Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Happy Left Handers Day!

Wednesday, August 13, 2014

Happy Left Handers Day!

Today August 13,2014 is international left handers day!
Gone are the days when using left hand used to be a taboo,now na shakara thing.

Left handed people are particularly blessed and intelligent and they have a sixth sense that sometimes defies understanding when not tampered with....

I was born left handed but I grew up learning to use my right hand because in Nigeria it was considered a taboo to use the left hand...I hope things are different.
I use my right hand 80percent but in my head I am 100% left handed!

Any left handed people in the house?
Any left handed people forced into right handedness in the house?
Any special gifts?

126 comments:

1. Yah! Happy left hand day.

1. I'm a chronic lefthander. Thank God 4 my mum cos my paternal grandma n aunty were.....I won't call dem witches sha. They'll refuse 2 gv me food den n stubborn me will refuse 2 give in. My mum always gave me food upstairs. Dat was when we stayed briefly in d family house. Mine was so bad my mum took me 2 d doctor's to check if d right hand was alright. Proudly left-handed *shines teeth*

2. Am lefthanded n proud...my mum withdrew mi frm a school cos my teacher tried to force mi to write with my right hand and am forever grateful dt she did.

2. Happy left handers day to all lefties!
    My frnd Joy Sede is one with a golden heart..
    God bless!

1. Yeeee! Am left handed and proud of it, my parents tried to change it though buh they only succeeded in making me use my right hand to right, buh every other thing is still leftie things. Shout out to my cousin uche who is also 100% left handed.
      Cheers to stella and all my SDK fam, WE ARE THE BEST

2. I was born a left hander but I was forcefully changed by my grandma who would spank me then for using left. I remember not being given my favourite candy and biscuits cos I couldn't take it with my right. I gradually metamorphosed into a right hander but i'm still left handed in my head. Lol. A friend became a left hander by force when we were corpers cos he developed witlow(is that the spelling) on his right hand which refused to go and he had to write on a board to teach students. He gradually learnt to use left and has been left handed 16years later. I'm glad we've gradually stopped the errornous belief that being left handed is a taboo. My special gift is intelligence. People hardly beat me in class. Lol

3. Anon 8:42am,
      U just described me!

4. Yaaaayyyy!!!! Am left handed but I can also use my right hand perfectly well.
      Someone once called me ambidextrous cos of that but I choose to see myself as just being left handed. I love being different!

5. Waterloo road,anytime your name pops up on this blog, your hilarious experience at the iwo road toilet comes to my mind.Lol

3. Studies have shown that right handed people generally live longer than left handed people. So as you dey do that your shakara, remember this information. Kpcheew. Na everything dey get day now. International shitting day coming soon.

1. Shut up wet blanket..... Go and die

2. Come and kill me with your left hand.

4. Honestly I agree with you Stella,I think left handed people are highly intelligent.love em!

1. My nephew is left handed, wow

2. I eat n write with my right hand,but do almost every other tin with my left hand...i sweep,play tennis,throw stone,unhook bra etc with my left hand...but I grab bobbi with both.am a leftie wen it comes to playing football

3. My momma and younger brother is lefthanded..i wish I am too.its sexy when they write with it lol.happy left handed day to ya'll left handed users

4. There r exceptions...my former neighbour is left handed and miles away from smart

5. Hahahahahaha! This bitchplis na real idiot!

NewBie!

6. My classmate back den in secondary school is left hande,her results were 20.21,22,23 out of 30. Till today she behaves like dordoryor

5. I became left handed in d US.
    People didn't care what hand you used and I got used to it. Although my left handedness is only when I am handing over stuffs.
    Tried it in Nigeria almost got eaten raw so I re-Programmed myself.

1. You said it right sexymiss4u.O thought i was the only one noticed how nearly everybody does that here,at first i was highly offended as JJC,but now,hmm,I dey sure am exchange things even for my dream !

6. Left handers are very smart and intelligent but most times lives up to 10yrs less than their right counterparts...
    I'm right handed though

1. God will punish you for this negative comment. How are you sure you will live longer than a lefties?

2. ..it's just a postulations dear..it's not being negative...

Read this dear....and quit the insults I'm so blessed that if you really do know me you would be envious...

Left-handed people tend to live significantly shorter lives than right-handers, perhaps because they face more perils in a world dominated by the right-handed, according to new research.
      Earlier studies also suggested that left-handed people do not seem to live as long as those right-handed.
      In a letter in the current issue of The New England Journal of Medicine, researchers who studied the deaths of 1,000 Southern Californians report that right-handers, on average, live to be 75 years old. Left-handers typically die at age 66.
      The trend was seen in both men and women. Right-handed women tended to live five years longer than left-handed women. Right-handed men lived 10 years longer than left-handed men, the report said.

7. Didnt knw dey celebrate it

Pls visit my shoe blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

1. Una don come wit pls visit my blog... again!
      Tmrw u ll say stella is d one begging for traffic and adverts.
      You v bin spotted.

Marie!

8. My younger brother is left handed so happy left handed day to him.

1. My cute lil sis is left handed and a blessing to us.love her plenty

2. Proud Mom of a Leftie13 August 2014 at 10:12

My younger brother and my daughter are lefties brilliant people. Others are Leonardo Da Vinci, Albert Eistein, Ronald Reagan, Bill Clinton, Barack Obama, Babatunde Fashola and Namadi Sambo to name a few. Happy Left Hander's Day!

3. Biko remove Sambo, thanks! Lol.

4. @amebo mistress, u no well o. So sambo isnt intelligent?

9. Stella why u come delete dat popst na? I jst come back from lafia, na im i tire, i say make i sleep small na im post jst come and go like dat?
    Choi! I ld hav loved to insult small sense into dat over bleached razzoid since she refused posting my comments on her blog, mtcheeeeew

Haney

1. Don't waste yur time Haney, thank God yu knw she replies most of the comments, with her useless way of writing.

2. Can someone summarise the post for me o? I saw it in passing. By the time I had time for it, it had disappeared.

3. Haney dear, I saw your response on her blog and gave a resounding hi 5 and said yo! that's my sdker!
      Someone(I bliv it's her) mentioned here that she has Ebola cure on a certain blog, na so I carry my kurukere leg waka go there o; gosh! The negative aura there is suffocating, I practically ran...can't deal mehn. The entire blog is all about hate for SDK
      Haney, I just sanitise my hand, take hi 5 again...

10. stella.... u b left handed...like serious

11. Hian!
    My home boy (babyCousin) is a lefty, lemme ring him up and wish him this. Lol

Pipi Lee

12. A friend was forced into using his right hand by his teacher. Now, he writes with his right hand and does every other thing with his left.
    My aunt is left handed in every ramification. Happy ....... Day to her!

13. Yes ooo,stella u are soooo on point,,my nephew is lefthanded,,he is smart,,intelligent,,jovial,,wit a good heart..He is 7yrs

1. Happy lefty day to my cute nephew also, he's 6yrs n he was force into writing with his right hand bt al oda tins he does wit his left hand!

14. I am right handed. But wait oo, how come Uncle Semiu in my compound who is left handed is not intelligent? *rme*

1. LOL
      Try asking him, then come back and tell me the reason(s) behind it.LMAO

#YourLegacyLivesOnProfDoraAkunyili*7/6/14
      *Prayer For Nigeria in Distress x10 Daily*

2. LWKMH...its coz he's left headed.
      Shout out to all dem left handers here,and to ma little David friend,he is both intelligent,cute,juvial and stubborn.

15. Abigail Krayshun, where @ thou?

1. Av also missed Abigail (not krayfish) kryashun's comment...madam krayon pls come back o

2. Hopeless Romantic13 August 2014 at 11:21

Bitchplis I think I like you.

16. M only lefty on my foot#cos I use left to play football dahs all so congrat to me too.am d next messi

17. My brother and I were born left handed. I used to write with my lefthand but my mom will beat us black blue until we changed to right. I still use my left to give people things ( though most nigerians will reject it and say it's a bad omen) and do other chores. An aunt even went to d extent of telling me that God created us to only use right hand and that's why it's called "right" whole left hand is wrong. Today though I am a proud leftie.

1. Same here o. I was forced to use right, I still use my left hand to do most things and my two lovely boys are left handed. I went to school headmistress to warn them not to change the hands o cause am a victim

2. A woman told me in a wedding that her son can't marry me cos am left handed, she even said tufia! I said my own tufia to her o, and that I won't marry her son even if he is the last guy on earth. Bloody superstitious Nigerians! I even gave my hubby cake with left hand on our wedding day sef, wasn't intentional, just part of me ni.

3. Amebo mistress, I also made dat mistake of giving my husby cake with left hand on our wedding, my mother was the first 2 notice and till date, the video haunts me even though i'm not leftie.

18. Have a LEFT HANDED person ever slapped you before? Huh?
    Well, i have never been slapped by any but heard is never a good experience though.
    These creature commensurate with STAMMERS anger wise.....
    God Bless Them all
    Happy Left Handers day!

1. Creatures**

2. Kai... See plenty typos#yawns

**STAMMERERS

3. I was born a natural leftie but my dad forced me to convert. A terrible accident forced me to switch to left leg in football as well. But if I volley with my left,it is more powerful and accurate than the right. What you said about a leftie slap is true,if I slap you with me left hand you'll def see stars.

19. Whatevr happnd 2 mamie

20. I'm ambidextrous

1. Wow,I have a little cousin who is ambidextrous too.happy left-handed day. Aunty stella,what do you call peeps that can pick somthing with their feet? I do that,am very flexible. EVE E UME

21. Happy left handers day.

22. m proudly ambidextrous.op daz celebrated too.madam y u comot dat post na..she goat dat replies herslf.gramatical errors gav her away.figue,stomarch,oblidge.lolzz....tacoon ko,bufoon ni..old mama feeln funky.....jenny

23. I am left handed too. My left hand is so effective that if I try to describe a location to someone I end up describing it wrongly using my left... I use it for everything nd my slap is so effective with my left hand too. My first comment here, though am an ardent reader.

1. Awwww..welcom May O..Oya take basket,drop your thithe.

24. Happy left handers day to my family,my hubby uses left in all ramfications,my baby uses left too and I only use right to write

25. My son is 100% left handed. My neighbor adviced me yrs ago, that I shld tie his left hand with a big stone since his own is a serious one, imagine that. He's eight n proudly using his left hand. Happy left handed Day son.

26. I was born left handed but trust mothers na, by fire by force I had to change to my right,I do everything except writing with my left. I can vividly remember my mother-in-law giving me the side eye when she noticed the side I tied my wrapper during my baby's naming ceremony,hehehe!

1. So there's a particular side wrappers must be tied?...na wah o

27. My momma and my younger brother is lefthanded! Happy left-handed day to all lefties and to them.

28. Everyone will start claiming left handed on this blog today
    I'm happy to be a right handed person.
    Never knew such day exist

29. Lefties are naturally intelligent, so true. I also heard dat pple with tiny nails are gifted too.

30. yay! am a lefty though my mum tried to beat it outta me tnk God for my dad that would always encourage me.

31. Shout out to my Sri Lankan darling, Clemenica Fernando, and all the left handers and BVs, in here. Always thought left handers cool.
    * tasha barbie *

32. My dad is a left hander though he eats and writes wt his right hand but if u are opportuned to be flogged or slapped by him, he uses his left and it's "auto-reset" cos u will never commit that type of blunder again. Happy left hander's day dad! Love u mucho... mwah!

1. Yes, our dad is ambidextrous.. his left hand dealt wit us ehn! I think i suffered it more dan u sef.lol! All u lefties makin mouth here, being ambidextrous is waaaaay cooler!

33. Happy left handers day go the queen of my heart, my daughter. When I gave birth to her, for d first few days she refused to stretch out her left hand. When we found out she was left handed, my mum tried to make her change it was a fight btw both of us, Infact I told her hoha not to tell me how to raise my child. Fast forward a few years, my leftie daughter is intelligent, witty she won the best handwriting award amongst others in her grade. For a 6 year old she writes better than most adults. Now when grandma comes visiting and sees her grandchild in action, she has this secret smile on her face which I know means thank God I didn't succeed in changing this child's destiny.

34. Hehehehehe, One of my cousin is a chronic lefty,she does everything with her left hand and she's very fast with chores. She often ask me to remind her to use her right hand when we are about to eat.

1. Lmao @ she asks u 2 remind her 2 use her left while eating.

35. My younger cousins are left handed, while my dad is ambidextrous.
    He can do most things well with his left or right hand but writes with his right.

I suspect he's actually left-handed but was born in the the days when it wasn't encouraged.
    Happy left handers' day to all lefties!

36. Am left handed,but I was also forced to using right.I have got all the attribute of a lefty.

1. My brother use to be left handed when he was very little he will suck with is left fingers and also use those fingers to Tamba until my mother noticed it and had to tie those hands around,he gradually changed to right, thou he still uses is left hand to press his clothes, washing, especially when he is washing the car tyres, come and see scrubbing.

Mr Lyca

37. Wow der is nothing we wnt celebrate.. In Naija, its disrespectful t hand ova sth t an older person wt d left hand. Am nt left handed sha but I wanna say Happy celebratn t all left handers.

38. My younger bro was forced to use his right hand, but he couldn't... Presently he is 19 nd still using his left hand. Thank God Nigerians are more receptive to left handed ppl, nd their mentality has rily changed

39. Really?...Oh well, I am a southpaw....it's not such a big deal tho'...

40. I was born a leftie but dem use cane comot am for my body. but I'm still able to write a little wt my left still.

41. My mum is left handed.

I'm semi left handed.

I hope my future husband and kids are left handed.

Happy left handed day darlings

yipeeee

Oyibo

42. I am left handed, left leged(if there is a word like that....lol) and i also think left lol.
    There are some notable people that are using left too.......like Obama,Fashola,Gordon Brown and me. lol. soso happy to be using left.

43. That's so true, my friend is left handed plus she's highly intelligent nd she cooks very well.

44. Stella, I'm left handed too but trying to use my right hand cos my husband forbid me to use my left hand.

45. yaaay! I am left handed, i do almost everything with my left hand including cooking and sweeping.
    They were tying my left hand with bandage when i was in pre-school till my mum got tired of it and told them to free me.
    Hence, i cant write well with my left, i do that more with my right. My hubby loves that i'm left-handed and hopes i give birth to a left-footer soon, lol.

46. Always hate it when you give some one things with left hand and they say you should use the right hand,all hands are good ,i even wish i can learn to use my left hand instead of only using the right hand!

47. proudly leftie *moon walking* i use both actually but more of a leftie

48. I was born left handed but my teachers in primary school forced me to start making use of the right hand..my parents didn't bother at all about me been left handed or not but they only had a problem with me receiving things from them with my left hand or giving out with the lefty..I got adapted to the right hand tho but I can still write with my left hand(but not perfect sha)....but I still play football with my left leg up till date...happy left-handed day to the old me and my very good friend Inn weezy(very brainy).... **MARTINS ABOY**

49. I have too many left-handed people in my family dunno where to start from lol
    grandpa
    mum
    sister
    brother
    hubby
    son
    hubby dads
    many more from cousins side.
    I'm not "sad face" proud of them still

50. Ambidextrous is good.

My younger bro is left handed. He has written Jamb n PUME like 5 times and still no uni admission. I know he is smart, but he has stopped believing in himself. I really feel 4 him cos by now he cud be serving , yet he is still struggling to get a uni admission.

God help him and all those struggling to get a degree.

Enjoy your day southpaws.

51. happy left handers day to all my peeps..

52. same thing with my nephew n niece, i guess its genetic bcos their mum and grand mum are too.

53. wishing all left handed including my niece and nephew a good celebration

54. That awesome feeling you get when someone so annoying thinks you'll land them slap with d right and they're dodging to ur left only to collide with igbati oloyi from the left. hehehe! Was born left handed, grandma say how woman go dey use left hand turn soup so she kukuma beat me till i reprogrammed.I only write with my right, every other reflex is to the left. I think its cool when people go 'oh! you're left handed?' and i go 'no, I'm ambidextrous'

55. Special Greetings to the Southpaws in the house! For me, a lady being left-handed is a turn on, big time...

56. i love leftys...my roommate is lefty.
    just try n have SEX wt a lefty guy or girl. they sure kno how to XPLORE

57. EVE UME

that na happy leg pickers day..lmao!

58. EVE UME

that na happy leg pickers day..lmao!

59. @Kakadu,tell ur husband.He is not serious.

60. Oh wow! How could i forget how hard my mum tried to stop me from being a left hander? especially the eating part! It was tied, bandaged, spanked, name it! Hehehe, these days people ask me to teach their kids how to use their left hands, amazingly awesome to know the society decided to accept both hands as blessed and from GOD as oppose to the "devil-hand" lmao. Proudly a left hander! #LALA

61. yeah..aunty stella, been following ur blog over 2years nw bt posted my first comment today*winks* i became ur fan right from ur gossip article in encomium. i always buy d paper then bcos of u lol bt since u started blogging,i dnt see d need again since i get all d info i need here. happy left handed day sha, it runs in my family though im nt.

62. Never knew there was a left hand day..Please dear all, is there a national farting day?/..#justthoughtishouldask..*wide grin*

1. U craze o wetin b farting day again

63. I hear lefties are better lovers

64. My hubby uses his left and right very well
    Sometimes I feel he came to this world Left handed cos he handles stuff wit his left hand very well esp wen he is fixing tins around the house
    My dota likes using her left,I make her use her right hand most of the time,I no get head wey dey wan chop raw

65. To all left handers out dia... My wonderful mum, my darling Eddy, my good colleague Ik.. Good peeps with good heart.

66. Okay my own na 2 ways! I shattered my right arm when I fell from our balcony into our flower bed at 13, had to wear a cast for 7 to 8 months can't remember really.na by force I take learn left hand writing and every other thing.When my cast was removed,nobody cared what hand I used again.I can write and do every other thing with both hands perfectly but I can't write at the same time.So make I thief some celebration today.

67. Okay my own na 2 ways! I shattered my right arm when I fell from our balcony into our flower bed at 13, had to wear a cast for 7 to 8 months can't remember really.na by force I take learn left hand writing and every other thing.When my cast was removed,nobody cared what hand I used again.I can write and do every other thing with both hands perfectly but I can't write at the same time.So make I thief some celebration today.

68. My sister is left-handed too. Happy left hand day!

69. Yes,its our day!Leffty to make sense.I use both hands well but left more!

70. Happy left had day to me, stella, my friends mike, joy and all my left handed cousins who were forced to change, so glad that i was too stubborn to be change even when i was forced to.

emerald

71. am a left handed too,my elder sister and i(last born) are both lefy,wen my sister got married she learn to use right to eat cuz as a muslim its not good to eat with left,
    for me i know am intelligent,smart and very fast learner dou friends in school and at work made me know am intelligent.so i think that theory is like 75% right. i use my left hand for everything execpt to clean my bumbum and i remebr my granny beating me then to stop using it,dou my mum dont like it too but she was told to let me be,my dad is indeffirent , i dont eat at party cux i use left to eat and some start critiziing u while some just acknoledge u.
    now that am married, my hubby dont like me using left eating or doing tinz and now i wish i can change it but how wen over 20 yrs av been using it.but for my kids wateva they choose to use i wont mind just dat in islam it bad to use left hand to eat as its was said in the hadith it shiatan that eat with left.
    but belive me it not easy using left as u see people insulting u as if uve done sometin so wrong

1. Join us this year as we celebrate the official maiden edition of lefthanders day Nigeria August 13, 2018 in Lagos and Abuja

#lefthandersdayNaija