Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Cyber Theft Prompts Search For Nigerian Bank IT Worker

Wednesday, September 17, 2014

Cyber Theft Prompts Search For Nigerian Bank IT Worker

Cyber Stealing other peoples hard earned money is so wrong!!!

A Nigerian IT worker is being sought by police for his alleged role in co-ordinating a £25m ($40m) cyber-theft at a bank in Abuja where he worked.
Godswill Oyegwa Uyoyou is being sought by Nigeria's Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC).

A wanted notice claims he helped conspirators dressed as maintenance staff get into the bank so they could use computers to transfer cash.
Local reports suggest the theft was spotted when stolen cash was withdrawn.
Although no members of the gang have been caught, several are being "tracked", Wilson Uwujaren, a spokesman for the EFCC, told News Nigeria.

Details of the robbery are scant but it is thought that Mr Uyoyou and conspirators entered the bank on a Saturday when it was closed and no other staff were working.

The IT staffer was key to the robbery, said the EFCC, because of the access he enjoyed to the computer systems at the bank. This was used to siphon 6.28bn Nigerian Naira into accounts of the conspirators, said the EFCC. So far, the bank at the centre of the theft has not been named.

The EFCC has issued a warrant for Mr Uyoyou's arrest and he is being actively sought in Nigeria.
John Hawes, a computer security researcher at Sophos, said the amount of cash stolen was "unusually large" but the method the gang chose was "all too common".

"Insider risk is a major problem for banks," he wrote on the firm's security blog, "they still have to rely on trusted employees to behave themselves, resist temptation and keep their hands off the huge amounts of funds they may find themselves dealing with every day."

*All these 'thieves' now working in banks,make una no touch my widows mite ooooh.I no fit shout!

43 comments:

1. Even if banks are closed at weekends shouldn't there be security men working round the clock?

£25 million? Choi! Wonder whose account it was from, or maybe from different accounts. Dem get mind mbok!

1. Walahi! Serious mind oh! Wtf!!!!! If they had succeeded now thier family and gulfrds could ve been in some serious money... choi!

2. Mbok dis guy is a high class thief..

Visit my blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

3. Lol @ Me....yes o give testimony for church nd pay tithe....even pastors go turn ass licker

4. Lol! I love this blog!

2. This stealing peoples hand held cash via computer is the new yahoo yahoo o, people no dey sit down to chat with oyinbo again as oyinbo eye don tear. That's how some Nigeria guys are wanted by FBI in Kenya for stuff like this, its just crazy that these guys travel to Dubai shop and shop for designers, come to Nigeria hit the clubs den pop champagne ,carry girls home and oppress other guys. Then hit instagram to show off designers clothes and shoes, fancy cars and houses and how much champagne they pop. How they sleep after knowing they making other people cry beats me. Here's the link aunty Stella, the stupid FBI people made the mistake of letting the media know before catching dem lol
    http://www.nation.co.ke/news/FBI-Kenya-arrest-bank-fraud-suspects/-/1056/2440408/-/12jfs8f/-/index.html

Funny enough I know about three of the guys.
    Xoxo

3. Ihekire Tony

Hackers are vexing.
    How do these guys do these things please.

4. Choi!!!..
    Why won't they steal?how much is their salaries again??..

1. And u think d 'small' salary justifies d fraud?...oriegwu *in ur voice*

2. This isn't a case of small salary o...
      IT guys are well taken care of, so that they don't shut down the whole server 1 day and cause problem...lol
      This is a case of intergrity.
      There is no excuse for doing this, but this money much o!
      Make I shut up kwa...

3. @least they have a job.

5. Always peope of that tribe, greedy, desperate souls.
    Awon omo ale afipa jo baba

1. Omo ale jati jati. Idiot. Tribalistic fool.

6. I NO FIT SHOUT TRUE TRUE. THIS IS SO SCARY. I NEED TO CALM DOWN. I WILL JUST TIE MY TWO LEGS TOGETHER AND PRETEND TO BE A MERMAID.

1. This mermaid cliche stuff is getting annoying now. You guys should stop it already.

7. Lol @stella we know say u get pass widows mite for ur acct!

8. IT Control for that bank must have been REALLY poor! A good bank should have levels of access and approval!

I've got a coupla questions:

1.How on earth can 1person have different levels of access and NO CONTROL or SUPERIOR APPROVALS before the transfer?

2.Bank IT Staff are usually on duty 24-7..Where were his colleagues on duty on that Saturday? Aiding and Abetting? Hian!

Systems control n IT processes need to be overhauled in that bank biko! This na high level boju boju.

1. If you ask me na who i go ask *in omawumi's voice*

2. Very correct reasoning @Aku...
      For a fraud triangle to be complete...there was motivation, opportunity and rationalisation, that opportunity is the problem...bc it's under there you get all these your questions.
      -poor control
      -lack of segregation of duties
      -grey areas in rules
      -etc
      Then this is a high level E-channel fraud, it happens so fast. Once they see the opportunity, they go 'bang' and that's it...

People would now be left to ask questions. Just the way we asking now...lol

3. Sky oooooooo.

9. This is so wrong...when some people are still looking for this job?....welcome back Granny Ezenwanyi....we missed you so much and I notice the maturity in you, kemie, Queen and boss of this blog and quetie....princess charming, welcome back...where is prince charming abi na prince jobless?
    Motherhood rocks!

10. The biggest problem banks have are their staff. Because most stealings are insider jobs. They will just be employing anyhow people 90 percent of them are corporate robbers. They should be careful people they hire in their IT units. They are the greatest fraudsters.

11. If an average Nigerian has a mentality that he can run away with dollars he found cos no one is watching..pray tell,cant he also do this?? Some of you will come here and call these people thieves but believe me,if you cussed out that mallam for returning the money he found in that hotel,you are not fit to work in a bank...you might do worse. thank u

12. Hard earned*

Xoxo

13. This guys has guts. Them carry liver no be small. Enter bank on a Saturday just because you are a staff.

14. Hmmmm.confirmed corporate criminals,and to think they ha d guts 2 transfer such amt is appauling,they shud investigate that matter properly n fish out those bastards,biko lemme check d change I hv in my acct b4 dey begin to speak grammer 4 me lol,I no fit shout Oooº°

15. Aku, you are the only reasonable person here. I bet you not only this guy is involve in this. Do not be deceived. The management and control should be investigated.

16. Its nothing new. The banks are their own problems. When u employ OND holders dat have nothing to lose and put them in sensitive post as IT maintenance, wat were they expecting, Just because they want cut cost.
    Two of my colleagues were approached by some guys for info on customers with huge balances in their account(s).
    They were told they would be compensated adequately and nothing will be linked to them.
    All they had to do was just to insert a flash drive and copy the acct history for them.
    Things are happening.

17. ANGELRAY SAYS
    Choi, see money, the guy is a computer guru. I don't want to hear story when i go to withdraw money from my bank oh.

18. Free money plus people getting heart attack

19. I dont understand how a young man will wake up and decide that stealing is his profession!

20. Is it me abi una nor dey c say dis guy resemble davido? I sure na so davido 4 dey(physically) if e nor b musician. Lmao

21. This guy dey thief choi. Anything worth doing is worth doing well. Guy your liver no get part 2. Get a good lawyer as you will need it

22. The IT guy probably used Key logger to get people's passwords since he probably works on all systems in the branch. Key logger is the in thing now for these yahoo boys.

23. Noboby shd steal my millions

24. I'm in shock. This guy was a former colleague. And veryyyyyyy innocent too. Always smiling. Jeeeeeze. Who ever Thot he cud pull this off. Godswill keh?????

25. I know the names of about 10 yahoo boys Stella, my married bf is among sef. I will drop some names soon