face the consequence of his actions? No way

17. Madam stellina if naija doctors touch ur clit u go hear am inside brain.....

18. The Doctor is a big pervert. Can you imagine what he would have done with the recordings and pics? That is even light; what if the tapes somehow got into the wrong hands???

Am glad he was caught and well he has sent himself to hell already. Ochuchu nmor!

19. Stella forget that thing jor. Whistleblower or no whistleblower, he would have still been caught one day. It was just a matter of when. Ironically, he was a doctor and he decided to commit suicide (as it seems). Wetin else we go do?

20. I wonder how the whistleblower feels now... Stella you aren't suggesting the whistleblower was the causer of the doc's sucide... Cos I'll be disappointed!

1. Causer?! I want to believe it was a typo but funny to read tho😂

2. But funny to read....not but funny to read tho

3. Hahaha...Ern Hugh "causer" is a signature Word dat Stella normally uses

4. Lol @ Ern hugh, a fresher... Welcome to the family! e-hugs.

5. Oh I see and thanks for letting me know-The General's Wife!
      Super Cute, you're so kind & e-hug back to you
      😘.. That's a virtual peck on the cheek(emoticon)

21. The law works there unlike Nigeria.

22. The whistle blower will be happy, especially if its a white person...

23. Guilty conscience. There shall be no peace for the wicked.

24. It's so unfortunate that this had to happen, for the women involved whose right to dignity and privacy was breached, for the doctor whose life and bright have been cut short, for the hospital who have had to pay out this huge compensation, for users of the hospital services whose insurance premiums will likely shoot up, and for the whistle-blower whose working relationship with others may never be the same again!

Be not deceived, ur sins will eventually find u out, and usually with far reaching ramifications!

1. *bright career

For those attacking Stella, I don't think she's blaming the whistle-blower, but don't be surprised that he/she might be saddled with guilt, and even blame him/herself for speaking out.
      I'm sure they wouldn't have anticipated that the Dr. would commit suicide. They would have just been expecting some form of disciplinary measure.

We all know how easily affected some 'oyinbo' people can be. This could destabilise that whistle-blower psychologically. It's been known to happen.

Another thing, people don't usually like working in close proximity with a whistle-blower! Everyone might hail him/her for speaking out, but it's not uncommon for such people to be avoided and isolated by others.

The whole issue is a complicated one and I don't envy that whistle-blower right now!

2. Oh shut up! You think they are Nigerians who lick asses and condone nonsense????? The doc should have thought about the consequences of what he was doing and when he was found out he decided to commit suicide to escape the humiliation or embarrassment. That is why corruption and evil will remain prevalent in Nigeria...Stella is asking how the whistle-blower will feel now...how do you expect he/she to feel? what wrong has he/she committed in exposing the doc? Pls let's call a spade a spade and drop sentiments aside!

25. Stella what are you saying? You wonder how the whistle blower feels now?Shouldn't he stand against wrong behavior? The fact that it happens everywhere does not make it right or acceptable.That man was a sick man, taking pictures and videos of nude women without their consent,touching them inappropriately, he violated those women. As far as I am concerned the whistle blower did the right thing.

1. Do you know how horrible it feels to think you are responsible for the death of another human being? Whether or not they deserve it. I'm positive the whistle blower didn't see this as a likely outcome. Of course he will feel traumatised and may carry that guilt for a long time. I guess this is the angle Stella was considering. That's the down side of English, a statement can be opened to several interpretations whereas Mathematics is always precise. Nobody misconstrues 2 + 2 to be 5! It's universally 4!

26. Stella I don't feel sorry for the doctor.i was molested twice by doctors as a child while my father stood just outside the door. If he killed himself dats his biz. Pornography is free over the internet why violate innocent people.i don't feel sorry for men who take advantage of women and kids.

27. Omg! Why the insults? Do people not have respect anymore? Stella said i wonder how the whistleblower feels now. Of course he or she wanted the perv doc punished but not dead, he or she will still feel slightly bad no matter what. She did not condemn the whistleblower take note & be constructive when criticizing not insulting

1. God bless you. You are a life-saver. You, Stella and I reason alike.

2. You three reason alike obviously.

3. Shut up Stella insults so who is she not to be insulted? Park well abeg no be u like Stella pass us..

28. Stella and her comment sometimes tho.. Why should the whistle blower feel guilty about his death? Ah,he saved people and exposed a crime that go unannounced in Nigeria.. Do a post about women who have been abused by doctors and you would be surprised... Doctors are Randy dey of people.. I mean the men

29. Stella I am one of the victims of this doctor. I remember him scheduling an unwanted visit where all he did was just a pelvic exam and i felt something was up.. but because of the reputation of the hospital, and because he was my first obgyn doc i couldn't be sure that it wasn't routine practise. Apart from that he seemed nice and okay, nothing was off. I pray he rests in Peace anyway and I wish his family the strength to move on. I also pray for all the other victims, some women had been seeing him for over 20 years!

1. Will u get a share of d $$$$$$ looks more like blood money to me.

30. Na so dem dey do...40percent of doctors are perverts...ishhhh

31. Why are people being so hard on Aunty Stella nao...we are all like a big family here and we should act like one.

@Anon 4.11pm; All I need is less than a 100k but I have been unable to raise it!

32. Why are people being so hard on Aunty Stella nao...we are all like a big family here and we should act like one.

@Anon 4.11pm; All I need is less than a 100k but I have been unable to raise it!