Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Cumberbatch Controversy Is Ridiculous, Says Selma Star David Oyelowo

Friday, January 30, 2015

Cumberbatch Controversy Is Ridiculous, Says Selma Star David Oyelowo

David Oyelowo has defended fellow British actor and friend, Benedict Cumberbatch, for using the term "coloured" during an interview.

Cumberbatch talked about Chiwetel Ejiofor and David Oyelowo during his appearance on the talk show

Cumberbatch has apologised and said he was "devastated to have caused offence" after using the word on a US TV show to describe black actors.

"I think it's ridiculous," Selma star Oyelowo told Newsbeat.
"When you look at what he was actually saying it's clear that he's a huge supporter of black performers."

Cumberbatch

David Oyelowo was speaking at the UK premiere of Selma, in which he stars as 1960s civil rights activist Martin Luther King, Jr.

Cumberbatch mentioned David Oyelowo and Chiwetel Ejiofor as part of a wider discussion with US talk show host Tavis Smiley about diversity in the film industry.
"To attack him for a term, as opposed to what he was actually saying, I think is very disingenuous and is indicative of the age we live in where people are looking for sound bites as opposed to substance."

The actor also said he had spoken to Cumberbatch about the controversy that flared up online over the past few days.
"I reached out to him in support and said I think it's ridiculous," he said.
When asked if he felt Hollywood and the film industry had an issue with diversity, Oyelowo replied with a resounding "absolutely".

"You can see that in the fact every time a film of this size and stature comes up.
"We're talking about diversity again and that's because there isn't enough of it."

He cited his recent role in Interstellar as one that wasn't specified as a black character and noted "to get to the point whereby myself and Ryan Gosling are going up for the same role is going to be great".
"That's not to say that that doesn't happen, it just doesn't happen often."
Oyelowo suggested there needed to be more diversity among people with the power to finance and get films made.
"Excellence is the best weapon against prejudice. I intend to be part of the solution and not the problem.
"You've just got to keep on banging out good performances."

Benedict Cumberbatch has been nominated for the best actor Oscar for his role in The Imitation Game, and while David Oyelowo missed out on an acting nomination for Selma, the film is in the running for best picture at next month's ceremony.
So does David think the negative publicity Benedict has been getting will harm Cumberbatch's career?
"Absolutely not," said Oyelowo.
"I think it's just part of the silly news cycle that we all feed off and it will go away like chip paper as it does.
"He's a brilliant actor, he gives a brilliant performance in Imitation Game and, like I say, it's just a diversion from what we should be talking about, which is that astounding performance."

WHY THE WORD 'COLORED' IS OFFENSIVE

In the UK the term is, at best, seen as old fashioned and "something your gran might say".
But it's also regarded as a highly offensive racial slur which recalls a time when casual racism was a part of everyday life.
In the US, because of the country's recent era of racial segregation, it is among the most offensive words for describing a black person.
"[It] was used to describe anybody who was not white, which may imply that to be white is 'normal' or default," says the charity Show Racism the Red Card.
"If we consider it, every human has a skin colour, so technically we are all coloured."

Historically, the word is associated with segregation, especially in the US, where black people where kept separate from white people - on public transport, or at drinking fountains which were described as "coloured-only" for example.
These rules - known as "Jim Crow laws" - happened mainly in the states in the south of the US, from the 1870s until the 1960s.
The phrase Jim Crow originated from a song-and-dance character of the 1800s. In the stage show a white actor "blacked up" to play the role of an African slave. No-one is quite sure how this name became associated with the racial hierarchy the US adopted.
In part because of this association, using the phrase is seen as contributing racist behaviour, according to Show Racism the Red Card.
It was also seen as an acceptable word to use in much of the UK until the 1960s and 1970s.

There are places in the world where "coloured" is used without offence - for example in South Africa, where it refers to people who have multiple heritages.
Founded in 1909, the NAACP (National Association for the Advancement of Coloured People) is a huge organisation in the US; it seeks to end discrimination on the basis of race.
It is "much better" to use the word black, says Show Racism the Red Card.
"There are lots of rumours that cause people to feel uncomfortable about saying black, but as a descriptive term it is absolutely fine, and is a term that has been chosen by and is used by black people."

According to the British Sociological Association, there are other words and phrases used to describe race, skin colour and heritage which could be found offensive however.

"Halfe-caste" is a "dated, racist term which should be avoided", they explain.

"Mixed race is a misleading term since it implies that a 'pure race' exists."

They advise alternatives including "mixed parentage" and "dual heritage".culled

Mixed parentage sounds better.I dont see anything wrong with using the word colored.we are all colored,some black and some white....abi another color dey?lol

41 comments:

1. ok.
    Abeg! I Need my Own Husband Joor. up on the blog.
    www.udokajane.blogspot.com

1. Buahahahaha
      Udoka you are too funny. What concerns husband with racist post?

2. BLOG ANALYSER: very informative

3. Term like bi-racial or multi-racial are more acceptable these days. People can be very sensitive you know...

Visit Www.Organics11.com for newer fashion posts and updates.

1. Its been blown out of proportion. He referred to black people as "coloured people" which in my opinion is not racist and he didnt intend it to be Racist. He also apologised for using such an "outdated" word.
      People like to scream racism at every chance they get especially Americans. I hope they also know that someone can also make a racist comment without being a racist. Over here, its the older Caucasian generation that use the word "coloured" as they feel using the word "black" is more offensive. Anyhow them like make them use am as long as them no call me Ni**a or N*gro(like those racist spanish) or Monkey because i almost pulled out a polish woman's tooth out last week for calling my sudanese friend a monkey. Mschewww

3. Noted

Please click on my name for Fashion/Fitness/Beauty tips

4. Lol @ your on husband,God will provide

1. Even d so called 'whites' are not 'whites' they are colored too.....have u seen a white bulb? That's white

2. B2B, I agree with you. The people we call whites aren't white to me, they are PINK!!! When you see a white person, you will this is WHITE!

3. B2B, I agree with you. The people we call whites aren't white to me, they are PINK!!! When you see a white person, you will this is WHITE!

5. It doesn't matter really though.

6. We don hear David. See as e dey sweet you now because you are getting parts. Maybe you shd google all the racist things Bene has said in the past to see why folks are not giving him a pass on this one.

7. #crying
    my fon has failed me Now dat i needed it d most.
    Pls Stella,forgive me but i tried commenting frm 4 till now.Sorry for derailing but Ds is my only hope.
    I am a Final yr student of UNN.i havent been able to complete my fees.my mom gave me d 19000 she made frm sewing nd bought me some food stuff for school.I called her yestrday to remind her of d fee which is 33700,but she said she couldnt complete it(14700).please i just Needto complete it coz my xams will come up ds febuary.I hope i'l be lucky.Godbless.

8. Mixed parentage
    Dual heritage

Na wa

We are all created by God.

9. I used to be suggested this web site by means of my cousin.
    I'm not positive whether or not this post is written via
    him as nobody else recognize such designated approximately my trouble.
    You're wonderful! Thanks!

My web blog :: matratzen testsieger

10. This line caught my attention
    "Excellence is the best weapon against prejudice. I intend to be part of the solution and not the problem."
    Wisdom overload. I think racism is part of the sin that won't go away till trumpet sounds.

1. You read my mind dear, racism will never be obsolete. Even as Nigerians we are tribalistic...yoruba this....igbo that.... If we can't love one another and respect our diversity as a people, then how can we expect people from entirely different continents to respect us ?

11. Stella of Visage30 January 2015 at 17:20

Even if the guy says the word, coloured, e nor bad to me! If a coloured guy calls his brother 'coloured ', Wetin concern whitey for the matter? Make what man call us coloured, na there wahala dey!

12. People too like wahala, Cumberbatch called black british actors ,coloured actors nd people picked offence , saying the word "coloured" is ancient nd he wasn't supposed to use it if which Idnt see anything wrong in what he said because he was actually defending the black race , saying that black British usually get more movie roles in America compared to British which is true, he was saying Britain shd give them more roles but he said coloured nd ppl start to vex

13. Some people can escalate some things out of proportion. Whomever let's that holds him/her to fulfill their full potential needs to have only him/herself to blame.

Like he said 'Excellence' is the best weapon.

14. Sherlock holmes

15. Yes Stella there is brown as well, as people from the middle east are termed brown, as well a ppl with like u guys now say mixed parentage

16. MTSCHEW WHO CARES SEF? OYINBO PEOPLE SEF, EVERY LITTLE NONSENSE IS OFFENSIVE. BUH AS A PUBLIC PERSON U HAVE TO LEARN TO BE POLITICALLY CORRECT SHA, TO AVOID AVOIDABLES.

ANYWAYS AM INETERSTED IN THAT GUY ON THE LEFT WT THE CUTE SMILE, CHIWETEL. MAAAAD CRUSH!
    UUUUUH, CRUSH!
    UUUUUH, LOVE!
    HE'S THERE IN ALL O' MAI DREAMS!
    PLAYING THE LEAD ROLE OF COURSE
    AND EVEN WINNING AWARDS!
    THANDIE WAS LUCKY TO ACT WITH U JOR
    FINE BOY WITH CLASS!
    PLS COME AND MARRY ME!
    SINCE UR STILL SINGLE SWEETIE
    I'LL BE HERE... WAITING. FOR UUUU.
    STELLA PLS TELL HIM.

LOVE,
    ME!

17. Abeg add red and green color for the pple that bleach.

18. He should have known better (Cumberbatch) it just shows his hidden prejudice. Oyelowo didn't have to bend over backwards ti defend him.

19. God will provide for us. Amen. Lol

20. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    I prefer black abeg..... I nobi colour.....

21. Stella,Toyin Aimakhu_johson has acknowledged you on Instagram since morning ooo.

22. mere words that should not dictate our lives

23. Really itss very normal in South Africa, we have Coloreds and no body sees it as a problem.

24. To me, COLOURED is better than BLACK. Coloured is generic while Black is specific.

25. http://www.satiengg.org/EC/celine-bag-outlet-cznaqg.html http://www.satiengg.org/EC/authentic-cheap-prada-bag-judx.html chloe bags nordstroms chloe hand bags cheap lv http://www.satiengg.org/EC/authentic-prada-bags-2013-lsky.html http://www.satiengg.org/EC/authentic-prada-outlet-handbags-ghga.html http://www.satiengg.org/EC/celine-luggage-online-eemisy.html .
    http://www.satiengg.org/EC/cheap-chloe-handbags-designers-bpqj.html http://www.satiengg.org/EC/buy-celine-luggage-qecqkn.html prada bag br4253 price http://www.satiengg.org/EC/prada-outlet-wnkv.html http://www.satiengg.org/EC/authentic-prada-handbags-uk-wcin.html http://www.satiengg.org/EC/cheap-christian-louboutin-shoes-fqsi.html .

26. Hi, I want to request for your Skype ID. I'll to give you a call. Thanks!