Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: EBOLA - US Applauds Nigeria's Efforts In Containing The Virus.

Friday, October 03, 2014

EBOLA - US Applauds Nigeria's Efforts In Containing The Virus.

OCTOBER 1ST,2014: New York Times - Nigeria’s Actions Seem to Contain Ebola Outbreak (Front Page). US Center for Disease Control Gives Credit to Health Ministry's Coordinated Effort..

Excerpts: 
With quick and coordinated action by some of its top doctors, Nigeria, Africa’s
most populous country, appears to have contained its first Ebola outbreak, the United States Centers for Disease Control and Prevention said Tuesday.

As the epidemic rages out of control in three nations only a few hundred miles away, Nigeria is the only country to have beaten back an outbreak with the potential to harm many victims in a city with vast, teeming slums.

The chief of the command center, Dr. Faisal Shuaib, gave credit to a coordinated effort by the Health Ministry, the C.D.C., the World Health Organization, Unicef, Doctors Without Borders and the International Committee for the Red Cross.

Also, he noted, Nigeria has significant advantages over poorer countries where the outbreak is out of control.

Nigeria’s success shows how important preparation is, said Dr. Frieden.

54 comments:

1. I'm so happy dat we hv been credited for this. . ..God bless Nigeria.

1. Splendid. This has made me more proud of Nigeria. Indeed our govt did absolutely well with that epidemic. Especially the lagos state govt. Well done.

2. An addendum. The Ebola crisis, although very terrible, actually got Nigerians united. It's amazing how we can be unanimous during crisis to achieve a common goal, yet be dis-arrayed in less trivial matters. But why?
      Same with when the country suffered plane crashes every other day, we were all so united that we condemned the ministry affected and good developments came out of it. So, Why not do same with other aspects of the issues affecting Nigeria(ns)?
      Just thinking aloud. Ok bye.

3. Ehen. Halos efribody. Now this Liberian fellow that entered the US just like that knowing he had EBOLA (capital cos it must be addressed with respect) makes we hope and pray fervently that Nigeria will never again be accessed by an EBOLA carrying patient. To enter US border patrol no be moin moin on tree.
      2. On the radio today I heard Plateau state released 90 something odd million (see, million has even less respect nowadays, we speak BILLIONS) to combat EBOLA in the state *confused* does Plateau state know something the rest of us don't know??? I am not attempting to be coy, I genuinely would like to know *yimu

2. Ihekire Tony

When I thank God for giving us GEJ as president, people don't seem to understand.
    GEJ is the best thing that has happened to Nigeria.

1. Tony what are u saying, thank GOD for who, Na wa for u, what did Jonathan do, he. Is d best dat happen to ur family, did u see Jenny write up, all applaud goes to fashola, d money ur president collected, what did he do with with it, campaigns. Well I rest my case

2. Blessing Ozoemena3 October 2014 at 16:57

Pls what did GEJ do ? Kudos to Lagos state govt and the Minister of health.

3. Hmmmmmn. Now that Ebola is in their country...
    I don't trust the US...

1. Lol! My sentiments exactly!

4. Oh really! OK. At least something came out from this Jerusalem

5. ANGELRAY SAYS
    Am praying for Ebola to spread in US, cos they tot we could not handle it without them.

1. I pray the U.S bans all flights from West Africa. It is about time.

2. You forget that lots of Nigerians live in the U.S. If ebola spreads in the U.S, it will come back to Nigeria. I advise you to take back your bad prayer.

3. Azzin even if therr were no Nigerians that's a brutish prayer that God could never answer. Wicked brute.

6. Finally, that ONE thing an African country beat you all to. Come let's school you...we won't hide it like you did with your 'forever in transit' Zmap. Its all about enlightenment. Meanwhile, round of applause for Mrs. Adadevoh.

1. Sommie, like I said GOD bless lagos state gov and other docs dat did so well to contain ebola, but doc adadevoh may her soul rest in perfect peace. Amen

7. We dnt need their applause,they should kip their praises to themselves....always forming the head or the captain dah steers the ship of humanity, #bitch we're independent abeg.

1. Them deny you visa??

2. Hahahahahahahaha...
      @ anon 5.44. LWTMB oh...

8. Replies
    1. Yes but they better not send their agents again to come and spread it here:|

9. This is great news! For once, I can say that I am proud of my country. Kudos Naija

10. Whoop Whoop!!! Nice review!
    Great achievement to say the least!
    Positive news is all I want!
    #GEJ

11. We are not stingy as d USA that hid their ZMAPP...we'll tell u our secret shaa,na SALT ooo,drink,bathe,sanitize...
    Thank me later

1. Have you volunteered to assist your brothers and sisters across your borders. I see mostly Americans and Europeans volunteering in all the regions affected by ebola. Have you raised money to send to these regions? Have you purchased gloves for those regions? Charity begins at home. You want U.S to help but you haven't lifted a finger to assist!! Hypocrites!

12. Kudos to the minister of health and also to the Lagos state governor and
    Above all to the most high God !

13. We are not stingy as d USA that hid their ZMAPP...we'll tell u our secret shaa,na SALT ooo,drink,bathe,sanitize...
    Thank me later

14. Nigerians are blessed!
    All of Us.

&

SDK,
    Your contribution was immense
    In the campaign against Ebola.

I see a National honor in your future.

Kudos to all hands on deck!

15. Very good. I even heard they sent some experts to Nigeria to learn how to contain the deadly disease . Meanwhile they didn't give us their experimental drug o. They refused. N now they need us. Lol. Funny how d page turns.
    Elle

1. Sent which expert
      Una d hear news o.
      Kudos to Nigerian Government

16. Wait, so they tot we will all die, Okwa ya

Ifuro ka isi fa di!

17. God is on our side.

18. All thanks to the Almighty God , he saw us through

19. Up Naija Naija I dey hail oooo
    My mother land
    This 54 Independence is worth celebration.
    For single handedly curtailing Ebola without the help of US or any country.

1. Some foreign doctors from WHO assisted. Please don't be misinformed!

20. In as much as the US govt applauds Nigeria for her effort in containing the virus,yes we give God the glory but our FG should shine eyes. They never meant well for any Africa country.Our God is bigger than ZMAPP. Na so dem dey start with sweet mouth.

1. How do you know they didn't mean well for Africa. Go and help your neighbors across the borders and stop being self-centered. Americans have their own problems to deal with!

21. All because of Dr. Mrs. Adadevoh! Her quick thinking and reaction saved us. What if that man had walked away? Meanwhile the mighty US is not tracking visitors from Liberia and let the man walk away after he reported himself sick.

These Liberians really need to sit home for now.

22. Honestly speaking, am still in awe of all the people and authorities that helped in curtailing and finally wiping out that disease.a big kudos to them and to us all for all the precautions taken. Up Naija!!!!

23. We were helpless, we panicked but to God be the glory, we conquered.
    May the souls of those that lost their lives to this deadly virus RIP,amen.

24. Yes o! I am so proud of my government right now.

25. uwa neme ntughari mehn......usa thanks....dnt mention............JENNY

26. Hian! USA let's give you guys tips on how we curtail our Ebola ish!!
    1) chew bitter kola alot
    2) continuously take your bathe with salt
    3) dance around the plantain shrub naked, wearing only feathers of different birds and chanting nzugbu nzugbu enyimba enyi! Nzogbu enyimba! Nzogbu Ebola enyimba enyi!!! Shout shout shout ebola will run away and never come back again!!!

Ndi ara ochanja! Mschewwwww

Nwunye Okeke

27. All thanks to God almighty cos it's not by our power

28. We claim African unity but will assist the US but no aid so far to our brothers and sisters in Liberia.

29. Dem do well. I Bless God Almighty we made it without their Zmapp. #Senepiayeye

30. We thank God for everything, that's all I can say #One Love#

31. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Oky very gud of them.....

32. what can we say unto the lord,all we have to say is thank you Lord

33. I very happy to hear this, honor should be given to whom it is due. This time around Nigeria deserved to be applauded.