Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Abike Dabiri-Erewa Bows Out Gracefully From The Green Chambers.

Sunday, December 07, 2014

Abike Dabiri-Erewa Bows Out Gracefully From The Green Chambers.

When the House of Reps of the National Assembly re-opens for business in the next dispensation,Honourable Abike Kafayat Oluwatoyin Dabiri-Erewa one of its most vociferous and most influential personality will be missing from the crowd. 

After spending 12 productive years in the House of Representatives,she has decided to bow out when the ovation is loudest.

Dabiri-Erewa, who has served for an impressively long period shows her distaste for political sit-tight syndrome, distinguishes herself as a virtuous woman and a respected government functionary as she vacates her sit for other potentials to take the reins. 

Hon.Abike has paid her dues and believes it is time to give other people the opportunity to serve their people.

Dabiri-Erewa, 52, a third term member of the House of Representatives at the National Assembly. maintains the status of the most prominent female politician in Lagos State and Nigeria.

Dabiri-Erewa has paid her dues, proven her worth and done Nigeria proud. She is charismatic, cosmopolitan, polished,eloquent and is one of the few Nigerians with acceptable global presence. 

As the Chairman, House Committee on Diasporan Affairs,Dabiri-Erewa is known to have the widest network of Nigerians in the diaspora. 

Fondly called "Mother Teresa of the tube",Dabiri-Erewa prides herself in her outstanding career as a broadcaster where she spent 15 years of distinguished and meritorious service at the Nigerian Television Authority (NTA) and whilst there,displayed dedication, inquisitiveness and professionalism. 

She anchored the weekly NTA Newsline segment to the delight of millions of Nigerians,whom irrespective of their tribe or religion loved her presence on the tube. 

Dabiri-Erewa warmed her way into the hearts of many with her gallantry effort of using television as an effective tool to draw attention to the millions of Nigerians suffering from the pains of poverty and injustice. Her commitment and passionate dedication to duty while working on several heart touching Newsline stories stood her out and endeared her to many. 

Her display of bravery while investigating the story of little Mary, the miracle baby for eight years, remains imprinted in the hearts of many Nigerians.

A firm believer in the importance of service to humanity, Dabiri-Erewa retired from the services of the NTA to contest as a member of the House of Representative and swept the poll with a landslide Victory in 2003. Ever since then, she has distinguished herself by working tirelessly. 

Dabiri-Erewa as a Honourable undertakes a lot of important bills, defends the interest of her party vociferously and has a strong passion for service. to the people 

Her constituency has benefited from several projects implemented under her leadership and these include free eye test and cataract surgery, empowerment programs, cash donations to widows, water schemes, boreholes, electrification,training scholarship scheme for indigent youths and better health care services. 

She builds her principles on the unwavering philosophy that success is not about age,but about character, it is not about how much you have in your account but how many lives you touch''.

Her achievements and qualities are indeed worthy of emulation. 

She started her educational career at Maryland Convent private school, Ikeja while she attended St. Teresa’s College, Ibadan for her secondary education where she distinguished herself. She obtained her first degree in English Language from the prestigious University of Ife (now Obafemi Awolowo University, OAU) Ile – Ife. In pursuit of her quest for knowledge, she obtained a Post Graduate Diploma (PGD) in Mass Communication and also a Masters Degree in Mass Communication from the University of Lagos, Akoka. She also had a stint at the Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University, USA. 

Dabiri-Erewa a devoted Muslim is happily married to Segun Erewa, someone whom Abike says “is my strong pillar and ever supportive husband. He gives me the push and fills me with the can-do-it spirit”. They are blessed with children.

Abike Dabiri has been able to prove that women can actually steer our socio-
political affairs to the right part if given more opportunities.I wish her all the best as she steps to the next level...Well done!

35 comments:

1. On my feet clapping for this woman

1. Awww, she's donr well, and knows when to leave, unlike some.

Click my name for all your celebration cakes and cupcakes, cheers

2. Good to step down when ovation is highest

3. Why oh why can't we have more people like these in power? *weeping bitterly*

1. News Line has never been the same since she left.

I'm surprised she's a Muslim. She NEVER dressed like one. Nice!

2. Chai news line with Frank Olize as a child. That was the only Sunday news I was interested in. His sense of humour was out of this world. No matter how boring the news he had a way of coining it. Who remembers the 75 year old mama saga that stole a child and claimed she birthed her? Was it Abike that reported that news? Memory is faint, but I remember that scandal vividly. I had wanted to be a news caster after I took to Ruth Benemesia, Ronke Ayuba and my dear Cyril Stober...they were my icon in amongst newscasters. Bless them.

4. If i hear! What exactly did she do for her people? All these people and their stories that touch. Where did she sink the bore-hole? Widows in her father's house or where? She did nothing. Happy leaving to her.

1. God bless you. Which Yeye ovation, abegii

2. Thanks joor which yeye nonsense project,

3. I am a feminist to d core,so I am proud of her as a woman first of all for being able to scale thru 3rice in a male dominated political circle!but what I am disappointed abt too is that in d whole 12yrs,she did not deliver enuf to her pple:what is eye test,sinking of borehole blah blah blah,lil lil things even a baby NGO can deliver.c'mmon pple!infact even SDK has done better within a short time!#no ass kissing intended#
      These politicians dou,smh.
      She is better off outta there#clicks tongue#

5. woow, good.

new post on the blog..you're special
    www.udokajane.blogspot.com

6. She v real well.

7. She v done well

8. She v real well.

9. Long overdue. Now you can channel your hate for the President to something else,maybe activism cause thats how they all end up.

10. Good fr her

~@iamjbankz SA to President Jonathan 2015~

11. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Oky seen...

12. She try.
    www.makeupcubicle.blogspot.com

13. great woman...
    meanwhile Stella u don hear?
    ur friend omosede igbinedion win primaries oooh....
    bt d gbege b say her fellow contestants her cryg fowl..
    they said delegates where bribed with 150k each..
    then d senatorial chairman of d party...and a one time governorship candidate in d state, chief lucky imasuen was bribed with 50m in order for her to win d ticket...
    na so I hear and read am reach..
    #churchtins#

1. Shuoooo so if they can bribe someone with 50m for her to win just the primaries, it means she stands the chance to gather billions once she wins. Na wa o.

2. Hahahaha, na wa no be small

14. Singing in rihanna's voice*another round of applause,standing ovation!

15. well,this is the first time any of the politicans bowed out. Thumbs up Honourable Abike,you are truly Honourable

1. This is the first time? Really??? Swerry, pls get ur facts right.

16. My very own namesake,she has a way of always making me proud.......will get there too someday........stells pls i want a blog id am here to stay

17. Madam Dabiri from your last write up;I was really very angry with you but you have done something incredible by distinguishing yourself and also separating yourself from the bad egg politicians who think that this country belong to them alone. For this single act;you have won over my heart and I give you a standing ovation in my room.well-done Abike

1. Story! I hear she is eye the seat of the No. 2 person in Lagos state.

Anyways, let's wait and see.

18. Stella leave matter abeg. Tinubu ask her to leave so he makes her ambode's deputy. Apc things

19. I am not surprised, Well done.

20. Good for her. I heard she did nothing for her pple while in service though. So which of the stories shd we believe?

21. Abeg she no bow out. The party wants a new face to represent her consituency. She contributed meaningfully during her tenure. I pray she becomes the Governor of Lagos state when she eventually decides to run for the office.

22. What do u mean by she bowed out?!!! Pls is after 12yrs bowin out?!!! D woman got tired of d seat period! Oloshi!

23. I smelll a rat........DEPUTYGOVERNOR things