Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Ebola Virus In NNPC Hospital?

Friday, August 08, 2014

Ebola Virus In NNPC Hospital?

Suspected or confirmed?

Does anyone have first hand info?...No 'hear says' please cos there's too much panic going on right now

60 comments:

1. Hmmmmm..... This deadly disease is going out of hands .... May God help us.

2. Bless the Lord O Kenya!!!

Lucinda

3. Ebola virus confirmed in Orlu teaching hospital Imo state. Tony help confirm if am lying. U all be carefu

4. Confirmed! The woman was said to be on admission at that obalende hospital that treated mr sawyer, d same doc treated both of them, that's how she came in contact wif d virus. D thing is getting worse by d day.

5. FG shuts NNPC hospital over Ebola

The Federal Government has confirmed that it has sealed up one of the hospitals belonging to the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC) in Muri-Okunola, Victoria Island, Lagos over suspected case of Ebola Virus Disease (EVD) .

Minister for Health, Professor Onyebuchi Chukwu who confirmed the incident after a courtesy call on the Lagos State Governor, Mr. Babatunde Fashola said officials of the ministry are still investigating the incident of suspected Ebola patient in the hospital. He said the result carried out on blood samples obtained from the patient will be out by tomorrow but that the place remained shut for decontamination.

We gathered that the Nigerian Nurse who died of Ebola, visited the hospital. The minister however said the hospital will be opened once sanitization is complete in line with world standard and that it will be handled the way First Consultant Hospital was handled.

The minister who visited the governor along with Minister for Information, Mr. Labaran Maku appealed to Nigerians who are not medical staff to desist from wearing hand gloves.

“Don’t wear gloves because it is counterproductive, unless all of us are wearing gloves, if I am wearing and you are not wearing , you only collecting from me and you will take it home from me and your children at home will get it”, he warned.

He said that government has decided to step up operations in the border posts by procuring more thermal hand scanners for the 49 land crossing, eight seaports and eight international airports.

He appealed to Nigerians to cultivate the habit of regular hand washing, adding that where there is no water, Nigerians should use hand sanitizers and where there is no soap, use water and bleach.

He said the Federal Government is working with the state government in line with international organisations adding that the Lagos State government has been able to provide site for treatment.

“We are now treating patients”, he said adding that screening is currently ongoing around the nation’s borders.

He said Nigerians who have corpses with full certification of death of causes of death could apply for waivers which he said will be granted once the corpse is certified to have died of causes other than Ebola.

6. FROM MY INBOX

''Its a confimed case of ebola.patient did not disclose that she just got back from Liberia.She has visited 2 private hospital before presenting at NNPC CLINIC''

1. Stella i'm thinking the entire country should be on lock down for 3weeks if possible, no movement so during that period any infected person that manifests would be quarantied...i just wish this could happen. These stories are scary!

2. Why are people just wicked she knew she had it and kept quiet,her life will be kept shut very soon

Mr Lyca

3. Y r people so wicked?!!! Y r they deliberately spreading this virus?!! And y won't Nigeria close her borders for now and check the names of those that came in within the past few weeks????!!!!! O God pls have mercy on us!!!!!

4. These Libarians are really wicked. Someone sed it in one of d posts. I jes confirmd it. Their evil plans towards Nigerian will def. fail. May God protect us all.

5. Jeez ...now I'm scared.#.sipsWater#

6. Eyeah! We r in trouble. May God help us.

7. Why r some pple selfish? She shld have said she came back from Liberia, instead she was busy hopping from one hospital to another, spreading her virus. God help us o!!!

8. Seriously,,am scared to d bones now,Stella. i was trying to be courageous before,,,but this thing don pass courage and boldness join ooo.I went to renew my payment at d gym dis evening,,,when i got there and saw people sweating profusely from workouts(something am used to seeing) the only thing that came to my mind was hope ebola virus will not stick to d equipments thru the sweat of anyone that may be infected ooo. Stella,,,,i just turned my back and was walking away so fast.The instructor was calling me asking me why i just left like that without speaking to anyone.....i didnt look back ooo,,,i just signalled to me that i will come later........Now my fear is,,,if we d adults are careful enough to stick to d rules of prevention,,,what about our children???Thank God they are on holiday now,,,but when they resume school,,what happens??

9. Infact the children's holiday and doctors strike seem to be a blessing in disguise,and I just pray d sh#t will be over before they all resume!imagine if govt hospitals were not on strike,d no of pple a carrier nurse will infect will be alarming cos there is always a mad crowd at dose hospitals d fact dey are cheap.God pls help us na:which one we go face,ebola abi boko haram?
      @moydot,lol!i see u are really scared now oo,datt u couldn't sip champagne?hehe!ebola d best behaviour' setter.lol!

10. Demi!!!!! Ooooooo! Your comment na die!!!! I'm really having a good laugh! Don't worry God is in Control.

11. Shared makeup brushes too...bridesmaids beware.

7. Jay Moore Second Pikin8 August 2014 at 19:41

na wa o

8. Can you imagine? She didn't disclose she just got back from Liberia and has been visiting private hospitals ! See wickedness! Sharing the virus to all that attended to her!

9. GOD SAVE US ALL

AUNTY STELLA HAVE U FORGIVN ME ? SORRY 4 HATIN U

#REPENTANT

10. Na wao! wat kind of problem is this again, why always Liberia?

11. Was in a bus today and d guy near me was sweating like chrismas goat. He even had to wipe it with his thumb and I almost jumped outta d bus. Like play,like play,this ebola don land oooo. God pls help ur pple!

12. What is wrong with these people. What do they gain from lying? Na wa.

That labaran makun is a big fool! Collect from you, how? The virus can't live on rubber or plastic!

It's like telling people to have sex without condoms to avoid catching hiv! See the type of leaders Nigeria has? Nin-bloody-compoops.

1. He is right and u are the big fool. If u wearing handgloves e shakes and infected person and use the same gloves to shake someone else, what happens to that person?

2. He's very right. Plus, the uninformed (non health personnel) don't know the basic principles involved in wearing gloves.
      You wear it and interact with ppl, (more often than not, it's one pair worn through out) then use it to touch surfaces; put stuff in your pocket; touch your head, face; touch some other person; scratch your body. Etc.

So, you don't wash your hands cos you live under the illusion of ' I did not share a handshake with any one '. Meanwhile, you have been unhygienic.

Please please please, observe basic principle of hand washing.

13. God please safe us

14. Ah why are people doing this now. If you have it why spread it.

It's soo unfair think of the number of children that maybe affected.

15. Na wa o. Y she no waste herself for dat Liberia. Dis people dey find who go follow dem die, which kind peeps b dis? May anyone carrying dat virus die where dey are abeg and save us all dis issue. Mtcheeeeeeeew

16. God please protect your very own. This minutes you are relieved the next minutes the fear will increase by 100%.

#Sharon was here.

17. See something, say something

People are lying. Watch ur brother.

Don't know why people are so heartless

18. Why is the name of the Matron shrouded in secrecy? Something is wrong here, the American doctors were monitored closely on TV, why do we always hide information, is it because the government has failed in all ramifications.

19. UK & USA, pls don't reject my visa. Na only 3 months short stay I dey apply for. Will come back when Lagos is safe. Those of you packing yourselves like sardine inside BRT and Molue... Sanitize your whole body and not just your hands.

20. FROM MY INBOX

''Hey Stella
    The woman did not go to Liberia o, she was on admission at 1st consultant when Patrick sawyer was brought it for treatment. Remember 1st consultant discharged all in house patients on discovering that Patrick Sawyer was infected with the virus. She went back to NNPC hospital on monday, cause NNPC hospital refers some of it's patients to some private clinics. If NNPC checked her records before admitting her or if they didn't I would not know. It was a nurse that suspected the woman had ebola because she kept using the toilet (diarrhea) and then raised alarm. On hearing this most patients ran away from the hospital, only people that could not walk were left behind. As at this evening the ministry of health has taken blood samples of every doctor and nurse that came in contact with the victim.
    Basically all we need is prayers right now.
    Just thought I should let you know.''

1. Mere mentioning of the name ebola gives one diaorrhea, me sef get headache n slight fever since last night. I dey fear ooh sdkers put me for prayer cos I work in a ---------- all die no be die oh n I never taste anytn ooh for dis sweet evil world.

2. Just by reading this story my body is itching and I feel feverish. God please protect my family in Nigeria. Mrs O

21. God pls save me and my loved ones

22. If they insist that infection can only be passed around by an Acute case of EVD, how come Secondary contacts are getting infected? Someone,Anyone?

#Scaredsh*t

1. Exactly. Surely the 2 doctors in America won't have exposed themselves to someone who was obviously ill. I think they need to investigate the mode if transmission thoroughly!

23. Dear God, your children NEED you.

24. God please take this away from us.

I went to the bank today and all the bankers wore gloves. All through i was there, i was scared cos the bank was sooooooo crowded. So many thots were running through my mind.

This is just too much.

25. Why did the woman not say she had been at the other hospital? Disclosure is the only way to put an end to this nightmare. Now the other patients will go to other hospitals...and it will continue to spread.

1. True but being a medical professional in the UK myself, my question is why didn't the doctors take a proper history. By now they should be over board with infection control with any patient. I'm praying for my country Nigeria. I have loved ones there and with all the hardship in a Nigeria this is the worst thing to hit us!

2. You guys in the UK keep talking about the hardship in Naija. Is it any better in the UK. Are you guys really better off economically. Shior

3. Anon 4.37 why r u so bitter? Its nobodys fault u were denied an entry visa into the UK. Are u saying naija's economy is better? U need the exposure hun!

4. Stupid anonymous yea they are better off in the uk....conditions are so much better and at least u can have the basics of life.... U musnt aspire to be rich so u can have the basics like here in naija that's y some people will rather be a cleaner abroad than a cleaner in naija

26. she was admitted on sunday, confirmed yesterday from luth ...I think there should be a faster way of confirming the virus.
    patients should also divulge important information as doctor are no diviners.
    Thank God the attending doctor has high index of suspicion for the patient.
    Even at that he will still be quarantine for 21days

27. Lol at moy.dot, alcohol no flow for your mouth again?
    Lord, I plead the blood of Jesus on my precious family, relatives, friends, colleagues, Sdkers , amen.

Lord, come to our aid, we need you now than ever, nip Ebola in the bud, amen.

28. Kai Stella, I wan follow beg you on behalf of that blog visitor that has been asking forgiveness... Can u pls tell him to go and sin no more.

29. I see an epidemic breaking out, God have mercy.